Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

decisions you've made and think thank christ

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,988 ✭✭✭jacksie66

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

the problem was her excessive party/hangover cycle and suspected foul play.

You think she murdered someone? :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭FullblownRose

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    You think she murdered someone? :eek:

Someone's wife, then she married him.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

I had a chance to buy it for a song. Fortunately, that song was White Christmas, and by hanging onto it, I made milions.

• Registered Users Posts: 509 ✭✭✭NeonCookies

Made a decision to email about an internship that I found online which was in the exact area I wanted to work in, even though I'd missed the deadline for that year by about 2 months. They loved my CV, I started a few months later, moved from volunteer to paid full-time within another few months, and have just started my second year :-)

Thank Christ I sent that email!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Barely There

Me too.

You married my wife too?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,879 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

hmmmm ...what to say.

together about 6 years (married less than 1)
    1 child
    the problem was her excessive party/hangover cycle and suspected foul play. It started when she'd met a new gang of friends - after we married.
    foul play was denied but let's just say she has remarried to that guy.

New lease of life was more mental than actual things I could or couldn't do.
    But i had a bagful more disposable income , we had joint finances when together but it was a shock to see how much more above her financial contribution she was actually spending . This only became apparant when she was gone.
    Got a new house and decked it out as I wanted - kinda stuff like that.

I did go on holidays on my tod to places I know she wouldn't have liked but I did. I had more craic with my son , we went away a bit together too.
    More time to myself too to follow my own interests.
    Plus I got to meet, date and fornicate with some fab women. I'd a fantastic 4-5 years on that scene till I met who I'm with now.

the bad atmosphere wasn't in my life anymore I wasn't going about pissed off cos she was going on the rip on a fri and then spending the next two days hungover (with the accompanying bad mood) completely ignoring the fact she'd a husband and child.

Essentially I was just a happier person with that person out of my life.
    But I'm forever thankful I called a halt quite soon rather than trying to fix things or hanging on for the sake of the marriage.

I hope all curiosity is satisfied :)

Who got custody of your son?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭cletus van damme

Who got custody of your son?

it's split roughly 50/50

• Registered Users Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭fatherted1969

On my way to my fathers anniversary mass a few years ago, was a rotton night outside and i'd arranged to collect my wife outside her job after the mass . For some unknown reason i gave the mass a miss and collected my wife early from her job and headed home.

Got home and babysitter said my daughter was acting up only in last hour and was unwell. Rang kdoc and brought her in and when doc undressed her in surgery he discovered meningitis rash all over her body. Scariest moment of my life

A week in intensive care and she made a full recovery. The speed of it from being just unwell to being hooked up to everything in intensive care was frightening.

Just happened to be in that surgery last week and met the doc 16 years later. For all the years that passed he still remembered that night as well.

Never really believed in fate but certainly think my da had something to do with my daughter being alive today

• Registered Users Posts: 13,083 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

Reading some of the stories in here it really just goes to show you never know whats around the corner! Its not even just a simple statement its the truth.

Life can just change in a heartbeat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 103 ✭✭Lyger

crannglas wrote: »
    I was in a shop a few weeks back. I went towards one aisle to pick up something and thought no don't want that. So turned around and walked other way. Out of corner of my eye I spotted this woman I hate coming down the aisle I was about to walk into. And I think thank Christ changed my mind. Another time I got rid of a few people from my life. Turned out one of them was involved in murder another was a drug dealing prostitue. And I think thank Christ I
    You... said too much? Above post is all kinds of intriguing though. Do the same as the other lad and elaborate - please!

Some inspiring stuff on this thread by the way - very heartwarming.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

Divorce too. Selfish git couldn't even send his kids birthday cards last week. Thanks be to jaysus I got rid of that ahole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,888 ✭✭✭9de5q7tsr8u2im

plenty of pagans on this thread

• Registered Users Posts: 208 ✭✭wiseoldelf34

lad a few doors down got busted selling pot few years ago.i decided to cut down my entire grow and dump it just to be cautious .
    low and behold got a knock on the door few months later.
    thank Christ i listened to that little voice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

A lot of you would know this about me by now,

Stopped drinking alcohol in January 09, definitely the best decision I ever made in my life .

