Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

08 Kia Ceed Estate Fuel Economy

• 15-11-2014 4:18pm

Herself Bought it yesterday, it's o.k, not really my cup of tea. Suspension is too firm for my liking but overly common these days. Handling is good but still too firm for Irish roads.

On the same 50 mile trip as I bring the Prius on occasion I averaged 41.8 mpg V 64 mpg in the Prius, I was expecting at least 50 mpg from a 1.6 Diesel.

I would expect a modern 1.4 Turbo petrol these days to average at least 40-45 mpg.

I must say though I hate manual diesels, I hate that narrow torque band, Twin clutch or CVT are miles better with diesels.

On the plus, it's very well built, and it's chain cam. AFAIK no DMF either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭corkgsxr

Kia a renown for being very far out with mpg claims

But I'd at least expect 50 mpg on the same run in a 1.6 Diesel, 41.8 is what I would expect today in a petrol of similar power and in a similar size car.

While The low down shove is more than the MK II prius, the prius is much smoother, similar power and more interior room and it's an automatic, achieves 64 mpg on the same route that's a shocking difference.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭Jesus.

I must say though I hate manual diesels, I hate that narrow torque band.

As petrol-head's say when people are bemoaning a lack of Torque in petrols:

It's irrelevant if you know how to use a gearbox :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭visual

Smaller engine isn't always better

1.9 or 2.0L would easily active the mpg as it isn't working as hard to cruise along

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 337 ✭✭cyborg

The trip computer is inaccurate , it will do 50+mpg no problem. brim a tank and recalculate.

visual wrote: »
    Smaller engine isn't always better

1.9 or 2.0L would easily active the mpg as it isn't working as hard to cruise along

My sisters 1.6 90 HP Diesel 308 averages 58 mpg.

The Kia has 115 HP and has plenty of power to move it without struggling.

cyborg wrote: »
    The trip computer is inaccurate , it will do 50+mpg no problem. brim a tank and recalculate.

I'll certainly do that.

Jesus. wrote: »
    As petrol-head's say when people are bemoaning a lack of Torque in petrols:

It's irrelevant if you know how to use a gearbox :p

I well know how to use a gear box, thing is though in the petrol you can hold on to the gears much longer if you want while in the diesel you have to change much more and earlier.

As I say cvt or dsg is far better with diesels.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Could the car just need a service. If the air or fuel filter were very dirty that could lead to a significant enough drop in mpg. I assume you've checked the obvious stuff like tyre pressure although that shouldn't effect it too much unless there was 20 psi or something like that in them.

41mpg seems very low although Korean Diesel engines are normally pigs on diesel although I thought that the 1.6 in the ceeds was suppose to be good enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

What's the route?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,852 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

I get almost 60mpg average on a similar car. 1.6 115bhp diesel. Perhaps Kia/Hyundai have poor economy, or maybe the driver has a point to prove?

yeah I had a feeling someone would throw that at me " a point to prove"

No I have no point to prove because I said my sisters 308 90 HP HDI averages 58 mpg.

I was comparing the exact same route I sometimes take the Prius.

Tullow - Shillelagh-Tinahely-Knockanana-Rathangan-Baltinglass and back.

Not driven like a grandpa either in the Ceed or Prius.

I like this route because it's nice and it's fun to drive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭visual

My sisters 1.6 90 HP Diesel 308 averages 58 mpg.

The Kia has 115 HP and has plenty of power to move it without struggling.

You missed the point plus anytime I see a Kia in overtaking lane it's holding up traffic

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,852 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

yeah I had a feeling someone would throw that at me " a point to prove"

No I have no point to prove because I said my sisters 308 90 HP HDI averages 58 mpg.

Maybe, as I already suggested, The Kia/Hyundai simply have a thirsty engine then?

Bpmull wrote: »
    Could the car just need a service. If the air or fuel filter were very dirty that could lead to a significant enough drop in mpg. I assume you've checked the obvious stuff like tyre pressure although that shouldn't effect it too much unless there was 20 psi or something like that in them.

