Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭youngbob

the whole point about Cronnin is not that he's good in the air it's he doesn't know what to do with it when he gets it. his decision making is in doubt for the last few seasons, as for confidence this isn't the time to start him & then take him off if he doesn't produce. Half back isn't going to be the losing of semi as Waterford will only play with 3 forwards, it's from 8 to 12 where Cork will have to come out on top if that means putting an extra man there. IMO lining out traditionally won't work(it didn't in league final) so hopefully when Waterford lie back we will play 5 backs & 3 in midfield. Thats why I don't care what number Dan K has on his back(let him have No5) but he must be in the centre, scores will be got there as space will be a premium inside. that's where O'Shea could be deployed. I hope Landers comes up with a strategy that makes them think about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Horse84

youngbob wrote: »
    the whole point about Cronnin is not that he's good in the air it's he doesn't know what to do with it when he gets it. his decision making is in doubt for the last few seasons, as for confidence this isn't the time to start him & then take him off if he doesn't produce. Half back isn't going to be the losing of semi as Waterford will only play with 3 forwards, it's from 8 to 12 where Cork will have to come out on top if that means putting an extra man there. IMO lining out traditionally won't work(it didn't in league final) so hopefully when Waterford lie back we will play 5 backs & 3 in midfield. Thats why I don't care what number Dan K has on his back(let him have No5) but he must be in the centre, scores will be got there as space will be a premium inside. that's where O'Shea could be deployed. I hope Landers comes up with a strategy that makes them think about

I think Jamie coughlan has to play against Waterford and not inside. We still have to see the best of Jamie. For his size he's strong and tenacious, more so than Lawton and unlike Cronin he knows what to do with the ball when he gets possession. Extremely clever player with great vision. I know against sars, Newtown left him inside for most of the game but when he did come out he broke down ball more than once for someone like naughton or whoever it was to score. For me he's ahead of paudi right now, providing the guy stays injury free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,276 ✭✭✭thinkstoomuch1

Waterford have not many in full forward but they do crowd the half forward line and tore cork apart at half back the last day
    Waterford with mahony out don't have real ball winner in the air so kearney will survive their and he's pace and use poession and sweeping and long distance scoring be ideal from half back and he's imo harder to mark coming from deep as midfield be more congested so kearney forces waterford to push up and nor being as compact as there system is based on tightness and compact middle eight so cork have to play width and have keys men spread out middle eight that waterford have to watch than rather bunch up their system

Cronin touch was off but he was ill two years ago struggled with injury all last year and should not played v tipp but wanted to
    He's unselfish in do anything for the team
    What other player would had no ego and balls conviction to say I don't want be captain cork as my performance dropped but I need to get my game back
    He's carried cork as only ball winner in jbm ist year charge and stood up need greatest v clare in all Ireland final where brilliant goal he got and he good replay

He's decisions making is fine it's he need games full match fitness and not be played out position at centre back etc
    Coughlan I agree with horse would be immense and has balls steel and guts and hurling and played well v Waterford three years ago late sub then v KK and even kk challenge
    He was injured back injury last year but Is fit now
    Him or cronin start v Waterford imo
    He was good v clare in the all Ireland and should been used as a sub ahead naughton in the replay
    He has the skill of he's club man but is way more tenacious
    At seventeen he destroyed sarafields in a county senior final and loves the big game occasion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 347 ✭✭commonsense.

Horse84 wrote: »
    I think Jamie coughlan has to play against Waterford and not inside. We still have to see the best of Jamie. For his size he's strong and tenacious, more so than Lawton and unlike Cronin he knows what to do with the ball when he gets possession. Extremely clever player with great vision. I know against sars, Newtown left him inside for most of the game but when he did come out he broke down ball more than once for someone like naughton or whoever it was to score. For me he's ahead of paudi right now, providing the guy stays injury free.

James Coughlan looked miles off being up to what will be expected against Waterford last Sunday. Maybe injury curtailing him. But even at his best I have serious doubts about him being able to make a significant contribution at intercounty level.

