Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Need some good, sharp comebacks for comments abouts being single!

• 20-08-2014 1:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 MB2014

I am currently the only singleton left in my group of friends. We are all going away for a weekend to another city at the start of next month.

Over the past year, two of the girls in the group have been giving me a lot of hassle and questions about me being single. I am very independent and happy being single, I am not going to get into a relationship with someone unless I really like them, not going to go out with someone just for the sake of it or to keep other people happy.

During this weekend away, I am expecting (based on past behaviour) on the nights out, that these girls will be pointing at every man in the pub/nightclub and be asking me all night, 'what about him' or him, etc, what is your type etc.

I find this really irritating, I just want to have my night out, not feel like I am a 14 year at a youth disco being pushed over to kiss some guy for the sake of it!!!

I don't want to fall out with these girls, but I don't want to spend all weekend dealing with probing questions about my love life or spend the nights out being hassled about every guy in the place.

So I need assertive comebacks for these comments that will shut them up fairly quickly!
    Thanks in advance!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭JoeySully

just say "I find this really irritating, I just want to have my night out, not feel like I am a 14 year at a youth disco being pushed over to kiss some guy for the sake of it!!!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,357 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

JoeySully wrote: »
    just say "I find this really irritating, I just want to have my night out, not feel like I am a 14 year at a youth disco being pushed over to kiss some guy for the sake of it!!!"

^^^^^^^^
    THIS essentially OP! Or even before ye head out for the night just say

"girls, before we head out tonight now I just want to say something to ye, please can we forget about the fact that I'm single and just enjoy a girls night away; I'm happy out with the way things are at the moment and I know ye mean well but I'm fine, thanks a million" etc. Saying it to them beforehand when ye aren't under the influence of alcohol might be better.

I can imagine it's very annoying; luckily, at the moment, quite a few of my friends are single as well so it doesn't really happen to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,599 ✭✭✭sashafierce

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭AmberAmber

oh heard it over and over !! when out or with friends or when I was working !! do gooders as I would say in my mind to my self..
    at work I has said "yea yea as soon as I find the last fella and he signs the divorce papers I will feel free" and walk away ,,,, wide open eyes and dropped jaws its very funny !!! I have a dry wit about me some times and they are left not quite being sure or not if I am messing !!
    Just tell people you are seeing 4 fellas or yea I am seeing some one its early days .
    Just smile and give then a wink and say "a lady never Kiss and tell"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,983 ✭✭✭Raminahobbin

I would just say what Leahyl said to say above, in the middle of all the getting ready rigmarole. However, it'll be easy for them to fall back on old habits when drunk if they're really determined, so I would, personally, add that every time someone tries to set me up with some guy or brings up the fact that I'm single, they will receive a short sharp pinch to the arm. If you say it in a jovial, good natured manner, they'll laugh- but I guarantee you'll only have to deliver one (max two) pinches throughout the night and they'll laugh about it, but know you're serious and will stop.

Probably won't work on every group of girls depending on how close you are, but my friends and I do stuff like this to each other and it really does work :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 329 ✭✭Corkgirl210

I usually say, I am single because I don't need a man .. i don't want to settle with just anyone and I am not in competition with anyone.. (usually shuts my friends up... )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

If you're happy being single why bother with a comeback?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

OP I know how annoying this can be! I am in a relationship now but was single for a good few years. Like you I'd absolutely no interest in being set up/being in a relationship. One friend of mine in particular couldn't fathom why I wanted to be single and was constantly going up to fellas, telling them I was single, and trying to set them up with me :rolleyes: Poor guys, I'd no interest.

When she was sober I often would tell her to cop on, and that if I wanted to "get with" someone I'd do it myself. But of course once she'd have a bit of drink in her she'd forgot what I'd say to her. There is no telling some people.

Tell your friends to cop on, but it my case it didn't work :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 329 ✭✭Corkgirl210

Lux23 wrote: »

because it is healthy to stand up for yourself..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 MB2014

Exactly as Rayanne 2010 said, surely I have a right to stand up for myself?

I just feel that their behaviour is bitchy and I hate being nagged, one of the other girls in the group has been single for the last 10 years, only got into a relationship recently and she never got any hassle for it, I just feel it’s unfair that I am getting nagged for it, when no one else got any sh1t for being single!

