Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Football Fan Palestine Flag

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

As long as Liverpool keep winning, nobody should concern themselves with these Chelsea prats.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭dundalkfc10

Lapin wrote: »
    As long as Liverpool keep winning, nobody should concern themselves with these Chelsea prats.

Makes no Sense whatsoever

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Was at the game myself and heard people complaining about it, missed the incident though.

Hard to draw too many conclusions at this point though.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

I was at that match tonight...missed it...I ain't going to comment on the incident as the video only starts when the guy is on the ground however the gards do not have a clue how to police Football games in this country and have a serious attitude problem towards Dublin clubs supporters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 628 ✭✭✭Chance The Fapper

What happens in the video?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

All dundalk natives should be free to hunt without.repercussion anyway, doing humanity a favour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

Yet GAA fans become cult heroes when they invade the pitch and have to be hauled off by four stewarts.

To clear things up, it was a Bohs fan arrested

I seriously doubt anyway he was arrested over a flag more to do with his attitude i'd say when asked to hand it over

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

Dundalk were fined 18,000 euro by UEFA when a fan at a previous game in the stand refused to take down a Palestinian flag during one of their games because it was a political statement and nothing to do with Dundalk.

A small LOI team can't afford to be fined 18,000 euro each week.

This lad obviously has no interest in supporting Dundalk and he's only there to further his own agenda. Hilarious that the video has no footage of what happened before the Gardai had him on the ground. I doubt the Gardai jumped him the second they saw the flag, something tells me somebody as righteous as this fella was acting the dick.

If you have an issue with not being allowed to bring a Palestinian flag to a Dundalk game bring it up with UEFA, don't be a dick and sabotage a small Irish club who barely make ends meet.

major bill wrote: »
    I was at that match tonight...missed it...I ain't going to comment on the incident as the video only starts when the guy is on the ground however the gards do not have a clue how to police Football games in this country and have a serious attitude problem towards Dublin clubs supporters.

Not only Dublin clubs, we get it ourselves and I know Drogheda do too..Id say its cause us 2 along with the Dub teams usually attract the little pricks at games but its no excuse
    Last 3 times we were in Dalymount, their was trouble at the corner of Ediie Rockets after the game, our we pricks coming out, theirs coming from the other end...Not a CLOWN arrives untill it kicks off and 2 mins later their is about 20 of them and the wee pricks are away down the road gone!

I seriously doubt anyway he was arrested over a flag more to do with his attitude i'd say when asked to hand it over

Yeah I'm assuming that myself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

Hazys wrote: »
    Dundalk were fined 18,000 euro by UEFA when a fan at a previous game in the stand refused to take down a Palestinian flag during one of their games because it was a political statement and nothing to do with Dundalk.

This lad obviously has no interest in supporting Dundalk and he's only there to further his own agenda. Hilarious that the video has no footage of what happened before the Gardai had him on the ground. I doubt the Gardai jumped him the second they saw the flag, something tells me somebody as righteous as this fella was acting the dick.

If you have an issue with not being allowed to bring a Palestinian flag to a Dundalk game bring it up with UEFA, don't be a dick and sabotage a small Irish club who barely make ends meet.

This was neither a Dundalk nor UEFA match. There is no reason why he shouldn't be allowed to bring a Palestine flag into the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

At 1:57 a guy half chuckles to the cameraman: "Watch out, the flags are in" as he leads him away from the Gardaí.

Did they know bringing Palestine flags in would cause trouble or something?

Hazys wrote: »

tbf Palestinian flags have been hung in Dalymount the last 14 years ive been supporting the league however I don't understand bringing one to the game tonight...the majority of us support Palestine but keep it out of football.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

tbf Palestinian flags have been hung in Dalymount the last 14 years ive been supporting the league however I don't understand bringing one to the game tonight...the majority of us support Palestine but keep it out of football.

I presume its over the fact that Dundalk were fined 18,000 euro for it in a european game.

No LOI team can take that risk. The stadium is private property, the have the right to control who or what goes on in there. He was probably told he wasnt allowed to bring it in and then acted the dick and he got arrested...good enough for him.

What does a Palestinian flag have to do with LOI soccer game anyway?

EDIT: misread your post, too lazy to edit lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 454 ✭✭EunanMac

https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=717131195002341&set=vb.100001164007107&type=2&theater

Gardai are a disgrace!

Any wonder us football fans think we are victimised (or should I say know)

This country needs change and big time!

I've never heard so much whining and crying like a child
    How Gardai listen to that high pitched whining drama queen fagotry is beyond me
    What has soccer got to with flegs and palestine and sports ?
    Half wits

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

He had a plan and the cops made it fait accompli (excuse the French)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭ringadingding

Cops should have maced the lot of em, especially the one with a budgies voice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭policarp

Quazzie wrote: »
    Dubs being Dubs, getting in trouble with the law.

I thought that was standard procedure :confused:

Very inconclusive.
    It could be any match or game
    in the country. . . :confused:
    Maybe women playing handball.
    Or Guards playing hardball?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭policarp

Next year I'll support "The Reds."
    Come on ye Lee siders.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Support Palestine or laugh at Dundalk FC getting a large and unfair fine.

Tough call.

Sorry Palestine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=717131195002341&set=vb.100001164007107&type=2&theater

Gardai are a disgrace!

Any wonder us football fans think we are victimised (or should I say know)

This country needs change and big time!

I've argued with you me old son in the past but that is fucin senseless, whats goin on ?

21/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭jimmymal

Dundalk got fined for allowing a flag stay up during a european qualifier. This was a LOI game, nothing to do with ufea. A soccer fan wants to bring a flag into the game, showing support for palestine, wtf has it got to do with the guards/irish law? or anyone else.
    Jaysus, theres been some lad bringing that john3:16 sign to GAA matches for years.

jimmymal wrote: »
    Dundalk got fined for allowing a flag stay up during a european qualifier. This was a LOI game, nothing to do with ufea. A soccer fan wants to bring a flag into the game, showing support for palestine, wtf has it got to do with the guards/irish law? or anyone else.
    Jaysus, theres been some lad bringing that john3:16 sign to GAA matches for years.

The Gards at these games ain't the brightest, they are responsible for needless flashpoints at games, whatever happened with the gentleman getting arrested the gards had no right to demand the flag off him, they are paid to police the game so that no trouble happens, they are not there to act as the FAI's enforcers

jimmymal wrote: »

After reading your 1st line, I stopped reading! You have no clue what happened in Oriel obviously
    No flag was "left up" and Dundalk didnt "allow" it!

They took down the flag behind the goals (when asked)
    A few clowns (Maxi and his mates) had 2 Palestine flags on poles in front of the Shed, Chairman and Uefa delegate had to come over and tell them to stop. They "AGREED" then on 3 occassions during the game 1 of these flags was waved for about 20 seconds!

Dundalk didnt "allow" it and a flag wasnt "left up"!

After reading your 1st line, I stopped reading! You have no clue what happened in Oriel obviously
    No flag was "left up" and Dundalk didnt "allow" it!

They took down the flag behind the goals (when asked)
    A few clowns (Maxi and his mates) had 2 Palestine flags on poles in front of the Shed, Chairman and Uefa delegate had to come over and tell them to stop. They "AGREED" then on 3 occassions during the game 1 of these flags was waved for about 20 seconds!

Dundalk didnt "allow" it and a flag wasnt "left up"!

Why do dickheads with Palestinian flags go to LOI sporting events ?
    What has it got to do with the sport of Irish soccer ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 296 ✭✭DLMA23

WilyCoyote wrote: »
    He had a plan and the cops made it fait accompli (excuse the French)
    Vous êtes excusé ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,527 ✭✭✭Paz-CCFC

EunanMac wrote: »
    Why do dickheads with Palestinian flags go to LOI sporting events ?
    What has it got to do with the sport of Irish soccer ?

The Family Enclosure for Cork City FC have been bringing Palestinian, as well as Basque, Oman, Malawi etc. flags for years. It's meant as a show of multiculturalism and the clubs colours, green white and red, feature on them, as well. This has been going back over a decade. You wouldn't call these people dickheads, would you?

I wonder what would happen if Jordan, Kuwaiti or Sudanese flags were brought to games. Would they be confiscated for bearing a resemblance to Palestine's flag?

Paz-CCFC wrote: »
    The Family Enclosure for Cork City FC have been bringing Palestinian, as well as Basque, Oman, Malawi etc. flags for years. It's meant as a show of multiculturalism and the clubs colours, green white and red, feature on them, as well. This has been going back over a decade. You wouldn't call these people dickheads, would you?

I wonder what would happen if Jordan, Kuwaiti or Sudanese flags were brought to games. Would they be confiscated for bearing a resemblance to Palestine's flag?

Surely if it's multiculturalism there should be union jacks and the star of David as well, or is it really about trying to infect a sport that has nothing to do with politics ?

People go to sport to get away from bullshyte and politics, not to be surrounded by more of it.

Surely if it's multiculturalism there should be union jacks and the star of David as well, or is it really about trying to infect a sport that has nothing to do with politics ?

People go to sport to get away from bullshyte and politics, not to be surrounded by more of it.

If you want to go ahead and bring a Union Flag to the Cross, go ahead. I won't complain.

