Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Homeless Couple Living in a Car in Tallaght

• 24-11-2014 4:53pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,870 ✭✭✭✭

Reading this story it just seems to reek of a mentality that is not right, they could easily move out of the area, they have a car for transport, during the day she could spend with family and then he could work and pick her up in the evenings etc.

I'm not normally one to wade in on the whole "we needs our benefits" peoples threads. Just with these 2 it seems like this is not a case of circumstances but rather a balance of circumstance and choice. If someone told me I'd have to live a bit further away from my family or live in a car, I'd be looking around on Daft.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/social-affairs/dublin-couple-sleeping-in-their-car-for-three-weeks-1.2012427
    Neither is working. Ciara has severe agoraphobia and experiences panic attacks. Shane has effectively become her carer. She cannot be alone for extended periods. Also, if he did take up employment they would lose their rent allowance. As a safe home is so important for Ciara’s mental health, he says retaining the rent allowance had been a priority.

Fair enough I guess,
    As a couple, they are entitled to €540-a-month rent allowance and allowed to pay a rent capped at €750 per month. “We haven’t been able to find anywhere,” she says. Staying around west Tallaght is important as she needs to be near her sisters, she says

Wait, what the ****
    We go down to the council every day asking them if there’s anything,” says Shane. “They just keep saying there’s six couples ahead of us. One guy, when he heard we were sleeping in our car, said, ‘At least you’re in out of the rain’.”

Ummmm..... reality check there i'd say

Is this a case of people being so used to having allowances/benefits that they cannot think laterally and come up with a solution better than this? :confused:

Don't get me wrong, I feel for anyone who ends up homeless, and it can happen to anyone, circumstances can make life really tough at times and pull the rug out from under you.... but this story reminds me of the family in the (new and empty *cough cough*) tent on the pavement.... more sob-story than tragic, avoidable so to speak

I hope they can figure out a solution

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I can't afford a 5-bed house in Rathfarnham, I think I'm going to go live in my car and have a whinge about how I need to be nearer to my daughter's grandparents but shure isn't it terrible Joe dat de economee is keepin me dowin?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭Nino Brown

"Staying around west Tallaght is important as she needs to be near her sisters, she says"

The sisters are more than likely on the dole and RA too, they could all move down the country. Then they all get houses, they all get to be together, and the taxpayer saves money too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 989 ✭✭✭piperh

Hold on shouldn't they have already lost their rent allowance if they aren't renting??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭Highflyer13

Pair of whingers, hoping that the state gives them all their needs and wants. F**k off :-(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I'm confused by that article. It says they're getting rent allowances but they're living in a car? Could they not just rent a room in a cheap hotel or hostel? Not to mention the writers inability to do percentages.

I guess if that's what they want to do, they're choosing to stay in a car until something more in line with their desires comes up. They could move elsewhere they just don't want to, so I find it hard to feel sorry for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭Mr.McLovin

seamus wrote: »
    I can't afford a 5-bed house in Rathfarnham, I think I'm going to go live in my car and have a whinge about how I need to be nearer to my daughter's grandparents but shure isn't it terrible Joe dat de economee is keepin me dowin?

In all fairness its Jobstown they can't afford to live in, I wouldnt live there if it was free tbh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

I'd like to know if they been offered temporary emergency accommodation, because they seem to qualify. If not, why not? If so, why did they refuse?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 778 ✭✭✭Don Kedick

Something seems off about that article, doesn't seem factual. It wont stop those lucky to have jobs and a home slagging off those less fortunate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Nino Brown wrote: »
    "Staying around west Tallaght is important as she needs to be near her sisters, she says"

The sisters are more than likely on the dole and RA too , they could all move down the country. Then they all get houses, they all get to be together, and the taxpayer saves money too.

Would you mind explaining, how in under jaysus you arrived at that conclusion :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,870 ✭✭✭✭Generic Dreadhead

Would you mind explaining, how in under jaysus you arrived at that conclusion :confused:

It said this in the article:
    While both have family living in the area, they say they can’t stay with them as they live in council houses and it would breach their leases to overcrowd their homes.

Not sure how RA goes/does not go with Council housing though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,101 ✭✭✭Rightwing

If they want more space, why not get a transit van ?

Cormac... wrote: »
    It said this in the article:

Not sure how RA goes/does not go with Council housing though

Yeah that was my point.

I know loads of folk on the dole, (some even from Tallaght) who I'm pretty certain aren't / weren't ever "in the Ra."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,571 ✭✭✭0byme75341jo28

Yeah that was my point.

I know loads of folk on the dole, (some even from Tallaght) who I'm pretty certain aren't / weren't ever "in the Ra."

RENT ALLOWANCE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Yeah that was my point.

RA = Rent Allowance

Yeah that was my point.

