Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Republic's time zone plan "ludicrous"

• 18-08-2014 2:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭failinis

Proposals for a different time zone between Northern Ireland and the Irish Republic have been branded as "ludicrous" by a UUP MLA.
    Tom Elliot questioned the impact of a bill, which aims to see the Republic of Ireland move into Central European Time, in border areas.
    The Brighter Evenings Bill has been brought forward by Dublin politician Thomas Broughan.
    Mr Broughan, who is an Independent TD for Dublin Bay North, has proposed the legislation which would see the Republic undergo a three-year time zone experiment.
    If his bill gets support, the clocks would move one hour forward as usual in March, but would not move back in October, bringing the state into line with most countries in Europe.
    If agreed, it would mean people travelling between Northern Ireland and the Republic would have to adjust their watches as they crossed the border.

See rest of the article from http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-28832808

I don't see a problem with bringing it more in line with most countries in Europe, and I would like brighter evenings.
    Of course then it would be darker mornings, and problems of children walking to school while its still a bit dark etc.

I would agree with the change, but only if NI done the same, I live right on the border and would be a pain in the hole to keep having to think about time zones.

What do you all think?

EDIT
    Pawtrick linked this article on Scotland/NI time zone changes
    stating that if Scotland gains independence, then England/Wales would change time zone, and if ROI changed, those three would be in the same zone.
    Scotland and NI would be the odd ones out.

Agree to a new timezone? 206 votes

Yes
    0% 0 votes
    No
    44% 92 votes
    Only if NI done the same
    47% 97 votes
    Don't know/don't care
    8% 17 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

Good to know there is nothing else more important to discuss in Ireland these days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Hootanany

Will it get any warmer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

What time would the six o clock news be on?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,088 ✭✭✭Nib

About time.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,631 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

So this does that mean things like E4+1 are actually +2, or -1? So basically, we can watch catch up on E4, before it was even shown.

Awesome.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

We await Sir Arthur's critique re rising earlier for Creamery duties :)

What time would the six o clock news be on?

bbc or rte?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

Who's the TD for Dublin Bay South and why doesn't he have a say?

danniemcq wrote: »
    bbc or rte?

UTV

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭failinis

UTV

But sure, UTV ignore you hallions in the rejected counties anyway, apparently they tell me there is no weather there :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 72 ✭✭The Singing Beard

I work in Newry and live in North County Dublin.

It takes me one hour to get to work.

I could leave my house at 9 and arrive in work for nine, haven driven for an hour :-p :-D

However, in the evenings, I finish at half five, so I wouldn't be home until half seven :-p no thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 655 ✭✭✭HurtLocker

Good to know there is nothing else more important to discuss in Ireland these days

Well all the doom, gloom and negativity does get a bit tiresome

Well it's a lighter thread than abortion or bomb alerts to be fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,729 ✭✭✭Speak Now

Fup that, gets bright late enough in the winter as it is.

failinis wrote: »
    But sure, UTV ignore you hallions in the rejected counties anyway, apparently they tell me there is no weather there :D

More Donegal news on UTV than there is on RTE anyway. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Will the bars close earlier? If so I'm out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

No no no no no.

English Premier league evening football games would not finish until 10:45 and by the time you have watched the post match analysis, finished your pint and got a taxi home it would be well after midnight.
    Shure how would we be able to do a days work after that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

bbc or rte?
    I'm guessing he means the BBC, in Ireland the news is on at a minute past six.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭Bummer1234

This would mean folks on the border will need two watches.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Barely There

I think the proposal would be wide-open to abuse.
    What is to stop someone who's living in the border region from leaving their house in the Republic just after the Euromillions draw, arriving over the border in Northern Ireland 50 earlier, and then phoning themselves up with the winning numbers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

We actually operate under a different time zone to the UK already as it happens.

Irish Standard Time is 1 hour ahead of GMT, but clocks go back 1 hour in winter to match. In Britain clocks go forward 1 hour in the summer from GMT - net result is the same for both countries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,870 ✭✭✭✭Generic Dreadhead

If we ignore it, will it go away? Like Post-Codes for Cork

UTV

I keep forgetting that exists

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 937 ✭✭✭swimming in a sea

Spain and Portugal have an hour difference, so wonder anybody have experience of this?

Well it's a lighter thread than abortion or bomb alerts to be fair.
    HurtLocker wrote: »
    Well all the doom, gloom and negativity does get a bit tiresome

Very true but surely a politcian has a bit more to concern himself with,

feck it no, stop complaining be positive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭Bummer1234

What is to stop someone who's living in the border region from leaving their house in the Republic just after the Euromillions draw, arriving over the border in Northern Ireland 50 earlier, and then phoning themselves up with the winning numbers?

Ring a friend in paris and your laughing!!!

If you spent long enough hopping over and back Fanny Wylie's bridge you could eventually end up a day behind yourself.

I did not even know people knew the name of that place, poor Fanny for having to jump over the stream, I always pictured her like Mrs Doyle falling out windows doing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Have to say that it strikes me as an idiotic idea to take outselves out of sinc time wise with the UK considering just how much of our business is done with them.