Can you please elaborate
    What aspects of he's game does he need to improve
    You should rewind cork v Waterford three years ago and v kilkenny where he's masterful long distance shooting was to the fore and course few weeks ago in kk challenge
    The lad has well proven when fit well able for intercounty once not boxed in corner forward

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭Mountainlad

Brick and Stephen Bennett are more natural ball winners than Paudie to be honest. Dillon good in the air for someone so small too.

Ye need Kearney in midfield, and everybody else ye can spare because between Moran, Barron and Dunford and Gleesons break down the wing ye were absolutely cleaned the last day. So many overlaps.

Brick and Stephen Bennett are more natural ball winners than Paudie to be honest. Dillon good in the air for someone so small too.

Ye need Kearney in midfield, and everybody else ye can spare because between Moran, Barron and Dunford and Gleesons break down the wing ye were absolutely cleaned the last day. So many overlaps.

Brick is a ball winner no doubt a truly great great player and he's lethal under the high ball but a fully fit Ellis should break even and he's Ellis type player as Ellis won't be beaten by pace or fleet moment or elusiveness

The last day I would not take much heed what happened as I said in the lead up and after which I was totally right cork no focus or desire for real intensity as shown by waterford horsing it in to cork and cork despite being physical v limerick and clare last year showing no interest for battle and cork deliberately making no changes to their style and made waterford look better than they were by horsing ball to them time after time with long direct approach and Murphy played as a sweeper where he won't in June showed cork no interest so this apparently overlaps supposed caused by waterford innovative attacking ploys is imo wrong which to be fair waterford had imo was more down to what cork didn't do then waterford actually done

Longford proved the weekend like I said would happen humiliated thirteen points in the league carved open for four goals yet offaly couldn't get one and were turned over
    Now how did that happen in three weeks
    Well people have a myth that shadow boxing doesn't happen it does in if offaly were that good and Longford that bad no way they would have lost match having won so hugely the ist day
    Longford in truth didn't give a monkey about division league title and offaly who hadn't won in ages croke park or national title ages knew if didn't win that almost unlikely win croke park this year with Dublin likely opponent if they won the ist round went out win league game but it came at a cost as no way could that same performance be replicated again

Imo the hurling is the same
    If cork were fully fit I have no doubt cork would beat Waterford fully fit and waterford saving grace is lorcan loss may help them as even though cork could possibly solve it imo their lack depth backs gives waterford a good chance

Waterford being blown up to all propionate with a so called system that in truth is solid but hardly new as Galway had it three years ago, clare had it but much better in fluid counter attacking game full poise guile cohesion waterford still haven't reached attacking wise so with imo poorest league in years proven by clare kk so many injuries etc contest league relegation battle when in truth either those teams beat waterford any day of the week

I read on the Waterford thread poster saying waterford training for September all year
    Amazing after a league win where only real win was tipp imo how this talk comes out now but never before

Kilkenny have beaten Dublin clare etc Galway all playing a defensive style and would beat Waterford handily also

People talk about Waterford under age success yes school and minor but they have failed to do anything at under twenty one and flopped against worst cork coached team imo in an age at home last year and intermediate team also lost with a lot of young players also to cork
    Waterford record against cork teams in championship all grades is hardly convincegly that there superior to cork imo in cork players won't look at waterford jersey and become fearful in a way kk Jersey would
    Cork relish waterford in hurling

One swallow never made a summer and Waterford should look at cork football as before Dublin all we heard was cork new potent cocktail in paper yet ist real challenge that cocktail proved as weak as water truth be told for cork football
    It was a false dawn like I said it would be unfortunately

Waterford done all was asked so far but they imo have not yet been really really challenged and there's still issues with their style and some team selection

