Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

confused what moderator for .223

• 01-12-2014 7:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭

hey lads i finally got my new tikka t3 but im left with one last problem havnt a clue what mod to get so many different types my head is melted from looking and of course everyone one selling each type tells u the one he has is the best on the market. any chance ye be able to recommend one for me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭deeksofdoom

moreau118 wrote: »
    hey lads i finally got my new tikka t3 but im left with one last problem havnt a clue what mod to get so many different types my head is melted from looking and of course everyone one selling each type tells u the one he has is the best on the market. any chance ye be able to recommend one for me?

I think what you'll save on weight you'll lose in sound.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,696 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Jaysus, i'm getting some mileage out of this post. :D

If it's heavy barrel i'd recommend an over barrel mod to keep the weight more to the action and prevent it being muzzle heavy. You can look at lighter mods, but some don't have the same suppression as other makes that would be heavier.

Here are a few mods and average prices. They do depend on where you buy them obviously.
    • Ase Utra S5/Jet-Z = €380
    • T8 = €270
    • Wildcat Predator = €295
    • ATec Maxim = €300

I have/had all four of them. I've given some observations based on usage and the rifles they were used on below.

An Ase Utra S5 on a .308 & .243
    • Great mod, great results with little to no difference in POI out to 300yds with it on or off.
    • Easy enough to clean.
    • Best sound reduction.
    • Heavy on the end of the barrel.
    • More expensive than most other mods.
    • Tough wearing and will last as long as the owner if treated right.
    T8 on 30-06 and .243
    • Good on the .243 and 30-06, but difference in POI with mod on was 7" at 200yds.
    • Prone to rusting.
    • No more difficult to clean than an Ase, etc.
    • Screws down over barrel so reducing excess weight on the end of the rifle.
    • Has a resonance when fired.
    • Cheapest of the current available stock of mods.
    • Lighter than the Ase.
    Wildcat on .223
    • Great mod, and very little in difference in POI with in on or off.
    • Lighter than the Ase and ( i think) the T8.
    • Screw down over the barrel for reduced weight.
    • Completely comes apart for easy cleaning.
    • Baffles can be changed allowing the mod to be used on a .223 up to .30cal wth new inners.
    • Polymer housing gives no resonance.
    • Cheaper than Ase, but a little more expensive than T8.
    A-Tec Maxim on .243
    • Lightweight
    • Good sound suppression
    • Reflex
    • Cheaper than most other makes at around €300
    • Comes apart for easy cleaning
    • Small change in POI with mod on to off.

Other brands include Roedale, Hausken, etc. but as i've not used them i'll leave it to someone else to review them.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 323 ✭✭Tikka391

I'll be in same pridiciment my self after Crimbo.
    Gun,"Tikka t3 tac .223".
    What about the wildcat evolution.
    Any though on this one.

Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭moreau118

thanks for the replies lads ya a mate of mine was telling me go for the atec maxim but i was also thinking bout the wildcat evolution has anyone had any experience with one i no there not around that long

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 257 ✭✭Ghost.

I found the wildcat evolution to be good on 243. Very happy with noise reduction. To my ear much like my mates 223 with a T8 on. They seem to be very well made. Not sure of the weight but seems light enough. They are a reflex design that go down over the barrel which is a good point. Plus they are fully stripple for cleaning. They do have a rear bushing that needs to be bored centre if you have a heavy barrel so keep that in mind if you buy one. I'd fully recommend them. They go for €299 in most places I think.

thanks ghost im really leaning towards it at the moment. there was just one more id really like to get a look at called aimzonic seem to be really light weight tannyoky in newry have them but wonder does anyone no of anyone stocking them down south or has anyone even heard of them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 961 ✭✭✭Longranger

I have a wildcat evolution on my swift and I'm very happy with it. Nice and light,easy to clean, great reduction in noise and looks pretty as a picture too:-D
    Great value at €299 too...got it off John Joyce in westport

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 mil dot

Hauskin light and d best sound reduction. I've heard

Decided on a dpt should hopefully have it in a week not sure how it'll perform on sound reduction but im told there on par with an atec maxim4 and only 260g and only adds 105m to the barrel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 878 ✭✭✭Chalkie11

Get the hausken mod,you wont be dissapointed!

Sound for the reply I ended up getting a dpt, finally got around to zeroing it in this morning sound reduction isn't bad at all maybe a fraction quieter than a atec fully stripable and its super light ud hardly no it's on the gun I really recommend one just off the topic though used fiocchi vmax for the first time unbelievable accurate for such a cheap round, a good Xmas morning :)

Im using thd fiocchi aswell!brillant round,there cheaper,faster,my tilla groups unreal with them and they really damage a fox:)love them!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 764 ✭✭✭hedzball

Mind throwing up a pic of it on rifle??

Where did you get it also?

sorry it wont let me put up a picture because i need to have more than 50 posts and im only at like 24 but i got it ftom patrick carley if i hit the 50 post mark anytime in the near future i throw up the pic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,729 ✭✭✭lefthooker

I have a .22 cal DPT for my .204 Very good noise reduction and really light too. I also have a set of .25 cal baffles. Just one extra baffle reduces noise even further and adds **** all extra weight and length

ya was told the extra baffle only adds 25grams to the weight which would still only make it 285grams and adds 17 or 18 mm to the lenght as u said **** all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 434 ✭✭hiddenmongoose

for the lads running the wildcat evolution, do you find them as good as a t8? Im thinking of getting one for my 223 and maybe one for the 308 as well as they are very light and small .

lefthooker wrote: »
    I have a .22 cal DPT for my .204 Very good noise reduction and really light too. I also have a set of .25 cal baffles. Just one extra baffle reduces noise even further and adds **** all extra weight and length
    Was gonna get the dpt but got hausken instead!got told there both on same par for sound reduction!