Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

IDF save irish..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭FullblownRose

evo2000 wrote: »
    http://www.irishcentral.com/news/politics/Israeli-Defense-Force-rescues-Irish-troops-from-Islamist-extremists.html

Its gas, how alot of people in ireland are anti israel and yet IDF had to save irish troops that were supposed to be saving, filipino troops... wtf do they be doin it all out there isnt this the 3rd or 4th time irish troops have been captured abroad?

Fair play to the IDF tho! would have been good enuff for us had they just let it happen, with the stick they ve been gettin lately!

“But that, of course, is precisely the problem with seeking to empower your enemies rather than your allies: If you succeed, your allies will no longer be able to help you when you need them.”

I thought that was a bit unfair, to phrase it that way- but effectively that's what might happen if Israel do leave the area. I thought the Irish were considering pulling out because it was starting to get riskier than they had anticipated and prepared for?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,728 ✭✭✭evo2000

“But that, of course, is precisely the problem with seeking to empower your enemies rather than your allies: If you succeed, your allies will no longer be able to help you when you need them.”

I thought that was a bit unfair, to phrase it that way- but effectively that's what might happen if Israel do leave the area. I thought the Irish were considering pulling out because it was starting to get riskier than they had anticipated and prepared for?

I dont think there cut out for the sort of situation thats developing best job would be to head home and "review the mission" by review i mean let the IDF or some other better equipped army handle it!

I think the UN missions are a joke at the best of times, making soldiers more a target than a force

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

They can call us Anti israel all they want and maybe even chuck in jew haters for good measure. It won't stop until the israeli government stop treating people like animals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭Shakespeare's Sister

http://www.irishcentral.com/news/politics/Israeli-Defense-Force-rescues-Irish-troops-from-Islamist-extremists.html

Its gas, how alot of people in ireland are anti israel and yet IDF had to save irish troops that were supposed to be saving, filipino troops... wtf do they be doin it all out there isnt this the 3rd or 4th time irish troops have been captured abroad?

Fair play to the IDF tho! would have been good enuff for us had they just let it happen, with the stick they ve been gettin lately!
    How is it "gas"? People are critical of the IDF's excessive force on Palestinians and only people trying to be edgy will say there's something unreasonable about this. Fair play on the IDF members in this case though.
    "Would have been good enough for us" - "us"? Don't be so hard on yourself. And no it wouldn't have been good enough for those peacekeepers just because Irish people (along with people across the world) condemn the IDF.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

I am anti-Israel I suppose with how they behave. IDF soldiers going to "save" Irish troops doesn't change that anymore then IDF soldiers committing atrocities against innocent people would make an Israeli supporter any less supportive of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

I suppose that goes some way to making up for the Irish soldiers they allowed to be tortured and murdered by their proxies, the SLA...........

.......never mind the number of times they targeted Irish peace-keeping positions for mortar, artillery and tank fire (as well as small arms). Only luck and the professional preparations made by the Irish soldiers prevented more serious loss of life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,753 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

IDF

Great bunch of lads, yeah i mean i know they slaughtered a couple.of thousand innocent people last month including 600 innocent kids and left hundreds more maimed and scarred for life bit sure great bunch of lads otherwise

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Jawgap wrote: »
    I suppose that goes some way to making up for the Irish soldiers they allowed to be tortured and murdered by their proxies, the SLA...........

.......never mind the number of times they targeted Irish peace-keeping positions for mortar, artillery and tank fire (as well as small arms). Only luck and the professional preparations made by the Irish soldiers prevented more serious loss of life.

What kind of "professional preparations" did the Irish soldiers employ?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,818 ✭✭✭✭The Hill Billy

I think that people are more anti-"How-Israel-treats-non-Isrealis" for a start. Fair play to the IDF for supporting our guys.

But I take real issue with the part I have bolded above. "Us", really? It is not like you are out there proudly wearing a blue beret & putting your cock on the block in an effort to keep the peace in the hell-hole that is the Golan Heights.

Don't flatter yourself.

What kind of "professional preparations" did the Irish soldiers employ?.

siting, digging and roofing proper shelters would be one prep - in other words not assuming that the IDF were going to adopt a benign posture towards the presence of blue helmets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

The article (not originally written for Irish Central) comes across as a bit shill-tastic.
    IDF had to save irish troops
    The were doing what suited themselves.
    I dont think there cut out for the sort of situation thats developing best job would be to head home and "review the mission" by review i mean let the IDF or some other better equipped army handle it!
    The mission is keeping the Israelis and Syrians apart to reduce the risk of violence. How can the Israelis carry out such a mission?

