Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trivial things that annoy you Part 27

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Frigga_92

Dutch oven?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Dutch oven?

You can't google a smell

But afaik it's farting in a car and locking the Windows and doors

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Dutch oven?

Farting in bed, then putting her head under the blanket.....and not letting her or it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Woshy

People who offer to wash the dishes and leave loads of stuff to "soak" when it just needs to be ****ing washed. And then of course they never come back to clean them when they've finished "soaking" so you have to do a large proportion of the dishes yourself anyway - and of course they feel they've helped and are off the hook. Grr...

We are currently dishwasher-less and I miss it so much!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

People who would not normally give you the time of day, wishing you a Happy New Year......fcuk off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,347 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

I used to work with someone who was still wishing people Happy New Year by St Patrick's Day...might be slight exaggeration :D...but, it was trivially annoying. Every phone call, every person who passed by her desk...

Having a vegetarian over for dinner today, head is melted, trying to keep foods separated .

Separate roast potatoes ( goose fat ) , separated sprouts, ( i roast mine with streaky bacon),

Id never make a chef..:o:( the bleedin stress :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭Flutterby80

On Facebook and some dope on one of the Buy and Sell pages, " eny1 no wot shops are open 2day pls" then when people reply telling her only one or two Tesco stores are open, " Feck sake I wanted to return stuff to Next" can you not go one day without being in the shops you empty headed pleb?? Grrrr :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,140 ✭✭✭✭bnt

When you say something to someone, and they go "huh?" in response. Why is that annoying? Because it does nothing to solve the problem, that's why.

If you don't understand what I say, I don't know why unless you tell me why. Even if it is my fault, I'm not doing it on purpose. Here is a list of possible reasons why you did not understand what I said:
    - you weren't listening
    - you were distracted by something else
    - I was talking too quietly
    - I was talking too quickly
    - I used one or more words that are not in your vocabulary
    - I slurred a crucial word or two (it happens)
    - there is too much ambient noise

Which of those is it? Even if you don't know, a polite "could you please repeat that?" is much better than a brusque "huh?".

In polite conversation, everyone should be at ease, with no overt assignment of blame. It's a conversation, not a contest, no winners and no guilt.

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭Veloce

It annoys me when people who constantly say 'sorry' about stupid things. It seems to an Irish thing.

- someone almost walks in to you on the street "ooh sorry..."
    - on a plane, train or bus and someone who is sitting by the window seat and needs to squeeze past you on the aisle "sorry, can I get in there? thanks.. sorry sorry.. thanks" FFS
    - walking through a door in a hallway or shop and the person letting you pass or coming through the door says sorry.. wtf!

I also find the use of the word 'cheers' instead of 'thanks' irritating.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Jake1 wrote: »
    Having a vegetarian over for dinner today, head is melted, trying to keep foods separated .

Separate roast potatoes ( goose fat ) , separated sprouts, ( i roast mine with streaky bacon),

Id never make a chef..:o:( the bleedin stress :)

This is why I bring a veggie curry for myself when I have dinner with my parents. Every fecking thing is cooked in meat juices:confused: I don't put animal fats on my roast potatoes, and believe me I make incredible roast potatoes, fluffy on the inside, crispy and golden on the outside.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 891 ✭✭✭redfacedbear

The Dread (back to work after the break tomorrow) rising by the hour this evening - ugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,980 ✭✭✭CrowdedHouse

The Dread (back to work after the break tomorrow) rising by the hour this evening - ugh.

Yep you have a brother here...I'll never be able to get up in the morning

Seven Worlds will Collide

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Getting ided last night. Twice. Once going into the nightclub, I handed in my ancient age card and the young bouncer said "jaysus" I assume because I was so old. Then I got ided again going into the casino after the nightclub. Then my best friend laughing today. "You got id'd. And you're 26. And the place was full of 16 year olds. Oh god haha you were ten years older than most of them". Not funny! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Woshy

I got ided in the supermarket a while back. I was doing the weekly shop and bought a bottle of wine. I'm 30!!! I laughed and told her my age and then pointed out my husband and toddler coming up to the till And she said oh right, you're grand so. I don't know what she was on tbh :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,201 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

...roast potatoes ( goose fat )...

I demand the cessation and desistitude of these atrocities against my brethren fortwith, immediately and fairly lively!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,723 ✭✭✭veryangryman

Hilarious 'asked for id' stories.

Maybe I'm too old but they're always the same. My first TA this year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

They're not hilarious, just merely TA because it reminds us how old we actually are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 917 ✭✭✭Mr_Muffin

People who make tea and put the tea bag in the sink, Why do they do this?

jimgoose wrote: »
    I demand the cessation and desistitude of these atrocities against my brethren fortwith, immediately and fairly lively!!

Demand all ye want jim in my house over Christmas and New Years I use goose fat :).

They're not hilarious, just merely TA because it reminds us how old we actually are.

