Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Unsuspecting women post nude selfies in solidarity with Jennifer Lawrence

• 01-09-2014 9:37pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 38 icecold1066

On twitter the evil perverts of the website known as 4chan have started a bogus twitter meme called #LeakForJLaw. Apparently they have fooled countless numbers of unsuspecting women who have posted their own nude selfies on twitter in "solidarity" with Jennifer Lawrence and other actresses who have had their phones hacked.
    A poster on the 4chan site is the suspected hacker who began boasting sometime ago about a cache of accumulated photos. When other posters started calling his bluff he leaked several photos and then finally released hundreds of photos in a what has been dubbed "The Fappening."
    The perverts have had a good week.

The moral of the story is do NOT take naked selfies on your phone people!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭metaoblivia

Hate to be that person, but I don't think the moral of this story is to not take naked selfies on your phone. It's not illegal to take naked photos of yourself and share them with someone you trust. What is illegal is hacking into someone's phone/computer and stealing pictures that don't belong you and sharing them on the internet.

I hope they catch the guy responsible, and I hope he is punished accordingly for his crime. And I hope our society continues to evolve so that eventually the moral we take away isn't to curtail legal behavior, but to hold perpetrators legally and socially responsible for their illegal behavior.

i.e The moral of the story is DO NOT steal images you have no rights to and then distribute them across the Internet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,512 ✭✭✭baby and crumble

i.e The moral of the story is DO NOT steal images you have no rights to and then distribute them across the Internet.

This. Everyone seems to be talking about people not taking naked pics of themselves. Fewer people are talking about the theft of property, which this is. Since the dawn of cameras, people have used them to take naked pictures of themselves and their lovers. There is NOTHING wrong with taking pics like this, but there is something wrong with stealing them from someone else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 519 ✭✭✭YumCha

r8jGiMe.png

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

I'm afraid I'm in the camp of ''why on earth would you upload nude selfies and sex videos to the cloud''. You are in the public eye, you are always, always going to be a target. You can argue the rights and wrongs of stealing someones photos all day long but at the end of the day, this is the internet society we live in. Nothing is secure on the internet.

Hacking is a real thing, it's happening all the time. If you put stuff somewhere on the internet, even in a protected account, you ARE taking a risk.

Women are more vulnerable to this than men because, I guess our bodies are more or a sexual thing than mens. If it was a mans selfies no one would bat an eyelid.

I'm not a selfies person full stop, I don't understand the whole concept of taking nudie pictures of yourself and either leaving them on your phone or sending them to someone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

Fair play to the women releasing pictures of themselves in support of the celebrities. Even if it was meant to fool them it's a great show of solidarity with the celebrities. As long as there's no nomination of people. I do hope the celebrities have the will of mind to laugh off the actions of these morons because it's such an invasive thing to have happened. Find them, prosecute them, but laugh at them as pathetic.

My family have nudes of my grandmother, really artistically done by her sister halfway up a mountain, by a tarn in the early 50s. It makes me so proud that that's in my family history, and celebrated by my family.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 38 icecold1066

Lyaiera wrote: »
    Fair play to the women releasing pictures of themselves in support of the celebrities. Even if it was meant to fool them it's a great show of solidarity with the celebrities. As long as there's no nomination of people. I do hope the celebrities have the will of mind to laugh off the actions of these morons because it's such an invasive thing to have happened. Find them, prosecute them, but laugh at them as pathetic.

My family have nudes of my grandmother, really artistically done by her sister halfway up a mountain, by a tarn in the early 50s. It makes me so proud that that's in my family history, and celebrated by my family.

I've seen many of the photos and these are not artistic photos.
    Jennifer Lawrence was sending naked photos to her boyfriends. One photo shows her posing naked with a girlfriend who maybe more than just a friend.
    Not to mention one photo shows her with semen all over her face.
    The hacker is threatening to release a video of her performing fellatio.

Lawrence's mainstream film career is basically destroyed.

Chloe Sevigny and Margo Stilley ruined their acting careers by starring in movies with unsimulated sex scenes.

Anything you put on the internet can be viewed. Unless you have been living under a rock you would know that the media employ hackers and the US government has basically hacked the entire internet.