Haha, RA = Rent Allowance:pac:

Hahhahahahaha that's hilarious. Anyone in a council house is in the ra. ahahahahhahahaha

Aw, we'll have Banjo String all embarrassed. Hope he doesn't have a quick temper, he might snap :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭Fuhrer

Don Kedick wrote: »
    Hahhahahahaha that's hilarious. Anyone in a council house is in the ra. ahahahahhahahaha

hahahahahaha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,397 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Think that says more about Banjo String's subconscious...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,397 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Aw, we'll have Banjo String all embarrassed. Hope he doesn't have a quick temper, he might snap :(

He will if we wind him up too much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,315 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

I'd like to know if they been offered temporary emergency accommodation, because they seem to qualify. If not, why not? If so, why did they refuse?
    I doubt there's parking at emergency accommodation, but they may also have declined it due to her agoraphobia.
    As a safe home is so important for Ciara’s mental health, he says retaining the rent allowance had been a priority.
    As a couple, they are entitled to €540-a-month rent allowance and allowed to pay a rent capped at €750 per month. “We haven’t been able to find anywhere,” she says. Staying around west Tallaght is important as she needs to be near her sisters, she says.
    I'm pretty sure as they're not living in a house, that it would be lost? I'm guessing they want to stay in Jobstown so they can claim the same amount, as I think if they went to a new area they wouldn't be able to claim RA from the get-go (I think they have to rent for a few months before they can start getting RA).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,870 ✭✭✭✭Generic Dreadhead

that's hilarious accurate. Anyone the majority of people in a council house is are in the ra Real IRA.

FYI :p

jk

the_syco wrote: »
    I doubt there's parking at emergency accommodation, but they may also have declined it due to her agoraphobia.
    Don't really understand how a tiny car where you can see the outside perfectly well is a better place to live than, any accommodation. You'd think living in a car would be the worst place for someone with agoraphobia.

"I am passionate about the RA and think it stands for all the very best in British cultural life."
    - Stephen Fry

Source: www.royalacademy.org.uk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,315 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

ScumLord wrote: »
    Don't really understand how a tiny car where you can see the outside perfectly well is a better place to live than, any accommodation. You'd think living in a car would be the worst place for someone with agoraphobia.
    Emergency accommodation may be her and another 20 homeless people in the one dorm, or it may be herself and himself in the one room. Of course they don't specify what was offered to them already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 965 ✭✭✭CucaFace

'Ciara has severe agoraphobia and experiences panic attacks'

Well that's a convenient excuse for both of them not to have to work for a living....

I would imagine its an easy enough 'illness' to get signed off by a doctor so you can sponge of the country for the whole of your life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,100 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

I don't think there is any need for anyone to be homeless like this today in Ireland.

I know there are homeless out there, but a lot of them are outside the loop and are not in a position to know the system, or actually don't want to know it... if you get me. We are a caring society really.

As for Ciara and Shane. OMG. I would ask why

A. They can't get a hotel room for a while courtesy of the taxpayer... nice and warm etc.
    B the sisters don't put them up for a few days to keep them warm. That is basic stuff that any family would do, and feck the rules, if there are any for short term guests. AndI don't believe there are. Otherwise, no one could have their kids, grandkids etc. sleep over. I'm sceptical.

Anwyay, I wish them luck.There are too many sob stories out there. If you need shelter, you will take anything rather than sleep in a cold metal bucket of a car FGS.

This doesn't seem right to me. There is probably more to this story.,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Maybe one day a civil servant who is far smarter then me could bring in a scheme that if you start working you don't instantly lose your rent allowance. Some sort of gradual scheme.

Those two will never take up work unless they can get good money jobs. And the days of pulling several hundred a week labouring on sites are gone and may never return

CucaFace wrote: »
    'Ciara has severe agoraphobia and experiences panic attacks'

Well that's a convenient excuse for both of them not to have to work for a living....

I would imagine its an easy enough 'illness' to get signed off by a doctor so you can sponge of the country for the whole of your life.

I'm sure you know much more about it than the doctor who signed off on it...

A lot of people here are very out of touch with the realities for a lot of people in this country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Its a tricky one in my opinion. If they leave the area to somewhere they can afford outside of south Dublin then they lose their place on the housing list. And lose any social support they have from family etc.
    But living in a car in the meantime is nonsensical.

We will see more and more of these cases where rent allowance restriction does not cover minimum rent in an area and people are left with the choice of homelessness, kipping with family or friends, emergency accommodation or moving outside of Dublin to a place they can afford.

The question is how much can they depend on the state to meet their needs? Less and less I would imagine.

RENT ALLOWANCE

seamus wrote: »

RA = Rent Allowance
    Nino Brown wrote: »
    Haha, RA = Rent Allowance:pac:

Lol, fair enough.

It's just with the whole Joan/Jobstown/dissident republican and Sinister fringe stories, I jumped to the very wrong conclusion. :pac:

Its a tricky one in my opinion. If they leave the area to somewhere they can afford outside of south Dublin then they lose their place on the housing list. And lose any social support they have from family etc.
    But living in a car in the meantime is nonsensical.

We will see more and more of these cases where rent allowance restriction does not cover minimum rent in an area and people are left with the choice of homelessness, kipping with family or friends, emergency accommodation or moving outside of Dublin to a place they can afford.

