Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ladies who game?

• 06-10-2014 6:16pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

Hey everyone! Just thought this might be an interesting thread. Do we have many gamers here on the lounge? What platform, and what games do you play?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Jerrica

I can't hack these new fandangled consoles, but put me in front of a PC with any of the Command & Conquer series and you won't hear a peep out of me for hours :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭iuil1999

It's either the Nintendo WII for doing Zumba or watching Netflix through the PS3 lol! I've always been crap at computer games! The best thing about all the newer games consoles now is that you can get the internet through them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

I'm a PC Gamer as well ;)

these days, I'm playing Payday 2 a lot, it's an awful lot of fun :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

I wouldn't call myself a gamer, but I do enjoy playing games. I play on PC through Steam and enjoy stuff like Assassin's Creed, the Arkham series, and am currently trying to work my way through Stranger's Wrath but like keeps interfering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,190 ✭✭✭✭sammyjo90

I am currently kicking voldemorts ass in Lego harry potter on the vita :D
    Not much of a pc gamer but the new laptop has an alright graphics card so that might change a lil bit!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,512 ✭✭✭baby and crumble

Gamer here! At the moment I mostly play Xbox 360, different games. Madden NFL at the moment is a biggie, but I like RPG's too. I haven't played much of the newer stuff because I'm broke and can't afford new games. I could play Star Wars Knights of the Old Republic over and over again. It bugs my girlfriend no end.

I also collect retro systems, but they're all in storage at the mo. NES, GameCube, Dreamcast, PS1 and 2...

I also play some pc games like Sims and theme Hospital, but my laptop is on its last legs. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

I don't game very much anymore. The last game I played was Grid: Autosport. I played it for a few days but I didn't rack up the hundreds of hours like I'd do when I was a child/teenager.

The last game I played and really loved was Gone Home. You arrive in your parents house in the 90s after travelling around Europe for a summer. There's a note saying they've had to go away suddenly and to let yourself in. You do and you find out your younger sister is after running away from home. Then you explore the house piecing together the story of what happened and why she left (amongst other things.) It was fantastic, it featured predominantly female characters, the story was excellent, there was no pressure but the story was intense.
    For anyone who played it towards the end going up to the attic my heart was pounding!

I'd highly recommend it as a different to the norm game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,555 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

Me too! LOTRO, Minecraft, Assassins Creed and a few online games like the Settlers and Dragons of Atlantis. And, of course, who can forget the Sims :P play a few others casually. I need to get a Nintendo console (not sure which yet) to keep going with Pokemon. The reason I don't know which is that I'm not sure I want to get into new gen games, or stick with red, blue and yellow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

I have spent an unhealthy number of hours playing Hyrule Warriors wii u this past week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 545 ✭✭✭Defender OF Faith

Jerrica wrote: »
    I can't hack these new fandangled consoles, but put me in front of a PC with any of the Command & Conquer series and you won't hear a peep out of me for hours :D
    Try Cossacks European war: back to war a pc game that strongly fit in your category!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,974 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

Assassin's Creed and Football Manager for me

Would not class myself as a gamer whatsoever though

Does anyone tabletop game? I don't, never have, but I DO have a copy of Munchkin and no-one to play it with, if anyone would be interested in playing it with me.

Played quite a few while I was with my ex, mad into it so he was. wouldn't rest until I played dominion,which actually wasn't all that bad. I liked ascension too,because I beat him ALL the time! :D

Drew the line at war hammer and also Magic:the gathering though.

Now if you had catan,id be over like a shot!

kylith wrote: »
    Does anyone tabletop game? I don't, never have, but I DO have a copy of Munchkin and no-one to play it with, if anyone would be interested in playing it with me.

Not much myself, but herself does and we've got quite a few other friends who play various tabletop games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 785 ✭✭✭Stinjy

Minecraft on computer - its addictive!! However its a tad easier to play on xbox.... pity I can't afford one....

Portal on PC is always good...

COD on the wii......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭PhysiologyRocks

I'm what my brother describes as a "very casual gamer".

I love easy-going games: Sims and Theme Hospital were mentioned above. I enjoy my Mario Kart and other Mario stuff (favourites beng Nintendo 64 and old GameBoy).

I liked 007 on Nin64 too!

