Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Your car's service schedule

• 26-10-2014 2:27pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭

Often Ive seen people on this forum mention how often they service their cars and sometimes they use quite a different schedule to the manufacturers intervals. So I thought it might be a good thread to see how often posters service their cars. Just the basic filters really as you can't but a time/ interval on brakes suspension tyre items obviously there just changed when they need to be. So I will start.

Car details: VW golf 1.9tdi 2007 119k km.
    Oil + oil filter: every 15k km.
    Air filter: inspect at each service and changed as required but no more than every 30k km normally every service.
    Fuel filter: every second service/ 30k km.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭Jesus.

15k miles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭corkgsxr

Primastar every 15k klms oil, oil+air filter, fuel every second service.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,100 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

I'm old school still do mine on the 10k miles or more usually annually for oil and filters. Everything else as needed. Doesn't matter what car unless they recommend less miles or time.

On a diesel I'd change the air filter with the oil filter too, every 16k km, madness not to imo, diesel engines love air.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭joolsveer

I have a Subaru diesel with 15,000km service intervals which I stick to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 817 ✭✭✭iano.p

The passat gets done around 12 thousand km. I do oil air and fuel filters. Every second do pollen filter. The rest when needed. I feel it's better to do it early

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,899 ✭✭✭Paddy@CIRL

2006 BMW 320d M Sport

Oil & oil filter every ~10,000KMs
    Oil, oil filter, air filter recharge (K&N filter), fuel filter and whatever else it needs every second service. I'd do the air filter more often if it wasn't such a massive PITA to get out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭dharn

Paddy do you recon the k&n filter makes any difference to economy or performance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

I do the following with my car (09 Civic 2.2 i-CTDI).

-Every 20,000km - change oil + oil filter (as specified by manufacturer)
    -Every 40,000km - change air filter, cabin filter, fuel filter. (as specified by manufacturer)
    -At 130,000km (3.5 years old) - I changed manual transmission oil (manufacturer requires change every 120,000km or 8 years).
    - At 170,000km (5 years old) - I'm planning now to change coolant (manufacturer requires change every 100,000km or 5 years). I checked last year though, and coolant was still in fairly good condition - freezeing point at around -39 degrees)
    - At 170,000km (5 years old) - I'm planning to change braking fluid (manufacturer requires change every 3 years). Same as above - I checked last year and fluid was still good.

I use only original Honda servicing parts, filters and fluids. Oil I use is Castrol 0w30. And I do all the work myself. And I have a feeling I'm giving my car all she needs :) even though some things I do later than specified by manufacturer, but it's still way more than average Joe does to his car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Every 7000 mine gets a service.
    With a diesel bmw it really stands to them.

I check everything and anything it needs it gets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,607 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Saab 9-5

Oil+filter every 5k
    Air, pollen, plugs, 20K
    Fuel and brake fluid every 60K
    (And because I'm special :pac:) Sump drop every 100K

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Yearly for regular service, oil, oil filter, air filter (usually 5,000km).
    And others as I get the time, or when they break!

320d when the car tells me it needs one :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Every 15k km, usually under it on any car. Everything as per the book bar the fuel filter. If I had to use a few stations I don't really know I'll change that too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,560 ✭✭✭porsche boy

tostedpickles your brave with a 100k sump drop on 9-5!!!! I done mine a bit more often than that andi still got slidge up my oil feed.

A6 1.9tdi gets 5w30 oil and filters every 5-6k. 95% motorway driving and a fair lot of it. Equates to maybe 5 or 6 services a year but as im a mechanic it's only the cost of the parts.

El Porko gets a thorugh going over every spring, what evers needed. Would only do maybe a thousand miles a year though.

I'm fully aware it is monstrous overkill but I'm a bit OCD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

At least once a year according to the service schedule. Anything else as it needs changing, brake pads, disc, fuel lines etc.

tostedpickles your brave with a 100k sump drop on 9-5!!!! I done mine a bit more often than that andi still got slidge up my oil feed.

A6 1.9tdi gets 5w30 oil and filters every 5-6k. 95% motorway driving and a fair lot of it. Equates to maybe 5 or 6 services a year but as im a mechanic it's only the cost of the parts.

El Porko gets a thorugh going over every spring, what evers needed. Would only do maybe a thousand miles a year though.

