Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Living in a small town

• 28-09-2014 12:07am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,409 ✭✭✭

I moved into an isolated cottage near small town in the country about 2 hours drive from Dublin, about three years ago. I didn't know anyone when I moved here (I still don't) so I joined couchsurfing so I would have some company to pass the time as I have retired from work.

I only accept couchsurfing requests from females to stay at my house because I feel safer doing that and I have had over 200 girls stay at my house from 40 countries over the three years. Last week a garda car followed me and a chinese couchsurfing girl to my house and then asked both of us what we were doing, although we were doing nothing suspicious.

Would you be concerned if a stranger moved into town and was continually seen with different girls less than half his age living in his house? Is this really a reason to alert the Guards?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,248 ✭✭✭✭BoJack Horseman

Really what the reader is wondering is how many of your lady guests have you fernagled into sleeping with you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

Have you shifted any?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

You auld divil..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Ho Ho Ho.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 41 TheEnigma

We don't get police cars in my town land though we do get the odd donkey let loose around the gaa pitch

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,023 ✭✭✭Satriale

i havent been home for months, but the mother told me the cops paid you a visit.

Nomis21 wrote: »
    I moved into an isolated cottage near small town in the country about 2 hours drive from Dublin, about three years ago. I didn't know anyone when I moved here (I still don't) so I joined couchsurfing so I would have some company to pass the time as I have retired from work.

I only accept couchsurfing requests from females to stay at my house because I feel safer doing that and I have had over 200 girls stay at my house from 40 countries over the three years. Last week a garda car followed me and a chinese couchsurfing girl to my house and then asked both of us what we were doing, although we were doing nothing suspicious.

Would you be concerned if a stranger moved into town and was continually seen with different girls less than half his age living in his house? Is this really a reason to alert the Guards?

Bet they think you're running a brothel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,409 ✭✭✭Nomis21

Really what the reader is wondering is how many of your lady guests have you fernagled into sleeping with you?

I am interested in readers thoughts about whether I would be cause for suspicion but if you really need to know, I don't mind answering your question.

I never suggest or even talk about that subject with my guests. That's why so many have left positive reviews and I have so many requests.

But...

About 5 or 6 of my guests did ask to sleep with me and I slept with three of them, one of whom I had a year long relationship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

I wouldnt call the police on you but I would never trust you and Id think you were up to something suspicious. The fact that theyre foreign makes it more suspicious too

I am interested in readers thoughts about whether I would be cause for suspicion but if you really need to know, I don't mind answering your question.

I never suggest or even talk about that subject with my guests. That's why so many have left positive reviews and I have so many requests.

But...

About 5 or 6 of my guests did ask to sleep with me and I slept with three of them, one of whom I had a year long relationship.

What were their reviews like? :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,549 ✭✭✭maryishere

what were the other 2 or 3 like?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

I'll things that never happened for $500 Alex.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

I'd assume you were running a brothel, or involved in sex trafficking somehow. I'm not entirely sure how you persuade people otherwise, short of wandering into the garda station saying "I'm not a pimp" If you do that, can you video the response?

Maybe print out some info about couchsurfing to have to hand if the gardaí ever do call.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

I'm sticking with my original bid of " ya auld divil ya"

Satriale wrote: »
    What were their reviews like? :p

OK, why not...

"XXX hosted me over and over again during my long stay, thing that I'm very grateful for. So,Yes,travelers,he's a great guy to send a request to. But this is not what's important, after all.
    XXX himself is important. Cause he's such a genuine person in his interactions, so it's impossible to interact otherwise but genuinely with him. And that's why I'm so happy to have meet and to have Seen him, beyond all the roles that we all play at certain points :)
    I remember a specific situation that I'd like to share:) I was going through hell at some point, slowly sinking, and XXX was there. And i mean he was there, there for me. With what I now identify as his general life attitude. That is..: 'You can either choose to go deep into hell, let your ****ty live context become you, or you can accept that it happen, refuse to be brought down by it and just build yourself a happy present moment!'
    And it helped, you helped, XXX, Thank You! I'm happy to think about you as my friend"

I liked her too :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭Filmer Paradise

OP. You started a thread to boast about 200 girls staying in your house & you seem to equate this to life in a small Irish town.

Feck off wit yerself now.

OP. You started a thread to boast about 200 girls staying in your house & you seem to equate this to life in a small Irish town.

Feck off wit yerself now.

Ok I'm bored. Is that a crime? This is AH, lets keep it light please.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭Molester Stallone II

OP has the mickey wanked off himself with all these Asian chicks floating thru his front door......jammy barsteward

If you don't know anybody people are going to be suspicious and jump to conclusions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭Filmer Paradise

Ok I'm bored. Is that a crime? This is AH, lets keep it light please.

