Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fcking Students

• 10-09-2014 1:13am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,353 ✭✭✭

For the love of christ..... shouting, roaring, kicking over bins, smashing glass left right and centre, trying to pick fights, being **** in general. Fcking freshers. Bunch of mammas boys and girls let loose for once and they act like pricks. And no, i never was a student. I went straight to astronaut school.

I used to live on Barrack Street in Cork (a thouroughfare for these from UCC clowns on the way in town) and their behaviour was seriously animalistic. Literally roaring and yelping like dogs while they knocked over 50 litre bins full of recycling glass and laughed all the way.

Dicks the lot. Wait for some asshole from the students union on tomorrow to protect these pissy mammas boy and girls.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

We were all young once

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

We were all young once

Feeling like reminiscing now that you are over the hill eh BM? :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭The Purveyor of Truth

They always eat all your food and then try and scab taxi fare in the morning.

So not worth it, no matter how hot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Smidge wrote: »
    Feeling like reminiscing now that you are over the hill eh BM? :p
    Kinda :)

In all seriousness though, I have yet to meet a young wan that was any worse than me or my peers were when we were young.

Maybe I'm lucky, maybe we were worse, who knows? But I'm leaning towards the latter tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Where abouts are you and where are they from?
    Sounds like I picked the wrong college and missed a good night out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

Kinda :)

In all seriousness though, I have yet to meet a young wan that was any worse than me or my peers were when we were young.

Maybe I'm lucky, maybe we were worse, who knows? But I'm leaning towards the latter tbh.

I don't think there is anything "new" in what they do now but I do think there is some serious lack of respect for elders with these whippersnappers.
    They have an inherient arrogance. Everyone has gotten piddly eyed and raucous but when pulled up on it by the older gen, you were respectful(well in our area we were :))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,868 ✭✭✭djflawless

Never went to college but most of my mates did.
    Biggest bunch of f#cktard wannabe alco's to walk the face of the earth.
    "Coming for a pint?"
    "Yeah give me an hour.wanna get ****faced on Galahad and knock off vodka first"

F#ck off!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 642 ✭✭✭Bafucin

Heckler wrote: »
    And no, i never was a student. I went straight to astronaut school.

I know this is make believe ...but you were a student in your imaginary astronaut school. God bless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

when i was in collage I used to trap nazis, believe it or not!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Where abouts are you and where are they from?
    Sounds like I picked the wrong college and missed a good night out.

Springfield University, sounds like more shenanigans from those rowdy members of Chugalug House!

collage

Not studying an English degree I hope :D

Or have I been sucked into a trap :/ .....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,568 ✭✭✭candy-gal1

Ah here, maybe tis just my experience, but students aint that bad!!
    I was one for 19years - if you include school in that too of course :pac::p:D
    Imho, college is the best experience of your life, esp if you do it right, plus what you learn there you more than likely will never forget and so will stand to you jobwise for a long time after :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭ardle1

Maybe if they stuck to beer or even cider like back in the day!
    But no, they have to drink shots(loaded with whiskeys,vodkas,God knows what spirits oh and sugar)shir their basically drinking drugs......
    Poor unfortunate Souls, I see lots and lots of alcoholics in the future! Sad Really......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Bongalongherb

Better off letting the little spacers get it out of their system now than in 5 years, don't want all that anger and destruction building up inside them now do we ?.

A simple lock-system on the bins will stop junk falling out when kicked over, just remember to unlock it before the bin-men/women come to collect. When you institute a young ferline or youth for a long period of time, they will go nuts when they escape for alcohol and weed. So all I can say to you OP is to battle up the hatches next time for the awakening of crazy students of the intoxicated nature.

well they'll be soulless suits in no time if that comforts you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 627 ✭✭✭House of Blaze

well they'll be soulless suits in no time if that comforts you?

Or penniless interns if you prefer?

All leads back to the 1!!
    If they work, their briefcasew@nkers
    If they draw dole, their government scrounges
    Win win for some really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭TheBegotten

Don't worry OP, fresher's week in UCC at the moment, it'll quieten down after the weekend until rag week. But yeah, a lot of them drink themselves under the table trying to impress wimmen.

their only refuge from our scorn is to somehow become disabled

• Closed Accounts Posts: 642 ✭✭✭Bafucin

Don't worry OP, fresher's week in UCC at the moment, it'll quieten down after the weekend until rag week. But yeah, a lot of them drink themselves under the table trying to impress wimmen.

Sometimes that IS the wimmin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,090 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

... young ferline... battle up the hatches...
    Took me a while, but I understood in the end. My hatches are well-battled at this stage.

Collage is just sticking things on some kind of backing in a semi-random, apparently artistic fashion. For effect, you need to use strong glue, and probably a good bit of lacquer overspray. Hairspray won't last.

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

At 39 I'm too old to have relations with students without being in trouble. Even mature students tend to come in on the wrong side of 30.
    I prefer the junior lecturer type. Nervous in front of crowds - animal wild in the bedroom or the shag carpet in the living room.
    Don't let on that I'm not a visiting Oxford scout.
    And as for the lady lecturers - well, heaven forbid.