41mpg seems very low although Korean Diesel engines are normally pigs on diesel although I thought that the 1.6 in the ceeds was suppose to be good enough.

Doesn't need a service, everything checked the "only" thing I can think of and this is a long shot is the tyres, they're Motrio Impulsion+ never heard of them.

Maybe, as I already suggested, The Kia/Hyundai simply have a thirsty engine then?

Must be thirsty, even though it's a German designed engine. Still would at least expect 50 mpg on that run.

I'd expect much nearer 60mpg for a decent car/driver combo. That and a 600 mile range.

I was expecting at least something like the 308 HDI 90 HP that my sister has.

Even though it's an estate it shouldn't make that much of a difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

That's a very twisty route in fairness, not open road by any stretch, I'd be very happy with 41.8 on that man.. take it for a cruise on the m9 and see how you do..

I should still get a good 50 mpg on that route in the 1.6 compared to 64 mph in the Prius.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 438 ✭✭Crumbs868

As has been mentioned kia is not the most efficient diesel engine out there and their mpg claims were never attainable

They have lost a large law suit in the states over it

https://kiampginfo.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,718 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Our friends recently sold ther Kia same as OP bought as it's fuel economy was poor.
    About town 30-35 mpg is the order of the day.

Crumbs868 wrote: »
    As has been mentioned kia is not the most efficient diesel engine out there and their mph claims were never attainable

They have lost a large law suit in the states over it

https://kiampginfo.com

That's interesting. You wouldn't hear of this in the E.U.

Why do we not take on the car companies ?

Why did people in the E.U not sue over the multitronic and dsg failures ?

Not to forget BMW's timing chain issue !

Seems like we get a very poor deal int he E.U and tolerate it willingly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,006 ✭✭✭bmwguy

I got 39mpg from Dublin to Cavan on the motorway section yesterday. The car is a 2.5 automatic petrol 5 series BMW, 10 years old. After a bit of twisty stuff that dropped to 36mpg, which means on the twisty roads I was probably getting approx 33mpg (journey was roughly 50% motorway/50% twisty back roads). 2 large men on board with the boot full. Similar enough journey to yours.If your diesel Kia only gets 8mpg more than my guzzler then something is wrong with the world (or your car). Your car would be marketed as a fuel efficient diesel car, my car would never make any claims to be fuel efficient, unlike the newer diesel 5 series which claims 60mpg. 8, or even 10 mpg between the 2 would save me less than a tenner a week. That said, when I go back to commuting on Monday in stop/start stuff I won't get anywhere near those figures (low to mid 20s). Might get the push bike back out.

Cheensbo wrote: »
    That's a very twisty route in fairness, not open road by any stretch, I'd be very happy with 41.8 on that man.. take it for a cruise on the m9 and see how you do..

Ah no, If I can get 64 mpg on that route in the Prius I'd expect at least 50 mpg in the diesel.

But When I start back working in Dublin again I might take it for a week and brim it and see what I get from my own calculations.

On that Dublin Route I can get 60 mpg in the Prius going by the speed limits and a little more sometimes so again, I'd expect at least 50 mpg in a 1.6 Diesel.

_Brian wrote: »
    Our friends recently sold ther Kia same as OP bought as it's fuel economy was poor.
    About town 30-35 mpg is the order of the day.

I'm not sure if in heavy traffic I would expect more in town if it was mainly town driving ?

I wouldn't have a diesel for mainly town driving anyway.

bmwguy wrote: »
    I got 39mpg from Dublin to Cavan on the motorway section yesterday. The car is a 2.5 automatic petrol 5 series BMW, 10 years old. After a bit of twisty stuff that dropped to 36mpg, which means on the twisty roads I was probably getting approx 33mpg (journey was roughly 50% motorway/50% twisty back roads). 2 large men on board with the boot full. Similar enough journey to yours.If your diesel Kia only gets 8mpg more than my guzzler then something is wrong with the world (or your car). Your car would be marketed as a fuel efficient diesel car, my car would never make any claims to be fuel efficient, unlike the newer diesel 5 series which claims 60mpg. 8, or even 10 mpg between the 2 would save me less than a tenner a week. That said, when I go back to commuting on Monday in stop/start stuff I won't get anywhere near those figures (low to mid 20s). Might get the push bike back out.