If you are a public figure or indeed a private citizen you are compromised and wide open to blackmail if you post naked selfies and sex pics and videos online.

If someone becomes famous in the future in entertainment, sport and of course in politics EVERYTHING you ever did online could conceivably be exposed.

Young women like Lawrence and indeed teenagers are increasingly living their sex lives online. Couples trade nude pics and sex pics.

If one of these young women grew up to become a teacher or prime minister in the future a video clip could emerge from decades later so their pupils or voters could know what kind of vibrator they use.

In the past Mafia capos never used home telephones because they knew someone was listening. Today mafia tough guy wannabes have not been able to resist the temptation to post pics of their fancy cars and girls online. Mafia omerta was always "Never rat on your friends and always keep your mouth shut."

Saying that nobody should steal personal data is like asking water not to be wet.

What's your point? I just said I hope they're not too upset by the invasion of privacy and can see the guys who released the image as the morons they are. And that there's nothing wrong with taking nude photos of yourself, it's been happening for ages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

I'm afraid I'm in the camp of ''why on earth would you upload nude selfies and sex videos to the cloud''. You are in the public eye, you are always, always going to be a target. You can argue the rights and wrongs of stealing someones photos all day long but at the end of the day, this is the internet society we live in. Nothing is secure on the internet.

Hacking is a real thing, it's happening all the time. If you put stuff somewhere on the internet, even in a protected account, you ARE taking a risk.

Women are more vulnerable to this than men because, I guess our bodies are more or a sexual thing than mens. If it was a mans selfies no one would bat an eyelid.

I'm not a selfies person full stop, I don't understand the whole concept of taking nudie pictures of yourself and either leaving them on your phone or sending them to someone.

Pretty much all this!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 HeyyMeow

Long time lurker decided to get my two cents in.

I can honestly hold my hands up and say that I have sent my fiance some personal pictures of myself. I really don't see what is wrong with sending some pictures between a partner etc. I think the problem is people invading others privacy.

When people say things like "Well she shouldn't of taken naked selfies it's her own fault". I think they are wrong. Why should we have to stop doing things to stop people acting the d**k. It's like people are saying "Oh you got your purse robbed but its your own fault because you brought it out of the house" or "Your Facebook got hacked and private messages seen well I guess you shouldn't of set it up in the first place".

Depending on her phones settings photos might upload automatically to cloud or maybe she took them on her laptop and uploaded them to cloud to send over her phone but SO WHAT! At the end of the day it's her life. The people in the wrong are the hackers.

I don't think her career is ruined, she seems like the sort of person to be strong enough to overcome a lot.

I found this article on Forbes today and I think it makes some very good points, especially about the women who were victimized not apologizing. I hope not a single one of them does: http://www.forbes.com/sites/scottmendelson/2014/09/01/jennifer-lawrence-nude-photo-leak-isnt-a-scandal-its-a-sex-crime/

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 245 ✭✭paddy1990

Hate to be that person, but I don't think the moral of this story is to not take naked selfies on your phone. It's not illegal to take naked photos of yourself and share them with someone you trust. What is illegal is hacking into someone's phone/computer and stealing pictures that don't belong you and sharing them on the internet.

I hope they catch the guy responsible, and I hope he is punished accordingly for his crime. And I hope our society continues to evolve so that eventually the moral we take away isn't to curtail legal behavior, but to hold perpetrators legally and socially responsible for their illegal behavior.

Fair post but how far do you go?

If I go into a shop and leave the keys in my car and some guy robs my car, am I at fault? Should I continue to leave the keys in my car when I go into shops, knowing that some bad people will rob my car if they can?

paddy1990 wrote: »
    Fair post but how far do you go?

If I go into a shop and leave the keys in my car and some guy robs my car, am I at fault? Should I continue to leave the keys in my car when I go into shops, knowing that some bad people will rob my car if they can?

The blame always lies with the party committing the illegal act. Does that mean people shouldn't take precautions? Not at all.

