Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pet hates

• 07-12-2014 2:42am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭

Pet hates guys ?

Some of mine are:
    - Dishes left in the sink for long periods of time
    - when the dog begs for food when you've just sat down to eat
    - Bad breath
    - People who constantly smell of sweat
    - Hagglers in big cities
    - Clueless drivers ( I'm a cyclist )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 945 ✭✭✭WhiteWalls

I would consider myself to be a very genuine fella but I don't like cyclists

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭stevowhelo1

WhiteWalls wrote: »
    I would consider myself to be a very genuine fella but I don't like cyclists

A lot of cyclists don't actually use the correct signals to indicate where they're going :P I don't hate drivers , just drivers who drive too close to you or pull out in front when you have the right of way :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,745 ✭✭✭Macavity.

He hates when I kick him up the arse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

They sound more like reasonable hates to me, especially people who consistently reek of musky sweat. You can feel the air getting thick and hot from the aroma emanating from them.

I used to work in a newsagents and Lidl but it still bugs me more than it should when I'm shopping and I see people abandon items in a different section of shelves, like a carton of orange juice just fúcked in between the pack of biscuits or bread left at the fridge with milk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 945 ✭✭✭WhiteWalls

Duggy747 wrote: »
    They sound more like reasonable hates to me, especially people who consistently reek of musky sweat. You can feel the air getting thick and hot from the aroma emanating from them.

I used to work in a newsagents and Lidl but it still bugs me more than it should when I'm shopping and I see people abandon items in a different section of shelves, like a carton of orange juice just fúcked in between the pack of biscuits or bread left at the fridge with milk.

Maybe the person realised they hadn't enough money to pay for them or maybe they are just dickheads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 _asdfghjkl_

People that sit on the outside seat on a bus blocking the inside one. Or sit on the inside and put their **** up on the aisle seat. You didn't buy two tickets ya stupid ****

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,221 ✭✭✭braddun

I hate sweaty cyclist with dogs that don't think their breath smells

and people who don't give money to the homeless

I hate warm toilet seats.

You know when you sit down & the seat is warm? I have to get up straight away & just not go!

I think it just reminds me of all the arses there before me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 237 ✭✭Scruffy19

People who don't reply to txt messages, yet they find time to sit on Facebook and post status updates!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭stevowhelo1

bubblypop wrote: »

You know when you sit down & the seat is warm? I have to get up straight away & just not go!

I think it just reminds me of all the arses there before me

Or in school when the seat was warm after the last person :')

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

People who don't possess a basic set of please and thanks manners. No time for that at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,734 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

When somebody puts a forkful of food in their mouth and uses their teeth to hold the food in while they pull the fork back out (instead of using their closed lips to do the same thing).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭conspiracycat

osarusan wrote: »
    When somebody puts a forkful of food in their mouth and uses their teeth to hold the food in while they pull the fork back out (instead of using their closed lips to do the same thing).

*shudder* that drives my teeth mental :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭EasycomeEasygo

People who chew with their mouth open

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Buona Fortuna

Duggy747 wrote: »

I do that. In fact I'm a serial abandoner. A trip to Lidlaldi is complete without about 8 things put in the wrong place.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 22 helluvalife

When people say D4's speak with an 'American accent'....dat don't sound like no American accent to me. It might be an attempt to sound like someone from SoCal, but trust me I grew up in California, the two sound nothing alike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,029 ✭✭✭shedweller

People that talk with their mouth full.

Toilet roll with the end hanging to the back. I always turn it!

People with ALL the vents closed in the car. With the fan off and set to recirculate for good measure. DIVE DIVE DIVE!!!

The mrs not turning off the lights on the car when she turns off the car. Just fecking relies on the cars relays to turn off the lights but forgets that when you start the car like that it shortens the life of the impossible-to-change-without-taking-the-engine-out bulbs. AAARRGGHHH!!!

The mother in law.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 913 ✭✭✭tomaussie

I hate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

People who don't say thanks after holding the door for them.

When your're in a room and everybody is on their phones and your're just there looking for people to talk with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 291 ✭✭TheBrinch

Scruffy19 wrote: »
    People who don't reply to txt messages, yet they find time to sit on Facebook and post status updates!!

Maybe they have no credit on their phone to text you back...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Rosie Rant

Men who will just pee ANYWHERE when on a drunken night out. I am never ever going into the phonebox across the road. There's one particular alleyway where I always have to jump over a stream of p1ss, yuck. And I'll never forget the Paddy's day when I saw a drunk eejit standing at the edge of a busy walkway holding his "lad" in his hand and just peeing everywhere and shouting abuse.

Also, I cannot stand litter. In the last week I have seen empty xanax packets, broken beer bottles, a sixpack of onion rings, discarded doggie bags, the contents of someone's kitchen bin, an entire "barrel" of toxic waste sweet wrappers discarded one by one like a feckin Hansel and Gretel trail, a used condom and much more. It makes me sad!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

People who don't possess a basic set of please and thanks manners. No time for that at all.

My top two.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 29 Green Fish

I hate cats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

Double Barrelled surnames.

Particularly the ones that combine 2 fairly common Irish surnames that have popped up in the last 10 years or so.

I can sort of accept double barrelled surnames if they are a combination of 2 poncy upper class English surnames as thats kind of what you'd expect from them but pretentious gobsh1tes in this country combining 2 Irish surnames into a double barrelled surname are deserving of nothing but contempt.I feel sorry for their children having such horrible names thrust upon them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Trebor176

- Cyclists breaking red lights. And, thry wonder why motorists hate them.

- Lane/jumpers. You know the gobsh*tes that cannot face being stuck in traffic and just HAVE to get in ahead. Then, there's the idiots that let them in.

- Bad, selfish and ignorant drivers. Perhaps all linked to the above.

- Garlic breath. Well, bad breath in general. It's like as if they know they stink and have to breathe with their mouths open.

- People that don't cover their mouths when coughing or belching.

- D4 youngters. Moreso them than the older 'poshies.' Ooohhh myGod, it's, loike, soooooo irritating listening to them. Reading some things on Overheard In Dublin, they seem to be a dim bunch as well.

- Poor punctuation. I mean, writing a paragraph with no commas or full stops. Worse are letters all being lower case, which makes it near impossible to figure out where a senences ends and the next one begins.

- Ignorant people in general.

- People who wonder why I don't drink. They can be shocked by that fact. They mean well and all that, but I choose not to drink much.

- Linked to the above, but people getting so drunk that they vomit on the street. Well, the vomit is a huge pet hate of mine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭longshanks

Facebook. The world would be better off without it.

longshanks wrote: »

Social media in general. Instagram is the worst. Girls with no talent but happen to be hot are given an over inflated sense of their own self worth by men, who somehow get joy liking everything they put up and giving them validation. Its funny because these are definitely not the guys she's getting smashed by.

longshanks wrote: »

Social media in general. Instagram is the worst. Girls with no talent but happen to be hot are given an over inflated sense of their own self worth by men, who somehow get joy liking everything they put up and giving them validation. Its funny because these are definitely not the guys she's getting smashed by.

Its not so bad in Ireland yet, but in America its just :O

Rosie Rant wrote: »
    Men who will just pee ANYWHERE when on a drunken night out. I am never ever going into the phonebox across the road. There's one particular alleyway where I always have to jump over a stream of p1ss, yuck. And I'll never forget the Paddy's day when I saw a drunk eejit standing at the edge of a busy walkway holding his "lad" in his hand and just peeing everywhere and shouting abuse.

Also, I cannot stand litter. In the last week I have seen empty xanax packets, broken beer bottles, a sixpack of onion rings, discarded doggie bags, the contents of someone's kitchen bin, an entire "barrel" of toxic waste sweet wrappers discarded one by one like a feckin Hansel and Gretel trail, a used condom and much more. It makes me sad!

Could you rephrase that ? I've seen the opposite sex doing it just as often

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Gossips. They are absolute wasters imo. No I'm not the subject of gossip but I work with two and they are pathetic to say the least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,908 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Idiots who walk across pedestrian lights when they are green.

People on the phone while at the supermarket checkout, delaying all of us behind them.

Queue jumpers in fast food outlets.

Interfering busybodies in favour of mininum price booze.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

People who speak with their mouth full. My Mother does it all the time, hate it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭Cantremember

People who discuss potatoes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,086 ✭✭✭TheBeardedLady

bubblypop wrote: »

Ooooh I love that! Always quietly grateful to the person before me with their lovely warm ARSE!

Things that bug me day to day would be:

People not letting you get off public transport and push on as you're trying to get off.

Slow walkers who walk 5 abreast through the city centre.

****heads

Not getting my tapa with my drink (and everyone else getting on around me).

Being rushed through the checkout.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 26 Adrian J Lynch

People who always drive with their full lights on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,077 ✭✭✭Saralee4

It would have to be people who call things that irritate them 'Pet Hates'.

Saralee4 wrote: »
    It would have to be people who call things that irritate them 'Pet Hates'.

http://idioms.thefreedictionary.com/pet+hate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Anybody wearing too much after shave/perfume.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

Spitting on the street. I mean I'm a smoker myself, but spitting on the street or the bus where people can stand on it or god knows what is disgusting. Cop on like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 261 ✭✭saralou2011

people who have no idea of personal space.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,077 ✭✭✭Saralee4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭heldel00

Double Barrelled surnames.

Particularly the ones that combine 2 fairly common Irish surnames that have popped up in the last 10 years or so.

I can sort of accept double barrelled surnames if they are a combination of 2 poncy upper class English surnames as thats kind of what you'd expect from them but pretentious gobsh1tes in this country combining 2 Irish surnames into a double barrelled surname are deserving of nothing but contempt.I feel sorry for their children having such horrible names thrust upon them.

I don't think people consider this enough when filling in birth certs etc. nothing wrong with it as long as people stick to it but when child starts school they are enrolled as per name on birth cert. Few weeks into Junior inf parents will appear at door asking can the "bloggs" bit be dropped out of Joey Blugg-Bloggs name. Just not as easy as that I'm afraid!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭heldel00

Pet hate BTW is how my husband says certain words.
    Burger = borger
    Penguin =pengweng
    Parcel = parshel.

(I love him really though. Just not when we talk to each other!!!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

Social media in general.

You must hate Boards so ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,328 ✭✭✭Speedsie
    ¡arriba, arriba! ¡andale, andale!

Idiots who walk across pedestrian lights when they are green.

Do you walk across when the pedestrian light is red?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

People who don't cover their mouths when they yawn, I don't need to see inside your mouth.

Saralee4 wrote: »
    Im joking :)

I know ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Robsweezie

when people come on a thread bitching and whining about the thread without actually contributing to the discussion in said thread. a rampant disease of after hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

People who give their kids ridiculously pretentious names.

Today, I was in a shop today that a lot of very well heeled people would shop at. There was this woman with her two daughters. They wandered too far away from her & she calls out their names, which were...wait for it.....Salome and Solange.

I couldn't help but look up as she called out their names. My eyes met another ladies as we browsed thru the Xmas baubles & we both rolled our eyes at exactly the same time. :D