This talk regards over laps waterford had v cork sure look at space cork gave them
    We heard the same thing all week in donegal carved open by ruthless cork and cork got four goals v blanket
    As I said as devoted cork man ignore that as lead up Dublin I said donegal no interest and waited for Tyrone threw week later
    But sure of course no team shadow boxes or goes out to loose so donegal miracle harry houdini like went from awful to cork to brilliant resolute v Tyrone
    Truth is donegal had like Longford the eye on the bigger picture three weeks down the line and cork are the same in winning league useless if waterford turned them over and cork aim is be all Ireland series this year win munster semi one game win away from all Ireland semi final even should they loose munster

Cork have plenty bodies to flood the centre but course lorcan loss gives waterford hope and greatly increase their chance as imo if both fully fit teams cork would win

It's understandable waterford having not any success in an while and even the very very very good but couldn't be called great as great teams win all Ireland, of mid 2000 didn't win all Ireland that any bit success is greatly over blown when still so many questions remain and still to be really tested imo.

In time waterford may well answer those and mcgrath may be the man that does but it's extremely premature to say they have arrived when like cork football have trained since November so fitness been ahead others but as Dublin football proved and as others in hurling will prove once waterford matched hunger want and fitness there system is going to be severely tested and it may not be as strong as they make it out to be

Watertight full back line was cleaned out v tipp for two goals and cork opened them up at ease also with chances

Nobody really gave waterford any chance at the start but after a poor division two, Galway team who play hot and cold, tipp fair enough a good win but a cork team with four injured players and imo attuide of total focus to go all out to win questionable yet waterford are are seen by many pundits as an all Ireland contender
    Of course i could be wrong but I just think it's naive to say waterford system had cork in trouble such degree we cant counter it when league and championship is miles apart unless you play KK and beat them in the league so huge difference in winning in may and then in June as cork intensity was so absent course waterford had over laps and space

Waterford course face huge huge pressure as their profile is bring held so highly by pundits if they loose to cork of course league form will be questioned and Waterford have to perform and they never do well as favourites as history shows where cork are written off by all pundits and the rock played a blinder Sunday saying waterford odds on beat cork and cork going in hope more than anything else
    He knows too well from the past when waterford expected beat he's cork teams on biggest days all Ireland series they couldn't do it
    Of course lorcan injury since Sunday does mean cork hsve to be hopeful more then confidence wise now but point is cork playing blinder blowing up waterford like tomas mulchay week after loss saying cork need two hundred per cent improvement to beat Waterford
    In fairness cork wouldn't need even two hundred per cent beat KK
    But it proves cork were just building up waterford to no end

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭CORKDOUBLE

TTM just a small point to make i watched Longford beat Offaly and it was a fluke to be fair ...Offaly led by 9 points at one point and just fell apart ...i have no idea how Offaly lost and no idea how Longford won !

CORKDOUBLE wrote: »
    TTM just a small point to make i watched Longford beat Offaly and it was a fluke to be fair ...Offaly led by 9 points at one point and just fell apart ...i have no idea how Offaly lost and no idea how Longford won !
    I dunno bout that as two keys stats from what I read from the game
    Longford got the ist five from seven scores

Crucially got last eleven out twelve scores and wasn't smash and grab late goals that's eleven scores shows they won and dominate poession and scores and they also missed a penalty
    Longford didn't win by a point but by three
    Longford also outscored offaly from play and imo shows were the better team and fully deserved the win

Another significant point offaly normally had hodoo over Longford up to last year in Longford had not won since the sixties
    That win combined with group win earlier the league meant they no fear beating offaly again but rather go in championship won three last games and giving offaly huge momentum in motivation won two important games let offaly have league final as no way Longford would won twice three weeks
    Nobody throws games to loose but it's been clear last few years teams don't have focus on certain games and tipp cork munster final five years ago kerry every year league to cork unleash it's relegation do or die battle donegal league and Longford game shows there's games where opponents aren't focused entirely out come so there games you can't read too much into

Joe brolly said it donegal trained horrendously hard Thursday before cork semi final and reward was allowed play freedom and no system v cork
    Donegal spoke the talk though that they wanted to beat cork cork was being treated all out to win
    Soon game was over Gallagher said wasn't their focus
    I remember reading post donegal thread where poster who's best imo poster donegal thread as called game v Dublin tee last year said he got worried donegal went ahead he though we're going to win
    That's tell the story imo

