Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tesco Make your own pizza half price

• 30-11-2014 5:48pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,544 ✭✭✭✭

Dunno if this is new in all Tesco's, but my local one in Ballybrack have a make your own one in the deli section at half price (3.5 euro a kilo).

I just got a 14" base loaded up weighing 1.4kg for under a fiver. The thing is monster , going to be the stuff of legend tonight!
    For the record mine, has cheese, ham, pepperoni, mushroom, onion, tomato slices, pineapple and then more cheese because I am a glutton.

This is the bad boy taking up the whole bottom shelf of my fridge.

330107.png

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,899 ✭✭✭grimm2005

Got one of these myself the other day, also in Ballybrack (apparently this is being rolled out to all stores). They had a 9/10' pre-cooked pepperoni pizza sitting in pizza boxes under the heating lamps. Was around €1.60, bargain!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭badge1123

What temp and how long do you cook them puppies for?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,282 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

That looks awesome. Would love more Tesco's to have that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

That would be one way to get me back shopping there !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

Frozen pizza base (twin pack from tesco), about €2.
    Some passata.
    Whatever meat and veg you have in the fridge.
    Grated Cheese.

Lash in the oven for 15 mins and there you go. Much better than frozen pizza.

Of course, the OP's pizza is probably bigger.

Saruman wrote: »
    Some passata.
    Grated Cheese.

Throw some salt, peppa, dried herbs if you have them like oregano into the passata and hey presto.

I still hope they roll this out across all stores

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

What kind of bases are they. Not thick crust I hope. One of my fondest memories was making my own pizza in crazy price in lucan way back in the early to mid nineties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,421 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Make your own from scratch OP, its so satisfying and tastes much better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,544 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

They are not thick crusts.
    Cook fresh about 25 mins at 180c in our oven
    When cooked from frozen we put them in for about 30/35 mins at 170

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

rob316 wrote: »
    Make your own from scratch OP, its so satisfying and tastes much better.

To be honest it completely depends on the circumstances. Friday evening after work I'd rather pick this up with a few beers. It's a decent bargain alert.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,908 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Kiith wrote: »
    That looks awesome. Would love more Tesco's to have that.

Doing it in Rathfarnham.

I got 2 freshly made large pizzas for €5 last weekend. Great for keeping hungry kids happy!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,815 ✭✭✭imitation

Jaysuz You do know you could just get 2-3 pizzas instead of a 1.5 kilo meat salad with bread plate ?

Id love have been there as you coaxed the deli person to put on the 5th inch of topping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,153 ✭✭✭✭dodzy

imitation wrote: »
    Jaysuz You do know you could just get 2-3 pizzas instead of a 1.5 kilo meat salad with bread plate ?

Id love have been there as you coaxed the deli person to put on the 5th inch of topping.
    There would have been no coaxing. You're paying for the weight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

Anyone made one of these at full whack in the oven.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,133 ✭✭✭GottaGetGatt

There's a tesco right across the road from where we're working, the lads have been going over there getting a 12" pizza for €1.50 to €2 depending in how much toppings you want since last September. They cook it there for you or you can bring it home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭logically

That is surely not a pizza for one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,132 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Some passata.
    Grated Cheese.

Or do it like a boss :cool:

Linky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,228 ✭✭✭honerbright

There was lad behind me at a till in Tesco yesterday who couldn't believe it when his two pizzas came it about €3.70, he tried to argue that they were €3.50 each. Delighted with life so he was :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭Cats.Whiskers

Ah the memories.... my dad used to buy these make your own pizzas as a special treat when he'd to the weekly superquinn shop in the 90s.

Goodfellas wasn't really a thing then so the alternative was those frozen four pack of value cheese and tomato individual pizzas. So getting one of these pizzas at home made us teenagers feel very sophisticated and grown up!

I'm going to buy him one at the weekend as a reminder , thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,288 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Ah the memories.... my dad used to buy these make your own pizzas as a special treat when he'd to the weekly superquinn shop in the 90s.

Goodfellas wasn't really a thing then so the alternative was those frozen four pack of value cheese and tomato individual pizzas. So getting one of these pizzas at home made us teenagers feel very sophisticated and grown up!

I'm going to buy him one at the weekend as a reminder , thanks

Gino Ginelli pizza I think they were called.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

Ive seen this in Galway sometimes. Think it is mostly at night they do it.

Had no idea they were that cheap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,180 ✭✭✭hfallada

Best mass produced pizzas are the fresh ones from Lidl. They are Irish and the flavours are decent. They are excellent for like €4-5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭Cats.Whiskers

Gino Ginelli pizza I think they were called.

No where near that classy, these were them (currently €2.99 for 4 in Tesco)

632%5C5052004366632%5CIDShot_225x225.jpg

John Bishops, Vegetarian sketch sums them up

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b-NyB_pbsE8

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,288 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Where were the child services for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

logically wrote: »
    That is surely not a pizza for one?

I'd quite happily eat that plus some garlic bread on the side if it wasn't for the pineapple.

Sorry OP, but pineapple on a pizza.

:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,153 ✭✭✭✭dodzy

pizza with liver anyone?:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 776 ✭✭✭seventeen sheep

Some passata.
    Grated Cheese.

Wash veg. Chop veg. (Chances are you won't have the same selection in your fridge as you would at a deli counter, but whatever.)

Chop meat. Cook meat. Allow plenty of time for it to cool, as otherwise the meat will be burnt by the time the veg is cooked.

Prepare pizza. Use a small quantity of passata - you'll never use the full container, meaning you'll have to include passata in tomorrow's dinner, whether you want to or not.

Load on veg and meat and cheese. Cook. Eat.