I adore Tetris and similar games. Puzzle-type ones keep me entertained (unfortunately, still including Candy Crush). I got along well with Brain Training too, but not sure if it counts as a game, as such.

I don't have much spare time, so very honestly, I love a pretty easy game where I can progress quickly through levels, or the game itself.

Pokemon, I loved when there were still 150 - then I sort of lost interest. Would still play blue, red and yellow if I still had them/my GameBoy.

I'm fairly certain I'd enjoy WoW, but I dare not!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

I was a regular gamer for years, but my WoW addiction basically killed my love of games. I haven't been able to get into anything beyond simple puzzle games since then, and it's 6 years now since I kicked that dirty habit. Sold or gave away all my old consoles to my younger cousins after that, and don't have anything beyond a few timekillers on my phone these days. I used to love adventure and role-playing games, bit of Metroid, Zelda, Final Fantasy, Dragon Quest - great stuff back in the day but the newer incarnations of a lot of them were/are awful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭hattoncracker

I used to play PlayStation but I don't have a PlayStation anymore. Heavy Rain and Beyond two Souls are my two favourite games of all time. It's all about the story with them and you kind of build your own game through the choices you make.

I also play The Simpsons Tapped Out. This is my addiction!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,951 ✭✭✭B0jangles

Used to play a lot more in the past - mostly PC FPSs. Now I play the odd adventure-type game on my 360 or go on a DS/PSP Castlevania binge :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,449 ✭✭✭✭pwurple

Broke out the old PS2 a few weeks ago to see if it still ran. Hoping to get the kids into playing some puzzle games, maybe good for the brain? Might try to break out into dance dance revolution as well with them. :)

We played a lot of them as children anyway.. old school stuff, Mario, Snake, tetris etc, and then onto Civilisation, command and conquer, SimCity (not the sims! never liked that!), resident evil, diablo, tomb raider, mortal kombat (so much fun!). Quake was the game of choice at uni, a version of it ran on the college servers. Grand theft auto is another fav. Prefer the original overhead one.

Had a go at the warcraft, league of legends type games (mainly because my brothers play online abroad, and twould be another social gathering for us), but they are a bit time consuming for me.

If I had to pic a Fav Game of All Time, it's is a PS2 relic called ICO. Beautifully put together. No clutter on screen. no dialogue. No menus or life bars, just a lost boy exploring a huge world. Love it.

I love munchkin :D:D haven't played it in about 10 years!!

Like RK, WoW addiction killed off my games for a fair while ... I'll always come back to the elder scrolls and BG2 though. And a bit of Civ

I love tabletop games too :) Board games like Smallworld, Ticket to Ride and card games like Flux, Munchkin, Gloom and such!

pwurple wrote: »
    If I had to pic a Fav Game of All Time, it's is a PS2 relic called ICO. Beautifully put together. No clutter on screen. no dialogue. No menus or life bars, just a lost boy exploring a huge world. Love it.
    My favourite would probably be Abe's Oddysee, and the sequel Abe's Exoddus, both on PS2. They're gorgeously drawn, fun to play (who doesn't love farting as communication), and you have infinite lives!

Dowloaded them from Steam a while back, but the resolution was all wrong and they look horrible. Am nervous about trying the PS2 on my telly now.

The two abe games were on sale for the vita there a couple of weeks ago, havnt played them yet. Remember them being super hard when I was younger but I just had to get them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

pwurple wrote: »

Love it, possibly the definition of art in game form.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

Does anyone else play NetHack?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 996 ✭✭✭bnagrrl

I don't play much anymore but I LOVE the Zelda games. Christmas '95 I got the Legend of Zelda, Link's Awakening for the GameBoy and I've been hooked ever since :)

Also like a bit of Crash Bandicoot on the Xbox, Professor Leyton on the DS and nearly all the guitar hero/karaoke games for wii/xbox.

I used to play Sims as a child on our PC when it was SimCity. I'd spend ages painstakingly building a city and then have Godzilla come and raze it to the ground :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,951 ✭✭✭B0jangles

bnagrrl wrote: »
    I don't play much anymore but I LOVE the Zelda games. Christmas '95 I got the Legend of Zelda, Link's Awakening for the GameBoy and I've been hooked ever since :)

Also like a bit of Crash Bandicoot on the Xbox, Professor Leyton on the DS and nearly all the guitar hero/karaoke games for wii/xbox.