I'm fully aware it is monstrous overkill but I'm a bit OCD

Ah yeah, but if you change the oil regularly and look after the breather system, there's no need to worry :) I might do it a bit sooner though, depends what way im fixed with space and all that

dharn wrote: »
    Paddy do you recon the k&n filter makes any difference to economy or performance

Can't say I noticed a massive difference, but might do if I changed back if that makes any difference. I did notice a reduction in black smoke, as my car is pre-DPF.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 759 ✭✭✭ltdslipdiff

Oil change every 40,000 klms or two years whichever comes first. Keeps the Warranty valid this way...........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 Kubota

VW Jetta 09 1.9 Tdi. Used to be Oil & Filter every 15k Km, fuel 30k, pollen and air at 45k. Last 2 services I have reverted to 12k Km oil & filter, to increase the longevity of the engine I hope.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

Paddy@CIRL wrote: »
    Can't say I noticed a massive difference, but might do if I changed back if that makes any difference. I did notice a reduction in black smoke, as my car is pre-DPF.

Panel filter or cone? Cone filter can make a nice noise on a petrol. Does a cone filter on a diesel sound like Liam Neeson chasing a load of hens in a barrel?

I have read a few times lately that those k&n filters ard a waste of time and money

Panel filter or cone? Cone filter can make a nice noise on a petrol. Does a cone filter on a diesel sound like Liam Neeson chasing a load of hens in a barrel?

It's a panel filter, a cone type filter wouldn't work on how the M47 engine is laid out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭edburg

I do 10k km for oil n filters. Clean foam filter every winter and plugs every 3rd service and cam belt and pulleys around 40k mark with OPC.

Insignia similar 10-15k on oil n filters (air to).

Gearbox oil every 2 years unless an abnormal amount of driving is done during period.

Everything else as and where needed and if they work in pairs then change both at same time ( F/R tyres, ball joints etc etc)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,581 ✭✭✭greasepalm

Oil change every 40,000 klms or two years whichever comes first. Keeps the Warranty valid this way...........

never seen oil to last that long:eek:

greasepalm wrote: »
    never seen oil to last that long:eek:

If I'm honest I'm just throwing the cat amongst the pigeons, was noting all the very nice early oil changes and just said I'd be a divil and post that. Its what Renault recommends in all its commercials, crazy really, but plenty of owners sticking to it !

if people want to destroy engines go right ahead,probably not too many old models around of renault with bad advice like that,not you if they say 40k lol or once a year at least?

To be fair anyone with any mechanical sympathy will change oil once a year at least regardless !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

greasepalm wrote: »
    if people want to destroy engines go right ahead,probably not too many old models around of renault with bad advice like that,not you if they say 40k lol or once a year at least?

Reminds me of a story in the place my dad worked. They had a caddy and it was just starting to run rough not starting great. Turned out it hadn't been serviced in 120k km that was a new low even for them ran a lot better when it got a service :) . In saying all that them sdi caddys can take some serious abuse god knows there was enough of them in that place that got some serious hardship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,877 ✭✭✭purplecow1977

Just wondering do you change the oil/oil filters yourselves?

I always send mine into the garage every 10 - 15,000 km.

Due the next one at 186,000 so will get it done in Jan/Feb and do my NCT then and hope for the best! Yearly NCTs from here on in :-(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Yearly for regular service, oil, oil filter, air filter (usually 5,000km).
    And others as I get the time, or when they break!
    This is pretty much exactly my schedule too. Doesn't matter the car.
    Almost always in the summer (as I do it myself outside on the driveway).

Due the next one at 186,000 so will get it done in Jan/Feb and do my NCT then and hope for the best! Yearly NCTs from here on in :-(

Most of us do yeah, its not that hard to be honest, but if you can't do it for some reason, then that's fair enough :) like my neighbours can't cos well they're very old, so i do it for em cos I've the tools and what not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,877 ✭✭✭purplecow1977

Most of us do yeah, its not that hard to be honest, but if you can't do it for some reason, then that's fair enough :) like my neighbours can't cos well they're very old, so i do it for em cos I've the tools and what not

I'm going to play the 'I'm a woman' card so probably wouldn't have a clue what an oil filter even looked like, let alone how to change it!

Also, because I do quite a lot of travelling, I like to send it in for the service so they can give it a look over and prempt any problems that might be there.

(The last time however I sent it into the garage for a full service, I was left reeling after an oil filter change & refill was all that was done and they still charged full price!! Needless to say I will never be returning there again.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Yes, we hang out in DIY forum. Check this overview of how to do it and feel free to ask questions in there.
    I taught herself to service her Micra so she'd be a bit more clued in to these matters. You can do it too.

I'm going to play the 'I'm a woman' card so probably wouldn't have a clue what an oil filter even looked like, let alone how to change it!

Also, because I do quite a lot of travelling, I like to send it in for the service so they can give it a look over and prempt any problems that might be there.

Ohhh :P Well google one and see :)

well thats fair enough then, whatever works really :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭edburg

At moment I don't, for me I wanted to keep the service all stamped up for services for good while, although I have done the brakes upgrades myself on Astra and same with insignia.