Can only guess where I be now if i hadent stopped, dead or prison.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 Hatchet Harry

Years ago when first started driving my younger brother asked could he join for a spin, for whatever reason i refused and took off on my own, rolled the car down the road on the passengers side destroying the pillar, door and windscreen smashed.
    I was grand just in shock but keep thinking back how different it could be.

• Registered Users Posts: 811 ✭✭✭cassid

At 11.00pm,tucked up in bed, decided to go to the loo just in case. I noticed a tiny tiny little bit of spotting when pregnant, had problems throughout the pregnancy and this is so small u needed to really focus the eyes. Told himself to bring me into the hospital, he said nothing but agreed. Within an hour of arriving the baby came with a major complication, he had about 5 minutes of oxygen before he would have died. If I had been at home or even en route, the baby would have died, only for the hospital we able to knock me out and pull himself out immediately. If I had stayed in bed and went to sleep, I would have lost the little guy who spreads so much love and joy in my life, its scary how close life and death are. He spent 10 weeks in hospital and well recovered now. I still get goosebumps when I think about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 212 ✭✭Lalealea

lufties wrote: »
    I'm no scientist but I do believe that the natural universe influences how we behave and what we decide. I've always been worried if I've made right decisions in the past. even if they are regretful, there is still a positive to be taken from it. As a single person, I nearly fell into the trap of staying with someone whose not compatible a few times..as painful as splitting up was at the time, I look back and think, thank christ I got out of that relationship or trusted instinct and opted out of a situation.

What are that decisions/actions you took that you now feel thankful of?

Leaving him. Thought that a few times. But the big one was a couple of years ago.

Going to Uni.

Going to the er when I had cramps turned out it was renal colic from a really really bad kidney infection.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,553 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Slightly different, because it wasn't a decision I made.

I was plodding along in a kind of decent but dead end job for a few years, with nothing more than vague ideas of changing things, but without ever making any decisions.

Then the business went bankrupt, and I was forced to actually make those serious decisions I'd shied away from.

Best thing that happened to me.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,575 ✭✭✭monkeysnapper

QueenieB wrote: »
    Changing to an ECB tracker mortgage in the boom times. It saved our skins when the crash happened and property prices fell. The bank tried to get us to change with all kinds of incentives but we didn't budge.

Same here buddy, I was walking down a road on a normal rainy day and something clicked in my head

"I know I'll go into bank and play hard ball and see if I can get some money off my mortgage "

They said switch to a ECB ,

Every month I thank who Evers listening up there, that one ordinary decision saved me thousands .

My other was in same bank , when we were building house I constantly kept eye on exchange rate , I'm from Wales and I had my life savings in sterling and kept on to it till exchange was right , I walk into bank and work out how much I'm going to get and when bank clerk gives me exchange it's 600 under, turns out they put wrong rate on board , !!,!! I complain and the manager tells me I have to have it and I'm 600 quid up!!!!

Happy days .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Barely There

My sister was looking at buying an apartment in Celbridge in 2007. Just before the sale was to close there was a big storm and the roof started leaking in the apartment.
    The sale was held up while repairs were carried out.

By the time they were finished the economy and housing market were starting to look a bit wobbly.
    She got cold feet and pulled out of the sale.

Couple of years later and the apartments were worth less than half of the original sale price.

She probably saved a couple of hundred thousand euro.

All because of the weather.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭weemcd

Walking to the door with a spliff behind my ear when I heard a knock. I wasn't expecting anyone and when I asked who is it twice there was no reply. Was semi-tempted to spark it, open the door and say "Eeeehhhh" as it was probably one of my mates as I dunno who else would be calling. I decided to walk back into the living room anyway and just set it down.

Go back to the door and low and behold it's John Law standing at the door asking had I heard anything regarding a break in down the street a few days ago. Lucky boy.