All we heard in cork was we carved donegal open we done it with ease we don't care either way donegal wanted win or not we done what we had to
    Fair enough but they should still know at this stage a false dawn when it presents and after that win I manager I'd said no anyalsing positive games as there's chance donegal made us kook good but negatives I focused on in saying half interested donegal done this or that
    And it turned out that way in cork four goals v donegal cork couldn't create v Dublin bar late goals game was over yet defence worries so evident resurfaced v Dublin as donegal half throttle got close nineteenth points

One of key skills imo modern game that is prevailing is good management knows when to say we won this game but truth be told opposite team had no interest
    Ulster were hammered by Glasgow last week yet ulster said wanted win etc had injury players had rest them
    Clear as day ulster knew likely chance play Glasgow knock out in Glasgow again this weekend and no way they beat them twice away from home
    This week whether they win or not point is they will be different last week
    No team likes loose but such is proximity games competitive nature the volume games teams can't peak in every game so the nature game dictates on occasion when the need arises if two games come up close together where possible teams got to box clever and certain games will always take precedent
    Yes it's not ideal but it's the nature any sport now
    And in gaa teams have do that in peak certain games
    Unless your kilkenny the great exception to the rule

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭Hurleratheart

i was talking to a member of Cork squad today he thinks it will be touch & go for Harnedy to be ready in time for Thurles. any news on Cads

Cadogan not available at weekend for bars game and out for 8 weeks -so dodgy for Clare to

Crackin double header in park u I ring sat evening but cadogan huge lose for Douglas - still fancy them if younger players perform

Kingston broght into panel but got knock in minor game last night - lad having no luck

Cadogan not available at weekend for bars game and out for 8 weeks -so dodgy for Clare to

Crackin double header in park u I ring sat evening but cadogan huge lose for Douglas - still fancy them if younger players perform

Kingston broght into panel but got knock in minor game last night - lad having no luck

What do you make glen and ballymaryke

Tough game to call
    Glen have one or two injuries
    I hope Shane milnrer gets injury free a fantastic prospect and cork under twenty one material

Would be minor bar injury

Cork double you asked regards conor twomey for cork
    Maybes a bit early in he needs a under twenty one season behind him but an outstanding prospect and a terrific minor but pat kenneally imo done him no favours as minor coach three years ago when cork lost limerick by a point he played lad out position midfield then took him off half time
    He did play year after v Waterford and was outstanding but last year didn't even make cork under twenty one panel despite senior club
    Burke now cork senior outstanding corner back was centre back something he's not when twomey should been

He's defo one to watch and he imo with Liam Hayes under twenty one be there this year

He was captain in 11 cork won under sixteen all Ireland beating waterford when pa callaghan got 4-36 nine games and likes Histon Michael cahalane o Connor mark o Connor etc featured
    Pa callaghan was the star among others that team and brought it to minor in two years later against waterford got ten points five from play five from frees and on papers that cork team was outstanding pushed waterford extra time and imo had this current management then would beaten waterford and got least all Ireland quarter final as that team two years ago was outstanding potential just like cork minors football this year

Thanks TTM do you know what kind of team / panel will the u21s have ....playing Waterford in the first round tough ask ...

Also TTM how many of the Cork Minor footballers are underage next year cheers !

What do you make glen and ballymaryke

Tough game to call
    Glen have one or two injuries
    I hope Shane milnrer gets injury free a fantastic prospect and cork under twenty one material

Would be minor bar injury

Think ballymartle will edge it - Milner overage for minor this year and fierce unlucky with injuries

2013 minors beaten after extra time down to 14 men very very disappointing to many lads played out of position and chaos bout 10 days before game with switchs

Heard Conor toomey standout for Newtown at weekend -very hardworking and bulking up a bit which he needs

Some footbalers called for trail for minor hurlers Andheard powter done very well - gives 200% always that lad but a bit short on hurling - delited for him if he's can make it - hes inspiratonal for young lad John Cashman suposed to been very good as well - Kingston got another knock and had to come off

Cork won game but it dragged on late with injuries to a few loais lads as well

Leaving cert will interrupt things now again and presume they regroup after again

Thanks TTM do you know what kind of team / panel will the u21s have ....playing Waterford in the first round tough ask ...

