Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

need advice

• 01-10-2014 9:50am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭

Hi all Im shooting deer with a remington 243 I'm using 100 grain remington core lokt soft points but these are goin in an straight out the other side causing the deer to run the odd time I'm getting a stone dead kill I'm looking to has anyone else this problem or should I change to hollow points any advice greatly appreciated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭deerhunter1

ecr wrote: »
    Hi all Im shooting deer with a remington 243 I'm using 100 grain remington core lokt soft points but these are goin in an straight out the other side causing the deer to run the odd time I'm getting a stone dead kill I'm looking to has anyone else this problem or should I change to hollow points any advice greatly appreciated

Strange, I use 150gr remington in my 308 core lokt boat tail and would never change, drops them right where they were standing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭ecr

Strange, I use 150gr remington in my 308 core lokt boat tail and would never change, drops them right where they were standing

150 grain is a strong load tho

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭deerhunter1

150 grain is a strong load tho

Ya true but I am certain my mate uses the same as you in his 243 never heard any complaints, will check it out

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,743 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Try Federal 95 gr Nosler BT. I used them in my .243 to great success. Only issue is the price. €45 per 20.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭4200fps

Try federal 85 gr sierra game kings

Ya true but I am certain my mate uses the same as you in his 243 never heard any complaints, will check it out

Thanks for that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,558 ✭✭✭wexfordman2

Im using federal 100gr soft points, and has so far worked for me 100% of the time. Not all dropped on the spot, got a run of 30 to 40 yds on a few, but that was it.

Cass wrote: »
    Try Federal 95 gr Nosler BT. I used them in my .243 to great success. Only issue is the price. €45 per 20.

Would you get any runners with these price is steep but worth it if there better than the remington

At nearly €10 per 20 more than Hornady they are expensive, but i dropped two deer before i sold the .243 on and both fell like a sack of crap. No running. Both shots were within 120 yards and both were heart shots.

The other aspect was i tried them on the range for grouping/consistency, along with:
    • Hornady 58 gr V-max
    • Hornady 95 SST
    • Remmy 100 gr Core-Lokt
    • Federal 100 gr V-Shok

The best grouping and most consistent were the Federal 95 gr Noslers. Then in order of accuracy were:
    • 58 gr V-max
    • Federal 100 gr V-Shok
    • Remington 100 gr Core-Lokt
    • Hornady SST.

I got the usual issues with the SST. After anymore than 2 shots the groups opened up to beyond usable, and while not important from a hunting aspect i wanted a consistent round for any type of shooting.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

At nearly €10 per 20 more than Hornady they are expensive, but i dropped two deer before i sold the .243 on and both fell like a sack of crap. No running. Both shots were within 120 yards and both were heart shots.

The other aspect was i tried them on the range for grouping/consistency, along with:
    • Hornady 58 gr V-max
    • Hornady 95 SST
    • Remmy 100 gr Core-Lokt
    • Federal 100 gr V-Shok

The best grouping and most consistent were the Federal 95 gr Noslers. Then in order of accuracy were:
    • 58 gr V-max
    • Federal 100 gr V-Shok
    • Remington 100 gr Core-Lokt
    • Hornady SST.

I got the usual issues with the SST. After anymore than 2 shots the groups opened up to beyond usable, and while not important from a hunting aspect i wanted a consistent round for any type of shooting.
    Thanks for that Cass goin to call into my dealer and find out what has he other than remington strongly thinking of changing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,759 ✭✭✭cookimonster

I used the same Remi ammo as you first season out, they did the job and where quite accurate. Switched to Fed 100gr SP after that because, cheeper but just as good, accurate, everyone else I shoot with uses them and they drop the deer.
    I have heart and lunged reds with no more than 5-6 metres run before dropping, even had one whos lungs turned to soup drop in its tracks. They are devastating with neck shots in and around 100m and closer on Sika.
    Good foxing round to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭tikkahunter

Paddy Carley is doing them for 37

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 436 ✭✭hiddenmongoose

Shot placement can have a lot to do with this as well as was the animal aware of you just before you shot.If he was aware of you he can have a quick build up of adrenalin for the flight or fight reflex which will give him a chance of a run with a heart lung shot.Even with him unaware of you a heart lung shot can often result in a run,this is grand on a hillside where its easy see him but a pain in the ass in farmland or near forestry as he can dissapear.Maye consider your shot placement being a factor also?
    Im using remington accutip 165gr in 308 (massive power difference I know) and having fantastic results with them,
    this one was recovered from a fallow pricket shot at 180m heart/lung dead on spot.perfectly mushroomed
    af9b0o.jpg

Paddy Carley is doing them for 37

I see that. If it's the Vital Shok and NOT the V-Shok then it's a good price, but everywhere i've looked the Vital Shok are €45. Sean in Stakelums had the V-Shok and was giving them to me for €35.

What's the difference in these

I tried to suss this out myself and all i can figure is one is marketed as a varmint/small game round (V-Shok) and the other a large game round (Vital Shok).

On Federal's website they have the same grainage, the same bullet selection, etc. So other than price i cannot see why one would be superior to the other, but i went with Vital Shok as it was what he had in stock. It worked, so i stuck with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 436 ✭✭hiddenmongoose

What's the difference in these

Think i remember reading some where that the difference was the varmint bullets had a thinner jacket and softer lead so it would fragment toattaly while the vital shock had a thicker jacket and a harder core to produce controlled expansion and promote weight retention

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭tikkahunter

Didnt know there was a difference ,so that's why when i was ringing around i was getting huge difference in prices 35 is a great price

Yeah 35 isn't bad for that type of round thanks for all the info and help lads

It's €2 cheaper than online shops, so not bad at all. However he was charging €45 for the Vital Shok, and regular price was €47. Just want to highlight he was not giving the Vital Shok for €35 otherwise i'd have bought as many as i could. :D

If I may ask why are the remington way cheaper than the other brands

Not sure lad. Could be they produce it cheaper, use cheaper components, etc. so this gets passed onto the customer.

I get what you mean thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭fabwing

I use the best and most expensive bullet to ensure a humane kill, some barrels prefer different bullets, its a matter of trying and testing what suits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,108 ✭✭✭clivej

Look I've seen deer run after getting hit with a heart/lung shot with a 300 rem mag. On viewing the deer it had small entry and fist size exit with bits of heart and lung hanging out.

So it's not all down to what round to use but the deer has just got plenty of get up go (then drop).
    Again I've shot deer with Federal Fusion in my .308 and didn't like that some ran. So now using 155gr ballistic tip ammo with very good success. Still get an odd runner but they don't go to far.

Try a shoulder shot, 1/3 down the body. At worst the shoulder will be shattered at best the spine will be taken out as well.