Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

tracksuit????

• 17-11-2014 6:14pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭

what do you lads think of a lad out hunting wearing a tracksuit,does it give the wrong impression?or does it not matter.saw a few choice comments on a lads youtube video in which he was wearing a tracksuit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

hathcock wrote: »
    what do you lads think of a lad out hunting wearing a tracksuit,does it give the wrong impression?or does it not matter.saw a few choice comments on a lads youtube video in which he was wearing a tracksuit.

Was he wearing nike airmax with his tracksuit tucked into his white socks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭Savage93

Jaysus, you'll be hunting in your pyjamas next:D:D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭R1_Pete

If he was hunting rival crack dealers with a glock it is highly appropriate. Was it in a block of flats??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭snipe49

Next thing they'll be wearing camo onesies. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭deerhunter1

garv123 wrote: »
    Was he wearing nike airmax with his tracksuit tucked into his white socks?

:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,979 ✭✭✭Eddie B

Nothing to do with the look, but I think their just no good for hunting! Too light for rough shooting, and not warm enough for decoying/flighting!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭Mackcon

What bugs me is that people have their vision of what hunting should be and everyone has to conform to it , personally I don't care what people wear or do as long as it's leagal and there not bothering me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭hathcock

nobody so far has addressed the issue of the impression created by someone wearing a tracksuit while brandishing a shotgun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 94 ✭✭vincentf

There could be a number of factors. He is only starting out, getting gear together and such. His gear could be in the wash and all he had to wear was a track suit.
    He could be a knowledgeable hunter with lots of experience and doesn't care about what he looks like and what people think and conforming to stereo type.
    He probably knows more than those twits walking around the Scottish hills in their tweed attire !
    Remember the old saying ` you can`t judge a book by it`s cover

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 930 ✭✭✭robertpatterson

nobody so far has addressed the issue of the impression created by someone wearing a tracksuit while brandishing a shotgun.
    Actually they have, check out mackcons post above yours
    Why would what someone is wearing have anything when out hunting to do with anyone else?
    Do you think theres a problem with it?

Actually they have, check out mackcons post above yours
    Why would what someone is wearing have anything when out hunting to do with anyone else?
    Do you think theres a problem with it?

unfortunately its the impression that only skangers wear tracksuits thats the problem,may not be entirely true but nonetheless first impressions last.

who would you rather see coming out over a gate on a country road if you were an ordinary member of the public,a lad in country clothing or a lad in a shellsuit,in other words a regular picture of country life or one of nidges crew?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

During the summer I'd often were track suit bottoms and tshirt if weather is sunny. Only going for rabbits so not like is be going through rough ground.
    During winter I'd have heavier clothes on often track suits underneath my trousers.
    Whatever ya comfortable in I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 varmintbill

Lets keep it right here lads tracksuits and runners dont belong in the hunting game and the people who wear them while hunting dont belong in it either, just look at any sport today and the participants are suitably dressed , football ,hurling, soccer ,tennis ,rugby ,martial arts,jockeys, the list is endless , so if we go down the route of tracksuits and runners and huddies its f***ed .

Was that post actual for real?
    This is also how hunting clothes are to be worn.
    image_zps40cb98cd.jpg

Sorry but if I had to wear clothes like that I'd have to kick my own ass

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 459 ✭✭richiedel123

That is a stupid comment. No one said he was wearing runners people only commented asking was he wearing runners and big white socks. Is everyone supposed to wear Camo out all the time or what? Or tweed if you like that kinda thing. I normally wear jeans and a t'shirt if the weather is ok and if it's not I'll have a jacket on. I wear this whatever shooting I'm doin be it deer pheasant pigeon or duck. It's what I'm comfortable in. I don't usually wear tracksuit bottoms but if I did I would wear them shooting and wouldn't care what people think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 459 ✭✭richiedel123

That is a stupid comment. No one said he was wearing runners people only commented asking was he wearing runners and big white socks. Is everyone supposed to wear Camo out all the time or what? Or tweed if you like that kinda thing. I normally wear jeans and a t'shirt if the weather is ok and if it's not I'll have a jacket on. I wear this whatever shooting I'm doin be it deer pheasant pigeon or duck. It's what I'm comfortable in. I don't usually wear tracksuit bottoms but if I did I would wear them shooting and wouldn't care what people think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 varmintbill

I think you missed the point i am making ,the huntsman in the picture, is as many people would agree dressed for his type of hunting ,so why would you have to kick your own ass ,most shooting men dress in camo gear or green or brown clothing ,i personally think tracksuits are not the right type of clothing for hunting or shooting my opinion only .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 springer8