I'm not a fan of trip readings and usually go by the brim calculation or the average computer reading after a full tank, and the Prius computer is pretty accurate.

However, it's interesting to compare the same route with two different cars.

39 mpg is good to get out of a big car on a run, 20 is scary lol perhaps an LPG conversion ?

I will investigate further, but the big test will be to see what it averages per tank, I just don't know why the same trip could see about 23 mpg of a difference, that's shocking really.

bmwguy wrote: »
    That said, when I go back to commuting on Monday in stop/start stuff I won't get anywhere near those figures (low to mid 20s). Might get the push bike back out.

You can always convert your bike to electric, and it's tonnes of fun, you might find it more fun than driving ! :D

We've a 1.5 diesel Rio, Mad Lad, and it returns 50-odd mixed.

There's something wrong in your situation alright

Cheensbo wrote: »
    That's a very twisty route in fairness, not open road by any stretch, I'd be very happy with 41.8 on that man..

Not in a modern 1.6 diesel mate. That's a very poor return.

Jesus. wrote: »
    We've a 1.5 diesel Rio, Mad Lad, and it returns 50-odd mixed.

There's something wrong in your situation alright

I'll have to drive it for a week when I start working again in Dublin and do a brim calculation.

It's the estate version but it shouldn't make that much of a difference.

I'll see what it's like after a weeks driving to Dublin and back I would have imaging that after the 90 or so miles total I did yesterday even after the Wicklow run I should have averaged more than 42 mpg.

If it was any good it should do 50 mpg without driving it particularly economically. Looking at similar engines the vag 1.6 tdi and 1.6 psa diesel engines would both easily do 50mpg. my golf with its 1.9tdi will do 50 mpg without trying to drive economically just normally. If I was trying to take it handy it would do over 55 mpg and thats a fairly ancient engine diesel compare to the newer 1.6 diesel. Although as I said above Kia and Hyundai always seem to be behind the competition when it comes to mpg. As you said op might be know harm to drive it yourself for a week and see what it does then.

Down to 39.4 mpg lads, something not right. O.K I wasn't expecting Prius fuel economy but at least 50 mpg.

This car has been well maintained, no ecu errors, I just can't figure it out.

My partner mostly does short runs until she starts back work in January from maternity leave, so for the moment she's doing short runs which I could say should give 45 mpg . It's dropped from 42 to 39.4 mpg. O.K so I could say the short trips have dropped the mpg a bit. Short as in 20-25 kms and some town driving, but 39.4 mpg ?

WTF like ? tyre pressure is good, 33 psi .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭Seweryn

Down to 39.4 mpg lads, something not right.
    Very strange. You would get better fuel economy from a 20+ year old Mercedes with a bigger engine. Even my 14-year old petrol engined Honda does 48 mpg on average.

Did you use the on-board computer or calculated the figures yourself this time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,718 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

I'd pump up the tyres to 36-38. It'll not be as comfortable but helps a lot.
    Also wonder about air filter??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,193 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

That's terrible.
    My 99 1.8 fiesta regularly gives me 52-53 mpg of mostly motorway (70:30 motorway:backroads), and I've seen nearly 60 when I was pushing it.

One would expect at least 50mpg out of a so called more efficient modern diesel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,310 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Down to 39.4 mpg lads, something not right. O.K I wasn't expecting Prius fuel economy but at least 50 mpg.

How did you test it?

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

_Brian wrote: »
    I'd pump up the tyres to 36-38. It'll not be as comfortable but helps a lot.