Victor wrote: »
    The article (not originally written for Irish Central) comes across as a bit shill-tastic.

I liked this bit.....
    An article in Commentary Magazine recently described Ireland as “one of the most consistently anti-Israel countries in the EU.”

“The Golan is included in the list of ‘Israeli-occupied territories’ that [Dublin] wants Israel to quit. One wonders whether Dublin appreciates the irony that had Israel complied with this demand, IDF troops wouldn’t have been on hand last week to rescue its peacekeepers.

If the IDF troops weren't there, then the Irish troops wouldn't be needed as the Golan would not be disputed!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

I'd prefer to keep Irish troops out of the Middle East, it is a sh!thole. There's plenty of other places in the world where they could be more effective.

How are a hundred Irish troops positioned in between the IDF, the Jihadis, Hezbollah and god knows what else supposed to keep control? I get the image of a WWF referee trying to stop the wrestlers from fighting each other by getting the ringside bell rung constantly.

I think that people are more anti-"How-Israel-treats-non-Isrealis" for a start. Fair play to the IDF for supporting our guys.

But I take real issue with the part I have bolded above. "Us", really? It is not like you are out there proudly wearing a blue beret & putting your cock on the block in an effort to keep the peace in the hell-hole that is the Golan Heights.

Don't flatter yourself.

ever hear people talk about the football team they support they use "we" even tho they arent part of it, since its our national army i use us as in irish ppl use ur noggin like a good lad, uve a unrealistic view of the un asell if u think there putting your cock on the block

siting, digging and roofing proper shelters would be one prep - in other words not assuming that the IDF were going to adopt a benign posture towards the presence of blue helmets.

What were the shelters like?

ever hear people talk about the football team they support they use "we" even tho they arent part of it, since its our national army i use us as in irish ppl use ur noggin like a good lad, uve a unrealistic view of the un asell if u think there putting your cock on the block

Most sports fans travel to the away games to support their team at one time or another, will you be taking a tricolour to the Golan heights when you head off to support the lads? Maybe you should take a hamper of Guinness and soda bread to pass on the them IDF lads to show the gratitude of the Irish folks back home :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

This totally clears them of the cold blooded murder of children. Much like the mob boss who donates to the church or the corrupt politician who does charity work.

Seriously? You think Irish soldiers don't go into harm's way when they're on UN duty? Especially in their current role on the Golan as the QRF?

The UNIFIL Mission sustained approx 250 fatal casualties - about 20% of those deaths were Irish soldiers. The last one was Pte. William Kedian who was killed when IDF/DFF mortar fire hit a UNIFIL position. He was hit as he was moving to take cover in a shelter.

Most sports fans travel to the away games to support their team at one time or another, will you be taking a tricolour to the Golan heights when you head off to support the lads? Maybe you should take a hamper of Guinness and soda bread to pass on the them IDF lads to show the gratitude of the Irish folks back home :rolleyes:

werent the un the away support in rwanda? front row seats i believe great spectators!1 but ur point is stupid

So you won't be heading over then? No need to use the word we then next time you are bigging up the baby killers is there.

Seriously? You think Irish soldiers don't go into harm's way when they're on UN duty? Especially in their current role on the Golan as the QRF?

The UNIFIL Mission sustained approx 250 fatal casualties - about 20% of those deaths were Irish soldiers. The last one was Pte. William Kedian who was killed when IDF/DFF mortar fire hit a UNIFIL position. He was hit as he was moving to take cover in a shelter.

to some extent yea but the way ppl like u go on about it ud swear it was iraq or afghan wars they were in...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,818 ✭✭✭✭The Hill Billy

Less of your condescension. Through personal experience, I know exactly what our lads do for the UN. There's a Commendation for Bravery for "saving 361 men, women & children from certain death" hanging on my folks living room wall. (Nice one, Bro!)

to some extent yea but the way ppl like u go on about it ud swear it was iraq or afghan wars they were in...

What was the last war you fought in?

What were the shelters like?

I don't know I wasn't there - but I'd imagine deep, roofed with something like railway sleepers and earth - sandbagged 90 degree entrance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

I'm sorry, but how is sharing logistical intelligence with United Nations peacekeepers considered to be "saving" anyone?

That site linked to by OP is a dubious rag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

I call bull**** on the story .