The track suits should be left in d gym lads. For the average member of the public the only time they see men in track suits with shotguns is when they are with sawn off shot guns and have balaclava's . The sport gets enough bad press as it is doesn't take much to dress more appropriate .. Combats and fleeces can be bought in penny's for €10

one thing for sure is that if you were seen in any of the places I hunt wearing a tracksuit and holding a shotgun,landowners would be immediately suspicious and the law would be called,perfectly understandable I would contend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭welsummer

the answer to your question is.. if you were a stranger knocking on a farmers door looking for permission to shoot on his land, would you wear tracksuit and a hoodie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,287 ✭✭✭Chiparus

This is gone a bit AWOL.
    Why can't someone wear what they want when hunting. Obviously in winter most would wrap up but in summer time I do wear a tshirt and jeans or track suit.
    Ground isn't wet and in the heat you'd be sweating like fcuk especially on my permission were it is all up hill.
    Would yas moan about a hot blond girl wanting to hunt in stilettos, skirt and tank top ........be honest :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,088 ✭✭✭aaakev

iv been known to go for a ramble on a summer evening woth the shottie after a few rabbits wearing tracksuit bottoms and a teeshirt. I wear a suit to work every day and live in tracksuits outside work, mostly because im training every other day but I really couldn't care less about what people think of me or how I look. Im also very far from being a scanger.

Now dont gwt me wrong, if im actually heading out hunting for the day and not just going into the first field at my place im booted up and wearing combats and the deer hunter jacket but if im bored and decide to just go walking ill go as im dressed in the summer

I get strange looks all the time getting out of my car and I know its because of how im dressed v the car im driving, but that's other peoples problem not mine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

In the colder months I wear a fleece hoody under a wax jacket if I'm doing vermin control from a hide. If I'm rough shooting I just wear the wax jacket as I'm moving about and generating body heat. Not a fan of wearing track suits outside the gym but I wouldn't hang anyone for it. I'd agree though that it wouldn't be the best look if your going around trying to get permissions off landowners.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 77 ✭✭rebok classic

Hello to you all just new here and must say its a very sad reflection on the calibre of the men on this forum that they would judge a hunting man or any other for that matter on what they are wearing and not their actions values beliefs etc . It seems the place is full up with jealous little men who dont feel liked or good enough unless they are dressed the same as everyone else driving the same cars talk the same , didnt yer fathers teach ye anything about being a man growing up many a rich heart is to be found under a poor coat dont judge until you get to know someone your probably wrong . Thats just ignorant and snobbery and very pathetic dont ever change tracksuit man whoever you are at least you have the balls to be different not like therest of these little insecure sheep the only essentials for rough shooting are a good dog and a gun that shoots straight good ethics as you are your own master in the field and the only thing that seperates a man in the field is good dog work and a good shot the rest is irrelevant and if thats what your preoccupied about stay the hell away from me until you get humble and grow up .. to the men that defended tracksuit man I sallute you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 268 ✭✭ESB Spaniel

Boys these YouTube videos are mine by the way , and I'm no skanger, I love hunting and give everything to hunting, to be judged on what I am wearing is absolutely shocking, I put all my money into my dogs, dog runs and dog food.....I have 2 kids as well and saving for a wedding at the moment and to hear this ****e is killing me to be honest. I have a few pheasant jumpers and camo gear but to be honest it's all about comfort really cause its not just a quick in and out hunt, I'm hunting all day every Saturday and Sunday, i might have to bring a a change of clothes also. I am disappointed to say the least over this and makes me wonder why I upload videos at all... Skanger.....Haha Ye are gas, I have met a few people from this website and they will tell you that I am no skanger. Come off yere high horse now lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 63 ✭✭Remember me?

Can't believe what I am reading! Next fellas will be saying it's only acceptable to shoot side by side ,and it will have to be a 200000 euro purdey. Not every fella can afford to go out and buy this gear and even of they did some lads choose not too anyway. because like myself it's more comfortable to wear a sweat pants. I think all this **** started with shoots in England where a certain attire had to be conformed with and and side by side had to be used . The lads that are against the tracksuit pants must be working for deer hunter or something. Dogs hunt birds guns shoot birds. Simple nothing to do with how u look

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭Woodcock shot

Boys these YouTube videos are mine by the way , and I'm no skanger, I love hunting and give everything to hunting, to be judged on what I am wearing is absolutely shocking, I put all my money into my dogs, dog runs and dog food.....I have 2 kids as well and saving for a wedding at the moment and to hear this ****e is killing me to be honest. I have a few pheasant jumpers and camo gear but to be honest it's all about comfort really cause its not just a quick in and out hunt, I'm hunting all day every Saturday and Sunday, i might have to bring a a change of clothes also. I am disappointed to say the least over this and makes me wonder why I upload videos at all... Skanger.....Haha Ye are gas, I have met a few people from this website and they will tell you that I am no skanger. Come off yere high horse now lads.

