Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kerry decides it's an island (seriously)

• 11-11-2014 1:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 399 ✭✭

Did you hear the one about the Kerryman who tried to sail from Tralee to Limerick?

In an staggering show of contempt for maps the councillors of Kerry have voted overwhelmingly to change the status of the county to an island. And instead of building a bridge over their problems they now plan to petition the EU to further their campaign.

Hopefully there is some way for these idiot councillors to sail away before they arrive in Brussels to embarrass us. Knowing their contempt for atlases they'll probably try and walk to Brussels.

Kerry politicians agree to seek island status

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Well with enough explosive we can make their (and our) dreams come true ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,787 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

gandalf wrote: »
    Well with enough explosive we can make their (and our) dreams come true ;)

Float away, Healy-Raes... (we wish).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 986 ✭✭✭joe stodge

A Kerry man walking by a field spots a mate of his rowing a boat in the middle of it, no water anywhere for miles.
    He shouts at him "it's ejits like you why the rest of the country calls us thick. if I could swim I'd go over there and kick the shït outta ya".

This seems very close to real life now, class.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,239 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

I suspect they're taking the piss

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 203 ✭✭Uncle Ruckus

...:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Mrs Garth Brooks

Why Kerry?

It should be Dublin that should be pushed off the map. They cancelled our concerts. They'll never be forgiven.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 10,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭marco_polo

So glad my all that tax we pay is being used to discuss the really important issues

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

Who elects these people to local office? Seriously!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

entropi wrote: »
    Who elects these people to local office? Seriously!

People in Kerry, the same people who keep voting for the Healy-Raes!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,544 ✭✭✭Packrat

Did anyone actually read the link?

“The Party told you to reject the evidence of your eyes and ears. It was their final, most essential command”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

I think there doing this to highlight the issue that no progress is been made with the two by passes, I seriously doubt they believe Kerry is an island.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

True or false, I smell a Healy Rae sniffing around this somewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,564 ✭✭✭Titzon Toast

Why Kerry?

It should be Dublin that should be pushed off the map. They cancelled our concerts. They'll never be forgiven.

We don't want your forgiveness.
    Also, if Dublin was pushed off the map, who would subsidise the rest of the country?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Why Kerry?

It should be Dublin that should be pushed off the map.

Dublin people would be very happy with that arrangement

all our hard earned tax spent on the capital instead of propping up 25 unviable counties

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

Why Kerry?

Your attempts to crow-bar Garth Brooks into every second thread you make a contribution to is a little tiresome tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

OP, ever hear the words facetious or scarcasm?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,592 ✭✭✭drumswan

It should be Dublin that should be pushed off the map.
    Yes please.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 10,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭marco_polo

jamesbere wrote: »
    I think there doing this to highlight the issue that no progress is been made with the two by passes, I seriously doubt they believe Kerry is an island.

Could they not spend more time lobbing the relevant bodies then rather than pointless motions that make the local authorities look ridiculous?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

MOD: Firstly, people may want to actually read the article. And secondly, don't start with the "My county is better than your county" rubbish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,544 ✭✭✭Packrat

marco_polo wrote: »
    Could they not spend more time lobbing the relevant bodies then rather than pointless motions that make the local authorities look ridiculous?

Well having run a business there for many years, I would say that if I HAD lived on an island, I wouldn't have had to get up any earlier than I had to in order to get to either of the two nearest cities.
    It's disgusting that snails on one hand and thatch cottages on the other can impede progress for near 25 years.

I jeer when I see the "Macroom needs a bypass" signs now, - when there was money to build one, they Fcuked it up themselves with infighting over the route by vested interests.
    Fcuk yis now, - languish in my exhaust fumes as I crawl through your sh1thole of a town.

On the Adare side, - again, vested interests wouldn't have a bypass. I hope they die of asphyxiation, those baztards who have had us sitting in hours of traffic for decades so they can sell fags and coffee.

I make a point of NEVER spending a red cent in either town.

“The Party told you to reject the evidence of your eyes and ears. It was their final, most essential command”

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭Kevin McCloud

Its roads infrastructure is appaling considering the volume of tourists that visit the county along with all other traffic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 399 ✭✭IsaacWunder

OP, ever hear the words facetious or scarcasm?

Why stop at island, then? They could have proposed a motion that Kerry is part of the Moon. It would explain a lot off the lunacy that eliminates from the county, and they might even have attracted the attention of NASA.

