Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Petrol Bomb Attack in Waterford - 2 children badly burned

• 17-10-2014 12:25pm

From Irish Times.
    A man in his early 20s has been arrested in connection with a petrol bomb attack on a home in Waterford city last night in which two young children were injured.
    The children, an 11-year-old girl and her one-year-old sister, received burn injuries when a petrol bomb was thrown into their home in Ardmore Park, Ballybeg in Waterford city.
    A third child, a four-month-old boy was also in the house at the time but was uninjured.
    The children were in the front sitting room of their home when the petrol bomb was thrown through the front window and exploded at around 9pm.
    The girls were sitting on a sofa at the time and their grandmother rushed into room and managed to put out the flames using a fire extinguisher.
    It’s understood the two children were taken to Waterford University Hospital where they were treated for serious but non-life threatening injuries. The boy was also taken to hospital as a precautionary measure.
    The scene of the attack has been preserved to allow Garda technical experts carry out a forensic examination of the scene in a bid to identify those behind the attack.
    The arrested man is being questioned at Waterford Garda station under section 4 of the criminal justice act of 1984.
    Gardaí say two men were seen running away from the scene of the attack and they have appealed to witnesses to contact them at Waterford Garda station on 051-305300.

What the fúcking jesus sake is wrong with sectors of society? :mad:

We had the stabbing of a 2 year old by an absolute MONSTER up in Dublin and now these two utter disgusting rancid bastards (whoever they may be) fúcked a petrol bomb through a window in a housing estate in Waterford, causing serious burns to 2 children (one of which a baby) and had it not been for the bravery of the eldest child, god only knows as to what extent the injuries would be to her young sibling. Luckily the other toddler in the house at the time escaped injury

There is no death too gruesome for those responsible in my opinion :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,866 ✭✭✭✭bear1

The sad thing is that these sort of attacks won't stop. I can't see the reasoning behind the attack unless it was intended for another house.
    Even still, it's a pure scumbag thing to do.
    On the plus side no one was killed and I read that the burns will heal so no permanent scaring should stay with the children.
    When the news was over this is what was playing in the car straight afterwards:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6KKPR2e6_vk

I had to chuckle at the irony :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,072 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Waterford seems to have gone to the dogs recently. What is going on there?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Ballybeg was always a bad spot but Jesus, scum dragging innocent kids into harms way. Hoping they have a fast recovery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,866 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Waterford seems to have gone to the dogs recently. What is going on there?

Lack of jobs would be my guess.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

Ballybeg is the only part of Waterford that I know the name of..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 750 ✭✭✭aziz

bear1 wrote: »
    Lack of jobs would be my guess.

The lack of jobs has nothing to do with this,if the politicians,judges and gardai could get their arses in gear and sort these scumbags out,this would not happen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭hawkelady

From Irish Times.

We had the stabbing of a 2 year old by an absolute MONSTER up in Dublin and now these two utter disgusting rancid bastards (whoever they may be) fúcked a petrol bomb through a window in a housing estate in Waterford, causing serious burns to 2 children (one of which a baby) and had it not been for the bravery of the eldest child, god only knows as to what extent the injuries would be to her young sibling. Luckily the other toddler in the house at the time escaped injury

Do you judge much ??
    A "monster " you say , quite possibly mental health is an issue with that incident in ballybrack .. Would you call everyone with mental health issues a "monster". It's a terrible situation indeed but you need to cop on a little and maybe use your brain before you babble !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,260 ✭✭✭Rucking_Fetard

Don't do that again now, da ya here me, you're bold.

Off with ya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,176 ✭✭✭blackwhite

aziz wrote: »
    The lack of jobs has nothing to do with this,if the politicians,judges and gardai could get their arses in gear and sort these scumbags out,this would not happen

Very little that anyone in authority can do when the local people refuse to speak to the guards, or to testify against the family that are at the root of much of this.

hawkelady wrote: »
    Do you judge much ??
    A "monster " you say , quite possibly mental health is an issue with that incident in ballybrack .. Would you call everyone with mental health issues a "monster". It's a terrible situation indeed but you need to cop on a little and maybe use your brain before you babble !!