• Site Banned Posts: 180 ✭✭Ibetit

I will think you are envying us because we are young and we enjoy being young

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Bongalongherb

Ibetit wrote: »

Hold that hat on tight kid, because before you know it the wind of time will blow it off, you will be old. Take heed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,218 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Wait until tonight OP. You'll really be twitching the net curtains because it's junior cert results night!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

It's always the boggers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭EyeSight

i've seen "adults" in their 30's and 40's act like this in cork and dublin city centres. They're all awful assholes but it's a cultural change we need.
    All the government wants to do is make alcohol more expensive. The right thing to do is start educating the youth how to drink sensibly and not be di*ks. But that doesn't bring the government any profits....
    Maybe have harsher punishments for the idiots being anti social when drunk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,080 ✭✭✭EoghanIRL

SantryRed wrote: »
    It's always the boggers.

Startled by the city lights they are .

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 140 ✭✭The Rabbit

Thread title was misleading.

What am I supposed to do with this yoke?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 628 ✭✭✭Chance The Fapper

The Rabbit wrote: »
    Thread title was misleading.

What am I supposed to do with this yoke?

Already had my trousers down

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Over entitled, pretentious twats with noting better to do than cultivate stupid hairstyles, drink and sleep with each other.

I miss those days. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

I am a 19 and don't go on like that !, but jesus yeah there is a line and some of those students can't handle their ****ing drink, Their poor mammies and daddies paying for college would be mortified if they saw the behaviour of them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭AlanS181824

Students seem fun haha.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles

I used to live on Barrack St, that hill is a bloody killer OP! No wonder you're grumpy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

I am a 19 and don't go on like that !, but jesus yeah there is a line and some of those students can't handle their ****ing drink, Their poor mammies and daddies paying for college would be mortified if they saw the behaviour of them.

Well you should. Flippin outliers. Ruining a good generalisation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭Shakespeare's Sister

Ibetit wrote: »

I will think they just hate noisy *****.

Madness for anyone to choose to live on Barrack Street though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

So what your saying OP, is that you're a space cadet.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

I reckon he's right. It used be that they would be in their own little areas where rent is cheap. But not any more. No facking sur. Now mammy and daddy have given them the new mini and the kunts are living in decent accommodation for real people with their noise and drugs and erections and koka noodles and facking traffic cones and blossom hill and those stupid facking denim shorts with tights god I hate them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭ZiabR

We were all young once

Yeah but we were not all dicks once... I was in college for 5 years, albeit, I finished 10 years ago but we never behaved like that...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Mature student here, can't keep up with the young uns :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 787 ✭✭✭folamh

Most of the students I know are well-meaning young people who want to have a good time and enjoy their freedom without leaving a trail of grief and destruction in their wake. The immature ones usually take about a year to realize that the same bull**** that got them popular in secondary school doesn't fly in college.

The loud, immature students will be more visible to you than the decent ones. So it's easy to think that they are representative of students as a whole when in fact they are a minority.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

Thats Cark for you op, the natives have only recently started walk upright so I wouldnt hold out much hope of them behaving

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

"Oh no, young people are out enjoying themselves and I'm stuck in here listening to the Angelus and pining for the day when I didn't have frumpy, lazy wife and three little sh1ts for kids who are bleeding my dry...."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Jesus I used to live in that neck of the woods when I came back from England to go to UCC. Insufferable to say the least. I also used to be a bouncer in a club that attracted students during the week and it was bloody head melting.

The problem is that student drinking has changed in recent years; there is no longer such thing as the "student pub" with music, bands, events etc. Instead there are now house gatherings where they get as tanked as possible, head to a club at 11.30pm, have a couple of pints and then go home before the booze wears off. It's these walks into and from town that all the anti-social behaviour happens.

When they drink at home also it tends to be spirits and wine and they pour themselves measures which are far larger than you'd get in a pub. (Think treble vodka and coke in a pint glass.) They also drink it quicker so they go from sober to demented in less than an hour. I'd say the majority of "my drink was spiked" stories I've heard can be blamed on young ones demolishing most of a bottle of vodka in an hour or so and then getting comatose by the time it kicks in when they walk in the club door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

I live in Maynooth and I've just finished college as a mature student. In general students are ok. There are still a huge number that are self involved. The apt above me held students. The screaming that would emanate from the apt was horrendous. It was three culchie girls who would have their culchie boyfriends over three times a week. The guys were even louder. They'd stand outside my window at 3am on the way home screaming at each other.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭gugleguy

What college are they from OP? So I can look at details of said students nonsense in the Edu forum here!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

For the love of christ..... shouting, roaring, kicking over bins, smashing glass left right and centre, trying to pick fights, being **** in general. Fcking freshers. Bunch of mammas boys and girls let loose for once and they act like pricks. And no, i never was a student. I went straight to astronaut school.

I used to live on Barrack Street in Cork (a thouroughfare for these from UCC clowns on the way in town) and their behaviour was seriously animalistic. Literally roaring and yelping like dogs while they knocked over 50 litre bins full of recycling glass and laughed all the way.

Dicks the lot. Wait for some asshole from the students union on tomorrow to protect these pissy mammas boy and girls.
    They think they're hard men now that they are in college and in large groups but in reality if you caught one of them on their own and confront them they would cry for their mammy :)

That gobshytery was going on 15-20 years ago too, trying to be as "mad" as possible. It's not just young people having fun, it's being an utter nuisance. You can have a great time in college without resorting to being as noisy as possible on the street all night.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

I'm sure you wouldn't be saying that if you had the chance to be pumping a nice little fresh 1st Arts bird and give her an introduction to the baldy man

Santa Cruz wrote: »
    I'm sure you wouldn't be saying that if you had the chance to be pumping a nice little fresh 1st Arts bird and give her an introduction to the baldy man
    So bad-ass. Calling a 17/18-year-old a nice little fresh bird - on the internet no less.
    ur kule nd laddish