My point is there is a time and place for fatuous analogies like this, and a council chamber isn't one of them. By proposing and voting on motions like this all they do is make themselves, and the people who voted for them, look thick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭Mal-Adjusted

For those who haven't bothered to read the link, they're clearly doing it as a protest and a way to highlight problems with the road network. The councilors don't actually think Kerry is an Island. (not that it makes this motion any less stupid, mind)

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,239 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Out of interest how many people are only learning about this issue because of this stunt? I know I was completely ignorant to it, now I know it's a problem. You might say it's stupid, but it is highlighting the issue.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 432 ✭✭TGJD

jamesbere wrote: »

It was a joke based on this. Seriously did no one read the article?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭ardle1

Why Kerry?

all our hard earned tax spent on the capital instead of propping up 25 unviable counties

Ouch! That had to hurt.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Arsemageddon

Yamanoto wrote: »
    Your attempts to crow-bar Garth Brooks into every second thread you make a contribution to is a little tiresome tbh.

The idea of taking a crow bar to Garth Brooks appeals to me very much!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭Bipolar Joe

So would everyone else, what with the taxes paid elsewhere not being shuttled off to Dublin for bullshit pet projects.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 805 ✭✭✭CB19Kevo

Macroom and Adare bypasses are badly needed for both Cork and Limerick as well as Kerry,So anything to highlight this is good in my books.
    Them towns are a disaster for traffic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Topper Harley

Out of interest how many people are only learning about this issue because of this stunt? I know I was completely ignorant to it, now I know it's a problem. You might say it's stupid, but it is highlighting the issue.

The first hint that not the full story was not being told here came in the OP as surely no one could be that stupid. Reading the link confirms that yes indeed, there is more to this story.

I felt that, from any time I passed through Adare on my way to Kerry, it could do with a bypass but as I don't pass through all that often I never really thought about it once I was out of Adare. This is the first I've ever heard about these potential bypasses and it makes a lot of sense.

So fair play to those councillors. I don't agree with idiots carrying out stupid pointless stunts that will achieve nothing (à la Mick Wallace and Clare Daly trying to storm a US military aircraft...good work guys :rolleyes:) but this Kerry's an island business will draw attention to a worthwhile, necessary and achievable objective or possibly (if unlikely) get them "access to grant aid and special funding". So they have my support (whatever good that is).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

For those who haven't bothered to read the link, they're clearly doing it as a protest and a way to highlight problems with the road network. The councilors don't actually think Kerry is an Island. (not that it makes this motion any less stupid, mind)

Build them roads, for what? Didn't they try to bring back in drink-driving not so long ago, it's less roads they need...or new politicians.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭Mal-Adjusted

^^^^
    the fcuk are you on about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,987 ✭✭✭mikeym

Their just looking for money to build a motorway.

So would everyone else, what with the taxes paid elsewhere not being shuttled off to Dublin for bullshit pet projects.

You should start a campaign to establish Dublin as an independent state. Culchieland would be bankrupt in a week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,647 ✭✭✭lazybones32

mikeym wrote: »
    Their just looking for money to build a motorway.

No...they want Macroom (Cork) and Adare (Limerick) bypassed to improve access to the County.

Anyone who has had the misfortune of being stuck a few miles on either-side of these towns on a Friday evening will know how much time is wasted in traffic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 687 ✭✭✭Dayum

Dublin should separate politically and economically from Ireland and let the rest of it fall off into the Atlantic.

Meath would equate Angola within the week and it would only get worse the further wesht you went.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Topper Harley

Some people on this thread have obviously never been outside Dublin. Try it, you might be surprised at how much you enjoy it. And I say that as a Dub.

Been all around Ireland and the only way I'd leave Dublin would be through Dublin airport.

Make no mistake - Dublin is an absolute kip....but not half the kip the rest of the country is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭crockholm

Dayum wrote: »
    Dublin should separate politically and economically from Ireland and let the rest of it fall off into the Atlantic.

Meath would equate Angola within the week and it would only get worse the further wesht you went.

Not that I ought to be replying to anyone wishing to further fragment my country,but in your well thought out manifesto have you considered how you feed the population,obtain Clean water and electricity and the problem of waste management in a new independent Pale?;)

crockholm wrote: »
    Not that I ought to be replying to anyone wishing to further fragment my country,but in your well thought out manifesto have you considered how you feed the population,obtain Clean water and electricity and the problem of waste management in a new independent Pale?;)

Further fragment what exactly? You owe your loyalty to no one or nothing...