By asking me that very question 'If you're happy being single why bother with a comeback?[/' speaks volumes of how my some of my friends and a good portion of society at large think, how could a woman possibly really be happy being single?!

It's a pity that some people in society find it hard to accept/believe that a person can be happy out as a singleton!

Being single isn't the issue, the nagging is the issue!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 MB2014

Exactly as Rayanne 2010 said, surely I have a right to stand up for myself?

I just feel that their behaviour is bitchy and I hate being nagged, one of the other girls in the group has been single for the last 10 years, only got into a relationship recently and she never got any hassle for it, I just feel it’s unfair that I am getting nagged for it, when no one else got any sh1t for being single!

By asking me that very question 'If you're happy being single why bother with a comeback?[/' speaks volumes of how some of my friends and a good portion of society at large think, how could a woman possibly really be happy being single?!

It's a pity that some people in society find it hard to accept/believe that a person can be happy out as a singleton!

Being single isn't the issue, the nagging is the issue!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭Shakespeare's Sister

MB2014 wrote: »
    Over the past year, two of the girls in the group have been giving me a lot of hassle and questions about me being single.
    Wtf?! Tell them it's none of their business/ask them why it concerns them so much because it seems really insecure and weird to be bothered by someone else's relationship status.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭PhysiologyRocks

"Did you mean to be so rude?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭jaja321

"Did you mean to be so rude?"

Yup! Usually when you're direct with people it shuts them up.

Like when someone asks a nosy question, reply with 'why do you want to know?' Shuts people up quickly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

MB2014 wrote: »

So I need assertive comebacks for these comments that will shut them up fairly quickly!

"Havnt you heard, Im thinking of taking up the ol lesbianism"

Followed by a lascivious wink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,503 ✭✭✭Sinister Kid

I was at a hens about about a year ago & one of the girls announced during the dinner "Kid, you know you're the only single one here, What's wrong with you?" My reply was "Nothing, I'm obviously the only one here with sense!" That shut her up... the cheeky b*tch :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,357 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

I was at a hens about about a year ago & one of the girls announced during the dinner "Kid, you know you're the only single one here, What's wrong with you?" My reply was "Nothing, I'm obviously the only one here with sense!" That shut her up... the cheeky b*tch :D

My GOD, that was really rude. What she said obviously!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,503 ✭✭✭Sinister Kid

leahyl wrote: »
    My GOD, that was really rude. What she said obviously!

This girl had no filter... I wasn't the only one she insulted over the weekend!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 204 ✭✭wivy

..... oh when they hear that you're three years single... heading for four..
    holy god theres definitely something wrong with me! the amount of people who have commented on it and asked me how? why? whats wrong with you?
    I'm actually getting to a stage where I'm nearly embarrassed to say it because people have such a negative/pitiful attitude towards me! :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

It can be as bad from a bloke's perspective.

'Why have you not got a woman?'
    'Eh, what?'
    'That wan is looking around. Obviously a single girl. Wander over and chat to her.'
    'I'm stone cold sober. I don't even want to talk to you, ffs.'
    'Go on over ya big girl's blouse.'
    'Go and fcuk yourself.'

Average night out right there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,892 ✭✭✭lisasimpson

its not just women. one of my x friends husband got really personal with me about been single and it was my fault I was single coz I was a cold person. I made sure my response gave him a dig about the state of his own marriage shut him up farely quickly

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,552 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

I get this a lot as well. The worst is when people ask why you're still single and list of some vague positive qualities I apparently have. Brilliant, I now feel worse. My Dad even tried to push me into asking someone he knew out because "she has lots of land."

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Ice Storm

I used to have a colleague who liked to ask me regularly if I'd "found a husband" yet.

I'd play it off as a joke because if I showed him I was annoyed he was the type who see it as me being upset because I don't have a husband.

