Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mum on the Run

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,808 ✭✭✭skyblue46

Murph_D wrote: »
    I think I know where you’re talking about. Not sure I’d use it for speedwork though, a bit narrow and bumpy? And not always muggle-free!

I love this word muggle! Where did it originate?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,208 ✭✭✭shotgunmcos

skyblue46 wrote: »
    I love this word muggle! Where did it originate?

Really?!! 500million books sold across 70 languages! I've stolen it for any muggles I see about predawn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,808 ✭✭✭skyblue46

Really?!! 500million books sold across 70 languages! I've stolen it for any muggles I see about predawn

Googled it...yeah in my defence I grew up a long long time ago and never embraced the idea of reliving it through fantasy :) I haven't read the books nor watched the movies :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

I think I know where you’re talking about. Not sure I’d use it for speedwork though, a bit narrow and bumpy? And not always muggle-free!

Are you thinking of the one alongside the water ? The one I 'discovered' :o is on the opposite side and a bit more difficult to access. It's also nowhere near as picturesque which is why I'm hopeful it'll be quiet. It is narrow but not so bumpy ? Although I haven't tried anything on it yet apart from a jog.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,768 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Bungy Girl wrote: »
    Are you thinking of the one alongside the water ? The one I 'discovered' :o is on the opposite side and a bit more difficult to access. It's also nowhere near as picturesque which is why I'm hopeful it'll be quiet. It is narrow but not so bumpy ? Although I haven't tried anything on it yet apart from a jog.

Yes, I was thinking of the waterside one. Intriguing - will be checking the other one out myself!

Cool. You have to hop the (low) gate at the main entrance end but there is a way in at the top right corner at the other end once you know where it is. I only came across it when someone left the gate open by accident, so of course I had to explore :D

Monday 25th

Lunchtime Pilates class followed by a recovery+ jog accompanied by BG Jr on her bike. The local park was quite full so just as well this was a goal-less run as there was a lot of weaving to avoid people and dogs. Run was in 2 parts as we had to stop at the shop en route.

4.5 miles @ 10:34, average HR 123

Tuesday 26th

Speeds day. Plan was for 7 x 400m @5K pace with 1 min recovery. I planned to walk the recoveries as legs still a little tight. Did this on a newly discovered quiet trail within my 5K zone, after checking in with Murph_D who did a pre-dawn session on it and gave it his endorsement!

Target pace as always for this block of training 7:40 min/mile which is marginally faster than the 5K TT I did in November. Splits were 7:30/7:18/7:19/7:24/7:27/7:22/7:30 min/mile

Happy with that as it was tough but manageable.

5 miles @ 9:37, average HR 144

Wednesday 27th

Online S&C class with squats, push ups, side leg work – ouchers! - and bridges), then a soggy couple of hours in the playground, followed by an even soggier 5 miles before dinner.

Work has organised a steps challenge starting next week and colleagues have started uploading their stats to get used to the app etc. I kinda thought I’d be up there with the leaders but am being put to shame by walkers logging 20k steps! Either that or they’ve strapped a tracker to their dog and let him loose for the day :rolleyes:.

5 miles @ 10:00, average HR 138

Bet they are wearing fitbits!

You're right, they are. The big cheaters! :rolleyes: I was wondering how someone could go for a walk at lunchtime and clock more steps than a 5 mile run!

Are fitbits totally useless then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,968 ✭✭✭aquinn

Are fitbits totally useless then?

One of my colleagues checked her data before and it had her in deep sleep for 40 minutes one day. She realised she had attended IT security training that day :)

Another day she reached her step count by banging a drum whilst entertaining her Daughter.

I always liked mine but they are very quick to replace them and then get you to upgrade again when that fails for only 50%. I wouldn't call them hardy.

PITA to run with as well, tried it once.

aquinn wrote: »
    One of my colleagues checked her data before and it had her in deep sleep for 40 minutes one day. She realised she had attended IT security training that day :)

Another day she reached her step count by banging a drum whilst entertaining her Daughter.

Lol.

BG Jr has a kid's version and she copped she could reach her goal by playing computer games and waving her arms around for a bit :rolleyes:

I think they're good for telling the time but not much more.

Thursday 28th

Nothing other than a walk before dinner. I don’t normally walk as a form of exercise, preferring to run or cycle, but I enjoyed this, plugged into the headphones. I let Spotify do its thing and it came up with a random 80s playlist. Good tunes :).