Apart from your parents and a brother or a sister, you're well and truly on your own in this world and nobody (even if makes you feel any better) gives a damn ****e about you or your welfare including anyone that just so happens to randomly be born on this island...

The stranger that lives in Japan is as much a stranger as the guy that lives five doors up from you. The idea of a nation or a country is a relatively new concept and has only existed for a few hundred years.

I am more interested in how we can improve the lives of each and every individual possible and that means getting rid of the dead weight and extra baggage. I'd imagine a lot of other counties would be clawing at the door of the Pale pleading with it for an opportunity to join it and kiss it's arse....either that of face total oblivion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,647 ✭✭✭lazybones32

I'd be in favour of such a proposal: the crime rate of Ireland would fall drastically and heroin addicts roaming the streets, annoying citizens would be a lot less rare.

Further fragment what exactly? You owe your loyalty to no one or nothing...

Apart from your parents and a brother or a sister, you're well and truly on your own in this world and nobody (even if makes you feel any better) gives a damn ****e about you or your welfare including anyone that just so happens to randomly be born on this island...

The stranger that lives in Japan is as much a stranger as the guy that lives five doors up from you. The idea of a nation or a country is a relatively new concept and has only existed for a few hundred years.

I am more interested in how we can improve the lives of each and every individual possible and that means getting rid of the dead weight and extra baggage. I'd imagine a lot of other counties would be clawing at the door of the Pale pleading with it for an opportunity to join it and kiss it's arse....either that of face total oblivion.

Nice attitude that could only have come from a stable loving Environment:pac: and still avoided answering how an independent dublin could function without all the services that are provided for it outside of its borders.

crockholm wrote: »
    Nice attitude that could only have come from a stable loving Environment:pac: and still avoided answering how an independent dublin could function without all the services that are provided for it outside of its borders.

How does Hong Kong survive? How does Singapore survive?!

It's laughable how you think Dublin needs the rest of Ireland....absolutely laughable. The economic facts say Ireland needs Dublin, not the other way round.

The laughable thing is that you actually seem to Believe what you write:D

What chance has Dublin in ever emulating what Singapore or hong kong does?
    Will the inhabitants of the pale work on average Another 250-500 hours a year extra?Does it have the same access to similar sized markets that Singapore and hong kong do?

Ok,I can understand that you are cheerleading for your city-but your comparisons are really daft.
    And still no solution about water/food/waste/electricity- because I could imagine if you lads did go independent up there,we would be sure happy to provide you with all those things,but of course at a much greater price,you know,to pay for our magic beans and such:pac:

Thankfully most dubs and non-dubs know that we are all in this together,and better for us all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,081 ✭✭✭sheesh

marco_polo wrote: »
    So glad my all that tax we pay is being used to discuss the really important issues

it is actually about getting proper road connections to and from kerry that is important.

the main road to limerick has a bottle neck in the village of adare aand they want a bypass there

the main road to Cork which is great up to the county bounds and then goes to crap after that there is a major hold up in Macroom.

they are looking for money to get these roads done. they have found an 'innovative' way to highlight their problem.

Am I the only one that read the article????

good luck with your reservoir in the Dublin mountains that can hold enough to keep 1 million people alive.

Good luck with finding space to build those electricity stations.

you do realise that the reason that the british left Hong Kong is the Chinese said they were going to turn off the water and electricity.

Also most of the people living in Dublin are from outside the Capital if you go back just 1 generation. you need people too.

sheesh wrote: »
    good luck with your reservoir in the Dublin mountains that can hold enough to keep 1 million people alive.

Good luck with finding space to build those electricity stations.
    You ever heard of money? Its the thing Dublin gives all the rest of you to subsidise your economically un-viable country bumpkin lifestyles. You can use it to buy water and electricity you know.

Dublins citizens would be richer if it wasnt for having to subsidise culchies. Kerry should be first cut off, let them pay for their own roads and see how they get on.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭Kevin McCloud

drumswan wrote: »
    Dublins citizens would be richer if it wasnt for having to subsidise culchies. Kerry should be first cut off, let them pay for their own roads and see how they get on.

You have got the economics of that well sussed there :rolleyes:

drumswan wrote: »
    You ever heard of money? Its the thing Dublin gives all the rest of you to subsidise your economically un-viable country bumpkin lifestyles. You can use it to buy water and electricity you know.

you're a real hero.