Those Kias are already very firm. He'd need to have a Chiropractor on call with all the tyres pumped up so high :p

Lads I found out what's going on. You'll never believe what.

The fecking trip computer is in U. S MPG when I changed it to l/100 Kms it showed 6.0 so that's 47 mpg imperial.

Who changed it to mpg? Eah, me!

So on my trip last week it would have showed 50 mpg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭Seweryn

Lads I found out what's going on. You'll never believe what.

The fecking trip computer is in U. S MPG when I changed it to l/100 Kms it showed 6.0 so that's 47 mpg imperial.
    Now it sounds not too bad, just about as good as a 14-year old petrol car. Still, could be worse ;).

Seweryn wrote: »
    Now it sounds not too bad, just about as good as a 14-year old petrol car. Still, could be worse ;).

Still better than 28-30 mpg in the 00 CRV ! :D

I might take it to Dublin next week to see what she does, in the Prius the same run averages 60 mpg and 64 if I try harder.

Should do 50 mpg I'd say then, which isn't too bad but I'd be expecting more from a 1.6 Diesel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

I must say though I hate manual diesels, I hate that narrow torque band, Twin clutch or CVT are miles better with diesels.

On the plus, it's very well built, and it's chain cam. AFAIK no DMF either.

QFT. Manual diesels are horrible, horrible things. There is a narrow power band so you're changing gears all the time to keep them in their sweet spot. Naturally aspirated petrol engines may not have that low down punch when you need to overtake, but by Christ I'd rather have to drop a gear on the odd occasion for the superior flexibility they offer in every other situation. In a petrol engine (even a small capacity 1.4) you can go from 40-100 km/h with only one gearchange, you simply cannot do that with a diesel, too low a gear and it will be out of puff before you get to 100, too high a gear and it will bog down because it's out of the (narrow) power band.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

In a petrol engine (even a small capacity 1.4) you can go from 40-100 km/h with only one gearchange, you simply cannot do that with a diesel, too low a gear and it will be out of puff before you get to 100, too high a gear and it will bog down because it's out of the (narrow) power band.

Yes you can. You're taking bollocks. Again.

My golf and my focus would have easily gone from 40-100 kmh in 3rd gear and probably more and they are both just standard diesels. As for changing gears more if you don't want to change gears get an auto. I've never found an issue with the amount of times I've changed gears while driving any diesel. I'd personally prefer a diesel to any low displacement NA petrol with there 60-80 bhp.

Wonderful post, really :)
    CaptainSpeed posts some of the most awful sh1t, and its usually long winded too.

And captain, you'll find 3rf gear does fine for 40kmh to 100kmh in modern diesels, even small ones.

Just noticed.... 40 kmh to 100kmh with one gear change is the claim diesels can't do, Jesus, I thought initially it was in the same gear and that's rubbish.

Captain... Be honest.... Are you an adolescent pretending you are a grown up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

I've had PSA, BMW and VAG diesel cars, all have been manual bar my current 520d auto. None of them every felt lacking when shifting gears.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

Interesting, so having a different opinion is now "b000000s". This is a great forum isn't it, where if one poster doesn't agree with another's prescribed view it's ok to make personal digs. I've driven petrols and diesels from a variety of manufacturers with a variety of power and torque outputs and I just don't like them, end of story. When you have to play the man and not the ball like this, it shows that you know you've lost the argument.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Hachiko

most diesels unless you get big cc ones run out of steam and have a very low band of revs to work with, its hardly rocket science. And in Ireland almost everyone has a low cc diesel for the cheaaap tax.

Interesting, so having a different opinion is now "b000000s". This is a great forum isn't it, where if one poster doesn't agree with another's prescribed view it's ok to make personal digs. I've driven petrols and diesels from a variety of manufacturers with a variety of power and torque outputs and I just don't like them, end of story. When you have to play the man and not the ball like this, it shows that you know you've lost the argument.

Which diesel couldn't do 40 to 100 with a single gear change.