I'd call anyone who stuck an implement into a baby's neck a monster, regardless of their mental state. If the poor little child had been killed by his father or another male, it would be a completely justified reaction to assume they were bad.

How would that be justified?

There's nothing justifiable in assuming anything about any aspect of the case, since we know so little.

And I would assume anyone male or female who is so unhinged that they stab a baby is a very sick individual, until proven otherwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,428 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

The gardaí must know who the people in this gang are.

If they are living at the expense of the taxpayer in council houses I can never understand why they are not simply evicted.

Candie wrote: »
    How would that be justified?

There's nothing justifiable in assuming anything about any aspect of the case, since we know so little.

And I would assume anyone male or female who is so unhinged that they stab a baby is a very sick individual, until proven otherwise.

Not to derail the thread any further, but when that father from Carlow took his two boys, murdered them and crashed his car in mayo, there was none of this compassion "god love him he wasn't well". You're right though candie, they are sick. There's plenty of people suffering with mental illness, doesn't mean they're all potential murderers.

The gardaí must know who the people in this gang are.

If they are living at the expense of the taxpayer in council houses I can never understand why they are not simply evicted.

Presumably though if they were evicted the State would have to provide services in terms of taking the children into care and providing other accommodation. If you leave people on the streets with no money, a sense of entitlement and no moral inhibitions, you're starting a localised crime wave.

Sorry but that is total bs and i'm 100% certain most people who are paying for this crap like all of us would agree they should be turfed out on their ears.

There should be no immunity to making everyone else' life a misery when we are bloody paying to keep rooves over these creeps heads.

As for "starting a crime wave" - there is already a crime wave.

Sorry but that is total bs and i'm 100% certain most people who are paying for this crap like all of us would agree they should be turfed out on their ears.

There should be no immunity to making everyone else' life a misery when we are bloody paying to keep rooves over these creeps heads.

What do you think people like that would do, if turfed out on the street?

Sit quietly in a shop doorway and think about what they've done?

What do you think people like that would do, if turfed out on the street?

Sit quietly in a shop doorway and think about what they've done?

So do nothing because you are scared of these thugs? Let them stay in their council houses and continue ruining lives.

Get real. Why in the name of god should thugs like this be given anything by taxpayers? Fcuk em. Let them sleep rough. Not many will care nor should they, believe me.

Too easy to be a little toerag in this country because "the left" want to look after the little scamps. Comes to your doorstep and you will think twice.

So do nothing because you are scared of these thugs? Let them stay in their council houses and continue ruining lives.

Get real. Why in the name of god should thugs like this be given anything by taxpayers? Fcuk em. Let them sleep rough. Not many will care nor should they, believe me.

None of the above.

You live in a fantasy land if you think seasoned thugs will take well to being kicked into the street. Do you really think they'll sleep rough until they quietly expire? No, they'll make their presence known through crime and intimidation.

Btw, nobody is talking about being scared of thugs or condoning them living lives of comfort, it's not an either/or situation. Leaving them where they are isn't working, but putting them on the streets and imagining they'll improve their behaviour will not work either.

How about they use their money from whatever illegal activity they supplement their dole with, and house themselves?

None of the above.

You live in a fantasy land if you think seasoned thugs will take well to being kicked into the street.

Kick them out and we will find out. Can't be much of a king pin gurrier if your homeless, starving, cold and hungry.

To you that's awful. To me that is lesson learned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,587 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Do you judge much ??

Bullshit. Anybody who stabs a baby is a monster by definition regardless of any PC urge to explain it away with whatever mental health diagnosis is in vogue this month.

Nobody said everybody with mental health issues are monsters. People with depression or PTSD are not monsters and its a strawman for you to equate them with a baby killer. People who stab babies are monsters, if they aren't then the term has no meaning.

Kick them out and we will find out. Can't be much of a king pin gurrier if your homeless, starving, cold and hungry.

To you that's awful. To me that is lesson learned.