Good on ye, keep the videos coming

As I said before, nothing to do with the look, but just think their not up to the job!

For instance, remember bringing the young lad with me one time, and he wore tracksuit bottoms!

Was alright till we hit hard cover!

Well he felt every torn, nettle, thistle he brushed off! Nearly had to call for a helicopter, to get him out a there!
    After that it was jeans, till i could round up a few Bob for camo gear! Lesson learned!

welsummer wrote: »
    the answer to your question is.. if you were a stranger knocking on a farmers door looking for permission to shoot on his land, would you wear tracksuit and a hoodie.

think you have hit the proverbial nail on the head a chara.

nobody said you were a skanger,i have no doubt that you are an honourable person,but its all about perception,would you in all honesty approach a farmer you don't know and ask for shooting permission while wearing a tracksuit and hoodie?you would have a far better chance of a positive response wearing other clothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 trigger92

Who are you to say what a person can or can not wear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭tomtucker81

I was out two weekends ago, fella i went out with had tracksuit bottoms and top. I didnt nor would i pass comment or have an opinion on what someone should wear, from a 'That's not proper' point of view!
    However my only issue was that it wasnt proper for the weather...and he was soaked through very quickly. But that's for him to deal with if he wants to, far be it for me or anyone else to tell someone how to dress and likewise I'll dress as i see fit.

nobody said you were a skanger,i have no doubt that you are an honourable person,but its all about perception,would you in all honesty approach a farmer you don't know and ask for shooting permission while wearing a tracksuit and hoodie?you would have a far better chance of a positive response wearing other clothing.

I have done and do all the time and have yet to be refused unless it has been preserved. I'd rather look like a fool then shoot like one. But look everyone has their opinion and i am not going to hate on anyone if they like me or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭tikkahunter

How expensive is it for a jack pike coat and trousers and wellies? ....probably less than a tracksuit and runners, if a lad is starting out he can easily pick up some gear for next to noting, tracksuits and runners are not fit for purpose in the field and look awful in to the bargain.
    Who would the guards be called for first a lad in hunting gear or a lad in a tracksuit with a firearm and who would the guard pass judgement on whether right or wrong .
    In every walk of life whether a job interview,a court appearance or even going out with a bird you always dress to make an impression, why would going hunting be any different.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 63 ✭✭Remember me?

How expensive is it for a jack pike coat and trousers and wellies? ....probably less than a tracksuit and runners, if a lad is starting out he can easily pick up some gear for next to noting, tracksuits and runners are not fit for purpose in the field and look awful in to the bargain.
    Who would the guards be called for first a lad in hunting gear or a lad in a tracksuit with a firearm and who would the guard pass judgement on whether right or wrong .
    In every walk of life whether a job interview,a court appearance or even going out with a bird you always dress to make an impression, why would going hunting be any different.

Ya because the quarry u are shooting cares how u look! Most if not all the ground I hunt I know the landowners . And lads come on we are talking about a pair of pants here , just pants he probably has a jacket of some sort or a game bag and wellies . Plus a dog and few birds don't think any farmer is gonna think he is ready to pop a cap in his ass! Think there might be a slight bit of jealousy from the lad that made comment on his video .and to be fair the same lad that made the comment has a video of and springer hunting , a "display" he calls it.... I know what it is its a disgrace . Jealousy does awful things to some people.

Who said anything about landowners , if a member of the public calls the guards which i have seen happening and they roll up to a lad in a tracksuit ,you reckon they wont judge him? of course they will. I didnt even watch the video im commenting on lads saying it is grand to wear tracksuits and runners in the field, people can wear what they want but you are always judged on first impressions. As for the quarry caring what you wear ,you would be pretty thick to wear out a tracksuit ,pigeon ,crow shooting or any other type of hunting that most lads spend hundreds on trying to blend in with the surroundings.

I would never wear a pair of runners hunting? That is a ridiculous statement. it could be a tracksuit bottoms or a top and I don't always wear them either but I don't like wearing the same clothes over 2 days....people might start to talk... as we are talking about it I know shooting lads that wear their camo gear all the time and wish they hadn't put them on at all while tearing up a dike....and lads i do have a few jackets but only wear them when its lashing it down. Can be seen in some of my videos...this started over nothing, a smart arss keyboard warrior on youtube that couldn't just keep his mouth shut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

Gotta say, I'm splitting myself laughing at the irony of this one.

We've had years of people on here saying that no-camo rules at ranges are just elitist nonsense and that camo's comfortable, warm, dry, cheap clothing and it's just stupid to ban them (and a few people kept showing up to ranges in different camo outfits to see how far they could push the rules till someone asked them to cop on or leave) and the ISSF lads took a fair amount of flak over it, being painted as the masterminds of this heinous stupid set of rules...

