Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trivial things that annoy you Part 27

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Bigotry and prejudice against travellers on boards being let go

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

What is 29.9?

Stainless steel welding rod (think that's the correct number).....gives a stronger type weld....use spring steel

I got a few exhaust studs that were sheared at the head or into the head of an engine last week

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭Kevin McCloud

Stainless steel welding rod (think that's the correct number).....gives a stronger type weld....use spring steel

The stud is soft out, if i did weld on a bolt it would shear again. Ill give it heat tomorrow and failing that ill drill and tap it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

The stud is soft out, if i did weld on a bolt it would shear again. Ill give it heat tomorrow and failing that ill drill and tap it.

This is special welding rod (don't Ask me to ezplain the heat/way it works)...it will 100% work...
    It like binds with the steel better or something....Google/YouTube it....all going well it'll put your drilling and taping days almost forever behind you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,977 ✭✭✭PandaPoo

Rosie Rant wrote: »
    Eh.. Ok. Some man is standing on our fire escape drilling outside our window. I have no f*cking clue why. Isn't it lovely to be told things!

My husband let someone clean our gutters, while I was in the shower. I got out of the shower, stripped off in my room and was putting moisturiser on and some bloke pops his head up outside my window.
    My husband couldn't understand why I was annoyed. He knew I was going to be in our room naked after my shower, and knew some guy would be going up a ladder. Didn't think to tell me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,813 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

My housemate's brain seems wired to give endorphins when he speaks, regardless of the content. He has a tendency to talk complete inane rubbish. When telling a story, he seems to loop over and tell the same thing about 2-3 times and it's hard to get away from him. I've actually taken to just walking out of the room mid-conversation.

He meets me as I walk in the front door. He asks "are you just in now?". No, I've been sitting outside for 3 hours for the laugh!

He orders takeaway, sits down to eat it and when I walk in the door, he says "I'm got food just now". No, you got food 3 hours ago and you're just eating it now? Bloody hell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

The phrase "I'm trying to help you", did I ask you for help? Do I need your help? No I dont. Stop ramming unsolicited help down people's throats

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭Kevin McCloud

I was cleaning gutters earlier and had a fine view in the window, just about to take a photo and the battery in the iphone dies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭KatW4

Paranoia. After being robbed a few times in the last few months, every noise freaks me out. My boyfriend ends up searching the whole house and outside just to put our minds at ease.

KatW4 wrote: »
    Paranoia. After being robbed a few times in the last few months, every noise freaks me out. My boyfriend ends up searching the whole house and outside just to put our minds at ease.

I can imagine, I'm pretty paranoid too but have never been robbed here. At least he searches for you, that's love :) my husband tells me to feck off when I ask him to check the wardrobe for murderers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

PandaPoo wrote: »
    I can imagine, I'm pretty paranoid too but have never been robbed here. At least he searches for you, that's love :) my husband tells me to feck off when I ask him to check the wardrobe for murderers.

My girlfriend takes actual precautions against murderers too. Like, when I get home from work I open the door to the apartment, walk in, switch on the light, take off my coat, etc. and the door swings shut behind me.

She walks in, turns around, and closes the door. In case a murderer follows her in.

Girl watches too much CSI.

My girlfriend takes actual precautions against murderers too. Like, when I get home from work I open the door to the apartment, walk in, switch on the light, take off my coat, etc. and the door swings shut behind me.

She walks in, turns around, and closes the door. In case a murderer follows her in.

Girl watches too much CSI.

I'd say the majority of us turn off the light downstairs and then run up the stairs in case the murderer tries to catch us. That's a fact, maybe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

KatW4 wrote: »

Jeez, that's awful. I'm not surpised you're feeling paranoid, sometimes a dose of paranoia can be a good thing.

The sheer irresponsibility of some people. My brother text me yesterday to tell me he was "going off" for a few days. After all the tantrums he threw to be the one carrying on with the farm, we went out there this morning -- they've no silage or had no water. Filled up their water but I won't be able to feed them until later tonight. How does such a thing not even cross someone's mind?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,201 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

The sheer irresponsibility of some people. My brother text me yesterday to tell me he was "going off" for a few days. After all the tantrums he threw to be the one carrying on with the farm, we went out there this morning -- they've no silage or had no water. Filled up their water but I won't be able to feed them until later tonight. How does such a thing not even cross someone's mind?

I like the way you didn't even mention the word "cows" or "cattle", you're such a farm-girl at heart it was so innate in you sure what else would you be talking about, Bridie! :pac:

jimgoose wrote: »
    I like the way you didn't even mention the word "cows" or "cattle", you're such a farm-girl at heart it was so innate in you sure what else would you be talking about, Bridie! :pac:

Should see me on the new holland Jim! Would bring a tear to a glass eye

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭KatW4

PandaPoo wrote:
    I can imagine, I'm pretty paranoid too but have never been robbed here. At least he searches for you, that's love  my husband tells me to feck off when I ask him to check the wardrobe for murderers.

Oh he wasn't too happy but he would prefer to be safe than sorry! It's am awful feeling! Murderers in the wardrobe is a serious fear!!

Pumpkinseeds, I agree that paranoia can be good! Before Christmas my mums handbag was stolen as soon as she got into her car. A couple of weeks later, a guy started following us and only that we were paranoid from her bag being taken, we wouldn't have been so cautious around him.

I hate people who think it's okay to take other people's things without thinking of the effects. It's more than a TA really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭MsBubbles

Fair play Lexie. You're a young farmer's dream woman !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Rosie Rant

I hate when a writer feels like he/she has to remind the reader over and over and over about a particular fact. In the book I'm reading at the moment, the two main characters are twins. This fact is mentioned every time there's an interaction between these two characters. Also, the twins' relationship is starting to get strained and they're drifting apart. The writer also mentions this every time the two characters interact. It's as if he assumes that the reader is an idiot who can't retain these particular pieces of information for more than a page or two. I have rolled my eyes so much reading it, they might get stuck up there!

Rosie you're reading Sweet Valley High again aren't you ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 891 ✭✭✭redfacedbear

Rosie Rant wrote: »
    I hate when a writer feels like he/she has to remind the reader over and over and over about a particular fact. In the book I'm reading at the moment, the two main characters are twins. This fact is mentioned every time there's an interaction between these two characters. Also, the twins' relationship is starting to get strained and they're drifting apart. The writer also mentions this every time the two characters interact. It's as if he assumes that the reader is an idiot who can't retain these particular pieces of information for more than a page or two. I have rolled my eyes so much reading it, they might get stuck up there!

Hate that so much too. Ever find yourself shouting at the pages?

'Yes we know they're fcuken twins, stop going on about it!'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

TA that it is thursday. Fridays unwanted sibling. It is raining outside and people at work keep asking me questions, work related questions! But on the plus side the lass who sits opposite brought a cheese cake in and I will be getting some later!

Ta at my cat, Tyger opened the door and came into the bedroom at 5am I shooed him away but he came back again.
    Poor little fella wanted to go out but I couldn't get back to sleep :(

TA that it is thursday. Fridays unwanted sibling. It is raining outside and people at work keep asking me questions, work related questions! But on the plus side the lass who sits opposite brought a cheese cake in and I will be getting some later!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭Slicemeister

Held the door open for a person last night as they were coming out of a takeaway with their hands full. No acknowledgement whatsoever as they passed me out as to me being there at all, straight past me. She had seen me as she turned away from the till though.

I was brought up to be courteous but recently there's a serious lack of any good manners in a lot of generations in both sexes. I'm never again holding a door open, sick of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,201 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Hup ourra dat!! :D

Hate that so much too. Ever find yourself shouting at the pages?

'Yes we know they're fcuken twins, stop going on about it!'

Yes! Well, it's more like a demented whisper.

MsBubbles wrote: »
    Rosie you're reading Sweet Valley High again aren't you ?

Haha, no! I will now have the theme song for the show in my head for the rest of the day, however. Thanks for that Mademoiselle Bulles :D .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭Crumpets

I'm really comfy in bed and I'm dying to pee

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

The other evening I saw a group of lads, about 8 of them, getting off a bus together, ALL of them were staring at the screens of their phones and tbh it actually looked a bit creepy watching them walking along together in silence just staring at the phones in their hands, like something out of a horror movie. How did it get to this point? I'm annoyed that current generations don't seem to know life without social media and are almost constantly glued to their phones, oblivious to their surroundings.