If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Gameweek 3 transfers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭qwertyups

Should I wildcard this lot?

De Gea(Myhill)

Chambers Hutton Terry (Wisdom, Hutton)

Siggy Mata Ramsey Eriksen( Mutch)

Rooney Costa Dzeko

A fair few doubts there and players not performing. Only have one free transfer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,472 ✭✭✭AdMMM

roryc wrote: »
    Yeah I used my 2 FT's on Tuesday too but not too bothered, needed to dump Bojan and Isgrove for Larsson and Naismith. It was a minimum £0.3m swing! If Costa is back after the int. break I'll hold on to him, even if he drops £0.1m it won't affect me. Number 1 striker choice atm. If he's out long term it might sway me to wildcard next week.
    Is Isgrove going to drop this week? -40.9% according to FPL Statistics. Requiring another 25% of his owners to dump him before the week is out.... That looks to be a big ask

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,274 ✭✭✭✭FHFC

Are most of ye planning to Wildcard next week so?

Because I still have no intention of it right now and don't feel any particular urge to do it....yet anyway. I'm sure ye'll spook me soon enough though

Doubt if I'll use it, will have a tinker to see what sort of team it would give me, I'll get tempted, but I think I'm gonna try the keeping it till late in the season option. If there are a load of players bandwagoning in gw5 and the price rises seem back to last years NTI levels, or some interesting new players added it might sway me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭roryc

AdMMM wrote: »
    Is Isgrove going to drop this week? -40.9% according to FPL Statistics. Requiring another 25% of his owners to dump him before the week is out.... That looks to be a big ask

Thats why I said minimum £0.3m. It will be £0.4m if Isgrove drops, the other three have all changed price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭tom_k

qwertyups wrote: »
    Should I wildcard this lot?

De Gea(Myhill)

Chambers Hutton Terry (Wisdom, Hutton)

Siggy Mata Ramsey Eriksen( Mutch)

Rooney Costa Dzeko

A fair few doubts there and players not performing. Only have one free transfer.

You seem to have a pair of Huttons in there :pac:

I think you could hold off on the wildcard this week. That's not really a bad looking team, Dzeko will play this weekend, I believe and should perform against Stoke. Consider playing 4-4-2 and wildcard after Saturday if it still seems necessary.

Maybe ship out Mutch for Rodwell or Cattermole, will at least free up some cash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,238 ✭✭✭qwabercd

Lemlin wrote: »
    Looking at my team, that would leave me with an attack of:

Mata Ramsey Siggy Fabregas
    Sturridge Aguero Ade

but a defence of:

Lloris
    Dummett (would have to take out Coloccini) Taylor, van Aanholt, Moore and another player 4.1 or under.

The back 5 looks seriously weak but what a glorious front 7. I also wouldn't have a chance of affording this team next GW so I am debating wildcarding today.

Depends on when you're wildcarding but it could be worth waiting a couple of weeks to see how De Jong settles in at newcastle. I reckon he can do very well, wouldn't be surprised to see him to get close to mata's score. Use the extra 1.9m to upgrade defence. Means no utd attacking coverage though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 698 ✭✭✭lorenzo87

Note to self - Don't make transfers so early in the week! Costa injured and already used my transfer to get Jovetic in for Adebayor!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,487 ✭✭✭G1032

With Costa out for 6 weeks I'll just go -4 and bring in Aguero. Clyne already transferred in earlier and I have the funds for Aguero

Begovic and Isgrove going down though so WC is an option

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,398 ✭✭✭✭extra gravy

Already used my FT to get rid of Caulker. Think I'm going to wildcard today...want rid of Begovic, Bruce, Fletcher and Isgrove and don't think there's any point letting Lloris rise when I will probably get him next week anyway.

G1032 wrote: »
    With Costa out for 6 weeks I'll just go -4 and bring in Aguero. Clyne already transferred in earlier and I have the funds for Aguero

Could be out for 6 months according to some sources, nobody really knows yet though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭JR6

Damn it...Did my free transfer early this week and now Costa injured!
    Why do bad things happen to good people?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,469 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

Oh Costa after i using my free transfers and not using the wildcard until after the transfer window opens.

Could be a tough week 4-4-2 with Fletcher starting up front and two cheap defenders could be a tough week.

What do people think take a 4 point hit and captain Jovetic at home to Stoke he is in form.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭daithijjj

Costa definitely didnt train today and there's rumours Chelsea are in for Destro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,305 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Prodston

daithijjj wrote: »
    Costa definitely didnt train today and there's rumours Chelsea are in for Destro.

That's if they offload Torres though I think? Lukaku and Eto'o will be fairly motivated come the weekend though :pac: Could be worth a punt for those so inclined.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 irishswan546

Thinking of using my wildcard and change team to this.