I live in Oakland, one of the most crime ridden cities in the US. Every day when I walk outside and my car is still there with no broken windows, it's a victory. I take every precaution I can to prevent my car from being stolen, including locking the doors, putting an Orlando Magic bumper sticker on the back, and leaving nothing inside the car, ever. But once, I had a passenger who, when he got out, forgot to the lock the passenger door and I forgot to check it. So my car sat on the streets of Oakland for 3 days with an unlocked door.

Fortunately nothing happened (probably because of the Orlando Magic bumper sticker), but had my car been stolen and had I gone to the police and explained the situation, would they be in the right to tell me, "Well, we're not going to investigate because it's really your fault since you forgot to lock the passenger door?"

Absolutely not. I may have made a foolish decision, but that doesn't mean I'm at fault. The person engaging in illegal behavior is at fault, always, and they should always be the one held up for the most condemnation. When you excuse people for engaging in illegal activity, you are sending the message that it's okay to prey upon people as long as they're "dumb," that being "dumb" is a bigger moral failing than following the law. I don't agree with that. Yes, we should all strive to be "smart" and protect ourselves from crime, but chances are, seeing as we're human, we're all likely going to fail at some point. That doesn't mean the law should stop working for us in those moments. In fact, those moments are precisely when we need the law to remind us that, yes, we made a foolish decision, but the person in the wrong is the person who chose to take advantage of that.

This article explains what I just said above much more articulately: http://themattwalshblog.com/2014/09/01/what-if-we-just-held-men-accountable-for-their-own-behavior/#dAPsajm4egAAVBUe.99

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,294 ✭✭✭Jack B. Badd

I've seen many of the photos and these are not artistic photos.
    Jennifer Lawrence was sending naked photos to her boyfriends. One photo shows her posing naked with a girlfriend who maybe more than just a friend.
    Not to mention one photo shows her with semen all over her face.
    The hacker is threatening to release a video of her performing fellatio.

Lawrence's mainstream film career is basically destroyed.

Oh ffs, it's just sex. I very much doubt her film career is "destroyed".

The above is a blatant attempt to further restrict a woman's right to her own image through shame - this photo is deemed to be acceptable because it's "artistic", but that one is a career-destroying scandal because I don't like the idea of a young woman giving head.

I dont understand how women could be posting in solidarity and unsuspecting...?

Lyaiera wrote: »
    What's your point? I just said I hope they're not too upset by the invasion of privacy and can see the guys who released the image as the morons they are. And that there's nothing wrong with taking nude photos of yourself, it's been happening for ages.

Nothing wrong with it. But don't expect to advance in life. That's simply the reality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

Nothing wrong with it. But don't expect to advance in life. That's simply the reality.

Why, because she has sex? :confused:

I think JL is too beloved of hollywood and people in general for this to affect anything, and it shouldn't affect her.
    The only reactions I've seen are 1/ this is hot 2/ that poor girl 3/ Be careful about your naked selfies, everyone and 4/ icloud really needs to be looked at for its security

Sure she nearly starts most of her interviews with "lol, just did shots" and it's funny, not that disgrace out drinking...

http://i.imgur.com/c3CVP7m.jpg

Oh ffs, it's just sex. I very much doubt her film career is "destroyed".

The above is a blatant attempt to further restrict a woman's right to her own image through shame - this photo is deemed to be acceptable because it's "artistic", but that one is a career-destroying scandal because I don't like the idea of a young woman giving head.

Give me a break. Her career is destroyed. She'll be doing straight to video garbage in a year or so and end up in rehab when she descends into a drink and drug hell.

Society is judgmental. Always has and always will. Lawrence was the sweetie pie girl next door and now she will be seen as a whore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,900 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

This. Everyone seems to be talking about people not taking naked pics of themselves. Fewer people are talking about the theft of property, which this is. Since the dawn of cameras, people have used them to take naked pictures of themselves and their lovers. There is NOTHING wrong with taking pics like this, but there is something wrong with stealing them from someone else.

unfortunately concepts of "right and wrong" don't protect you from theft and embarrassment in cases like this

the advent of digital storage and now online or remote accessible storage means people need to be aware of the risks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

She'll be grand. There were a few 'Disney girls' with photos too, they'll have more to worry about id say..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

Give me a break. Her career is destroyed. She'll be doing straight to video garbage in a year or so and end up in rehab when she descends into a drink and drug hell.