Actually, I never said it was undeserved, that's your assumption.

I just don't think it's going to be the utopian solution you think it will be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭anto9

Well what do you expect in Ballybeg ?..such things happen weekly .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,426 ✭✭✭✭josip

Bullshit. Anybody who stabs a baby is a monster by definition regardless of any PC urge to explain it away with whatever mental health diagnosis is in vogue this month.

Nobody said everybody with mental health issues are monsters. People with depression or PTSD are not monsters and its a strawman for you to equate them with a baby killer. People who stab babies are monsters, if they aren't then the term has no meaning.

Perhaps a monster would be someone who would kill a 2 year old in order to gain something for themselves, eg an insurance policy, or perhaps kills them through neglect.
    From the details we know about the Ballybrack murder, it's unclear what the motivation was for the murder.
    Society often differentiates crimes with similar outcomes according to the motivation behind the crime. Eg. murder and mansluaghter.
    None of this makes a fcuk of a difference anyway for the poor boy yesterday who for a hopefully very short time must have been wondering why his mammy had hit him.
    RIP.

Define monster then ??? A big green sea creature !!

Anyway I'm sure the judge who sits when this case comes to court won't be calling anyone a monster ! And even though none of us know the ins and outs of this I'll be surprised if the mother goes to prison for what she did .. It'll be dundrum ..
    So if you want to whine and call people "monsters" ring joe Duffy.

Define monster then ??? A big green sea creature !!

Anyway I'm sure the judge who sits when this case comes to court won't be calling anyone a monster ! And even though none of us know the ins and outs of this I'll be surprised if the mother goes to prison for what she did .. It'll be dundrum ..
    So if you want to whine and call people "monsters" ring joe Duffy.

What's the difference between her and that Sanjeev chada?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,426 ✭✭✭✭josip

What's the difference between her and that Sanjeev chada?

Difficult to make comparisons before we know more details of what happened in Ballybrack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,450 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

You answered your own question there really - a minority of people choosing to mete out vigilante justice. I'm almost certain the welfare of the children in this particular case were a secondary concern to the perpetrators justification for setting the house alight in the first place.

Just like you would suggest that there is no death too gruesome for the perpetrators, apparently that's obviously the same way they felt too about whomever was living in the house.

There was a a case in Limerick a few years back where two children were in a car when it was petrol bombed by two teenagers because -
    "Throwing petrol bombs around is bad enough, but to do so for such a trifling reason for not getting a lift into town elevates this offence into anarchic nihilism," he said.

independent.ie/irish-news/teens-get-13-years-for-petrol-bomb-attack-on-children-in-car-26324620.html

As much as I would have loved to string the little bastards up by their cohones for what they did, we really can't, as it would just lead to someone else thinking they were justified in stringing me up by my balls, and so the eye for an eye "justice" would continue and would only escalate each time as people tried to come up with new and inventive ways of meting out their own individual brand of "justice".

I for one anyway wouldn't want to live in a society where ordinary people get to decide what manner of death would be gruesome enough for people who commit crimes or how they feel they should be entitled to punish someone in a gruesome enough manner to justify their feeling offended by another persons actions. That would make us as bad as the people who commit these abhorrent crimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Do you judge much ??

Why is it that we can't call the perpetrator in that case a monster but no one has any qualms about assuming the people involved in this one had no mental health issues until proven otherwise?

As far as I'm concerned, someone who kills or attacks a child should be considered a monster until evidence emerges to the contrary. We're far to quick to dismiss evil acts as mental health issues these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

There are a number of definitions for the word but the one that fits is this.

Monster: one who deviates from normal or acceptable behavior or character

Why is it that we can't call the perpetrator in that case a monster but no one has any qualms about assuming the people involved in this one had no mental health issues until proven otherwise?

As far as I'm concerned, someone who kills or attacks a child should be considered a monster until evidence emerges to the contrary. We're far to quick to dismiss evil acts as mental health issues these days.