Face into the washing up. Yuck.

Yeah ... If I'm going to treat myself to pizza, this seems like a FAR better idea than making it myself. Pizza is an occasional treat, and the time and effort involved in preparation and clean-up would take the good out of it for me! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 SimoBurn

I must say I only got one of those myself the other day, in Ballybrack too, and they are certainly filling and tasty for little cash!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,899 ✭✭✭grimm2005

Yeah ... If I'm going to treat myself to pizza, this seems like a FAR better idea than making it myself. Pizza is an occasional treat, and the time and effort involved in preparation and clean-up would take the good out of it for me! :)

Completely agree! I mean you can get a freshly made (and cooked if you wanna be extra lazy) 10' pepperoni pizza for well under €2! Even if you load it up with loads of toppings it's still hard to hit €3. Noticed most of the big ones are under €5 as well. The convenience factor far outweighs the cost factor. Even most of the not as nice frozen pizzas are more expensive then these.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 518 ✭✭✭FluffyAngel

The title of this thread should be ,Ballybrack decleared pizza capital of Ireland ..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 776 ✭✭✭seventeen sheep

The title of this thread should be ,Ballybrack decleared pizza capital of Ireland ..

They were doing that deal in Roselawn a couple of weeks back, not sure if they still are. I got a massive pizza, half of it with chicken and peppers and onions and extra cheese for me, the other half with basically a mountain of meat for himself. Twas awesome! And ridiculously cheap, less than €3 I think.

Some passata.
    Grated Cheese.

Do you mean the chilled ones from the Everyday range - 2 x 12" bases for €1.99 grand job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,436 ✭✭✭AlanG

Still doing the deal in Roselawn - they have a thin and thick crust option. The will cook the smaller ones for you free but the larger base has to be cooked at home. Takes about 10 mins at high temp if you don't get too much topping. Fantastic value and service.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,250 ✭✭✭Steven81

Tescos used to do them when i was younger, Dunnes in Athlone have been doing them for years, they come in about 4-5 euro and you get a free 1.5L drink with it too.

Hey Tesco, wanna know how to make money and get people into your stores - roll this darn thing out across all stores !! Nommm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭MrGarak

No where near that classy, these were them (currently €2.99 for 4 in Tesco)

632%5C5052004366632%5CIDShot_225x225.jpg

John Bishops, Vegetarian sketch sums them up

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b-NyB_pbsE8
    Hmm, I have fond memories of pizzas kind of like this but I think they came in a clear bag and the pizzas were packed individually in clear packaging, is that what you's are talking about?

I think you got 5-6 small pizzas stacked in a pack and you could do them under the grill :D Used to love those for a quick snack but Tesco stopped doing them I think??

Anyone know where you can get them? Any of the newer ones like in the pic above taste bad in comparison.

Edit: They looked a bit like this :p:

20130912-pizza-mamma-cucina-margherita-2-frozen.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,830 ✭✭✭irishproduce

I am only posting here so that I am notified if/ when they roll this out across all stores

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,227 ✭✭✭Sam Mac

Anyone seen them do this in any of the Cork stores?

Sam Mac wrote: »
    Anyone seen them do this in any of the Cork stores?

Ballincollig and Wilton both do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,227 ✭✭✭Sam Mac

Ballincollig and Wilton both do.

I've seen the fresh pizzas pre packaged in Wilton, do they make it for you at the deli also?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,647 ✭✭✭thenightrider

They do the half price pizza in the new Tesco in Dundalk :D they taste so so good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,830 ✭✭✭irishproduce

Wait a second, so it is rolled out across the country? Is it anywhere that has a pizza stand?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭db

My 15yo son makes our pizza - makes the dough the night before, sauce made from a tin of tomatoes & some herbs, add grated cheese, pepperoni, ham and anything else you might have in the fridge. 2 good size pizzas from one batch of dough as good as anything I've ever had from a restaurant and better than you will ever get in a shop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

db wrote: »
    My 15yo son makes our pizza - makes the dough the night before, sauce made from a tin of tomatoes & some herbs, add grated cheese, pepperoni, ham and anything else you might have in the fridge. 2 good size pizzas from one batch of dough as good as anything I've ever had from a restaurant and better than you will ever get in a shop.

+1, Making a pizza base is dead easy and way nicer than these pre-made pizza bases.

Sam Mac wrote: »
    I've seen the fresh pizzas pre packaged in Wilton, do they make it for you at the deli also?

Yep. There's a big wheel type thing on one of the counters with all the toppings in, just ask there :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,089 ✭✭✭✭mrcheez

I spotted this in the Tesco Jervis last week. Saw a guy behind me at the till with two pizzas for roughly €2.50 each. Thought it must have been marked down as "soon to expire" or something.

Out of curiosity the next day I popped in at lunch, went to the Deli and ordered a custom pizza loaded to the brim which they cooked there and then. Cost €2.67.

I struggled to finish it and was still fairly full by evening time. Have to say, €2.67 for lunch is pretty damn good.

*I only wish I'd asked for the price sticker to be put on the side of the box (instead of the top) as the guy at the till had to turn the pizza upside down to scan it making a nice mess of the ingredients inside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 498 ✭✭badker

db wrote: »

can u post recipe for the dough?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,091 ✭✭✭carbsy

badker wrote: »
    can u post recipe for the dough?

Check this out! -> Pizza!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 616 ✭✭✭Monkeynut

carbsy wrote: »
    Check this out! ->

that video's gas

• Closed Accounts Posts: 518 ✭✭✭FluffyAngel

finally got one of the pizzas..2.00 and it was packed to the brim

can these be frozen?