Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best Retort you've ever heard (Retort, fierce posh I am)

• 22-08-2014 8:01pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭

What's the best retort to an asshole you ever heard. Mate of mine was telling this story some years ago about a neighbour beside him;

An old Farmer was burning rubbish and leaves one day. His newly moved in German neighbour arrives into his yard ranting and raving about the effect the old farmers burning actions were having on the environment.

Quick as a flash the old farmer retorted - "You weren't thinking of the environment too much when ye were burning the Jews"

End of conversation with new neighbour scampering out the yard.....so what's the wittiest retort you've heard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

So's your face.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

Your biological female parent!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Local farmer when his ram didn't win first prize at the show

'What do you mean, his legs are too short. Sure don't they reach the ground?!'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Buona Fortuna

wazky wrote: »
    Your biological female parent!

nearly :)

Saw this on here:
    Never play chess with a pigeon, cos no matter how the game is going, the pigeon will sh1t on the board and strut around like they won anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,557 ✭✭✭KeithM89

'If I wanted my own come-back, i'd wipe it off your mothers chin'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,825 ✭✭✭Timmyctc

Garda to a boy racer he's just nabbed for speeding: "I've been waiting here all day to catch you."

Boy racer: "Well I got here as quick as I could."

I thought it had to be real. Not just one made up off the top of your head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

PFL wrote: »
    What's the best retort to an asshole you ever heard. Mate of mine was telling this story some years ago about a neighbour beside him;

An old Farmer was burning rubbish and leaves one day. His newly moved in German neighbour arrives into his yard ranting and raving about the effect the old farmers burning actions were having on the environment.

Quick as a flash the old farmer retorted - "You weren't thinking of the environment too much when ye were burning the Jews"

End of conversation with new neighbour scampering out the yard.....so what's the wittiest retort you've heard.

Believe it or not, moral implications aside, burning 11 million people is GREAT for the environment. People are horrible for the environment, they would have spent their entire lives polluting and consuming resources (just like we're all doing now). Those 11 million would have children who would have more children by now, and, yes, as horrible as it sounds, it was better for the environment than not killing them.

The best people can do is try to limit their environmental impact, but our ceasing to exist would be the best thing for the planet.

UCDVet wrote: »
    Believe it or not, moral implications aside, burning 11 million people is GREAT for the environment. People are horrible for the environment, they would have spent their entire lives polluting and consuming resources (just like we're all doing now). Those 11 million would have children who would have more children by now, and, yes, as horrible as it sounds, it was better for the environment than not killing them.

The best people can do is try to limit their environmental impact, but our ceasing to exist would be the best thing for the planet.

So if I've interpreted this post correctly (And I believe I have) What you're saying is Hitler was a radical environmentalist and no more?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,779 ✭✭✭Day Lewin

Well there's a conversation-killer if ever I heard one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

This happened your mate right? :)

Burn the rubbish!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭bop1977

On a boards night out the conversation between me and a very strange boards bird went a little something like this:
    Bird : I bet my house is bigger than yours.
    Me : which one of my houses are you talking about?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,088 ✭✭✭Nib

A mate of mine who's always coming out with great one-liners was sizing up this bird on a night out recently, I commented that she was a bit of a munter. He replied "you don't be looking at the mantle piece when you're poking the fire".

Burn the rubbish!

I doubt it was any truer when the poster in your link posted it. One of them "Wouldn't it be funny if this happened" scenarios. People just get carried away and ... shockingly enough .. some people lie on the internet :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 628 ✭✭✭Chance The Fapper

One of the lads in school, who'd be fairly nerdy, said something which I can't remember.

Queue another lad coming in and saying "That's the gayest thing I've ever heard you say"

Then Niall turns around: "You know what the gayest thing I've ever heard you say is? Awh, I'm cumming James"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Coming out of mass one Sunday morning,

Local auld wan (80 odd) to a notorious grumpy old Bastard that used to drink in the my local.

"ah Joe your waves are saying good bye to you" (in reference to his balding head)

Joe (late 60s/early 70s)" WTF are you talking about you nosey auld bitch, sure you've hardly a hair on your own head either."

(she had auld woman falling out hair)

I almost wet myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,091 ✭✭✭Antar Bolaeisk

Timmyctc wrote: »
    So if I've interpreted this post correctly (And I believe I have) What you're saying is Hitler was a radical environmentalist and no more?