The question is how much can they depend on the state to meet their needs? Less and less I would imagine.

They have to live within their means though. If the rent is too much in their preferred area then they simply can't afford to live there and will have to look elsewhere, that's life. I see no reason why they should be living in their car tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

Its a shame there are no houses outside of Dublin.

Emergency accommodation may be her and another 20 homeless people in the one dorm,
    Maybe that's it, it's hard enough to sleep in a room full of strangers without an anxiety disorder.

Sleeping in a car in this day and age is not necessary IMV.

OK you can do it, fine if you want to, but you don't have to.

Seems to me, they were all up and savvy about buying a car, not taxing or insuring it, moving it around car parks where they wouldn't be fined and so on. That does not sound to me like people who are out of the loop at all.

They would be placed in emergency accommodation tonight. But it might not suit them.

That's the problem I reckon.

Maybe if Ciara were admitted to hospital for her crippling illness and Shane could go and source accommodation that might help. But I reckon Ciara would not go to hospital on her own either.

Tough one. But I bet they have the best of care on the medical card if they choose to accept it.

I know I am coming across as all right wing etc. I just don't believe that anyone would be on the streets today, unless that is their choice, or the shelter they are offered is not what they want.

Sleeping in a car? Get off the stage now. Not necessary at all, despite all the soppy ads around now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,491 ✭✭✭looking_around

I'm pretty sure as they're not living in a house, that it would be lost? I'm guessing they want to stay in Jobstown so they can claim the same amount, as I think if they went to a new area they wouldn't be able to claim RA from the get-go (I think they have to rent for a few months before they can start getting RA).

So long as it's in the same county, no issues, they can move and carry over their rent allowance.

(I moved too often in the same county, while claiming. )
    Leaving the county, is a bit more hassle, they need good reason to be moving and have to re-apply for rent allownace. In this case, they would have to rent for a few months, if they didn't have a good reason, after a few months, they simply say "we're here now, and we need help"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Actually you can move areas and keep your place on your preferred housing list .
    It's just most people are too lazy to bother looking further afield .
    The current wait for council housing in South dublin is 10-12 years they'd have a few years wait yet .

Another waste of ink for the media

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,491 ✭✭✭looking_around

Gatling wrote: »
    Actually you can move areas and keep your place on your preferred housing list .
    It's just most people are too lazy to bother looking further afield .
    The current wait for council housing in South dublin is 10-12 years they'd have a few years wait yet .

Another waste of ink for the media

well, if she's out on medical, she'll be on the "disability" waiting list, I assume that's quicker.

But this whole story sounds like trying to speed her their place on the list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Give me a tent and a good sleeping bag over a car anyday no matter what time of year it is

Entitlement culture.

Those who are demanding their dream accommodation, must start to acknowledge that those who are working and paying taxes are paying for you.

We don't complain. At least I don't. I could be Ciara and Shane some day, who knows? and I will be thankful for a caring society who would never expect me to live on the street, or in my car. Ever, there is always an alternative.

But we are not stupid either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭Gosub

ScumLord wrote: »
    I'm confused by that article. It says they're getting rent allowances but they're living in a car?
    Maybe it's a rented car. :D

This kind of reminds me about the couple in Castleknock recently who cried and turned up in court having failed to observe the court ruling... in their pjs.

Haven't heard much since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

A home is a dwelling-place used as a permanent or semi-permanent residence. It is often a house, apartment, or other building, or alternatively a mobile home, houseboat, yurt or any other portable shelter.

They're not homeless.

They're lucky to have even a car.

I know a family of four who have to sleep on a skateboard, Joe.

Thankfully the SVP gave the youngest a pair of roller skates to sleep on, so the other three have a bit more room now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,449 ✭✭✭artful_codger

Why are these people called "Travellers" when they want to live in a house?

More entitlement culture and the race/discrimination card.

I'm sick of it now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,402 ✭✭✭✭unkel

There are 60 properties in Dublin city alone on daft to let for under €750 per month. They have a car and could be with their family in Jobstown within an hour from any one of those 60 properties.

“In the mornings I go over to Eurospar, get two cups of tea and sausage rolls to warm us up, and a bottle of water to brush our teeth.”

That would cost the guts of a tenner. Or €300 per month. Their dole is far too high if they can afford that.

Lotus Elan turbo for sale:

https://www.adverts.ie/vehicles/lotus-elan-turbo/35456469

My ads on adverts.ie:

https://www.adverts.ie/member/5856/ads

unkel wrote: »
    There are 60 properties in Dublin city alone on daft to let for under €750 per month. They have a car and could be with their family in Jobstown within an hour from any one of those 60 properties.

“In the mornings I go over to Eurospar, get two cups of tea and sausage rolls to warm us up, and a bottle of water to brush our teeth.”

That would cost the guts of a tenner. Or €300 per month. Their dole is far too high if they can afford that.

Ah but f**k sitting in traffic for an hour, if they wanted to have to do that everyday, they'd just get a job!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Saipanne

A lot of people here are very out of touch with the realities for a lot of people in this country.

Where do their butlers sleep?