Probably have dozen more thank Christ I did that moments but can't think of any more just now.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,399 Mod ✭✭✭✭robindch

BDJW wrote: »
    Going for a few pints with my dad on a Thursday night when I was in crap form and really down cos of some stuff that was going on. I wasn't in the humour to leave the apartment at all. It turned out to be the last chance I ever got to have a pint with him as he had an accident a few days later and passed away 10 weeks after it
    One August about ten years back, I was shooting the breeze with my grandad, then aged 98, but in perennially good health. Said he'd really like a good bottle of whiskey for christmas instead of the usual cheapie stuff he got, so I suggested the expensive Mildleton Whiskey - then around 120 euros a bottle - as he'd gone to school in Midleton back in the 1920's. He said great, why not?

Fast forward to Christmas and I was regretting my decision as cash was a bit short that year. As I knew he'd forget, I got a good, but cheaper, bottle in O'Brien's, then as I was leaving the shop, paused, turned around and went back in and got the right stuff, went back home + wrapped it up.

A few days later, just as he began to unwrap it, he looked over at me and asked me if I'd remembered the conversation we'd had in August about the Midleton whiskey. I told him to continue unwrapping and find out. All he let slip was the slightest grin, but it was enough.

He died six months later, around six months short of his hundredth birthday which would have annoyed him no end had his brain not gone downhill fast over his final few months. He only finished about one-quarter of the bottle and the rest is back with me after my mum tried to swipe it. I take it down once a year and have a drink with the same, slightest, grin.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

In the shower as a young fella with a scissors about to snip my banjo string cos I saw a few porns and wondered why my pee pee didn't look like theirs.

On feeling the pinch of the scissors I thought fck that and after some research then found out that those porn stars were circumcised and that my hooded chopper was grand.

I was also a bit paranoid about the size of my tinkle compared to theirs but apparently some people have smaller willies than me and I'm just lucky.

• Registered Users Posts: 557 ✭✭✭IrishAlice

Years ago when first started driving my younger brother asked could he join for a spin, for whatever reason i refused and took off on my own, rolled the car down the road on the passengers side destroying the pillar, door and windscreen smashed.
    I was grand just in shock but keep thinking back how different it could be.

Had something similar happen to me. A friend in college was going home for a few hours that day and asked if I wanted to go for the spin. Was going to but at the last minute decided to stay back and do some college work.

He drove into a ditch on the way back to college that night. He came out with only scratches but the guards said if anyone had of been in the passenger seat they'd be dead.

Another one that stands out but for different reasons was agreeing to go on another date with the guy who fell asleep in the cinema and didn't walk me to my car afterwards. Still together now and buying a house :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,154 ✭✭✭DubDani

Was offered a transfer to the US by the company I was (and am still) working for, and agreed. A few weeks later I decided that it somehow didn't feel right, and after some discussions instead took up a similar position locally. A colleague of mine (who I wasn't fond of) went instead.

About 6 months later the complete team that I was scheduled to join in the US was let go, and I would not only have been unemployed, but would also have had to move back from the US.

Still counting my blessings.

• Registered Users Posts: 47 KimmyKims

Two years ago was feeling really unwell, womens issues and asked my gp should i have a smear test. He advised that it wasnt really necessary as i was only 26 and " too young for cancer" ... Decided to go with my gut feeling and booked one in a different clinic. Thank christ i did as a few weeks later was diagnosed with cervical cancer. My oncologist said if i had left it another 6 months i would of been in a really bad situation. Thankfully i just got my two year all clear last week :)

• Registered Users Posts: 74 ✭✭midnight_train

Cancelling my wedding / not marrying my ex-fiancé.

Moving away from New Zealand.

It's been a few years now, but making the decision not to marry the person who turned out to be all wrong for me ... I think I spent the following year in a perpetual state of RELIEF for having come so close to making the wrong decision, but not dong it in the end.

• Registered Users Posts: 512 ✭✭✭Vomit

In the shower as a young fella with a scissors about to snip my banjo string cos I saw a few porns and wondered why my pee pee didn't look like theirs.

On feeling the pinch of the scissors I thought fck that and after some research then found out that those porn stars were circumcised and that my hooded chopper was grand.

I was also a bit paranoid about the size of my tinkle compared to theirs but apparently some people have smaller willies than me and I'm just lucky.

WTF???? :confused::eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,383 ✭✭✭Miss Demeanour

Walked out of a job I detested......retrained and walked into a job I absolutely love........