Keep it somewhat realistic.

200 birds in 3 years. In an Irish village?

You need to contact Bord Failte & show them how to do marketing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 187187

I've been to many a small town in Ireland and had a very relaxing time and a very friendly atmosphere.

If only for the traffic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,230 ✭✭✭Merkin

So you live in an isolated cottage in Ballygobackwards and in the last three years you've had two hundred female guests stay with you? That averages at a different guest roughly every five days? Rrrrrrrright.

Merkin wrote: »
    So you live in an isolated cottage in Ballygobackwards and in the last three years you've had two hundred female guests stay with you? That averages at a different guest roughly every five days? Rrrrrrrright.

It is actually a very rare night that no one is staying here. Often two separate guests will be here at the same time and the average stay is two nights but often longer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

You have hidden cameras set up in the bedroom right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,235 ✭✭✭lau1247

Even if the guards were alerted, you have your alibi right.. That's all that matters. Just show them the testimonials/feedback you got.. Do no crime, do no time

So this is a new way to stay with someone for free you say eh? ;)

West Dublin, ☀️ 7.83kWp ⚡5.66 kWp South West, ⚡2.18 kWp North East

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

*googles couch surfing*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

What life is like growing up in small town..

"Nothing changes here very much. You used to say it never will. The pubs are all full on Friday nights. And things get started still. "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

so I joined couchsurfing.

And simply going down the pub was plan b?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,057 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

Friendzone with 197 female backpackers that stay in your house for free?

Stop being so smug.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Honest opinion. You sound like the type of dude who may go out on Junior Cert Results night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Buona Fortuna

Hi OP

Have these couch surfs ever been resulted in any bad experience for you? Stuff going missing or worse?

Just came across this on Boards - was a mystery to me

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=54375887

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Buona Fortuna

Wow isn't the internet great:
    On 5 March 2009 in Leeds, UK, a man threatened with death and raped a woman from Hong Kong who stayed at his place through the Couchsurfing project.[27] He was sentenced to 10 years in prison
    In July 2012, a Couchsurfing host admitted to French police that through a specially-constructed peephole he filmed and spied upon showering female students he hosted, treating their soap with acid to provoke itching, and drugging their food with tranquillisers, sexually assaulting them in their sleep. Upon awakening, due to the drugs, they had no memory of the events.[29] Couchsurfing public relations personnel asked Couchsurfing Ambassadors to not comment to the press concerning these events
    In 2013, "a popular host in Chicago and a CouchSurfing 'Ambassador'" was excluded from Couchsurfing.com after a considerable number of women complained of his inappropriate behaviour. The case underlines the limitations in the site's safety measures, the excluded member having previously obtained special trusted status on the site
    A person "posing as a couch surfer" was arrested in the Jing'an District of Shanghai on 26 December 2013 after stealing goods from various hosts in Beijing and Shanghai
    At first confined to house arrest, a Padua police officer was taken into custody 29 March 2014 after evidence brought prosecutors to suspect his sexual violence was not limited to two known cases, and after he was discovered still seeking new contacts through social media, in defiance of a legal injunction. He is suspected of drugging and raping multiple victims encountered through the Couchsurfing website. A previous complaint had been filed with Scotland Yard by an American couchsurfer studying at Oxford.
    All from Wiki - so obviously God's own Truth

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

Not so much concerned, but brothel keeping would be one of the first things to come to mind if I'm been honest. Obviously the person who reported you was concerned but you haven't done anything wrong so its grand. I've heard good things about the couch surfing all the same.

Edit: I've just seen the above post. now I'm not so sure lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,957 ✭✭✭CelticRambler

ToddyDoody wrote: »
    And simply going down the pub was plan b?

I thought all the pubs in rural Ireland had disappeared. :confused:

Different location and a different programme but I used to do something similar for people in campervans/motorhomes till last year. Everyone within 5km knew that someone wandering around with "foreign" plates looking lost was probably looking for me and gave them directions. If the house was in a better state, I'd offer couchsurfing too though we don't see that many tourists round here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

I thought this was going ted bundyish.

I thought all the pubs in rural Ireland had disappeared. :confused:

Different location and a different programme but I used to do something similar for people in campervans/motorhomes till last year. Everyone within 5km knew that someone wandering around with "foreign" plates looking lost was probably looking for me and gave them directions. If the house was in a better state, I'd offer couchsurfing too though we don't see that many tourists round here.

Celtic Rambler, just to let you know that the condition of your house or where you are situated does not matter too much. Couchsurfers are mostly budget travellers who are just happy with a place to sleep and adapt to the place where they are and its more about the person they are staying with, a 'cultural exchange'.

Based on a referencing system, people will stay according to the references left by others and this is a small island in comparison with most countries and nearly everywhere is less than three hours from anywhere else and often less, which is not far in the scale of things for travellers who come often from thousands of miles away. To get the first references one can go and stay with someone or go to a couchsurfing meet up in one of the cities and meet people.

As for the horror stories above. Yes they can happen, usually by travellers who didn't follow couchsurfing safety guidelines on the website and 6 incidents in over 20 million successful hosting and surfing experiences, although deplorable it is extremely rare. People don't usually publish a photo of themselves on the web before committing a crime linked to that photo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,156 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Yeah its suspicious

A 60ish year old man who refuses to engage much with local people constantly bringing foreign women in their 20s into a cottage in the middle of nowhere.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

Yeah its suspicious

It looks suspicious and it sounds like Nomis is sort of proud of that fact. I'm pretty sure there's nothing untoward happening.

Nomis is getting some company I guess. From reading his posts he seems to get a thrill out of the locals thinking he's some sort of stud or a sex trafficker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

John_Rambo wrote: »
    It looks suspicious and it sounds like Nomis is sort of proud of that fact. I'm pretty sure there's nothing untoward happening.

Nomis is getting some company I guess. From reading his posts he seems to get a thrill out of the locals thinking he's some sort of stud or a sex trafficker.

Well at least he's not doing it in Dublin.

Daveysil15 wrote: »
    Well at least he's not doing it in Dublin.

Doesn't matter where he's dining it. He's doing no harm. He's accommodating people.

Silly post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Nomis,
    As a 70 year old living in rural Ireland I can tell you your operation would not only seem suspicious, it is downright odd. You are 3 years in an area and didn't socialise with the locals but went to seek strangers on the web? Downright peculiar way to go about things. You cannot honestly think that people would be anything but suspicious of you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭beano345

Nomis,
    As a 70 year old living in rural Ireland I can tell you your operation would not only seem suspicious, it is downright odd. You are 3 years in an area and didn't socialise with the locals but went to seek strangers on the web? Downright peculiar way to go about things. You cannot honestly think that people would be anything but suspicious of you.

That's typical small nosey Irish town mentality,let the man live whatever way he wants,maybe he prefers the company of foreign people with different cultures and life experiences

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,957 ✭✭✭CelticRambler

Celtic Rambler, just to let you know that the condition of your house or where you are situated does not matter too much. Couchsurfers are mostly budget travellers who are just happy with a place to sleep and adapt to the place where they are and its more about the person they are staying with, a 'cultural exchange'.

:D Ah, it matters to me ... I do have people to stay quite often (big house, lots of beds) and they come back again, but it's hard work explaining the quirks of the house (no door handles, trailing cables, dodgy toilet flush, etc) - I don't want to do that three times a week. :pac:

Good tip about getting references, though. I'm mostly a "provider" rather than a "user" but maybe I need to leave my own campervan at home for a while! :cool:

John_Rambo wrote: »

I would say that it was more a side effect than a reason to do couchsurfing but yes, I suppose I do get some amusement from it though I don't cultivate suspicion and didn't expect or want attention from the Guards.

The guards were probably just being nosey fcukers. It was a pretty weak excuse to ask you questions (and dare i say, an abuse of power)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,128 ✭✭✭dellas1979

Im from a small town. And agree with live and let live.

But if yer man down the road had 200+ females coming through, I would want to know what was going on. For my neighbourhood.

At the end of the day, its all about safety, right? Well, your guests want to feel safe. But your neighbours do too.

Therefore, seeing as not one person in the village is aware of your couchsufring endeavours, yes I do think it is right for them to check out what is going on.

Imagine if something really dodgy was going on, and noone checked it out? Would be uproar then that the Gardai did nothing.

PS: Your reviews/feedback sound like counseling sessions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

beano345 wrote: »
    That's typical small nosey Irish town mentality,let the man live whatever way he wants,maybe he prefers the company of foreign people with different cultures and life experiences

What about that was nosey? The OP stated "I didn't know anyone when I moved here (I still don't) so I joined couchsurfing so I would have some company to pass the time". Of all places a small rural area is the easiest to meet people if you have a mind to. I couldn't care less what he does in his home but he asked how it might look. I think he knows rightly how it would look - be it in a small rural area or a housing estate in a town/city - and he's quite chuffed with himself about it.

You can't be anonymous or go unnoticed in the countryside.People will talk and want to know your business,if there's a lack of information it'll be filled with assumptions and rumours.

The Guards themselves also probably live locally and will be curious about your movements,so it may not be a case of somebody reporting you.
    If I know anything about rural Ireland I bet you're quite the mystery and a popular topic of conversations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,246 ✭✭✭alroley

I'd be so creeped out by you to be honest.
    It would just look so odd and suspicious to see an older man constantly have different young women in his house.