Society is judgmental. Always has and always will. Lawrence was the sweetie pie girl next door and now she will be seen as a whore.

How is she a whore for taking nude photos?? It's not like she was caught on the street trying to sell herself.

I had to look it up there, it was 1995 that Hugh Grant was caught with a prostitute, well before a lot of his biggest movie hits.

Also I don't think I've ever seen her in a movie role as the "sweetie pie girl next door" anyway? :confused:

She wasnt exactly playing sweetie pie in Hustle , iirc

Why, because she has sex? :confused:

This is how the psychology of female celebrity works.

Everyone wants to f*ck Jennifer Lawrence.
    Now we have proof that she was f*cked so she is considered used goods.

The same thing happens when actresses marry and have children. They are now mommys and no longer considered desirable. The starring roles dry up and they can only act as tough office bitches, evil queens or loving comedy moms.

Cameron Diaz has not married or had children and can convincingly as a hot babe in her 40s.

Meanwhile Angelina Jolie has had a double mastectomy. Now she can only hope that Meryl Streep dies and she succeeds her as the grand Dame of Hollywood.

Lauren Bacall is another example. She began her career as the smoking hot femme fatale and ended her career acting in caring grandmotherly roles. When her on screen innocence could not be maintained she had to change or her career was over.

Men still want a woman to be intact - innocent, never seen or held a penis, never been penetrated etc etc.

Porn scenes always end with a cum facial because the woman is destroyed, transformed into a whore and discarded.

That is the essence of female objectification.

Taylor Swift has survived so long because we know so little about her sex life and she remains demure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

So let me get this straight.

Jennifer Lawrence takes naked pictures of herself to send to her boyfriend. They are stored on a supposedly private server, someone illegally hacks into it and illegally makes those pictures public, and it's Jennifer Lawrence's fault? And her career is over?

You've got to be ****ing kidding me. :mad:

bluewolf wrote: »
    She wasnt exactly playing sweetie pie in Hustle , iirc

The excitement of Hustle was that she was a sweetheart actress playing a whore. Not a "whore" for real. She has crossed the psychological line and has become used goods.

So let me get this straight.

Jennifer Lawrence takes naked pictures of herself to send to her boyfriend. They are stored on a supposedly private server, someone illegally hacks into it and illegally makes those pictures public, and it's Jennifer Lawrence's fault? And her career is over?

You've got to be ****ing kidding me. :mad:

That's how it works.

Her pics were probably released because she and other actresses are part of the stable.

A rival movie executive probably arranged this to destroy an enemy in the movie industry by literally smearing the stars that he spent money and time building up.

In the past stars like Rock Hudson, James Dean and Montgomery Clift were protected by meatheads who used bats and guns to intimidate photographers who took pictures would have exposed them as queers.

There are no major male stars on the silver screen who are gay. Name one and tell me if he could act as James Bond or as a cowboy or as a space hero?

Men must still be men and women are still expected to be demure, desirable angels.

I suspect that same thing is happening today.

This is the equivalent of the horse's head in Jack Woltz's bed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 737 ✭✭✭Morgase

Her career isn't ruined. She's very popular with the younger crowd, who are possibly more likely than people my age (wrong side of 30!) to be taking nude selfies with their partners. I can well imagine that people will be able to empathise with her, and thinking "sure she was only doing what we all do".

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 245 ✭✭paddy1990

The blame always lies with the party committing the illegal act. Does that mean people shouldn't take precautions? Not at all.

I live in Oakland, one of the most crime ridden cities in the US. Every day when I walk outside and my car is still there with no broken windows, it's a victory. I take every precaution I can to prevent my car from being stolen, including locking the doors, putting an Orlando Magic bumper sticker on the back, and leaving nothing inside the car, ever. But once, I had a passenger who, when he got out, forgot to the lock the passenger door and I forgot to check it. So my car sat on the streets of Oakland for 3 days with an unlocked door.