I did not even know people knew the name of that place, poor Fanny for having to jump over the stream, I always pictured her like Mrs Doyle falling out windows doing it.

I know it well. Many's a bike I rode over it. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

P_1 wrote: »
    Have to say that it strikes me as an idiotic idea to take outselves out of sinc time wise with the UK considering just how much of our business is done with them.
    As someone who works with systems that span multiple timezones and has to co-ordinate with teams across the world, I can tell you that there is precisely zero complications about ROI having one timezone and UK having another.

It's like having different currencies, only much easier because you don't have to change anything.

Whether this is actually a good idea is another question. It does mean that winter evenings won't ever be dark at 3.30pm again, though it may stay dark till nearly 10am in the depths of December. I'd definitely take that tradeoff myself.

P_1 wrote: »

Yes, but the Uk does a lot of business with countries in all different time zones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

Some countries manage ok with different time zones within their borders.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

seamus wrote: »
    As someone who works with systems that span multiple timezones and has to co-ordinate with teams across the world, I can tell you that there is precisely zero complications about ROI having one timezone and UK having another.

It's like having different currencies, only much easier because you don't have to change anything.

Whether this is actually a good idea is another question. It does mean that winter evenings won't ever be dark at 3.30pm again, though it may stay dark till nearly 10am in the depths of December. I'd definitely take that tradeoff myself.

What about when your UK clients call at 5.15 and you're already gone home whereas you used always be still at work?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

article wrote: »

If agreed, it would mean people travelling between Northern Ireland and the Republic would have to adjust their watches as they crossed the border.
    Ehhh no ****!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

I don't see a problem with bringing it more in line with most countries in Europe, and I would like brighter evenings.
    Of course then it would be darker mornings, and problems of children walking to school while its still a bit dark etc.

I would agree with the change, but only if NI done the same, I live right on the border and would be a pain in the hole to keep having to think about time zones.

What do you all think?

Portugal and Spain have different time zones, so I don't see how its a problem.

KungPao wrote: »
    "If agreed, it would mean people travelling between Northern Ireland and the Republic would have to adjust their watches as they crossed the border."

Ehhh no ****!

Well it seems like you need to set the watches back a few 100 years when coming into NI anyway, be grand.

(Honestly though, I only agree if NI would come into step with the ROI because I am on a border town and it would be too complicated)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭pawrick

http://www.bbc.com/news/magazine-28744490

same site from the day before that article - talk of the remainder of the UK changing also if Scotland votes for independence, so in fact it'd be the North and Scotland left out of sync with the ROI, England and Wales.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

this would be a top laugh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Look, this is Ireland. If we did change timezone it would be something like what India have.
    30 mins ahead/behind their neighbours. Confuse the fck out of all of them!

10am in Paris = 9:30 in Dublin = 9:00 in London.

Put that in your pipe and smoke it Thomas Broughan

Nodin wrote: »
    Portugal and Spain have different time zones, so I don't see how its a problem.

You don't have Portuguese wains going to school in Spain or Spanish layabouts lifting their dole in Portugal though.

:p

pawrick wrote: »
    http://www.bbc.com/news/magazine-28744490

same site from the day before that article - talk of the remainder of the UK changing also if Scotland votes for independence, so in fact it'd be the North and Scotland left out of sync with the ROI, England and Wales.

Thanks for that, never noticed.
    In that case I would definitely agree to ROI and NI changing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

This is Ireland. Therefore we'll need a committee to look into the matter. Another committee to find out what the first committee did with the money. Then a tribunal for the barristers to get rich. And someone from Scambridge to do any real work needed.
    In the end it will be decided that moving the sun 3 foot to the left would be a better idea than turning a clock back. And an academic forum will be set up to look into it. Rinse and repeat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,708 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Australia. Now there's a country with a headfcuk of timezones. As long as our timezone isn't implemented like theirs, I'd be happy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Barely There

What about when your UK clients call at 5.15 and you're already gone home whereas you used always be still at work?

They leave a voicemail?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

You don't have Portuguese wains going to school in Spain or Spanish layabouts lifting their dole in Portugal though.

:p

Human nature being what it is, I'd be feckin amazed if there wasn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,900 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

isn't there a difference between changing time zones and ending Daylight Saving Time?

the process as set out in the OP would move us to the next Time Zone on CET right?

but don't those countries still operate DST? wouldn't we still be using DST?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

So in late December it would get bright (or less dark at least) at around 9AM? Feck that. I love the dark evenings anyway, that hour means shag all in the evening, would be dark when I finish work either way, but the darkness in the morning would be depressing.

KungPao wrote: »
    So in late December it would get bright (or less dark at least) at around 9AM? Feck that. I love the dark evenings anyway, that hour means shag all in the evening, would be dark when I finish work either way, but the darkness in the morning would be depressing.

yeah, but you would have more brightness to do things in the evening, I always end up doing far less in winter as it gets so dark outside so quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭pawrick

It makes sense to have as much of the day light utilised during the active part of the day as possible rather then wasted with people asleep at 5:30am as is currently the case. This however would work best if England also made the same decision although it wouldn't be impossible as proved around the world.