He was a wannabe Genghis Khan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭PFL

Burn the rubbish!

Retort coming in 3-2-1......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

Timmyctc wrote: »
    I doubt it was any truer when the poster in your link posted it. One of them "Wouldn't it be funny if this happened" scenarios. People just get carried away and ... shockingly enough .. some people lie on the internet :eek:

People lie on the internet the internet...? :confused:

:(:(:(:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

Are you available for weddings and more importantly, bar mitzvahs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭Emmacash

There was some little cross-eyed 'scraped off the bottom of Satan's foot' chung one sitting down the back of a 77a bus I was on once.
    She was trying to impress the rest of her scumbag buddies by making everyone else's bus journey hell.
    She honed in on a nerdy, quiet looking fella and started ripping it out of him. He tried ignoring her but she wasn't impressed and grabbed him and shouted
    ''HERE! I'm talking to you!!''
    Que nerd quietly-
    ''Oh were you? It's hard to tell. Y'know. Because of your..'' and waved his fingers in front of his eyes.
    Her friends all broke their ****e laughin.
    I love it when the under dog gets one up :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭gugleguy

My quadcopter cost one sixth of what Yours cost. I bought mine after Yours. I can fly mine for the whole duration of the battery power without crashing. You haven't landed your more expensive quadcopter even properly once:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

One of my friends swallowed his pocket money years ago (50 pence or something).

He didn't choke or anything.

His mother was distressed, and said to a neighbour, as you did at the time, 'Margaret, what am I going to do'

Without a worry in the world she said, 'Sher bring him up to Fr. Keane there, that b@stard is brilliant at getting money out of people'

Fat lady struggling to lose weight, really down on herself says 'I just know there's a skinny person inside me dying to get out'

*long enough pause*

'Just the one is it love?', replies the husband.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Emmacash wrote: »
    There was some little cross-eyed 'scraped off the bottom of Satan's foot' chung one sitting down the back of a 77a bus I was on once.
    She was trying to impress the rest of her scumbag buddies by making everyone else's bus journey hell.
    She honed in on a nerdy, quiet looking fella and started ripping it out of him. He tried ignoring her but she wasn't impressed and grabbed him and shouted
    ''HERE! I'm talking to you!!''
    Que nerd quietly-
    ''Oh were you? It's hard to tell. Y'know. Because of your..'' and waved his fingers in front of his eyes.
    Her friends all broke their ****e laughin.
    I love it when the under dog gets one up :)

Who's doing the translations tonight ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

I heard a beaut eight years ago in Crouch End in London. Man walks up to the bar looking p*ssed off, an upset woman almost in tears follows him up and says:

"Look, I can explain everything..."

"Oh right, what the f*ck are you, a philosopher?"

• Site Banned Posts: 824 ✭✭✭Shiraz 4.99

Shooter McGavin: "I eat sh1t like you for breakfast"

Happy Gilmore: "You eat sh1t for breakfast ???"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 904 ✭✭✭Drakares

This isn't even remotely witty and has been done to death..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭Royce McCutcheon

Local cross eyed scrote walking through packed pub knocking into people and such, he walks into one of the barmen out picking up glasses:
    Scrote:Why dont you look where your going?
    Barman:Why dont you go where your looking?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 464 ✭✭The Th!ng

One day at work I got into an argument with a member of the public, this went on for a few minutes until he asked me did my employer allways employ assholes? Why, I replied, are you looking for a job? The guys with him burst into laughter whcih didn't help things, either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭Rjd2

Have you been watching Utopia?:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,423 ✭✭✭Merrion

Overheard a reply to the local bigot in the pub "Everyone's entitled to their opinion, I suppose, but are you really absolutely sure you want that one?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Years ago I was looking around in an alternative type shop and there was an underage teen harassing the girl working behind the counter trying to get her to let him get a piercing. She ignored him for about 10 minutes, finally she turned around mid chat to her friend and says 'fcuk off and die'. I so wished I could do that in my job. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭The Aussie

Years ago I was working on The Tennis Village here in Cork when it was being built, there was a little hairy redneck called Jerry Clark from Belfast, anywho he hated all foreigners. Australian, Kiwis, Yanks the Nigerians... Anyone who was not from the Island of Ireland type of thing.

He was going on with his anti foreigner rubbish again, he waited until he had an audience as usual and decided to go on a big rehearsed rant about the Australian flag with the Union Jack in the corner, so after he blew himself out of hot air I said "well it's like this Jerry, I would much rather the Union Jack in the corner of my Flag instead of the English in the corner of my Country"... Everyone within earshot spent the nex half hour laughing...