Most of us here would presume that the perpetrator of this crime is somewhat unstable ,no?
    Do you think that a normal sane person would stab their 2 yr old child in the neck with a scissors ? Surely the answer is no ! If you think otherwise please do discuss your thoughts for coming to that conclusion.
    Any I believe this is a different thread so I don't want to go off topic .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Most of us here would presume that the perpetrator of this crime is somewhat unstable ,no?
    Do you think that a normal sane person would stab their 2 yr old child in the neck with a scissors ? Surely the answer is no ! If you think otherwise please do discuss your thoughts for coming to that conclusion.
    Any I believe this is a different thread so I don't want to go off topic .

I believe some people in the world are terrible human beings, without there necessarily being any mitigating factors. Stalin killed millions of people, was he mentally unstable or just a horrible man?

I still fail to see why mental health issues should be presumed in one case here but not in the other.

Surely by that logic anyone who murders or harms another person isn't mentally stable?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 491 ✭✭flyingoutside

anto9 wrote: »
    Well what do you expect in Ballybeg ?..such things happen weekly .

Yeah and I hear they also sacrifice goats to their heathen gods every night too.
    Cop on like it's not Syria. Don't tarnish the whole place because they're stuck living besides scum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

None of the above.

You live in a fantasy land if you think seasoned thugs will take well to being kicked into the street. Do you really think they'll sleep rough until they quietly expire? No, they'll make their presence known through crime and intimidation.

Btw, nobody is talking about being scared of thugs or condoning them living lives of comfort, it's not an either/or situation. Leaving them where they are isn't working, but putting them on the streets and imagining they'll improve their behaviour will not work either.

They are already making their presence known through crime and intimidation. Evicting them would at least stop the waste of tax payer money that's being spent on them. Take the case of the father of 4 caught red handed in possession of almost 19 thousand euro worth of drugs. Given a 3 month suspended sentence as he has children, that's before even factoring in the gobsh1te politician who took it upon himself to ask the judge for leniency on behalf of the scumbag, who already had a conviction for serious assault.

It's farcical. We need much tougher sentencing in this country, along with a loss of entitlement to benefits and social housing for repeat offenders.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 103 ✭✭Lyger

when that father from Carlow took his two boys, murdered them and crashed his car in mayo, there was none of this compassion "god love him he wasn't well".
    I remember people actually being compassionate towards him and less of the "Bastard deserves xyz" stuff.
    I do remember people lacking compassion towards other male killers of their children though (an English fella out in Crete who threw his kids off a balcony; that guy in Cork who abducted his daughter and was missing for months and months and then was tracked down so killed his daughter and himself - in my opinion both were mentally ill).
    I think there is more understanding of mental illness, particularly male mental illness, since those cases (occurred 10 to 15 years ago... ish).

But I still disagree with people downplaying what was done and taking issue with calling someone who killed their child a monster - it is a monstrous thing to do, whether by a sane or insane person.

Yeah and I hear they also sacrifice goats to their heathen gods every night too.
    Cop on like it's not Syria. Don't tarnish the whole place because they're stuck living besides scum.

Exactly.

For example would we tar the brave little girl who put her body on the line to protect her sister with the same brush as we would tar the pond life scum who threw the petrol bomb? All assumably from the same estate

• Closed Accounts Posts: 310 ✭✭Glock Lesnar

They should have the American's firebomb Ballybeg on their way to their stopovers in Shannon

?? :confused:

Yep the perfect solution. Punish the majority for the actions of a minority.

What goes unnoticed in so called 'rough' estates is the people from these estates that do great community work to keep children off the streets and out of trouble I remember the secret millionaire featured a woman from South hill once that done trojan community work to give children a more fulfilling life in terms of giving them something to do to keep them from falling in with the wrong crowd.

Elm Park in Clonmel has a bad reputation but i know several decent hardworking people from there who are more than likely within the majority. One or two bad sorts is all it takes though.

You cant tar people with the one brush just because they misfortunately share a housing estate with one or two wrong uns. For example that 11 year old girl to try protect her sister like that is highly commendable and emphasizes one of the very few good things about society today - that strong family bond