Mannone krul.

Van aanholt clyne williams collocinni moore

Lamela Fabregas siggy ramsey king

Bony rooney aguero

Dropped terry caulker bruce mata Albrighton and costa. When costa fit again will try to fit back in depending on rooney. Worried nout def and lamela.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭daithijjj

That's if they offload Torres though I think? Lukaku and Eto'o will be fairly motivated come the weekend though :pac: Could be worth a punt for those so inclined.

Didnt mean to include Destro rumours as a possible for Costa injury, it was more a short and sweet latest Chelsea striker news info thingy.

Should be a decent game that one, one of them where no fantasy football manager is a winner maybe...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,206 ✭✭✭Lucas Hood

Jose could push Schurrle up front if Costa is out for a while. Worth keeping an eye on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,262 ✭✭✭iroced

So with Diego Costa out... To Wc or not? To take a 4 pts hit or not? Hmm...

Is Costa injury really that bad though? Totalfpl link doesn't sound that alarmist.

That said, there are a few things I need to sort out in my team. Starting with GK and defense...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

This ****ing Costa injury is so annoying. Does anyone know for sure how long he'll be out or is it complete speculation on everyone's part at present?

This could be a very, very tough week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,244 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

Is Begovic set to go down? If he is, I'll definitely wildcard.

I have him and Isgrove.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,762 ✭✭✭jive

Paully D wrote: »
    This ****ing Costa injury is so annoying. Does anyone know for sure how long he'll be out or is it complete speculation on everyone's part at present?

It's a hairy one alright. I'm going to sit on it until as late as possible, I still have my FT this week but I'd much rather bank it than having to get out Costa only to get him back next week if he turns out to be fine.

I was thinking Costa to Aguero but I have to say I'm tempted by Sturridge even at his price. Aguero, assuming he stayed fit, would then be in my team for the rest of the year. Best player in the league now IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Paully D wrote: »

Chelsea say "it's a minor muscular injury & he'll be monitored in the coming days".Sounds like it's not as bad as first feared.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Cheers lads.

I could be going into this week with Rooney and Fletcher up front, with all of my players apart from Neil Taylor and Sigurdssson playing away. Jesus. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭SpaceCowb0y

I activated my Wildcard yesterday or maybe Tuesday, i spend so much time pricking about with my team im not sure anymore:o Despite wise advice from forum members I couldn't resist the temptation of a team i had selected that I wouldn't have been able to afford with rises by the weekend.

the team i now have selected (with .5mil still in the bank):

Lloris---(Gilks)

O'Brien---Dummett---Van Aanholt----Wisdom---Taylor

--Fab
    Ramsey---Sigurdsson---Sterling---Rodwell---

Rooney---Adebayor---Aguero

Not gonna lie i really like this team but Lloris doesn't fill me with confidence for this week! Soooo.... im thinking of going with Jovetic instead of Aguero and Using the extra cash to go Gilks -> Krul for one week only then after the International break i'll change Jovetic & Krul back to Aguero & Gilks at the cost of a 4point hit! But on the basis that both teams selected this week and next gameweek will completely justify the 4 points.

The other option i'm looking at is shifting Sterling and Rooney out for Sturridge (although he hasn't looked phenomenal in either games yet) and Mata and downgrading Rodwell to a 4.5mil mid. It would also mean i'd have to sacrifice one of my £4.5mil defenders for another £4mil option (who is nailed on??? Moore??)

Front 7 would be tasty but am i giving too much up at the back at the cost?? Either way i'll still be going with Jovetic over Aguero this weekend i'll just have the money banked for a straight swap IF (and that's a big if) Aguero makes it through the International break without breaking himself up.

A lot of information I know but any thoughts/opinions would really be welcome??

I have Costa on my team, have already used by free transfer (Jovetic in for Adebayor).
    I personally wouldn't take a 4 point hit to swap Costa as Chelsea have a very tough game away to Everton anyways so he might have not got anything regardless. Risk a sub and change him next week is the call.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭Griever931

Jovetic in for Giroud.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,244 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

Current team:

Begovic vs City away

Coloccini vs Palace home, Terry vs Everton away, Taylor vs WBA home, van Aanholt vs QPR away

Sterling vs Spurs away, Fabregas vs Everton away, Siggy vs WBA home, Ramsey vs Leicester away

Fletcher vs QPR away, Rooney vs Burnley away

Potential wildcard team:

Lloris vs Liverpool home

Dummett vs Palace home, Taylor vs WBA home, McShane possibly vs Villa away

Mata vs Burnley away, Fabregas vs Everton away, Siggy vs WBA home, Ramsey vs Leicester away

Aguero vs Stoke home, Rooney vs Burnley away, Ade vs Liverpool home

1 million left in the bank to ship Rooney out for Sturridge for the week after.