Fortunately nothing happened (probably because of the Orlando Magic bumper sticker), but had my car been stolen and had I gone to the police and explained the situation, would they be in the right to tell me, "Well, we're not going to investigate because it's really your fault since you forgot to lock the passenger door?"

Absolutely not. I may have made a foolish decision, but that doesn't mean I'm at fault. The person engaging in illegal behavior is at fault, always, and they should always be the one held up for the most condemnation. When you excuse people for engaging in illegal activity, you are sending the message that it's okay to prey upon people as long as they're "dumb," that being "dumb" is a bigger moral failing than following the law. I don't agree with that. Yes, we should all strive to be "smart" and protect ourselves from crime, but chances are, seeing as we're human, we're all likely going to fail at some point. That doesn't mean the law should stop working for us in those moments. In fact, those moments are precisely when we need the law to remind us that, yes, we made a foolish decision, but the person in the wrong is the person who chose to take advantage of that.

This article explains what I just said above much more articulately: http://themattwalshblog.com/2014/09/01/what-if-we-just-held-men-accountable-for-their-own-behavior/#dAPsajm4egAAVBUe.99

Of course the law should protect people but at some point common sense has to prevail.

There is a reason you don't intentionally leave the keys in your car or intentionally leave the front door unlocked when you go to sleep.

There will always be robbers/hackers and that element of humanity has always existed and always will.

Once you know that, then exposing yourself like intentionally leaving the door open or leaving the keys in your car, or intentionally putting private photos in a place they can be hacked, becomes a bit stupid.

Morgase wrote: »
    Her career isn't ruined. She's very popular with the younger crowd, who are possibly more likely than people my age (wrong side of 30!) to be taking nude selfies with their partners. I can well imagine that people will be able to empathise with her, and thinking "sure she was only doing what we all do".

That is naive at best.

She is competing against untainted hayseed actresses who are pouring in front Iowa and Wyoming and Tennessee all the time.

Why would a studio risk losing millions on a movie because the leading actress has been photographed with cum on her face when you can replace her with some other girl?

The same thing happens with male stars who are outted as gay. It is a career killer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,057 ✭✭✭MissFlitworth

Are they going to reshoot the Hunger Games so to cast an Iowan ingenue in it? Because she's a pretty big part of that series and the last 2 are out next year & the year after.

I think a lot of younger people will identify with what's happened to Jennifer Lawrence, learning that what you thought was private is surely not has been an experience that a few people I know in their early 20s have had to go through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,513 ✭✭✭✭Lucyfur

That is naive at best.

She is competing against untainted hayseed actresses who are pouring in front Iowa and Wyoming and Tennessee all the time.

Why would a studio risk losing millions on a movie because the leading actress has been photographed with cum on her face when you can replace her with some other girl?

The same thing happens with male stars who are outted as gay. It is a career killer.

MOD

You've stated your point and how you feel. Several times over. If you don't like the opinions of others, take a step back from the thread and don't post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭paperclip2

The excitement of Hustle was that she was a sweetheart actress playing a whore. Not a "whore" for real. She has crossed the psychological line and has become used goods.

To you maybe, and you are, of course, entitled to your opinion, (although you do seem to be taking the fact that JLaw has sex remarkably personally :) ). But don't make the mistake of thinking that everyone shares the same view you do. Some will of course, but many wont. And as we're sharing opinions mine would be along the lines of #SoWhat. Young woman enjoys healthy sex life with other consenting adults. In other news water flows downhill.

Jennifer Lawrence is an actress but she's also a human being and entitled to do what she wants in private. I don't buy this 'Oh she's a role model! Won't someone please think of the children!' hype Or the argument that she's in the public eye so everything she does is fair game for pervs and voyeurs.

What she does behind closed doors is her business and deserving of privacy as much as what you or I do behind ours. As long as it isn't illegal or harming anyone then its nobodies business.

There is massive hypocrisy in holding a celebrity or someone in the public eye to some perceived higher moral standard than the rest of society. From what I've seen Jennifer Lawrence was never in the running to become the next Mary Whitehouse so pontificating about her being a 'whore' and 'used-goods' and that her career is over is laughable.