At no stage over the last while has there been any reports of the IDF saving Our Irish Troops or were involved in shooting at all during the rescue of besieged un troops

What was the last war you fought in?

none but i can certainly tell the difference between the abit of peacekeeping and a full scale war,i suppose ur rambo are ya?

I like the way you are stirring it up but I'll play along.

first a bullet is a bullet and an IED is an IED regardless of what country you are in.

Most engagements are small scale in Iraq, Afghanistan and in Syria - they are all platoon sized or squad sized wars so the fact that you are there as part of a small QRF or a Division probably doesn't mean much when the bullets start zipping by your ears.

Btw, you are right - it's not like Afghanistan (or like Iraq when the US were active there) - the Irish soldiers have stricter rules of engagement - don't have anything like the comforts of Bagram or Bastion - nor do they have the support of Apache, Chinook or Blackhawk helis - they've no close air support and no indirect fire support (and even if they did they probably wouldn't be allowed use it) - but aside from that, from the soldier's perspective, it's just like Afghanistan.......

none but i can certainly tell the difference between the abit of peacekeeping and a full scale war,i suppose ur rambo are ya?

So you have no first hand experience of armed conflict but feel you have the right to comment on it because you have read a book or seen a documentary :rolleyes:

Define 'war' then.......given that you've just stated you can tell the difference between it and peacekeeping ;)

So you have no first hand experience of armed conflict but feel you have the right to comment on it because you have read a book or seen a documentary :rolleyes:

thats correct, do you have first hand experience in everything you comment on? :rolleyes:

I do, i was in the first gulf war in 1991. So tell us the difference between war and peacekeeping since you seem to know so much about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

Gatling wrote: »
    I call bull**** on the story .

At no stage over thw last while has there been any reports of the IDF saving Our Irish Troops or were involved in shooting at all during the rescue

I'm not really sure what Irish Central is, but I've been left lolling about at their bizarre take on something really basic before. Can't recall what.

Suffice it to say that I'm extremely dubious of them, I seem to recall getting the feeling they were Irish American, rather than actually Irish.

ETA:

http://www.irishcentral.com/about/
    IrishCentral is the largest Irish site in North America and covers news and interests, from the nostalgic and the modern Irish America and Ireland.

Headquartered in New York City with additional contributing writers around the US and in Ireland, IrishCentral is at the center point of major news announcements affecting the Irish community. Our editorial staff operates 24/7 to bring the latest in Irish news, politics, entertainment, sports, opinion, and craic to our readers.

Hmm.

I do, i was in the first gulf war in 1991. So tell us the difference between war and peacekeeping since you seem to know so mu h about it.

do you have first hand experience in everything you comment on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

To be fair that Chad bloke we were guarding was a bit of a joke of a mission. Get your own bodyguard mate!

do you have first hand experience in everything you comment on?

If i don't know what i am talking about i won't comment, i certainly wouldn't talk down about someones profession if i new **** all about it the way you are.

I don't know I wasn't there - but I'd imagine deep, roofed with something like railway sleepers and earth - sandbagged 90 degree entrance.

They were nothing of the sort.. Of all the bunkers I sheltered in maybe one camp had something half decent.

But the majority were pretty flimsy corrugated sheeting over with a layer of earth and sandbags and would have offered minimal protection against anything heavier that .50cal (and even thats questionable).

There was an element of luck too of course, given the ferocity of some of the fighting we were exceptionally lucky not to have lost more.

Regards the IDF and co-operation with the UN.. Mostly we got on fine with them, even swapping rations on some of the posts and when UN per's were injured we were medi-vac'ed to Rambam hospital in Israel for treatment.

The real scum (IMO) were the South Lebanese Army (Christians), Hezbollah, Amal and in the earlier trips the PLO.

If i don't know what i am talking about i won't comment, i certainly wouldn't talk down about someones profession if i new **** all about it the way you are.

what have i said thats incorrect? could we talk about the topic rather than me personally lol

also are u saying uve never once commented on something without 1st hand experience? lol

what have i said thats incorrect? could we talk about the topic rather than me personally lol

also are u saying uve never once commented on something without 1st hand experience? lol

How about explaining the difference between a war and a peacekeeping mission for us??

This should be fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭Jadaol

Surprising not a whisper about this in the last week other than a small article in the independent last weekend.

Given how the media bleated on and on and on about the Irish saving the Filiipinos for 24 hours, you'd think there'd be some recognition when they're on the receiving end.

But no. They're Israeli so we can only condemn.

How about explaining the difference between a war and a peacekeeping mission for us??

This should be fun.

before i do tho... are you saying theres no diff lol?

They were nothing of the sort.. Of all the bunkers I sheltered in maybe one camp had something half decent.

But the majority were pretty flimsy corrugated sheeting over with a layer of earth and sandbags and would have offered minimal protection against anything heavier that .50cal (and even thats questionable).

There was an element of luck too of course, given the ferocity of some of the fighting we were exceptionally lucky not to have lost more.

Regards the IDF and co-operation with the UN.. Mostly we got on fine with them, even swapping rations on some of the posts and when UN per's were injured we were medi-vac'ed to Rambam hospital in Israel for treatment.

The real scum (IMO) were the South Lebanese Army (Christians), Hezbollah, Amal and in the earlier trips the PLO.

I'm not sure what your point is considering where you came in the discussion - are you suggesting the preparations weren't professional?

And weren't the SLA backed / supported by the Israelis?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

Jadaol wrote: »
    Surprising not a whisper about this in the last week other than a small article in the independent last weekend.

Given how the media bleated on and on and on about the Irish saving the Filiipinos for 24 hours, you'd think there'd be some recognition when they're on the receiving end.

But no. They're Israeli so we can only condemn.

If the only source for this particular narrative is an extremely dubious US based site, it might pay to treat it critically.

before i do tho... are you saying theres no diff lol?

Run along, not feeding you anymore.

take your own advice and hop off my thread your pathetic efforts were easily dealt with!

So are you going to define 'war'? Or not?

I'm not sure what your point is considering where you came in the discussion - are you suggesting the preparations weren't professional?

And weren't the SLA backed / supported by the Israelis?

Yes the SLA were supported by the IDF but not all compounds had IDF personnel in them, and the compounds which did (have IDF troops) operated much more professionally than those manned by the Christians.

But the Christians had their own command structure too, with its own HQ.

OH, re. the shelter's, most of us felt they were lacking in protecting us and I dread to think what would have happened if one had ever been hit by arty fire ~ as for our accomodation, living in soft skinned port-a-cabins wasn't ideal protection either.

And btw, in case I give an impression that at the first sign of trouble we took to the bunkers that wasn't the case.. If you were on duty you stayed where you were, if you were involved in a scheme of defense you went to your defense post but if you weren't involved (ie not on duty/rostered) you grabbed your sh*t and hit the bunker to sit out a shelling.

Regards the situation in the Golan, well it would be nigh on impossible to operation along any of Israel's border without their co-operation, impossible.

Btw I don't know why you're giving your sense's to evo2000, I think he's on a wind up.

So are you going to define 'war'? Or not?

for what purpose? but ill get a wiki there for yeah if you insist on the definition of war

"War is an organized and often prolonged conflict that is carried out by states or non-state actors. It is generally characterised by extreme violence"

fresh off wiki for ya ! enjoy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭Jadaol

If the only source for this particular narrative is an extremely dubious US based site, it might pay to treat it critically.

It's not the only source. It was in the Irish independent a week ago. Maybe read my post again, in full.

Strange how people are so willing to disbelieve anything about the Israeli army, when I say anything - I mean the good stories. They have no problem with the bad. Never question the stories and figures from their enemies
    Pages and pages about how bad the IDF are and nothing about how bad Hamas etc are.

No marches against any one in that part of the world. Nothing. No matter what they do. Maybe the Iraqi people would like some solidarity with their campaign against Isis. Or the Egyptians would like to know where we stand on..... Etc etc

Anybody want to protest against something to do with America or Israel? I'm in. Sure you don't have to ask twice....

Jadaol wrote: »
    It's not the only source. It was in the Irish independent a week ago. Maybe read my post again, in full.

Strange how people are so willing to disbelieve anything about the Israeli army, when I say anything - I mean the good stories. They have no problem with the bad. Never question the stories and figures from their enemies
    Pages and pages about how bad the IDF are and nothing about how bad Hamas etc are.

No marches against any one in that part of the world. Nothing. No matter what they do. Maybe the Iraqi people would like some solidarity with their campaign against Isis. Or the Egyptians would like to know where we stand on..... Etc etc

Anybody want to protest against something to do with America or Israel? I'm in. Sure you don't have to ask twice....

id be the first too bad mouth israel and its carry on in gaza but being fair they arent all bad either i thought it was gas how there wasnt a word mentioned of this story the hate wagon rolls on i guess lol