Few injuries and have been cleaned in a few challenges

Ones I can think oft op of head

O Connor, Dolan, Ward, Fitzgerald - Douglas
    Murphy Cormack Cashman Douglas
    Cahalane ballymartle
    Sheehan Hayes o Connor mallow
    Huston Cobh
    Hannon
    Toomey Newtown
    Kelleher kilmichael
    Gunning Lee Na piarsaigh
    Collins ballinhassig
    O Donoghue

Some names escaping me

Think ballymartle will edge it - Milner overage for minor this year and fierce unlucky with injuries

2013 minors beaten after extra time down to 14 men very very disappointing to many lads played out of position and chaos bout 10 days before game with switchs

Heard Conor toomey standout for Newtown at weekend -very hardworking and bulking up a bit which he needs

Some footbalers called for trail for minor hurlers Andheard powter done very well - gives 200% always that lad but a bit short on hurling - delited for him if he's can make it - hes inspiratonal for young lad John Cashman suposed to been very good as well - Kingston got another knock and had to come off

Cork won game but it dragged on late with injuries to a few loais lads as well

Leaving cert will interrupt things now again and presume they regroup after again
    Thanks for that
    I'd agree with all that
    Sherlock barrs got call up and deserved it be fair but on few games minor premium level very hard drop one of Kingston mahony looney halloran flynn cormack gunning etc who all played harty all year or most cases senior intermediate club or munster b at worst old Christians so imo very hard start sherlock now

I think increased panel to get more competitive games and played Laois again and meant be playing kk again soon challenge

Shane Walsh hopefully get a call up panel
    I agree cork minors two years ago and also twomey

Kingston needs rest imo now
    Powter very good was there's while back also but very hard breakthrough forwards
    Dan landers can't make it and he played well senior killeagh weekend

Cashman will start v limerick and has to an outstanding hurler and very big game player

Cahalane ballymartle
    Huston Cobh
    Hannon
    Toomey Newtown
    Kelleher kilmichael
    Gunning Lee Na piarsaigh
    Collins ballinhassig
    O Donoghue

Some names escaping me
    Callaghan rockies and luttrell as far I'm aware were involved also

Luttrell outstanding the weekend only injury last year with foot rattled it
    Aron sheehan got four points weekend mallow
    They will have tough game v Waterford win that cork clare home
    I have huge faith in Liam Hayes in management so if he's big role play they be fine
    In fairness couldn't be as bad as shambles utter shambles last year when it was absolutely down to management we couldn't compete when you have likes Murphy Collins goal Burke cormac Murphy Anthony colm Spillane rob o shea and cadogan
    Your talking core group who are senior or will be future cork players yet made look awful due to absolutely on field play poor poor management

I remember saying after Waterford false dawn as Collins saved us with Spillane boys total getting two goals four but was huge weak aera team yet management failed change it

They though and I said it time beating tipp team going through motion Fermoy challenge was great when tipp were playing clare week after
    Colm Barry an outstanding half back was in trouble full v Waterford yet Collins saves spares cork yet management couldn't see half back cried out him where he outstanding season there cork intermediate team
    Great servant to cork great captain pat kenneally tough warrior and fine player but management as record intermediate minor two years then under twenty one was truly on records very very poor and how he got four years like ger Fitzgerald another great player but poor manager four years cork under age teams when records were appalling is baffling absolutely baffling be fair

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 347 ✭✭commonsense.