...and now here's a thread saying that the normal gear ISSF shooters are required to wear on ranges at international competitions isn't fit for hunting and carries an image problem despite being comfortable, warm, dry, cheap clothing.

Sorry lads, I know it's a cheap shot and I'm being a smaller man for saying it, but it's just too damn funny...

Sparks wrote: »
    Gotta say, I'm splitting myself laughing at the irony of this one.

We've had years of people on here saying that no-camo rules at ranges are just elitist nonsense and that camo's comfortable, warm, dry, cheap clothing and it's just stupid to ban them (and a few people kept showing up to ranges in different camo outfits to see how far they could push the rules till someone asked them to cop on or leave) and the ISSF lads took a fair amount of flak over it, being painted as the masterminds of this heinous stupid set of rules...

...and now here's a thread saying that the normal gear ISSF shooters are required to wear on ranges at international competitions isn't fit for hunting and carries an image problem despite being comfortable, warm, dry, cheap clothing.

Sorry lads, I know it's a cheap shot and I'm being a smaller man for saying it, but it's just too damn funny...
    Serious question , why is there a camo gear ban on ranges , im not a member of one so wasn't aware of it ?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,697 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

If any land owner/ farmer has given me permission it's because of my character and what i do for them in terms of watching their lands, vermin control, controlling deer, etc. Never, not once, has the way i dress ever been an issue let alone brought up.

I'm not criticising lads as everyone is entitled to their beliefs, but i genuinely wouldn't have even considered this an issue. My Father, my shooting mates, and myself all wear trackies. When i get to my permissions i might put on camo, but usually during winter months. However it's back into tracksuit bottoms when i'm finished.

As to how a Garda views me. Well if one can find me where i shoot fair play to him, but smart arse answers aside, i have permission, the land owner is happy with what i do, so frankly who cares.

It's only in the last 3 years i've gotten camo. Before that it was tracksuits, jeans, t-shirts, hoodies, etc. IOW whatever i was comfortable in.
    Good on ye, keep the videos coming
    Absolutely.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

Serious question , why is there a camo gear ban on ranges , im not a member of one so wasn't aware of it ?

Not all ranges, but more than a few. Mainly because operators were worried that one eejit reporter would take a photo during silly season and run a story about the range being used by paramilitary wannabes (the rule dates from the bad old days before the Peace Process began) and the next thing you know the local voters are lobbying to close the range. Internationally you see it in a few places as well, for the same reason but without our historical baggage.

How expensive is it for a jack pike coat and trousers and wellies? ....probably less than a tracksuit and runners,

He's hardly gonna go out in a bran new track suit an runners mate.
    I'd wear old track suit that I won't wear anymore and don't care if it gets torn or damaged. But as I said it's only during hot days in the summer.
    Winter i would usually wear my jack Pyke gear but the jacket has seen better days and my bottoms are fcuk'd
    So now it's my snickers bottoms and jacket. Keeps me warm in the garage on cold mornings so same applies when I'm out and they can take good bit of abuse when I'm going through gorse land but none the less I'm protected.

I would never wear a pair of runners hunting? That is a ridiculous statement. it could be a tracksuit bottoms or a top and I don't always wear them either but I don't like wearing the same clothes over 2 days....people might start to talk... as we are talking about it I know shooting lads that wear their camo gear all the time and wish they hadn't put them on at all while tearing up a dike....and lads i do have a few jackets but only wear them when its lashing it down. Can be seen in some of my videos...this started over nothing, a smart arss keyboard warrior on youtube that couldn't just keep his mouth shut.

smart arsed or not why should he keep his mouth shut, he is entitled to comment on your vids, as is anyone else,youtube supply a comment facility just for this purpose ,would you deny him the right to comment because you don't like what he has to say?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

would you deny him the right to comment because you don't like what he has to say?

I don't think there is a right to reply on youtube, comments can be disabled if a user wants

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭Mackcon

It's sad to see such prejudice , snobbery and narrow minded people still in this country

I am disappointed to say the least over this and makes me wonder why I upload videos at all... Skanger.....Haha Ye are gas, I have met a few people from this website and they will tell you that I am no skanger. Come off yere high horse now lads.

Hope this doesn't stop you from putting up your video's!

I find them very good, plenty of action, and a few swear words thrown in when needed!:D

Just like to say thanks for sharing, and hope you keep them going!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

Eddie B wrote: »

I find them very good, plenty of action, and a few swear words thrown in when needed!:D

+1million

Eddie B wrote: »

It won't lads, and sorry for the swear words I tend to forget its on my head....If I had to put more of it ye would hear a lot more....Nice to put up the misses as well, you can't hit them all.