Chances are that most people who work with her found her sound, hard working and good at her job. That can count for far more with directors and producers than whether or not she gave her boyfriend head.

paperclip2 wrote: »
    To you maybe, and you are, of course, entitled to your opinion. But don't make the mistake of thinking that everyone shares the same view you do. Some will of course, but many wont. And as we're sharing opinions mine would be along the lines of #SoWhat. Young woman enjoys healthy sex life with other consenting adults. In other news water flows downhill.

Jennifer Lawrence is an actress but she's also a human being and entitled to do what she wants in private. I don't buy this 'Oh she's a role model! Won't someone please think of the children!' hype Or the argument that she's in the public eye so everything she does is fair game for pervs and voyeurs.

What she does behind closed doors is her business and deserving of privacy as much as what you or I do behind ours. As long as it isn't illegal or harming anyone then its nobodies business.

There is massive hypocrisy in holding a celebrity or someone in the public eye to some perceived higher moral standard than the rest of society. From what I've seen Jennifer Lawrence was never in the running to become the next Mary Whitehouse so pontificating about her being a 'whore' and 'used-goods' and that her career is over is laughable.

Chances are that most people who work with her found her sound, hard working and good at her job. That can count for far more with directors and producers than whether or not she gave her boyfriend head.

Whether people pay to go see her movies is all that matters.

If this leak means her next movie bombs then she is gone.

Millions are poured into these movies and if she is the weak link then that's it. Say goodbye JLaw.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I think a lot of younger people will identify with what's happened to Jennifer Lawrence, learning that what you thought was private is surely not has been an experience that a few people I know in their early 20s have had to go through.
    +1000. On this case? The "hackers" and disseminators of the images are one hundred percent in the wrong and responsible. The women involved are victims and no mistake. And I really can't understand how anyone is "judging" them. They're young women apparently getting nekkid and having sexy time with partners, big effin deal.

Though I would hope that what does come out of this is that what you think is secure and private often isn't. Increasingly privacy is being eroded by the interwebs and social media(often if not usually with our help) and if it gets out there it's out there forever. I think people need to be educated more on navigating this new world. I'd start in school. Things have changed massively in the last decade, imagine how it might be in another decades time and that database on you is being built up now as we speak.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭paperclip2

And my point is that people probably will. Not everyone will be put off by this 'scandal'. Chances are that she'll probably get a few new fans because of this. What's the old saying; There's no such thing as bad publicity.

There are a lot of 'if's' in both our hypotheses. It will be interesting to see who is right over the long-term but society has become so permissive that its a bit like; 'Oh another sex tape. Yawn. Next'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

Sex video is the only reason Paris Hilton was so famous. Jenifer Lawrence is not a star of 7th Heaven (I think Jessica Biel did a shoot with PLayboy to get out of it) for this to impact her career.

Anyway the tabloid culture and hacking are both sides of the same coin and utterly despicable. But I also think (or maybe) that people are a bit tired of this kind of nonsense and there is now more backslash against the hackers than against people in the photos. A bit like the outrage when the Schumacher's medical documents were stolen earlier this year.

But mean streak in me does find it funny that some people could be tricked to post naked selfies of themselves in solidarity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 737 ✭✭✭Morgase

paperclip2 wrote: »
    And my point is that people probably will. Not everyone will be put off by this 'scandal'. Chances are that she'll probably get a few new fans because of this. What's the old saying; There's no such thing as bad publicity.

True - I didn't really know who she is before now (I imagined the Hunger Games films to be a bit teenagery, maybe I'm wrong in that!) but if she starred in a film that was more to my taste I certainly wouldn't be put off watching it. As you suggest, I'd nearly be more inclined to support her!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

meeeeh wrote: »
    But mean streak in me does find it funny that some people could be tricked to post naked selfies of themselves in solidarity.
    I have to admit I Lol'd at that alright.

When this broke there was a rumour going around that this kinda naked celeb stuff has been "traded" between onanists on the dark web and this release into the wild was one of these saddos leaking it. That was a scary thought. However it now looks like it was a hole in Apple's icloud setup and an exploit of that was uploaded over the last weekend and even the most crosseyed idiot could use it. That's an even scarier thought for me. All this with a hack that was open for less than 48 hours.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

I was talking about this with friends of mine yesterday (all of us in our early to mid twenties) and the conversation was about the fact that J.Law is in incredible shape, and do you think she does yoga, and she stays in some grotty looking hotels that's strange so on and so forth. There were two straight lads and one lesbian there and I'm pretty sure they would have laughed in the face of anyone who suggested that she's "ruined" in their eyes now, I certainly would. My god is she a beautiful looking woman, seeing incontrovertible proof of things I'd pretty much figured out (she has nipples! she's not a virgin! she's sucked at least one dick!) hasn't turned me off her in the least. I haven't talked to anyone who thinks that her, or anyone, having nudey pictures on their phone is a big deal.

I do feel sorry for her because it's a horrible invasion of privacy and although she has nothing to feel ashamed of it's going to be a natural reaction to feel embarrassed. She comes across as a very confident, sensible person though, I'm sure she'll get over it. She's also one of the most bankable, well regarded actresses working right now (iirc the last Hunger Games film was the first film with a female lead to top the box office for as long as it did in a couple of decades), I'd say we'll be waiting a while to see her show up on I'm A Celebrity :rolleyes: Other actresses though, the disney ones and ones in Glee and stuff, they might actually take big hits to their careers over this, it's mostly them I feel bad for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,753 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

If this leak means her next movie bombs then she is gone.

Millions are poured into these movies and if she is the weak link then that's it. Say goodbye JLaw.

Why would her next movie "bomb"? Are you of the mind hat suddenly millions of people will refuse to see her movies because she gave her BF a blow job (something that i would guess the majority of women do at some stage in a relationship)?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,057 ✭✭✭MissFlitworth

Wibbs wrote: »
    Though I would hope that what does come out of this is that what you think is secure and private often isn't. Increasingly privacy is being eroded by the interwebs and social media(often if not usually with our help) and if it gets out there it's out there forever. I think people need to be educated more on navigating this new world. I'd start in school. Things have changed massively in the last decade, imagine how it might be in another decades time and that database on you is being built up now as we speak.

Yes, absolutely, kids need to start learning this stuff in school. I know very few teenagers and even I have had 2 conversations with different kids that went "But Snapchat doesn't save photos..." and "But my profile is on private.." People can be clueless about online privacy and the permanency of digital images and I hope that this happening will help erode that cluelessness a bit. Although, I'd consider myself fairly clued in and I didn't stop to think that images I had in a cloud based storage could be at risk.

There are a lot of teenagers out there every day who have this happen to them so I hope that Jennifer Lawrence carries on and continues to be successful, even just to show those kids & young adults that there's life after having your most intimate moments broadcast to an audience you never intended them for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,513 ✭✭✭✭Lucyfur

MOD

The OP is taking a few days off from the forum so please don't quote them directly.

Ta :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭Stepping Stone

I don't judge them for taking photos/ making videos but I do judge them for being so stupid and lax about security.

They are in the public eye, money is easily made from anything remotely connected with them. If photographers can make money from photos of one of them ordering a coffee, obviously a huge amount of money is going to made from nude photos!

They are all old enough and wealthy enough to get proper advice on security. That does not in any way excuse someone stealing them, but I must say that they have all been stupid.

Also, unsuspecting women posting in solidarity with Jennifer Lawrence....:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

I don't judge them for taking photos/ making videos but I do judge them for being so stupid and lax about security.

They weren't stupid or lax; this was a concerted effort to steal images from servers; if we can't rely on secure systems then we all might as well turn off the computers and just head back to the 90's.

Also, unsuspecting women posting in solidarity with Jennifer Lawrence....:rolleyes:

There are plenty of women (and men:mad:) who are only too willing to post nudie images of themselves online; Everyone has a choice, it's just that some weirdos online like to use that as a basis for a narrative which portrays those people as unwilling victims: this is the basis of titillating pornography.

Anyways, without wanting to drag this thing off-topic I'd like to say this; the people who were involved in the crime here of stealing private property from servers are being tracked down as we speak and will hopefully be brought to book.