Not nearly as hard as I laughed when I read the front page of a red top about a year later with the headline Noddy gets 20 years for 40 winks with a picture of the little social cripple underneath...
    It was this Langer

http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/convicted-ira-man-gets-20-years-for-kidnapping-229318.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,579 ✭✭✭Mr McBoatface

Year ago as an angry teen I'd a blazing row with my Dad it ended with the following exchange.

Me to my dad - "You're a balding auld prick, I hate you !"

My Dad's reply - "You where a good **** until you mother got in the way"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

There are either a lot more cross-eyes people out there than I thought, or boardsies are seeking them out. We are only three pages in guys. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭thecornflake

Years ago downstairs on a Dublin bus heading into town for a night out with a few mates and my brother. A group of loud lads get on the bus, few drinks on them and thinking they're real hard. They all start going up the stairs when one of them starts shouting insults at my brother, and he starts shouting back.
    At this point the whole bus is listening to them when eventually one of the lads says "You're a right c**t mate". There was a brief second of silence which was followed by my brother opening his arms towards the guy and saying "Well you better take a good look cos this is the only c**t you'll be seeing tonight". The lads mates all laughed at him as he sulked up the stairs without another peep from him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 132 ✭✭CatLou

A girl I know was walking by some construction workers and one of them started catcalling and eventually said to her "I'd love to lick your favourite thing".
    So she replied to him, "Sure, come by my place and you can lick my hubbies c**k".

auch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Me and a friend going to Vegas for DefCon.

Airport security to him: Do you have anything sharp about your person.
    Him: Just my Irish wit.

From Overheard in Dublin

Junky shouting at people on the luas. Sees a woman in full muslim Yashmak and other coverings and says to her: "Youze oughta go back to you're own country"
    To which Muslim girl shouts back to him: "I am in me own bleedin country ya f$%^in prick!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,093 ✭✭✭fineso.mom

My friend swears her friend witnessed this firsthand,but it sounded vaguely familiar to me so I'm not sure if it's just a made up story....I hope it's true.

Supposedly ....Cillian Murphy was out in Cork one night and became unruly after imbibing a little too much alcohol. He was asked to leave the premises and didn't take kindly to the request. After some cross words he asked the bouncer loudly and indignantly "Do you know who I am!"
    Cue an old man in the corner declaring, "course we do boy, you're the langer who shot Michael Collins!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭jimboblep

Lady of the house at which churchill was drunk and belligerent "if you were my husband id poison your coffee" churchills reply "if you were my wife id drink it " ( believe it was churchill who said this may be wrong)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭evolving_doors

Michael D's Reply to Michael G on that infamous 20 minute burn HERE

MG "Is there free speech in Ireland, or are you allowed to speak" (trying to get a word in edgeways)

MD "There is and you're taking up a lot of it!"

When I done got my Leaving Cert results my father gave me a £100 and he told me go out and enjoy myself with the lads, but he wanted me in bed by half 11.

I said for f#ck sake anyway.

And then he said if you're not in bed by half eleven, I want you to come home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,080 ✭✭✭EoghanIRL

You want my come back ? Well you'll have to scrape it off your mothers teeth .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

CatLou wrote: »
    A girl I know was walking by some construction workers and one of them started catcalling and eventually said to her "I'd love to lick your favourite thing".
    So she replied to him, "Sure, come by my place and you can lick my hubbies c**k".

auch.

See - I wouldn't know if that was an insult or an invitation....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,745 ✭✭✭Macavity.

That is not in any way a witty retort. Sounds like something I would have said when I was 10.

My aunt: "I've just come back from WeightWatchers"

My dads reply: "No luck then?"

Doesn't seem that funny written down, but we laughed til we cried, including my aunt.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 795 ✭✭✭kingchess

years ago a mate of mine was talking to his neighbour,an elderly farmer,in a very remote area of west cork,when a rental car with two american tourists pulled up looking for direction,the driver rolled down her window and inquired "can we get to Bantry from here?"the farmer replied "of course you can,girleen, shure there are people who went to Australia from here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭Archeron

You're a towel!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭fussyonion

You're like a bag of Lego.
    You're in bits!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 795 ✭✭✭kingchess

if my dog had a face like yours,I would shave his ass and make him walk backwards,