I used to play Sims as a child on our PC when it was SimCity. I'd spend ages painstakingly building a city and then have Godzilla come and raze it to the ground :D

Oh yeah, love me some Link to the Past! Also my christmas nostalgia game has to be the first Neverwinter Nights; that game had the Best soundtrack. I hung on to my character from a full playthrough of the base game and all the expansions for years, until a laptop death stole her from me :(

(Actually... I might start it up again, feels like the right time of year and all)

So, does anyone here play Payday 2 on PC? And if so, fancy joining me for a bank robbery? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭TeletextPear

I love a bit of Professor Layton on the 3DS, and have put an embarrassingly long amount of time into Animal Crossing! Play a lot of the Lego games like Lego Batman/Marvel with himself and cant get enough of Monaco on Steam - it's so much fun.

I racked up 166 hours on Animal Crossing new leaf! What a terrible binge! Haven't played on a year either, don't think I very could again after that :pac:

Love layton too, and phoenix Wright games, still haven't had time to play the crossover!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭TeletextPear

I racked up 166 hours on Animal Crossing new leaf! What a terrible binge! Haven't played on a year either, don't think I very could again after that :pac:

Yeah I'm afraid to go back to my town now, I can't handle the weeds and the guilt trip the villagers will give me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 272 ✭✭Lalealynn

I did Gaelcon a couple of times. The cons are great cuz of the great atmosphere with some many people. I gamed with some mates. But mostly with my brother and the gang. Cthulhu mostly ...others but not regularly. Have not gamed in a while. Great fun! Would deffo be nice to game with some more girls. Oh And I did Marvel once or twice. I wanted to try a larp never did though. I love dress up! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭LenaClaire

I don't play super often, just don't have the time these days. When I do, I play either PC games or Wii. On the PC I still renew my WOW every now and then for the giggles, but I usually play Steam games like Half Life 2, Portal/Portal 2 or Bioshock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,427 ✭✭✭Morag

Tabletop, pc and xbox.

Working my way thriugh boarderlands 2 and then I am going to play AC Liberation which has a woman as the protagonist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,812 ✭✭✭Vojera

I wish I got to play more often. I used to be glued to my Mega Drive/Game Gear/Dreamcast/PS1/PS2 but when I moved to Dublin my games didn't follow me, but I had my DS to keep me going.

Now I play PC games when I can, as well as trying to deal with my backlog of PS and DS games, but it's not often enough. I'm trying to make a conscious effort to make time, though, but it's a catch 22; if I game more, I read less, etc.

On DS I enjoy visual novel and puzzle type games (currently playing 9 Persons 9 Hours 9 Doors), and on PC I like action-adventure and indie games (I'm simultaneously playing Castlevania: Lords of Shadow, replaying Mark of the Ninja, and giving Transistor its second run through). I'm also playing Ico on PS2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 SkunkyDoodle

Oh I like this.

Used to be a big fan of computer games mostly lucas arts back when monkey island was hot.

Love pokemon and Mario, for gameboy, DS, N64 and Wii.

Used to have PlayStation, big fan of crash bandicoot, Spyro, Point Blank.

Now moved onto the Xbox playing COD, Bioshock series, Saints Row, Payday, Dishonored, Assassins Creed and more.

Definitely don't have the time to play as many games as I would like to though :(

Getting myself a Ps4 for christmas with a few games, be happy then :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,080 ✭✭✭McChubbin

PC gamer here but I tend to go more towards the likes of Dragon Age or The Sims franchises. Fallout 3 is also good.
    As for consoles, the last one I bought was a SNES last year. Mario Kart FTW!
    I'm thinking of reconnecting my old PSOne and attempting another stab at the final boss in Crash Bandicoot: Warped. Never did get around to killing that bastarding thing. I enjoy puzzle games, RPGs and to a smaller extent, MMOs.
    One game I'd love to try and finish is Pandemonium. Great fun with an awesome soundtrack!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 642 ✭✭✭Contessa Raven

Used to play the old Warcraft games on PC in the 90's as a child. Then moved onto consoles around 9/10 and stuck with them for years. I still have my original Playstation and a PS2. Around 10 years ago I started playing The Sims. Jesus! Talk about addiction!