Don't try and taint the Family Enclosure, some of the most loyal fans of football and sport, by saying they "infect" a sport for trying to bring a bit of colour and broad minds to the matches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,329 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

I'd like to see the start of the video myself, but why was he asked to hand it over? Do the gardai read all flags at a match and decide what's allowed?

As for policing at football grounds, anyone who goes knows how bad it is. Look at english football and the police all have their back to the game and are looking at the crowd. At LOI games the gardai are in little groups of 2 or 3 having a chat while looking at the game. They're an absolute waste of time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

Any eejit who decides to bring a Palestinian flag to a match obviously has no interest in the match. The video is completely circumstancial anyway. As people have said, he was probably getting abusive towards the Gardai which give them every right to arrest him.

And no, you do not have a right to make political statements at sporting events. Sport and politics shouldn't mix with each other. The FA in England and UEFA and FIFA always dish out punishment to clubs whose fans make political statements at games. But of course typically some Irish people think they're above that.

Cienciano wrote: »
    I'd like to see the start of the video myself, but why was he asked to hand it over? Do the gardai read all flags at a match and decide what's allowed?

Yea I agree as I said in another post they are there to police games not act as enforcers for the FAI

has to be more to it and sadly the video only shows one side, I had no complaints with the Gards last night, I came in the gate with a very large, vocal and fairly pissed Bohs support and there was a bit a banter with the Gards so would like to know the full story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

As for policing at football grounds, anyone who goes knows how bad it is. Look at english football and the police all have their back to the game and are looking at the crowd. At LOI games the gardai are in little groups of 2 or 3 having a chat while looking at the game. They're an absolute waste of time.

Why not get some large scale rioting and general crowd disturbance going for a few years where loads of people get injured, then the guards might have to keep an eye on you if thats what you really want. If they can get away with chatting and watching the match that's probably a good sign

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

has to be more to it and sadly the video only shows one side, I had no complaints with the Gards last night, I came in the gate with a very large, vocal and fairly pissed Bohs support and there was a bit a banter with the Gards so would like to know the full story.

They only ever show from where the start of the police "brutality" starts. Sure looks at any of the threads that have popped up from protests that have similar videos.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

The guy with the budgie voice holding the camera cursing & swearing and throwing his toys out of the pram sounds like a complete and utter cnut! His family must be so proud of him for being such a tramp and acting like that.

To be fair to Gardaí at LoI matches, I prefer that relaxed approach they take compared to England. Police should just step back and allow things to happen naturally, only intervening if necessary. Not necessarily the case here, but that's been my experience on the whole.

There's a video of a late winner for Cork City and in the background, you can see Gardaí celebrating the goal. That's great, showing the human side, that police can be fans just like everyone and not just robots overlooking scumbags, as some generalise football fans.

If you want to go ahead and bring a Union Flag to the Cross, go ahead. I won't complain.

Don't try and taint the Family Enclosure, some of the most loyal fans of football and sport, by saying they "infect" a sport for trying to bring a bit of colour and broad minds to the matches.

Family "enclosure" - even the terminology says it all
    As i'm interested in sport rather than flegs, politics, and bullshte, and take my family to sports to get away from same, the last thing I'll be ever bringing to a LOI game is a fleg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭caustic 1

Didn't know Palestine were playing in Ireland!!!!:confused:
    The only reason to bring a flag to a game is to support the teams playing is it not?

To be fair to Gardaí at LoI matches, I prefer that relaxed approach they take compared to England. Police should just step back and allow things to happen naturally, only intervening if necessary. Not necessarily the case here, but that's been my experience on the whole.

There's a video of a late winner for Cork City and in the background, you can see Gardaí celebrating the goal. That's great, showing the human side, that police can be fans just like everyone and not just robots overlooking scumbags, as some generalise football fans.

They can be heavy handed but that's always been Irish Police in general, I'd actually give them credit in that regard, while the English police would try to contain and break up the incident without drawing batons the Irish just charge in hitting everything that walks,very seldom see arrests compared to what would happen in England! Ive actually had a Gard suited up in full Riot gear say to me ''I hope you's act the bollox afterwards I didn't get dressed up for nothing'' bit a banter but some love it as much as the hooligans. *Not all*

Family "enclosure" - even the terminology says it all

No it doesn't. You're just looking for things to make an issue out of. All it is is an alternative name for the family section. We also have a cheetah as the club mascot. They're fairly deadly animals. I suppose that's insinuating that all of our fans are animals.
    As i'm interested in sport rather than flegs, politics, and bullshte, and take my family to sports to get away from same, the last thing I'll be ever bringing to a LOI game is a fleg.