I’d have concerns for the U21s this year. Tough ask as you say playing Waterford but their focus on seniors and our home advantage should help us in that game. Win that and it’s a very good Clare side up next. The corresponding fixture 3 years ago at minor level was a humbling defeat down in Ennis. A poorly prepared side I know and 3 years is a long time in hurling but Cork are short some key players from that group (Pa and Mikey Cahalane would be huge if they were available). And from what I’m hearing injuries are going to rob them of 1 or 2 more key players.
    Heard we played Kilkenny U21s a few weeks ago and were comprehensively beaten - KK introduced a few guys for second half and blew us away apparently. I know it’s only a challenge but worrying nonetheless.

Thanks lads re info u21s.....Pa O Callaghan and Michael Cahalane huge losses for sure when you think of those two and Darren Sweetnam and it gives us an idea what Cork hurling have lost ...Kilkenny would not have those losses because hurling is first there .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭Mountainlad

TTM fairplay, my favourite part of that was "of course Lorcans injury means Cork have to go in more hopeful rather than confidence". After 6 paragraphs of downright arrogance now, that was a good laugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Thanks lads re info u21s.....Pa O Callaghan and Michael Cahalane huge losses for sure when you think of those two and Darren Sweetnam and it gives us an idea what Cork hurling have lost ...Kilkenny would not have those losses because hurling is first there .

Evidently KK are soon to lose two of their best Minors to AFL.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Cahalane ballymartle
    Huston Cobh
    Hannon
    Toomey Newtown
    Kelleher kilmichael
    Gunning Lee Na piarsaigh
    Collins ballinhassig
    O Donoghue

Some names escaping me

Good to see Histon involved, thought he had potential at Minor. I assume that isn't Stephen Murphy? Thought he was overage.

Orizio wrote: »
    Good to see Histon involved, thought he had potential at Minor. I assume that isn't Stephen Murphy? Thought he was overage.

Tis Murphy from Rockies but still i juried I think

Others McIntyre form carrigaline
    Logue Kevin o Neill Trever Horgan all played fresh ears this year
    but Horgan again struggles with injuries
    Barra o Connell blarney
    Dennehy charleville

When you add it all up deres a reasonable pick but Waterford wI'll be very strong - Patrick curran. Now called into senior squad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 571 ✭✭✭Figsy32

No Stephen Murphy is U21 alright. Has been injured since the Fitz with a hand injury.

TTM fairplay, my favourite part of that was "of course Lorcans injury means Cork have to go in more hopeful rather than confidence". After 6 paragraphs of downright arrogance now, that was a good laugh.

Thanks for that
    I respect your opinion totally but I disagree
    I appreciate my view may be one of arrogance And I can understand your perception of thought to that but I'll try and explain where I'm coming from

I suppose being a cork man that has huge affinity for Waterford hurling but based on sixty three championship meeting cork have won around forty four or five or so, drew around six any lost around twelve or so and even from 2000 up to now where waterford enjoyed huge success to a certain level cork still won around six to five those games
    The fact cork won the last two championship meetings and in twelve as underdogs and fact beat intermediate last year and beat much much rated under twenty one team even I said waterford win that game I probably don't get carried away this actually total perception after league waterford suddenly teams to beat and cork were gone way behind them based on a league final that imo was not anywhere near championship encounter

I said all week in the lead up cork had no interest in really imo and at half time I said cork would fall away and they did
    A soft waterford goal made it look good also for Waterford
    I have always been extremely confident since draw was made cork would win however I couldn't foreseen huge injury worries we have or defence worries with sullivan gone and Joyce and lorcan so it's not arrogance in i felt as you be fair kept reminding me after league I said cork would win munster game handy in December
    But I'm naturally cautious now and the reason certainly isn't over any so called unbeatable team waterford became, they may do so but imo haven't yet as I said I don't take much heed league game it's down imo cork injury where even allowing waterford imo cork are worse off

If waterford are as good as this new found belive portrays them to be in national media then they should be winning this well as all I heard waterford fans is their panel depth is huge so well they have great chance to prove it