Once cars go to 150k plus I probably doing the simpler tasks myself when possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Gets done per schedule-ish or when something breaks (even a bulb annoys me - my rear fog apparently died over the weekend and while I never use it, it'll be changed this week).

Not having a driveway hampers any ability to do anything myself (assuming I knew how) and because I don't know any indy's in the area, it means a road trip or main dealer .. although the latter seem to have gotten very competitive in recent times!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭corkgsxr

If I'm honest I'm just throwing the cat amongst the pigeons, was noting all the very nice early oil changes and just said I'd be a divil and post that. Its what Renault recommends in all its commercials, crazy really, but plenty of owners sticking to it !

Trafic is 20k klms or yearly.

And to mess it up more. The primastar is 15k or yearly.
    Same van

Are you on about the smaller 1.5 commercials?

one thing i would question is what oil are they using for their cheap service which is not recomended for your car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,855 ✭✭✭nd

did my first one at 5k miles as thats what my haynes manual says. due to some posts on here and in my car service manual which states 9k intervals I did my second at a bit over 6k.

my last oil + filter change was a total of just over 30 euro so it's not too much to be on the cautious side.

Despite vids like this

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oi_J4SZUlSo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,525 ✭✭✭ION08

Audi A4 1.9TDI

I use Long Life 507 approved Castrol Edge which is good for 20k but i still change every 10k miles or every year.

Last service was 7.5k miles apart from the one the year before.

Dont drive it that much even though its a diesel and shock horror its been by far the most reliable car ive had!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,601 ✭✭✭cerastes

nd wrote: »
    did my first one at 5k miles as thats what my haynes manual says. due to some posts on here and in my car service manual which states 9k intervals I did my second at a bit over 6k.

my last oil + filter change was a total of just over 30 euro so it's not too much to be on the cautious side.

Despite vids like this

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oi_J4SZUlSo

Id do 10k miles in the petrol before changing oil, filter and air filter or annually, and plugs every third service or if I checked them and they needed it, only did fuel and pollen filter at recommended interval.

From that youtube link, yanks are changing their oil every 3k miles? to maybe 5k miles.
    I think 6-7k miles, maybe the oil is cheap? no harm? , but bit excessive.

cerastes wrote: »
    From that youtube link, yanks are changing their oil every 3k miles? to maybe 5k miles.
    I think 6-7k miles, maybe the oil is cheap? no harm? , but bit excessive.

Madly excessive. They're obviously being sold that kind of bullsh*t relentlessly by the Companies involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Jesus. wrote: »
    Madly excessive. They're obviously being sold that kind of bullsh*t relentlessly by the Companies involved.

But an oil change over there can be done at a lot of shopping centres for peanuts. Doing it twice as often is probably the same cost as doing it on schedule here.

That's true Muppet. Its still way OTT though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,028 ✭✭✭H3llR4iser

Old school as well, 10k Km at maximum or every 12 months, whatever comes first. Normally the basics (oil, filter etc) are done at 7-8k. Sometimes indicated service intervals are absurdly optimistic (in my case, the owner manual states 30k Km...yeah right!).

H3llR4iser wrote: »
    Old school as well, 10k Km at maximum or every 12 months

Old school would tend more toward the 10k miles I think Hellraiser. Some auld lads used to say 15k and would stick by that to this day. 10k is about right IMO.

Then again, it depends whether you've a good car or not. In bangernomics territory you could let it run longer and not be too bothered. WIth a daycent yoke you'd tend to look after it better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,028 ✭✭✭H3llR4iser

Jesus. wrote: »
    Old school would tend more toward the 10k miles I think Hellraiser. Some auld lads used to say 15k and would stick by that to this day. 10k is about right IMO.

Then again, it depends whether you've a good car or not. In bangernomics territory you could let it run longer and not be too bothered. WIth a daycent yoke you'd tend to look after it better.

Depends on what old school you talk about...in Imperial units using countries may be be 10k miles, the rest of the world will be 10k Km. Even though the 10k miles are really 16090 km!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,525 ✭✭✭ION08

H3llR4iser wrote: »
    Depends on what old school you talk about...in Imperial units using countries may be be 10k miles, the rest of the world will be 10k Km. Even though the 10k miles are really 16090 km!

16093.4 km actually :P

Service interval should also factor in the quality of oil used, as in, I use 507 spec Castrol Edge in my Audi which is Long Life approved (20k miles) so would be completely comfortable with a 10k mile interval (16kms)

If i were to use lower quality oil, I would be more inclined to change around the 6k mile (10kms) mark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 772 ✭✭✭GTDolanator

Berlingo,oil oil filter air filter diesel filter every 20k km