Good for you. Meanwhile, people who want to innocently add colour to the matches, as the Family Enclosure have been doing very well, will do so.
    caustic 1 wrote: »
    Didn't know Palestine were playing in Ireland!!!!:confused:
    The only reason to bring a flag to a game is to support the teams playing is it not?

Maybe Bohs have Palestinian fans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 829 ✭✭✭smellmepower

Love the high pitched eejit demanding to know why yer man with the fleg is being arrested.No police 'brutality' video is complete without it.Bonus points for verbally abusing the guards,because that's definitely going to make them change their mind.

So stupid.Its like a drunk arguing with a bouncer over his refusal to let him in, or a thick footballer protesting after being sent off!

Pats Fan's account as seeing on a Facebook comment

''Terrible pity you didn't film what happened before it, all eager enough to start cameras after he's put on ground, get facts straight, this guy refused to be searched pushed a Garda when he tried to take the bag and was extremely aggressive, flag was never an issue all he was asked was to show what was in the bag just like everyone else was, political morons trying to make an issue here, flag was given back to a friend of his in a tesco bag after the cans of beer that he shouldn't have brought in were removed from it. No need to make such a scene the other 2000 fans had no problem being searched. Usual political crap being brought into sport by morons!''

hmmmmmmm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

Oh look another video of "police brutality" that starts after the "victim" is arrested.

A reply

''Yes let's actually get the facts straight here because your above post is blatantly ignoring them.

First of all you said the man in question refused to be searched. This just isn't true. He had been already in the stadium and co-operated with all Gardaí searches when the flag was seized.

Second of all you say the flag wasn't an issue. This also isn't true. A member of the Gardaí confiscated the Palestinian flag along with another flag describing them as "provocative". He then informed us that they could be collected from him after the game.

We then asked the Garda under what grounds could he seize a national flag of a country that's recognised by the Irish state. As is usually the case with football fans, we weren't given any straight answers and were told to move on. After this the man in the video picked up the bag with the flag in it which led to the most heavy handed dealing with a civilian ive witnessed in person as can be seen in the video.

I hold a very open minded view on the Garda Síochána as I'm not a man to tar all with one brush but what happened last night was a disgrace. The real problem this outlines is the crimilisation of football fans. For years we have been treated like dirt by some members of the Gardaí and stewards alike.

You can try spin this whatever way you like Michelle. But this is coming from someone who was involved in the removal of the flags. At the end of the day, a man is up in court soon over bringing a Palestinian flag to football and that's just not right.''

Ah **** it....don't care anymore..dunno what to believe:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

They can be heavy handed but that's always been Irish Police in general, I'd actually give them credit in that regard, while the English police would try to contain and break up the incident without drawing batons the Irish just charge in hitting everything that walks,very seldom see arrests compared to what would happen in England! Ive actually had a Gard suited up in full Riot gear say to me ''I hope you's act the bollox afterwards I didn't get dressed up for nothing'' bit a banter but some love it as much as the hooligans. *Not all*

That's probably why there's never convictions here purely for football rows. They just use it to road test the police batons and blow off steam about pay cuts

They can be heavy handed but that's always been Irish Police in general

You must be joking. Compared to police on the continent or the states, Irish police are soft and lenient and have to operate with one hand tied behind their back all the time, along with ineffective courts. Try budgie voice boy's spoiled scumbaggery with police on the continent or the states and see how you get on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,329 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

thelad95 wrote: »
    Any eejit who decides to bring a Palestinian flag to a match obviously has no interest in the match. The video is completely circumstancial anyway. As people have said, he was probably getting abusive towards the Gardai which give them every right to arrest him.

And no, you do not have a right to make political statements at sporting events. Sport and politics shouldn't mix with each other. The FA in England and UEFA and FIFA always dish out punishment to clubs whose fans make political statements at games. But of course typically some Irish people think they're above that.
    You can bring a flag to a game and also be interested in watching a match. Basque flags at Bilbao games, catalan flags at Barca games, irish flags at celtic games, israel flags at spurs games, it happens all the time.
    The question is, are the gardai there to keep the peace and uphold the law of the land, or do whatever the FAI tell them to do? Serious question, even though it sounds like I'm taking the píss. Are the gardai basically security guards with more power? Can they use their state given power to enforce FAI rules?

You must be joking. Compared to police on the continent or the states, Irish police are soft and lenient and have to operate with one hand tied behind their back all the time, along with ineffective courts. Try budgie voice boy's spoiled scumbaggery with police on the continent or the states and see how you get on.

Go to a match in England, lower level and you will see the difference and no I am not joking. When it kicks off the Irish Police don't hold back and I wouldnt fault them for that.