Lexie, I would only LOVE to be I'deed :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

The word Cis

Jester252 wrote: »
    The word Cis

Eh?whats that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,213 ✭✭✭Samsgirl

selous wrote: »
    people that throw an S at the end of every shop out there,
    Harvey NormanSSSSS
    TescoSSSS
    Saint Stephen'sssssss day,
    just bugs the sssssh1t out of me, the bloody spelling is over the shop front in BIG letterssss, aggggh.
    more wine, or bulmerssss,

A friend of mine says Aldis instead of Aldi. Drives me mad!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

My girlfriend is sick. Better not make me sick.
    Eh?whats that

I think it is short for cisgender. You are a male and you feel male.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

Only getting in the bed now, after watching 15 hours of telly today. 2 films and 8 episodes of Luther, and a few bits in between.
    Why didn't I go to bed earlier? I'll be like a dog in the morn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

Hair that can't decide which side of one's head it wants to be on. There are always one or two f.uckers on the fence.

My brother yesterday, knocked on my bedroom door and handed me my mobile and said, "it's X for you" - why? Why would someone answer my phone for me, talk to the person on the other end and then say, "yeah I'll get her for you"? I can understand doing this with a landline but not a mobile. The whole point is to be able to leave it elsewhere if you don't want to be bothered. If you see a missed call, you know who it was and you can return the call at your leisure. But what he did was answer my phone, tell X I was there and free to talk and put me in a position where I had to take the call.

Thought of Boards every time I showered since last posting here, that's another TA

Also, "did you do anything for new years?" - and it's only 09:17

That silly advertisement where yer wan says she's pregnant and her fella is like, "Oh cool! (Some baby shop) has a sale on now!" - :confused:

People saying that they have bad eyesight when they don't. My mother for example. Perfect vision all her life. I did not inherit those genes. I have the type of myopia which means I pretty much don't see the bus until I've walked in front of it. Started deteriorating at around 11 years and am now minus 6. Plus astigmatism to go with it! I mean, it's fine now with glasses and contact lenses but my mother, who has now begun experiencing (and might I add age appropriate) macular hardening so her sigh is not quite what it used to be, thinks we are somehow on a par now. She might have to put glasses on to peel carrots or do a crossword. This, in my opinion, is nowhere near what I have had my entire life which is pretty much just colours and shapes unless I have corrective lenses in. She'll say things like, "yeah I know now what it is like" and I'm looking at her thinking actually you have no clue. How does one explain severe myopia to someone who doesn't have it? It's like being really drunk? It's as if someone has taken a watery brush to the painting and blurred everything?

:(:(:(

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    Farting in bed, then putting her head under the blanket.....and not letting her or it out.

I would divorce someone who did that to me.

My brother. The f.ucking trivial annoyance of my life. Although the "trivial" refers to how much he means to me as opposed to the level of annoyance. He is a complete spastic fool with no social skills and a shíthead of mammoth proportion. Except....when someone comes to visit or he is out. The classid "street angel/house devil" = treats me and mum like shít, but is nicey nicey to outsiders. Actually, it is not this aspect of him that annoys me, it's more subtle than that. If he was just a shíthead with us and a charmer with everyone else, I'd figure ah sure there are plenty like that. But what gets me is he doesn't have enough brain power to pull off charming properly. It's like his pea sized intellect doesn't quite get him over the line. Yesterday, mam and my aunt were talking about some tv personality who has really aged. Normally my brother would not take part in the conversation if it doesnt involve him or cars and trucks and stuff :rolleyes: But he was applying himself as much as he could presumably because he wanted to impress my aunt, and so he nodded along and made a few mmms and aaahs and then, in his best sage voice, came out with, "71? yeah.... He doesn't look it mind" as he shook his head. What? We just said he has aged terribly! Of course he f.ucking looks it, that's the point!

He does shít like this all the time and it seems I am the only one who actually notices? Well, Dad is deaf and Mam is in love with hiim in a creepy, protective way that only Irish mothers seem to be capable of...

And then later at the dinner table (and remember he is 35)....he comes out with (I cringe)

"You're my favourite aunty". He should be taken out and shot. The village f.ucking idiot :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭goiko

Veloce wrote: »
    It annoys me when people who constantly say 'sorry' about stupid things. It seems to an Irish thing.

- someone almost walks in to you on the street "ooh sorry..."
    - on a plane, train or bus and someone who is sitting by the window seat and needs to squeeze past you on the aisle "sorry, can I get in there? thanks.. sorry sorry.. thanks" FFS
    - walking through a door in a hallway or shop and the person letting you pass or coming through the door says sorry.. wtf!

I also find the use of the word 'cheers' instead of 'thanks' irritating.

Haha, if you were from a country where nobody says please, sorry or thank you I'm pretty sure you would appreciate that!! I think it's one of the best things about the Irish!! It's the opposite thing that annoys me. I hate when someone nearly bumps into you and you're actually the one that has to say sorry or when people stand talking in the middle of the street blocking your path and still can't say sorry cause they think they own the street!! It's funny cause I've realised that since I live in Ireland I've gone from saying 'sorry' in these cases just once (if even) to saying 'sorry sorry sorry' :p