So differences for this weekend are:

Lloris vs Begovic
    Dummett vs Coloccini (practically the same)
    McShane vs Terry
    Mata vs Sterling
    Aguero vs van Aanholt
    Ade vs Fletcher

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭djPSB

Current team:

Begovic vs City away

Coloccini vs Palace home, Terry vs Everton away, Taylor vs WBA home, van Aanholt vs QPR away

Sterling vs Spurs away, Fabregas vs Everton away, Siggy vs WBA home, Ramsey vs Leicester away

Potential wildcard team:

Lloris vs Liverpool home

Mata vs Burnley away, Fabregas vs Everton away, Siggy vs WBA home, Ramsey vs Leicester away

Lloris vs Begovic
    McShane vs Terry
    Mata vs Sterling
    Aguero vs van Aanholt
    Ade vs Fletcher

Hardly enough to warrant the wildcard? I'm in a similar situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,262 ✭✭✭iroced

I activated my Wildcard yesterday or maybe Tuesday, i spend so much time pricking about with my team im not sure anymore Despite wise advice from forum members I couldn't resist the temptation of a team i had selected that I wouldn't have been able to afford with rises by the weekend.

the team i now have selected (with .5mil still in the bank):

Lloris---(Gilks)

O'Brien---Dummett---Van Aanholt----Wisdom---Taylor

--Fab
    Ramsey---Sigurdsson---Sterling---Rodwell---

Rooney---Adebayor---Aguero

Not gonna lie i really like this team but Lloris doesn't fill me with confidence for this week! Soooo.... im thinking of going with Jovetic instead of Aguero and Using the extra cash to go Gilks -> Krul for one week only then after the International break i'll change Jovetic & Krul back to Aguero & Gilks at the cost of a 4point hit! But on the basis that both teams selected this week and next gameweek will completely justify the 4 points.

The other option i'm looking at is shifting Sterling and Rooney out for Sturridge (although he hasn't looked phenomenal in either games yet) and Mata and downgrading Rodwell to a 4.5mil mid. It would also mean i'd have to sacrifice one of my £4.5mil defenders for another £4mil option (who is nailed on??? Moore??)

Front 7 would be tasty but am i giving too much up at the back at the cost?? Either way i'll still be going with Jovetic over Aguero this weekend i'll just have the money banked for a straight swap IF (and that's a big if) Aguero makes it through the International break without breaking himself up.

A lot of information I know but any thoughts/opinions would really be welcome??

1) I think your defense is pretty week. Only O'Brien & Taylor are proven FF good players for their price. You have no defenders from any top team that you'd play week in week out which could cause you big headaches when choosing your fielded XI each GW...

2) Your front 8 is tasty but what's your plan? Benching Rodwell most times? In that case £5.0m might be £0.5m too much that you could spend on your defense or second goalie for example.

3) I'm not sure planning a 4 pts hit immediately after having played your WC is a good idea. If the extra cash is only for a £0.5m swing, downgrade Rodwell to a £4.5m midfielder so that you don't have to take a 4 pts hit for your planned Aguero move.

4) I think your second option is even worse since it'll downgrade even more your defense.

5) Lots of negativeness I know... So let's try and give you my 2 cents for a way to make this kind of team possible. If I were you I'd try save some cash on either Sterling or Adebayor. So that you can improve your defense (I think a Chelsea def is "needed", maybe a City one too when we'll know more who will be guaranteed to play). And make the Rooney->Sturridge shift if you still want it.
    Seb Larsson from Sunderland at £5.6m could be a good replacement for Sterling. Couple of years ago he was FF gold for some months.
    Dyer or Routledge from Swansea both at £5.5m could also be viable options.
    Or instead of Adebayor, you could jump on Naismith bandwagon or get Jelavic.

Current team:

Begovic vs City away

Potential wildcard team:

Lloris vs Liverpool home

Lloris vs Begovic
    McShane vs Terry
    Mata vs Sterling
    Aguero vs van Aanholt
    Ade vs Fletcher

Are you not afraid of downgrading too much your defense? I remember last year everyone got excited for a very cheap defense in the early GWs. There was the new BP system. Big teams were not getting very solid at the back early on. But quickly enough Chelsea & Man City started to offer some nice security from a couple of their defenders.

Is Aguero definitely playing? I know he can score double digit in 20 min. That's why I got him back twice and got eventually burnt twice last year. But as you mentionned in another thread won't Pellegrini be more careful with him this year?

So the main difference this week is Lloris vs Begovic. And Aguero IF he plays. Can't a 4 pts hit allow you these 2 changes ? Or are you really set on this WC team?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,747 ✭✭✭Ziegler1988

https://twitter.com/Fpl_Updates/status/505050134355664896

"In contention" is so ambiguous :pac: