Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wetherspoons For Waterford

• Registered Users Posts: 8,506 ✭✭✭Speak Now

They have said 'mid 2015' but with the above mentioned delays it could of course be later.

Not even a mention of opening soon on their website

http://www.jdwetherspoon.ie/
    wellboytoo wrote: »
    earthily put, but surely there are a plethora of pubs offering €3 drinks already?

Wouldn't mind a bit of this

11265177_915258715180076_2918334616342789614_n.jpg?oh=97551b49c8976678d7d87041b86744da&oe=55BFDC2C

• Registered Users Posts: 28,805 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

PTH2009 wrote: »
    will be fights

nearly make me start drinking again. likes a good fight.

is there any trouble in the other cheap pubs?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,159 ✭✭✭hardybuck

ec18 wrote: »
    Not in Dublin the typical price is probably €6 for a pint around the city centre and anywhere offering €3 is a student night/metal bar/weatherspoons/hovel :P:confused:

Closer to €5.40, can be below €5 in the odd venue.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,141 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

That would just be in the city centre, and inner surroundings.

Out in the suburbs it's lower.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,141 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

This is the problem i forsee. Not specifically travellers, or whatever the PC version is these days. But scum in general. Cheap drink = dodgy clientele. Unless they have savage security, this will be a problem in Waterford. Remember Masons? Yeah, like that, but with cheaper drink.

I've been in both the DL and Blackrock one and both had security on the doors all day. They were asking alot of people for ID too.

I think the lack of a TV, well a TV that has anything other than the free channels, stops some people coming in as during the day both are more restaurants than pubs.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,764 ✭✭✭dzilla

PTH2009 wrote: »
    True the city Centre is going to be ruined they will be fights and drunk people everywhere.

Don't mind paying a bit more for my pint knowing that I'll be safe

Jaysus lads its a city center bar with decent food we are talking bout here not a landmine field or backpacking trip to beirut

With regard the city center being ruined. There is no life there at the moment it is a joke.

dzilla wrote: »
    backpacking trip to beirut

where do i sign up?

• Registered Users Posts: 180 ✭✭Scaldy Ned

I've been living in South Yorkshire for a year now. The area is littered with With weatherspoon pubs . I've been in loads of em . Great that " someone" is opening a business where the bank was BUT take it from me ... They can bring nothing to the pub scene . Over here they all have tatty orange and brown 1970's carpets . Slot machines , crap frozen food that's presented looking completely different in the menu to what you actually get on the plate. I think they will have to up their game seriously to compete with good Irish pubs which I think are the best I the world . I personally think it's a bad sign as they are more prevelant in rundown areas over here but I hope I'm proved wrong

Scaldy Ned wrote: »
    I've been living in South Yorkshire for a year now. The area is littered with With weatherspoon pubs . I've been in loads of em . Great that " someone" is opening a business where the bank was BUT take it from me ... They can bring nothing to the pub scene . Over here they all have tatty orange and brown 1970's carpets . Slot machines , crap frozen food that's presented looking completely different in the menu to what you actually get on the plate. I think they will have to up their game seriously to compete with good Irish pubs which I think are the best I the world . I personally think it's a bad sign as they are more prevelant in rundown areas over here but I hope I'm proved wrong

jasus hope you're wrong. we certainly dont need what you ve described.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,461 ✭✭✭Musicman2000

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    jasus hope you're wrong. we certainly dont need what you ve described.

A lot of Wetherspoons older premises are described as above. Very run down and look like something stuck in a time warp . The other side of the coin, most of their new venues are fantastic looking you wouldn't know they were owned by Wetherspoons . So I don't think people in Waterford need to worry about what the premises will look like .

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

There working away on the Waterford site anyway, which is good news!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭deisemum

I wouldn't rate the food in them and it's exactly as described earlier.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,319 ✭✭✭Trick of the Tail

I've never had a bad meal in a Wethers. I've also only ever been in one which was a bit seedy, the one in Crawley; all others have been modern and well looked after. I also like how they decorate the pubs with some local connection.
    The one in Witney, Oxfordshire for example has reels of coloured wool and looms etc all over the place in homage to the blanket weaving industry that was historically prevailant in the area.
    They run good houses. Good food, well priced, and well priced beers.
    And no music loud enough to prohibit one from talking with your companions, like every other pub.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭O Riain

Wetherspoons create no illusions as to what they offer. Yes it is bland and the food is not great, but it is a good place for a chat and the prices cannot be argued with for a second.

Where I am over in the UK has a fairly rough element but I've yet to see one dodgey head in wetherspoons here (and we have 3 in this city).

During the day its filled with old people looking for a chat and cheap food, during the night its filled with a good mix of young and middle aged people. Hopefully it works out the same on Waterford cause here the atmosphere is great.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,506 ✭✭✭Speak Now

Scaldy Ned wrote: »

Surely a great selection of beers brings something??

• Registered Users Posts: 1,319 ✭✭✭Trick of the Tail

A great selection of beers will bring a lot to the pub scene, as will great prices, good food for the price and a well run house.

And the presence in that part of the city centre will hopefully rejuvenate that area for evening socialising.

• Registered Users Posts: 101 ✭✭Irishlad2014

has work started yet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭wellboytoo

has work started yet?
    Planning has not even been sought afaik!

• Registered Users Posts: 963 ✭✭✭cococoady

I seen builders working away on the back side of the building a few months ago.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

cococoady wrote: »

Likewise. But nothing since

• Registered Users Posts: 572 ✭✭✭linny

over heard two guys talking in a chipper in Kilkenny maybe 2 months ago now, One was asking the other where they were at it now and one guy was saying he was working doing a pub for wetherspoons in Waterford city but they pulled out and now they were over in Galway doing a pub for them over there,

doesnt sound too good does it

• Registered Users Posts: 181 ✭✭Martin_D

cococoady wrote: »

What school did you go to? "I saw builders working ........"

There is money in their business model - they will definitely set up in Waterford as planned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭wellboytoo

They made a submission in August to the Urban renewal scheme re their proposed pub, and were "generally supportive" of the scheme.
    So what a fella says in a chipper is now and always was bollix.

wellboytoo wrote: »
    They made a submission in August to the Urban renewal scheme re their proposed pub, and were "generally supportive" of the scheme.
    So what a fella says in a chipper is now and always was bollix.

Haha brilliant

they intend to open 5 more in the next 18 months. Probably we will be one

http://www.hospitalityireland.com/wetherspoon-to-open-five-or-six-more-pubs/19440

• Registered Users Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭BBM77

linny wrote: »
    over heard two guys talking in a chipper in Kilkenny maybe 2 months ago now, One was asking the other where they were at it now and one guy was saying he was working doing a pub for wetherspoons in Waterford city but they pulled out and now they were over in Galway doing a pub for them over there,

No more reliable source than two guys talking in a chipper is there :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,336 ✭✭✭tonc76

BBM77 wrote: »
    No more reliable source than two guys talking in a chipper this there :)

Chipper talk .... the best kind

• Registered Users Posts: 2,143 ✭✭✭D-FENS

Any update on the Waterford one opening?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,374 ✭✭✭JohnC.

Not seen any sign of activity there for a very long time.