I also don't belive in getting carried away with a league win when waterford didn't play clare or kilkenny and I'm sorry now but you will surely appreciate my view in the last time waterford won the league with a much more proven team and manager at that point didn't they actually have a very very poor championship when allowing for munster championship win it's wasn't good enough for that team in that team had been around for a while all Irelands or least finals were it's next aim and that 2007 being league champions actually didn't mean anything in all Ireland series when limerick having been well beaten in munster final by waterford dominated and beat waterford quite easily in the all Ireland semi final despite waterford being huge favourite in the bookies, pundits and amongst their own

Cork have lot problems but imo this thread shows hardly anyone is arrogant with cork all Ireland winning mode but you go waterford imo unbelievable arrogance as you call it in they think there destined for all Ireland this year by some with talks September or next year
    The arrogance cork have over waterford geuinely is not disrespectful waterford but imo it's naturally to expect a team won last two championship meetings usually wins most championship games as the history shows its like kerry football when play cork in killarney they have arrogance it seems that always win
    Imo not so much arrogance but a confident view based on history and even as cork man I don't find kerry arrogance or confidence as unjustified as much as I'd like it be different I'm logical enough to say well looking on their dominance cork they have every right to be and even cork football won national league football titles correctly so it didn't change that as league and championship kerry is different

Cork are arrogant at under twenty one football and rightly so and be fair kerry I don't die hard look down on cork for that as there ist admit cork earned that right and they do it themselves and I'd argue so cork under twenty one football arrogance justified kerry have actually real respect for them
    Cork ladies footballers are most humble honest down earth group ever grace cork jeresy but imo have no doubt when they play kerry Dublin monaghan they always believed they win most games
    That's a confidence within but to point some fans may sound arrogance when saying cork would win and no way would they loose
    Before the all Ireland final last year I said no way cork loose
    That's sounds arrogance but imo it's fully justified when cork always had Dublin number in big big games and until such time cork legacy was changed Dublin games I wouldn't change my view

I congratulated waterford many times waterford thread but there's no doubt from reading most posts there's there's view suddenly look down on cork and there above us
    And imo if it's kilkenny they have justified arrogance as cork can't argue as kk are above cork
    Just my view is waterford have not crossed that bridge yet

This view you had waterford would create so many overlaps and cork needed everyone they could spare as you said in your words to counter it imo I perceive that as arrogant in like we have to really have hope more than anything in not realisisng this waterford system at best just sweeper nothing like clare we beat twice in munster

Last year cork beat advanced clare sweeper where they played two half forward lines and played one full forward where mcgrath kelly played deeper with mcgrath yet cork countered the new space inside clare tried to create
    Waterford sytem is like Galway three years ago nothing more nothing less
    It's slightly more advanced than system yere greatest ever manager imo Davy getting waterford all Ireland final had in he has defensive style but mcgrath is advanced on that but still no where near system Davy had with clare where yes it's a myth he can get clare play seven systems but to be fair he can get them to play three different ways
    Waterford so far have an effective systems but it's very rigid with only one style so far and has to adapt to get to the next level

Figsy32 wrote: »
    No Stephen Murphy is U21 alright. Has been injured since the Fitz with a hand injury.

I thought he played v kilkenny in the challenge?

Fine fine player

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 571 ✭✭✭Figsy32

I thought he played v kilkenny in the challenge?

Fine fine player

He tried to lay with it but had surgery recently for the hand, didn't play in senior championship for Blackrock. Super hurler.

I never liked this attiude were more sports were always at disadvantages imo it allows some cork use its as excuses when we don't do well in we need stop thar nonsense in we have always lost lads soccer rugby afl etc so we need control controllables in have proper development squads more funding and most of all competent coaching at all levels with proven coaches and not a jobs for the boys attuide based former great players or who they know etc in we do that such is cork population we have more than enough to have hurling football teams and allow others go soccer rugby etc
    Cork population is bigger than kk so we have no excuse but kilkenny have ned quinn proactive man involved gaa their who is different other board members in he's sees value and process in board working right together within county management etc and support any way they can and course appointment great cody is reason kk greatest hurling county around

Histon I agree a terrific player and a big loss to cork under twenty one football this year due to injury