Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is life good?

• 31-10-2014 7:05pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8

This is something I've been thinking about a lot recently, and to be honest I find it very difficult to actually say that life is "good". I find there are a lot more unpleasant experiences than there are pleasant ones, and even then the unpleasant ones have a greater affect in me. I don't know, I just don't enjoy the whole thing that much really.

This isn't just to be moany or anything by the way, I obviously enjoy parts of it, but I've just tried to look at it from a rational viewpoint and this is the conclusion I've come to.

Do you think life is good AH?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,988 ✭✭✭Spudmonkey

Life's great!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Mena

Awesome. It's what you make it really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,301 ✭✭✭✭gerrybbadd

Its alright I suppose. Sure we can see how it goes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

I'd say good enough, and hopefully life will say the same about me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Buona Fortuna

Life is great - especially when you think about the alternative ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

Its a ****ing vale of tears.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

Stick on a jumper and you'll be grand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,745 ✭✭✭Macavity.

Life's but a walking shadow, a poor player that struts and frets his hour upon the stage and then is heard no more. It is a tale told by an idiot, full of sound and fury, signifying nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 669 ✭✭✭Fizzlesque

It has its amazing moments, but overall I'm not convinced the good stuff is worth suffering the bad bits that are always there, waiting for the carousel to roll round again.

After 45 years on the planet, my emotions are well and truly mangled and some days I can't hold back the tears, but then, out of the blue, I'll have a fantastic day, evening, half hour, entire night and feel like I could truly burst with joy. I think it's odd being alive, being inside this flesh and bone structure; one that can chat to itself, out loud or just inside its head and move about and make life forming/changing decisions.

I guess I fluctuate wildly between wishing I wasn't here and accepting that I am and trying to make the most of it.

I remind myself to be careful with my thoughts, as there is a school of thought that they're what's making everything turn the way its turning. I have some resistance to this idea, but at the same time feel it's worth considering.

I could blather on about this for ages, but I dunno if I'll make any sense, and am afraid I'll make myself sound like I'm a full on misery merchant. I'm not, honest :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

Somedays it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 336 ✭✭Creative Juices

Life is very very short. When you really get that, it kinda wrecks your head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,193 ✭✭✭Wompa1

My inner monologue is usually telling me it's pretty crap. But we also all have the ability to choose. If we're unhappy with our current situation we can change it. It just seems that changing things can be very difficult.

Right now, I feel that if I keep working the type of hours and schedule that I've been working for the last 6 years, I'll either mentally burn out soon or I'll have a heart attack before I'm 40.

But again, I have the choice to change that. Life can be good, you just have to make it good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Everything is Awesome,
    Everything is cool when you're part of a team
    Everything is Awesome when you're living out a dreams
    Everything is better when we stick together,
    Side by side you and I gonna win forever?
    Let's party forever
    We're the same unlike you, you & me we are a working in harmony
    Everything is Awesome,
    Everything is cool when you're part of a team
    Everything is Awesome when you're living out a dreams

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭Thespoofer

Life, for me, is a constant struggle to break free from it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭jimboblep

Well it beats the alternativel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,172 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

We need to start a fight club. Nothing gets resolved, but nothing matters.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 424 ✭✭Chunners

Freezing!! wrote: »
    This is something I've been thinking about a lot recently, and to be honest I find it very difficult to actually say that life is "good". I find there are a lot more unpleasant experiences than there are pleasant ones, and even then the unpleasant ones have a greater affect in me. I don't know, I just don't enjoy the whole thing that much really.

This isn't just to be moany or anything by the way, I obviously enjoy parts of it, but I've just tried to look at it from a rational viewpoint and this is the conclusion I've come to.

Do you think life is good AH?

There is a difference between "Life" and "Existence" what you really mean is "is Existence worth it" and it is, 3 billion sperm missed the egg so that you could exist, 3 billion missed the egg so that your dad could exist and so on down the millennia to make the odds of you actually existing in the first place astronomical. Your existence is an anomaly and it makes you unique among all the other people on this planet who's existence is also an anomaly. You could sit there and tell yourself that your existence is pointless or just change your Life so that so that your day to day life makes you feel like you deserve to Exist. Your Life is dictated by your interactions with the world around, everything you do affects your life in one way or another but your Existence is something that you now have control over. Accept that you exist, accept that you are unique and change your life to show that to yourself and acccept the fact that Life is never perfect for anyone not just you but, for the most part, no one would walk away from Existing not kicking and screaming

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,605 ✭✭✭yipeeeee

Once you accept free will is an illusion and everything that happens was always gonna happen that way and nothing anyone can do can change that, it becomes easier

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

Nothing like a health scare to make you appreciate life I assure you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭The One Doctor

Life is good, but it really depends on your attitude to life. If you expect good things, they usually happen eventually.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

Its a load of ****ing sh1te if you ask me and you'd be better off not being born in the first place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭Autonomous Cowherd

The feelings you describe can best be investigated by seeking the answers to ''Who am I?'' and ''Why am I here?'' Suffering, Sickness, Old Age and Death are intrinsic parts of life, so obviously life is not all ''good'' if one evaluates it subjectively or emotionally. But yet life is precious, because for this very fleeting time you, as a self-aware conscious being, have the unparalleled (try spelling that off the top of yer noggin!...I didn't ;P) opportunity to Know Thyself. Investigate philosophy. Serve others in some way. LOVE.

Besides that, I like mountains, lakes, children, making love, music, delicious food, scenery and skies, the ocean, dancing, chatting with friends, reading, learning, movies, poems, painting, gardens, travelling, baths and lounging around like a cat, and so on and so forth. In spite of the vagaries of the human mind and emotion, in spite of sorrow and suffering, life is good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,182 ✭✭✭RonanP77

It's a bit of a mixed bag I suppose, there are some really good bits that just about drown out the bad. I think they do anyway.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 489 ✭✭Sclosages

Not just at the moment, no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭nocoverart

Not all that great for me, and will eventually get worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,739 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Life ain't all that.

But the afterlife? Jeez, that's where it gets really ****ty.

For ever. And ever.

And ever...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

it feels more like surviving than living most of the time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Bongalongherb

Life isn't too bad as it is at this point in time compared to years ago. I have a roof over my head so that does it for me. Happy enough and can't complain, so yes, life is actually good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭Eutow

No. I'm existing, that's it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,808 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

Modern life is good...ish.

Jesus lads!!

Get some Vitamin B supplements or buck up on Omega 3s or take up surfing or do something...anything... for flips sake...ye are depressing me :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Bongalongherb

Jesus lads!!

Get some Vitamin B supplements or buck up on Omega 3s or take up surfing or do something...anything... for flips sake...ye are depressing me :(

The vitamin B is damn good for the long dark winter. It does the job indeed, I take them at the start of autumn every year, they bring you up to a feeling of happiness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,513 ✭✭✭✭Lucyfur

It's really sad that so many are struggling :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

I can have its good points but right now I'd say no. I recently broke up with my girlfriend and my job is really really grinding me down and I'm begining to wonder.
    I work minimum 45 hours,sometimes 70 in a high pace environment. I feel exhausted and to top it off I'm not even making that much money.I come from a poor background and I don't just have the cash to go back and study whatever.
    I struggled to put myself through college and I'm still struggling.I was a fat kid and never got a look in with the women.changed all that by embracing fitness and new women problems showed up.I'm one of the most determined people I know but every time I take a step forward I feel like I take two backwards .
    I'm finding life totally exhausting,meaningless and draining. But I'm also not so stupid to think everything is supposed to be amazing.I'm just somewhat demoralized right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,644 ✭✭✭✭lazygal

Life is great. I'm old enough to finally acknowledge that I like staying in on a Friday night and suit myself. I'm also happy to be married and never have to go out on the pull again.

smurgen wrote: »
    I can have its good points but right now I'd say no. I recently broke up with my girlfriend and my job is really really grinding me down and I'm begining to wonder.
    I work minimum 45 hours,sometimes 70 in a high pace environment. I feel exhausted and to top it off I'm not even making that much money.I come from a poor background and I don't just have the cash to go back and study whatever.
    I struggled to put myself through college and I'm still struggling.I was a fat kid and never got a look in with the women.changed all that by embracing fitness and new women problems showed up.I'm one of the most determined people I know but every time I take a step forward I feel like I take two backwards .
    I'm finding life totally exhausting,meaningless and draining. But I'm also not so stupid to think everything is supposed to be amazing.I'm just somewhat demoralized right now.

I empathise. What strikes me about what you write is that somehow you need an absolutely different approach...to get away, to risk being poor, being lost, finding a completely new way to be, an adventure, a crazy path, you sound like a great person and you deserve a great life!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭AlanS181824

Had an awful day the other day, felt really down.

Then I just said to myself... What will sulking get me... Nothing!

Decided to get up and keep moving.

Life is what ye make it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

smurgen wrote: »

Identifying negative thoughts is the first step in overcoming them.
    The real obstacle to positivity (happiness or whatever you want to call it) is that our brains are hard-wired to look for and then focus on threats. It's in our genes.
    From evolution, our minds are mostly wired to be negative as a survival tactic.

The more you ruminate on negative thoughts, the more power you give them. Most of our negative thoughts are just that—thoughts, not facts, so if you can come to grips with that concept, then you should be able to affect positive change.

Macavity. wrote: »
    I do certainly feel that I am living for others, my family, my Mother in particular. The last two years have been very dark for me and there were times when it almost got too much. Having been down the CBT and SSRI route with no luck, reaching out for help seemed like I had opened up a door, only for there to be nobody on the other side. Since as young as I remember I've always had a huge amount of anxiety, often over nothing in particular. In truth, I've never really fully enjoyed any moment in my life (where I was sober) due to a severe amounts of anxiety.

I guess that contributed hugely to my current state of mind. The last year or so I've had very limited emotions - very little compassion or empathy for others, a general apathy for everything. It's difficult to describe this shutting down of emotions, you realise it shouldn't be like that, and it wasn't always like that. I remember I would watch videos of beheadings (cartel, Dagestan massacre etc...) in the hope that I would feel something, any sort of emotion, but I never found such a video. I eventually decided to stop watching such videos as I don't think it was very beneficial for me.

This coupled with insomnia I have been experiencing resulted in me having very little motivation or even the concentration to do anything significant. I think some people just have a genetic predisposition to enjoy life more than others. Is life good? Not really, but here I am.

I may sound like some positive Ninny but i had ten agonising years of absolutely horrific anxiety which i did drug free (cos im stubborn)....100s of panic attacks daily till i became bed ridden for years...But it is these crazy times that we grow the most. Look within! Find something that makes you happy. Anything. For me it was hurling myself haplessly about in the ocean pretending to surf :) Among other things.. Best of luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

I've been through a good bit in life so far. I could be melodramatic about it all but why should I. I lost my parents 13 months from each other, lost 2 babies in one year but I'm glad I had my parents for so long. Many don't. Losing babies was traumatic but I have 2 sons and a daughter so I think of those people who can't have kids at all or have to go down the surrogacy road or expensive ivf which may not work so I've been lucky enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Depends on too many factors.

Overall I'd say yes, something is better than nothing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭Cantremember

Those who know, do not speak.
    Those who speak, do not know.

Those who know, do not speak.
    Those who speak, do not know.

And those who type are just like the rest of us .. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,734 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Life is good.

I am lying in bed on a Saturday morning. I can hear my kids watching TV in the living room. I'm going to get up soon and have a nice cup of coffee.

Because it's a Saturday, the kids don't go to school, so the whole family will spend the day messing about together.

Sure, life is good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Life is wonderful. Life, as in all that is about us, is amazing. Life as in how things are for me and my family is tremendous. Of course we all have dark periods in our lives but all in all, and especially right now, things honestly could not be better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

Kivaro wrote: »
    Identifying negative thoughts is the first step in overcoming them.
    The real obstacle to positivity (happiness or whatever you want to call it) is that our brains are hard-wired to look for and then focus on threats. It's in our genes.
    From evolution, our minds are mostly wired to be negative as a survival tactic.

The more you ruminate on negative thoughts, the more power you give them. Most of our negative thoughts are just that—thoughts, not facts, so if you can come to grips with that concept, then you should be able to affect positive change.

I think that's a large part of it. I was always told there was never money for anything when we were younger and that we were going to loose our house etc so I never felt secure.I feel like it's followed me somewhat.I hate people who use the past to justify current shortcomings but the link.has been obvious to me for awhile.
    I think the secret for me right now is to just not think at all and go day to day.eventually it'll go right or not maybe!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭delw

Life is a roller coaster

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭stop animal cruelty

l feel life would be good if l wasnt lonely

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

I got €5 free credit for downloading the Adverts.ie app. Life is amazing right now!