One time I asked why he was so interested and his response was that he likes me and wants to see me happy. So I can only be happy with a man, got it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Just ask them the question: "When are you getting married so you can nag someone else?!" :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 549 ✭✭✭Kav0777

"Just because you suffer every day doesn't mean we all have to."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,844 ✭✭✭py2006

I enjoy my independence and privacy.
    I'm enjoying single life and don't see the need for a relationship right now.
    Its clearly more of an issue for you than me, why do you think that is?
    If being rude and invasive is your thing for tonight, please talk to somebody else.
    You are starting to annoy and bore me now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭fatknacker

I get asked it regularly. It's a natural enough question. I don't see why people seem to get so bothered by it. My answer to why I am single, is and always has been "standards"
    (Not necessarily mine)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭ivytwine

"Why are you single?"
    "Why are you married/engaged/shacked up?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 549 ✭✭✭Kav0777

ivytwine wrote: »
    "Why are you single?"
    "Why are you married/engaged/shacked up?"

or "Why are you living in sin?....... fornicator!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 224 ✭✭Glinda

"Oh, great, I didn't realise we were doing personal questions tonight - I've always wanted to ask you [suitably personal question], but I thought it would be rude?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭sunshine and showers

"If you're so happy with your relationship, why are you checking out all the men in here?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

because it is healthy to stand up for yourself..

I don't see it as standing up for yourself, it sounds like you are building a defence. I was single all through my twenties and got countless comments and every time I every tried to make a joke about it or be clever it resulted in people saying I was bitter or 'no wonder you're single, you're am ignorant b*tch.

Nice people :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

But it is true up to a point. Prelearned comebacks don't work. If you need ideas for phrases to use then maybe it's the best solution to just tell them to back off that you are not in the mood. Most people can sense a preprepared line and then you just create the impression that being single bothers you enough to prepare comebacks in advance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭Shakespeare's Sister

fatknacker wrote: »
    I get asked it regularly. It's a natural enough question. I don't see why people seem to get so bothered by it. My answer to why I am single, is and always has been "standards"
    (Not necessarily mine)
    But why would someone ask/care? It also implies an expectation that everyone should be in a relationship, and if they're not there's something wrong with them (maybe there is :pac: but not always). It's a weird fixation. I mean, to be concerned as to why someone ELSE isn't in a relationship? Bizarre.
    Also, sometimes people don't know why they aren't in a relationship. They just aren't... it's not one of these things that always has straightforward answers. Then there are people for whom it's difficult to form relationships and it's not an easy issue for them, especially when some busybody spotlights it. Or they could have had their heart broken and are hesitant to go there again. It's like people are telling them "You're not in a relationship... oh my god you're doomed."

If someone asked "Are you in a relationship?" as small-talk, totally fair enough. But asking "WHY are you not in a relationship?"... I really would have a funny feeling about people (apart from old people) who'd ask such a question. They seem like the kind of people who view single people as weird/to be pitied/failures/losers. If someone says that thing of "How are you still single?!" though, that's different - it's a rhetorical question and is meant in a complimentary way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

I've been singe almost all of my teens and most of my twenties. I've been mostly asked why am I single by men who wanted to ask me out or sometimes by male friends and acquaintances who were in a relationship themselves but got on well with me. The only female asking me that sort of stuff would be my grandmother.

I know some people regarded me as picky but that didn't bother me. Anybody trying to do matchmaking was always told to back off. Sometimes jokingly but mostly just clearly told I'm not interested. The simplest and the most obvious way is usually the most effective.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Just ask them "why do you want to know that?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

I think Larianne's response is the best of them all - throw the spotlight back on them and force them to think about how inappropriate and rude the question is.

When I was single the rare few times I'd get this question, I'd go with a completely absurd one-liner and them just smile wryly, to show that I wouldn't be pried on.

'Why are you single?"
    "Because I ate my last boyfriend"
    *Smile*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,062 ✭✭✭✭anewme

I always say....with a big smile...ah jaysus a Garda wouldn't ask me that....or if I think they are being smart or its someone I dont like I stick to the good old reliable F Off and mind your own business. Nothing like a rude answer to a rude question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 646 ✭✭✭cactuspaw

Was chatting to my friend bout this today. She being the last remaining single friend of mine and the two of us are in the same boat (ie unemployed, constantly broke, not out every weekend). She used the line " well, my light is on, but I can't afford the light bulbs" . Genius!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 306 ✭✭NZ_2014

"I'd rather be alone than be with a below average loser like your boyfriend"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 76 ✭✭Mr. RED

Stop! Stop! Stop! Stop! Stop!!! You are all being WAY too polite. Seriously. As the man says earlier; a simple -

"Go f*** yourself" is all that is needed. Seriously.

It's good, it's certainly sharp; and it IS a comeback. If they don't like it? Well guess what; they can go f*** themselves!!