Friday 29th

Early morning HIIT class followed by work (so busy :eek:) followed by Pilates then a walk with BG Jr around the dodgier parts of D3. Might just be my imagination but I felt a bit nervous even in daylight so will choose our route more carefully next time.

Parenting shift changeover and got out for a run. Same route as Wednesday but a good bit faster. HR higher as a result.

5 miles @ 9:27 min/mile, average HR 142

Saturday 30th

Bleurgh, what a day ! Wet and oh so windy. First, a Pilates class which was more or less a waste of time as it clashed other household activities so I couldn’t hear properly and didn’t have enough space as my ‘Pilates Room’ was occupied :rolleyes:. I might switch to a Sunday, better chance of getting the bigger room and a bit of peace and quiet.

Dragged myself out later on for a run and it turned out to be not so bad. Might even have enjoyed it.

4 miles @ 9:29 min/mile, average HR 136

Sunday 31st

A new route chosen on the fly : City Centre, Donnybrook, Ballsbridge, Ringsend, Grand Canal Dock and back home via the Greenway. Very enjoyable, if a bit cold and wet. I didn’t pay any attention to the watch so was a bit surprised at the HR as the run felt very comfortable.

10 miles @ 9:20 min/mile, average HR 143

Week: 33.5 miles
    Month: 145.8 miles
    Alcoholic Drinks: 0 (longest Dry January ever!)
    Corona Stone: -6lb :D

Seeing as all the cool kids are doing this, I downloaded the app. Looks like my decision to start doing some Yoga this month is timely :o

Overall Mobility - 55%

Shoulders - 67%
    Overhead - 33%
    Hips - 48%
    Posterior Chain - 63%
    Ankles - 100%

Maybe doing it after my long run wasn't the best idea, but there's no denying the inflexibility :o. I'll embrace the yoga this month and try again after a month.

Thanks @shotgunmcos for the idea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭Annie get your Run

Another 100% on ankles!!! The yoga will definitely help. I'm surprised at your shoulder and overhead though with all the Pilates you do.

Yeah, the overhead is particularly bad :o! In my defence I was in my slippers and kept feeling like I was going to keel forward and smash my face into the wall :eek:. I'm looking forward to seeing the benefits of the yoga !

I was in my slippers

Jeez, I really am an aul wan :o

:D:D:D:D:D

I was in my slippers prior to the trial, took em off though and did the test in my bare feet. I did wonder what differences might appear if I did them in runners (but it never crossed my mind to stay in the slippers :D).

:D:D:D:D:D

I was in my slippers prior to the trial, took em off though and did the test in my bare feet. I did wonder what differences might appear if I did them in runners (but it never crossed my mind to stay in the slippers :D).

Cool kids indeed! I kicked off my slippers to do the trial too!!

Monday 1st

Spring! Started Yoga this morning with a gentle 20 mins beginner’s session from Yoga with Adriene on YouTube (thanks @shotgunmcos for the recommendation). I’ve done Yoga before but never regularly or to a decent level so definitely wise to start from scratch. Felt good afterwards so need to make it a habit! Drove to a scheduled physio appointment after work for a check-up; she reckons my back is fine, no evidence of any disc related stuff (phew!), and she just worked out some kinks and recommended some stretches to keep on top of it.

Steps Challenge started in work today so I dragged a reluctant BG Jr out for a walk in the afternoon. We spent a lot of it dodging dog poo – it’s everywhere :eek:.

Can’t remember much about my run, but I did run.

4 miles @ 9:59 min/mile, average HR 132

19.2k steps

Tuesday 2nd

Yoga first thing, same video as yesterday. Nice and easy stretches and poses.
    Speeds Day 1 of 2 on the schedule for this week. Plan called for 7 x 400m @5K pace with 1 min recovery. Target pace 7:40 min/mile but these have been coming in a bit faster in the last few weeks. Hopefully this means I can improve my time when I do a 5k time trial ! Today’s reps were: 7:41/7:18/7:14/7:22/7:18/7:12/7:12 min/mile. Walked the recoveries.

Cycled in the afternoon for homeschooling P.E. and we covered about 7 miles at a leisurely pace.

Steps challenge doesn’t count cycling :rolleyes: so I took myself off for a short walk after dinner to add to the step count.

5 miles @ 9:30 min/mile, average HR 142

14.8k steps

Wednesday 3rd

Early morning circuits class. I didn’t have any hand weights so used a couple of tins of tomatoes :o. I have some ancient weight plates somewhere that I must dig out because I’d say there’s not a hope of buying weights any time soon.

Socially distant walk in the afternoon with BG Jr and one of her classmates. 2 miles in 1 hour 20 minutes.......:rolleyes:

Got out for a run after dark and bumped into aquinn and mister paul. Very exciting to chat with some live humans !

5 miles @ 9:45 min/mile, average HR 138

Thursday 4th

Rest day. 20 mins yoga first thing and Pilates in the evening. Plenty of walking in between to challenge the Fitbit Fans.

15.7k steps

You're not getting competitive at all about this steps thing, are you? :p

No. It's all about the taking part.

Friday 5th

Taking the ‘hard days hard’ principle a bit too seriously today :o. Started with early morning HIIT class and then Pilates at lunchtime. Had a wander with BJ Jr around St. Anne’s park in the afternoon and managed to slip at the top of a mucky hill and slide down elegantly in my new-white-coat-that-is-dry-clean-only……

2nd speeds session of the week called for 5 x 400m at 5k pace minus 10 seconds. This is 1:45 per rep (or 7 min/mile). Tough but managed it. Just about – the last 2 reps were by the skin of my teeth:

6:48/6:43/6:51/6:58/7:00 min/mile

5 miles @ 9:44 min/mile, average HR 139

19.5k steps (but who’s counting….?:D)

Saturday 6th

More walking with BG Jr around the local area; she’s invested now in helping me ‘participate’ in the steps challenge :). Visited the Casino at Marino today. The building is closed but they’ve left the little park open and it’s nice for a mini-forest walk.

Short run later in the rain, followed by some yoga to stretch out.

3 miles @ 9:23 min/mile, average HR 136

18.9k steps

Sunday 7th

Pilates class. Tried intermediate level for a change and it wasn’t that different from my usual class.

Forced myself out for a run, knowing it was going to be Baltic. First half wasn’t too bad: Phibsborough, TU Grangegorman campus (nice surface, would be good for a session if not busy), NCR, Blackhorse Ave. Second half along the canal was right into an icy wind. A cold slog. Glad to get home and into a hot shower.

10 miles @ 9:28 min/mile, average HR 135

20.0k steps

Week: 32 miles

Monday 8th February

Horrendous morning in work – stress! Lunchtime Pilates & a recovery run. Very short Yoga for Runners to stretch out. Back to the desk after dinner which looks like it’ll be the norm for a while :(.

4 miles @ 9:45 min/miles, average HR 131

17.2k steps

Tuesday 9th February

Ugh, work, horrific again. It’s always busy but just impossibly so at the moment. Walked around the neighbourhood after lunch with BJ Jr to do some errands and bump up the steps :D. Got out before dark for my run. Coming to the end of the 5k plan now so the sessions are getting a bit easier.

5 reps on my designated short rep hill (160m). Target pace 7:40 min/mile and reps came in at 6:54/7:10/6:55/6:38/6:51 min/mile so way off :rolleyes:. I didn’t look at the watch and just tried to run relaxed.

5 miles @ 9:42 min/miles, average HR 128

16.7k steps

Wednesday 10th February

Busy, busy day. Not much time for running or anything else. Escaped for a slow 3 miler, not the 5 that was on the plan but good to get out at least.

3 miles @ 10:20 min miles, average HR 123

15.0k steps

Thursday 11th February

Rest day. Just a few steps to keep on top of the leader board. Internet down in the area all day, then the telly broke. Calamity!

18.5k steps

Friday 12th February

Early morning HIIT class. I really hate burpees, they are the devil’s exercise. Missed Pilates because of work :mad:. Loads of steps in the afternoon with BG Jr on a local ramble.

Wasn’t feeling the love for a session but got out around 5pm and said I’d see how I felt after a mile. Did the 5 x 800s and enjoyed it. Tried to run relaxed and they were very manageable. Paces 7:29/7:22/7:19/7:22/7:27 min/mile, reasonably consistent given that #2 and #4 were into the wind

5 miles @ 9:56 min/miles, average HR 139

20.5k steps

So happy it's finally the weekend.

No shortage of sessions in that lineup. Nice work. Not at all surprised at your fast hills, by the way, the old strengths never go away.

Monday 8th February

Horrendous morning in work – stress! Lunchtime Pilates & a recovery run. Very short Yoga for Runners to stretch out. Back to the desk after dinner which looks like it’ll be the norm for a while :(.

4 miles @ 9:45 min/miles, average HR 131

17.2k steps

Tuesday 9th February

Ugh, work, horrific again. It’s always busy but just impossibly so at the moment. Walked around the neighbourhood after lunch with BJ Jr to do some errands and bump up the steps :D. Got out before dark for my run. Coming to the end of the 5k plan now so the sessions are getting a bit easier.

5 reps on my designated short rep hill (160m). Target pace 7:40 min/mile and reps came in at 6:54/7:10/6:55/6:38/6:51 min/mile so way off :rolleyes:. I didn’t look at the watch and just tried to run relaxed.

5 miles @ 9:42 min/miles, average HR 128

16.7k steps

Wednesday 10th February

Busy, busy day. Not much time for running or anything else. Escaped for a slow 3 miler, not the 5 that was on the plan but good to get out at least.

3 miles @ 10:20 min miles, average HR 123

15.0k steps

Thursday 11th February

Rest day. Just a few steps to keep on top of the leader board. Internet down in the area all day, then the telly broke. Calamity!

18.5k steps

Friday 12th February

Early morning HIIT class. I really hate burpees, they are the devil’s exercise. Missed Pilates because of work :mad:. Loads of steps in the afternoon with BG Jr on a local ramble.

Wasn’t feeling the love for a session but got out around 5pm and said I’d see how I felt after a mile. Did the 5 x 800s and enjoyed it. Tried to run relaxed and they were very manageable. Paces 7:29/7:22/7:19/7:22/7:27 min/mile, reasonably consistent given that #2 and #4 were into the wind

5 miles @ 9:56 min/miles, average HR 139

20.5k steps

So happy it's finally the weekend.

I don't remember burpees?! Only burps :D:

Do you have a 5k time trial planned for the end of the plan?

I don't remember burpees?! Only burps :D:

Do you have a 5k time trial planned for the end of the plan?

I thought burps might be misinterpreted by those not in the know :P

There's a 5k 'race' on the plan all right so I should probably do a TT at the weekend :eek:

No shortage of sessions in that lineup. Nice work. Not at all surprised at your fast hills, by the way, the old strengths never go away.

I miss Howth !

Saturday 13th February

Cold and windy. Took about half the run before I warmed up.

Straight back out with BG Jr for a walk. If I didn’t drag encourage her out she’d happily sit on the couch all day :rolleyes:.

5 miles @ 9:48 min/mile, average HR 133

17.0k steps

Sunday 14th February

Pilates in the morning. May finally be getting the hang of the ‘Teaser’ move.

A soft day! Long run through Tolka Valley which was nice and peaceful, then back along the canal into a bit of a breeze. Legs feeling a bit heavy, but pleasantly surprised at the pace, seems to be getting a bit quicker for the same effort.

10 miles @ 9:19 min/miles, average HR 137

20.5k steps

Week: 32 miles

Monday 15th February

Pilates at lunchtime followed by easy miles just before dark on a neighbourhood loop taking in All Hallows, Griffith Park and Clonliffe Road.

4 miles @ 9:47 min/mile, average HR 134

Tuesday 16th February

Yoga this morning before breakfast. Only 10 minutes but I can really feel the benefits. It seems to mitigate against the effects of being glued to the desk all morning.

Didn’t get out until after dark so decided against the planned session (it’s the last one on the plan so I figure most of the work is done now anyway!). Instead I just ran by feel a bit faster than usual and it ended up being a progression run of sorts (9:35, 8:36, 8:27). I got a bit despondent – temporarily – looking at the average pace after the fact as I felt the effort justified a faster pace. And remembering how that pace would have been easy a few years ago. But I have to be patient, I am improving; even though progress is slow it is going in the right direction.

3 miles @ 8:53 min/mile, average HR 146

Wednesday 17th February

Early morning HIIT/circuits type class. Was half asleep starting off but felt wide awake after 😊

Easy run around the ‘hood in the afternoon taking in All Hallows, St.Pat’s DCU Campus (ugh, nothing to recommend it), Griffith Park, Glasnevin Hill (not easy) and back along Griffith Avenue taking a quick detour down Valentia Road to have a nose at Dermot Bannon’s gaff.

5 miles @ 9:35 min/mile, average HR 135