This is only possible due to the powers and resources of law-enforcement which allow them to track people on the internet; think about that the next time anyone says nobody should have oversight, or that nobody should be able to track anyone online.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 Inanna

catallus wrote: »
    They weren't stupid or lax; this was a concerted effort to steal images from servers; if we can't rely on secure systems then we all might as well turn off the computers and just head back to the 90's.

You can't totally rely on secure systems because no security system can always be effective all the time. What you can do is minimise the risk to yourself by not uploading sensitive data or being careful of where you do so. Some systems are, after all, more secure than others.

Because hey, we live in an imperfect world! Empty platitudes aren't going to stop bad people from doing illegal things. We already criminalise them, the other thing that should be doing is educating the public on the reasonable precautions they can take to protect themselves.

catallus wrote: »
    They weren't stupid or lax; this was a concerted effort to steal images from servers; if we can't rely on secure systems then we all might as well turn off the computers and just head back to the 90s.

This is ridiculous. We are constantly being reminded that nothing is that secure. Phishing/ hacking/ viruses/ scams....there are very regular reminders. Common sense is all that is needed.

I have an iPhone for work. It automatically backs up any photos that I take, because I set it to. They are all work related.

My private phone is android. It is automatically linked to Dropbox and to Google+. I have set it to not automatically upload though. My work photos are directly linked to work and are not sensitive. Anything confidential gets photographed on a camera and downloaded directly. I choose which photos and videos from my phone get backed up. It is really easy to do.

Life has become more convenient but it also means that you have to step up and take responsibility for what you do with technology.

None of this excuses the theft of confidential information but there will always, no matter what happens, be people who will take advantage of every situation. You have to be aware of the dangers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭RedXIV

And if someone stole your camera, laptop or phone, and then leaked the photos, it would be different?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

Let's be clear about what happened here.

This wasn't some fool who was browsing pictures of lolcats and found the pics.

It was some guy who went to great lengths to find descriptors and traffic from peoples phones/computers/emails, located the areas where the information was stored, used their expertise to break into a privately owned server, downloaded information and shared it with the public.

So being blase about it and saying, "well, you shouldn't take pics of yourself cos these guys are out there, so suck it up" just isn't good enough.

A really good article on this.
    Jennifer Lawrence Nude Photo Leak Isn't A "Scandal." It's A Sex Crime.

As most of you probably know, someone somewhere dumped a deluge of purported nude photographs of a number of female celebrities online yesterday. The victims include the likes of Kate Upton, Victoria Justice, Ariana Grande, Kirsten Dunst, Mary Elizabeth Winstead, Krysten Ritter, Yvonne Strahovski, and Teresa Palmer. But the focal point for this story has been Hunger Games/American Hustle actress Jennifer Lawrence, since the Oscar winning actress is perhaps the most famous actress on the planet right now. Without going into sordid details ( Justice and Grande have claimed their respective photos are fake, others have confirmed they are real), I’d like to make two very specific points. Ms. Lawrence and the other victims have absolutely nothing to apologize for in terms of the contents of the photos or the nature in which they were leaked. The story itself should not be addressed as if it were a scandal, but rather what it is: A sex crime involving theft of personal property and the exploitation of the female body.

http://www.forbes.com/sites/scottmendelson/2014/09/01/jennifer-lawrence-nude-photo-leak-isnt-a-scandal-its-a-sex-crime/

RedXIV wrote: »
    And if someone stole your camera, laptop or phone, and then leaked the photos, it would be different?

Perhaps I am unusually security conscious, but I store nothing on my laptop, my work laptop is encrypted and gets wiped regularly. My camera gets cleared, my phones are, as I say, treated as potential easy access points.

I have plenty files but if a nobody like me goes to pains to protect them, I am shocked that famous people, who are surrounded by people paid to advise and protect them have allowed sensitive photos and videos to a cloud.

Let me put it this way. Photographers hide I bushes to take photos of them. It is not at all a stretch of the imagination to think that someone would dedicate massive amounts of time to hacking their clouds. This isn't even the first time that there have been images of celebrities accessed using online accounts.

This doesn't excuse the theft and violation but a but of common sense wouldn't go astray.