Then approximately 2 years ago I took the plunge and got World of Warcraft. I haven't looked back since. Seriously. SO ADDICTIVE! But I enjoy it so much!

Time you enjoy wasting is not wasted time.

Riiiiiiiight?? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,776 ✭✭✭This Fat Girl Runs

Glad I found this thread! I'm a PC Gamer, playing mostly RPG's like Baldur's Gate, Dragon Age etc. I have Skyrim but haven't started it yet. I also love puzzle solving games like Myst and Riven. And the odd Civilization game now and then. I recently played the Lego Harry Potter games, and really enjoyed them.

I have an old Playstation 2 but as I don't have a television there's no way to play it anymore. But the Final Fantasy Games will also have a place in my heart!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 81,083 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

But the Final Fantasy Games will also have a place in my heart!

Mine too :)

There's a new civ game out friday week

Time you enjoy wasting is not wasted time.

Riiiiiiiight?? :pac:

I agree, I used to play WoW and you know what? I enjoyed the hell out of it, but I got fed up after Cataclysm and left. No interest in going back to it, but it was a hell of a ride during WotLK

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭LenaClaire

Links234 wrote: »
    I agree, I used to play WoW and you know what? I enjoyed the hell out of it, but I got fed up after Cataclysm and left. No interest in going back to it, but it was a hell of a ride during WotLK

I just renewed to get used to it again before the new release this winter. I have a two week break at Christmas, I plan on spending a lot of it in Azeroth :D:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,812 ✭✭✭Vojera

McChubbin wrote: »
    One game I'd love to try and finish is Pandemonium. Great fun with an awesome soundtrack!
    I looooooooove the Pandemonium games! I actually played the second one first, so it's my favourite, but they're both good. The first one is definitely a lot trickier than the second.

Also, wtf happened to Nikki between the two games? She started out like this:
    Pandemonium_box.jpg

And ended up like this:
    Pand2.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭wampyrus77

hyrule warriors
    along you have a nintendo account you will get alternative costume for gannondorf, link and zelda

THERES MORE GIRLS / HEROINES/villainess characters TO play then boys/heros/villains

sUCH badass playing as daRK LINK 2 MORE DAYS I CAN PLAY AS OCARINA OF TIME COSTUMES FOR LINK AND ZELDA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,776 ✭✭✭This Fat Girl Runs

Mine too :)

There's a new civ game out friday week

Ooooh I didn't know that! The last one I played was Civ 4. I'm not very good at the games but I do enjoy them! I'll have to look out for the new one! Thanks!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 81,083 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

Ooooh I didn't know that! The last one I played was Civ 4. I'm not very good at the games but I do enjoy them! I'll have to look out for the new one! Thanks!

Civ 5 should be fairly cheap if you wanted to pick that up first, I wasnt too fond of it though much prefer 4.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,974 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

I have Civ 5 but I know I was doing it wrong. I really like games like it and Ages of Empires but boy do I suck at them!!

Is anyone playing the Hitchhiker's game on the BBC website? I'm very frustrated with it.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/articles/1g84m0sXpnNCv84GpN2PLZG/the-hitchhikers-guide-to-the-galaxy-game-30th-anniversary-edition

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭Esterhase

Is anyone playing the Hitchhiker's game on the BBC website? I'm very frustrated with it.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/articles/1g84m0sXpnNCv84GpN2PLZG/the-hitchhikers-guide-to-the-galaxy-game-30th-anniversary-edition

Oh dear. I lasted 2 minutes and came out with a final score of 0. Time to put the kettle on. That professionalism and meeting deadlines stuff is only for losers anyway....

When I'm not at work I'm definitely more of a console gamer than PC. I have a PS3 and 360 at the moment, but the xbox has been a bit neglected over the past year or two in favour of the PS3. I tend to play action/adventure games like Uncharted or Tomb Raider, and RPGs. Not Wow though because I prefer the non-mmo type; I'm a bit of a sucker for the old Final Fantasys.

I'm finishing up Fez on the Vita this week. It's mental, I can't remember the last time I had to make little notes to help me solve puzzles in a game. Notes. With pen and paper :eek: