Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Your car's service schedule

• Registered Users Posts: 81,223 ✭✭✭✭biko

Yearly for regular service, oil, oil filter, air filter (usually 5,000km).
    And others as I get the time, or when they break!
    This is pretty much exactly my schedule too. Doesn't matter the car.
    Almost always in the summer (as I do it myself outside on the driveway).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,607 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Just wondering do you change the oil/oil filters yourselves?

I always send mine into the garage every 10 - 15,000 km.

Due the next one at 186,000 so will get it done in Jan/Feb and do my NCT then and hope for the best! Yearly NCTs from here on in :-(

Most of us do yeah, its not that hard to be honest, but if you can't do it for some reason, then that's fair enough :) like my neighbours can't cos well they're very old, so i do it for em cos I've the tools and what not

• Registered Users Posts: 2,877 ✭✭✭purplecow1977

Most of us do yeah, its not that hard to be honest, but if you can't do it for some reason, then that's fair enough :) like my neighbours can't cos well they're very old, so i do it for em cos I've the tools and what not

I'm going to play the 'I'm a woman' card so probably wouldn't have a clue what an oil filter even looked like, let alone how to change it!

Also, because I do quite a lot of travelling, I like to send it in for the service so they can give it a look over and prempt any problems that might be there.

(The last time however I sent it into the garage for a full service, I was left reeling after an oil filter change & refill was all that was done and they still charged full price!! Needless to say I will never be returning there again.)

• Registered Users Posts: 81,223 ✭✭✭✭biko

Yes, we hang out in DIY forum. Check this overview of how to do it and feel free to ask questions in there.
    I taught herself to service her Micra so she'd be a bit more clued in to these matters. You can do it too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,607 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

I'm going to play the 'I'm a woman' card so probably wouldn't have a clue what an oil filter even looked like, let alone how to change it!

Also, because I do quite a lot of travelling, I like to send it in for the service so they can give it a look over and prempt any problems that might be there.

Ohhh :P Well google one and see :)

well thats fair enough then, whatever works really :)

• Registered Users Posts: 853 ✭✭✭edburg

I always send mine into the garage every 10 - 15,000 km.

Due the next one at 186,000 so will get it done in Jan/Feb and do my NCT then and hope for the best! Yearly NCTs from here on in :-(

At moment I don't, for me I wanted to keep the service all stamped up for services for good while, although I have done the brakes upgrades myself on Astra and same with insignia.

Once cars go to 150k plus I probably doing the simpler tasks myself when possible.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,714 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Gets done per schedule-ish or when something breaks (even a bulb annoys me - my rear fog apparently died over the weekend and while I never use it, it'll be changed this week).

Not having a driveway hampers any ability to do anything myself (assuming I knew how) and because I don't know any indy's in the area, it means a road trip or main dealer .. although the latter seem to have gotten very competitive in recent times!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭corkgsxr

Oil change every 40,000 klms or two years whichever comes first. Keeps the Warranty valid this way...........
    If I'm honest I'm just throwing the cat amongst the pigeons, was noting all the very nice early oil changes and just said I'd be a divil and post that. Its what Renault recommends in all its commercials, crazy really, but plenty of owners sticking to it !

Trafic is 20k klms or yearly.

And to mess it up more. The primastar is 15k or yearly.
    Same van

Are you on about the smaller 1.5 commercials?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,259 ✭✭✭greasepalm

one thing i would question is what oil are they using for their cheap service which is not recomended for your car.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,855 ✭✭✭nd

did my first one at 5k miles as thats what my haynes manual says. due to some posts on here and in my car service manual which states 9k intervals I did my second at a bit over 6k.

my last oil + filter change was a total of just over 30 euro so it's not too much to be on the cautious side.

Despite vids like this

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oi_J4SZUlSo

• Registered Users Posts: 2,525 ✭✭✭ION08

Audi A4 1.9TDI

I use Long Life 507 approved Castrol Edge which is good for 20k but i still change every 10k miles or every year.

Last service was 7.5k miles apart from the one the year before.

Dont drive it that much even though its a diesel and shock horror its been by far the most reliable car ive had!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,601 ✭✭✭cerastes

nd wrote: »
    did my first one at 5k miles as thats what my haynes manual says. due to some posts on here and in my car service manual which states 9k intervals I did my second at a bit over 6k.

my last oil + filter change was a total of just over 30 euro so it's not too much to be on the cautious side.

Despite vids like this

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oi_J4SZUlSo

Id do 10k miles in the petrol before changing oil, filter and air filter or annually, and plugs every third service or if I checked them and they needed it, only did fuel and pollen filter at recommended interval.

From that youtube link, yanks are changing their oil every 3k miles? to maybe 5k miles.
    I think 6-7k miles, maybe the oil is cheap? no harm? , but bit excessive.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭Jesus.

cerastes wrote: »
    From that youtube link, yanks are changing their oil every 3k miles? to maybe 5k miles.
    I think 6-7k miles, maybe the oil is cheap? no harm? , but bit excessive.

Madly excessive. They're obviously being sold that kind of bullsh*t relentlessly by the Companies involved.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,866 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Jesus. wrote: »
    Madly excessive. They're obviously being sold that kind of bullsh*t relentlessly by the Companies involved.

But an oil change over there can be done at a lot of shopping centres for peanuts. Doing it twice as often is probably the same cost as doing it on schedule here.

That's true Muppet. Its still way OTT though.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,027 ✭✭✭H3llR4iser

Old school as well, 10k Km at maximum or every 12 months, whatever comes first. Normally the basics (oil, filter etc) are done at 7-8k. Sometimes indicated service intervals are absurdly optimistic (in my case, the owner manual states 30k Km...yeah right!).

H3llR4iser wrote: »
    Old school as well, 10k Km at maximum or every 12 months

Old school would tend more toward the 10k miles I think Hellraiser. Some auld lads used to say 15k and would stick by that to this day. 10k is about right IMO.

Then again, it depends whether you've a good car or not. In bangernomics territory you could let it run longer and not be too bothered. WIth a daycent yoke you'd tend to look after it better.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,027 ✭✭✭H3llR4iser

Jesus. wrote: »
    Old school would tend more toward the 10k miles I think Hellraiser. Some auld lads used to say 15k and would stick by that to this day. 10k is about right IMO.

Then again, it depends whether you've a good car or not. In bangernomics territory you could let it run longer and not be too bothered. WIth a daycent yoke you'd tend to look after it better.

Depends on what old school you talk about...in Imperial units using countries may be be 10k miles, the rest of the world will be 10k Km. Even though the 10k miles are really 16090 km!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,525 ✭✭✭ION08

H3llR4iser wrote: »
    Depends on what old school you talk about...in Imperial units using countries may be be 10k miles, the rest of the world will be 10k Km. Even though the 10k miles are really 16090 km!

16093.4 km actually :P

Service interval should also factor in the quality of oil used, as in, I use 507 spec Castrol Edge in my Audi which is Long Life approved (20k miles) so would be completely comfortable with a 10k mile interval (16kms)

If i were to use lower quality oil, I would be more inclined to change around the 6k mile (10kms) mark.

• Registered Users Posts: 772 ✭✭✭GTDolanator

Berlingo,oil oil filter air filter diesel filter every 20k km

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,585 ✭✭✭jca

Every year from now on. Octavia 1.4 TSI DSG. Did all that early servicing crap on my last car and the bugger still bit me on the arse. I like to do it myself but the bloody under tray is a pain in the nuts to remove. I'm going to stick with main dealer for another few years to keep the already complete service history intact. I only do about 8-9000 km pa.

• Registered Users Posts: 81 ✭✭rubin_spitfire

Jaguar XJR and Lexus LS430, daily driver: Every 15k miles oil and oil filter. Air filter and fuel filter every second time around.

Porsche 911 sc, weekend car: Once every year whatever the mileage. All filters, oil etc.

Mercedes SL Pagodas (have 3), haven't seen service yet :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

You lucky man :)

• Registered Users Posts: 81 ✭✭rubin_spitfire

YbFocus wrote: »
    You lucky man :)

Yes, just not when they all have to be serviced together!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,259 ✭✭✭greasepalm

dont think i would chance leaving oil and filters in 20k as some of those paper oil filters start to collapse,spent 5 mins scooping remains of old corsa 1.0 3 cyl paper oil filter out,wont be be first or last time that happens.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,906 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

Every 6k Miles oil and filter, every second service new Fuel filter.
    Every 24k miles new airfilter.
    I fitted a Fumoto Valve to make servicing simpler and less hassle.
    My 2C-TE has just clicked over 300,000 miles and uses no oil between services.
    Toyota diesels are good but imo modern service intervals are designed to get you through the warranty period and not much more.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,651 ✭✭✭Captain Slow IRL

5k miles for my 318ci, major service every 20k

The e30 gets the same treatment.

Mrs. has a 1.6 petrol Jetta, that gets oil every 10k kms, major service every 30k

• Registered Users Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

The gtv gets fresh oil and filter at 6k miles or every 6 months, seems to be the way to stop it drinking all its oil.
    Air filter every 12k or year. There is no pollen filter (Alfa only fitted them to the lhd gtvs) so don't have to worry about that.
    Gearbox oil, power steering fluid and brake fluid are changed every two years. Coolant that's in it is good for 5 years, but will probably change it in two years time. Sure why not when it's only 25 quid for the coolant.
    Spark plugs are good for 60 k miles but being easy to do why not do it after 40 is my thinking.
    Same with the rocker cover gasket.

Oh and timing belts are every three years/36k miles, so three belts, 4 tensioners, an idler pulley or two and the variator.

Disks and pads are changed when required but if somewhere has them cheap I might buy and do them early.

Aim is to get it over 200k miles, jist past 150 last week.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭Roger Mellie Man on the Telly

Spark plugs are good for 60 k miles but being easy to do why not do it after 40
    Because it's an unnecessary expense?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

Because it's an unnecessary expense?

As is changing my oil every 6k miles but oil is cheap when bought in bulk. Likewise new plugs are cheap when changed yourself.
    no way I'd send it to a garage to change the plugs, the last Alfa specialist charged 250 for labour on changing plugs and oil, not to mention what they charged for the plugs.