Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Birr Game Fair 23-24 Aug

• 13-08-2014 3:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 396 ✭✭

Hello,
    I'm wondering how many of you will head to Birr next week end?
    I heard it was pretty poor last year in terms of visitors and exhibiters, still there's always a few bits you can get there so I've not totally dismissed it yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,374 ✭✭✭J.R.

I went for years and years - ever since the first one in Adare Manor.

In the last few years I've been disappointed with Birr - lots of 'gimmicky' stalls & less & less shooting.

Seems to be geared towards a Country Fair to get largest crowd....food, wines, cheeses, crafts , pottery etc.....I don't mind that kind of stuff but when shooting related items suffer as a result then I think its time to call it a day.

By time you pay petrol, grub, entrance fee (expensive) you're talking about the guts of €70- €80 minimum before you even begin to walk around.....I'd rather head to my local gun shop and spend €100 there...........better value!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭deerhunter1

J.R. wrote: »
    I went for years and years - ever since the first one in Adare Manor.

In the last few years I've been disappointed with Birr - lots of 'gimmicky' stalls & less & less shooting.

Seems to be geared towards a Country Fair to get largest crowd....food, wines, cheeses, crafts , pottery etc.....I don't mind that kind of stuff but when shooting related items suffer as a result then I think its time to call it a day.

By time you pay petrol, grub, entrance fee (expensive) you're talking about the guts of €70- €80 minimum before you even begin to walk around.....I'd rather head to my local gun shop and spend €100 there...........better value!

True a rip off for example one nooski rat trap at the fair 45euro amazon deliverd to your door 30euro FOR TWO:eek: rip off merchants

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭Mackcon

Anything for the kids at it ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭deerhunter1

Mackcon wrote: »

Was not there myself, my mate was,gave up going to them since the adare one finished.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,974 ✭✭✭jimf

haven't been since 2009 and wont be going back prices were crazy then must be worse now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 396 ✭✭useurowname

Mackcon wrote: »

My girlfriends brother was there last year with his 10 and 8 year olds, I don't know if you are familiar with Birr Castle but there is a fantastic adventure playground with an amazing tree house in it for kids. This however was not accessible on the day of the fair. A bit crappy I'd have thought given the admission.

Anyone know what the fishing stands were like, any bargains on fly rods?
    (ps I am aware this is a hunters forum)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 buckmark 1

anyone going to the birr game fair drop in to nasrpc stand and have a chat with the lads.really nice bunch of guys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭daithi55

anyone who has CAI membership there doing two tickets for 15 euro...good value

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭Backfire

I'll be going for my first time with a buddy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭cavan shooter

Ill be going with the kids they thoroughly enjoy it.

Anyone know what they are charging for a round in the Clay Shoot this year? I know there are great prizes and a raffle for a shotgun but that won't bother me, I'm not that good a shot or lucky, just a knockabout shooter wanting to warm up the barrels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭hunterpajero

as far as i know there is four guns to be won at it this year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭td5

Always a great day out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 388 ✭✭Stonehall9

as far as i know there is four guns to be won at it this year

Go on . . . I'm all ears ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,979 ✭✭✭Eddie B

Is it true, that Sunday is gonna be a wet day?

Eddie B wrote: »

Yes unfortunately. That's why I'm glad to be going to Birr tomorrow. Although I am not sure is tomorrow thoroughly dry.

Even if prices are dear, I still hope to enjoy the day out. :)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,697 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Eddie B wrote: »

I believe it's to be very bad all day. So much so that i heard on the radio two events that have been either cancelled or moved to Saturday.

Bring wet gear if you're going.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 J s682

Did anybody go today? Thinking of heading down in the morning is it worth the drive from Dublin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭stoeger

J s682 wrote: »
    Did anybody go today? Thinking of heading down in the morning is it worth the drive from Dublin?

Ya was at it today seemed down on numbers but good all the same picked up a few bits go every year kids love it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 J s682

Cheers for the info going to head down early hopefully the weather holds off!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 672 ✭✭✭ace86

was at it this yr only disappointment was the ordinary general public so to speak couldn't fire at clays compared to last yr the gardai wouldn't authorise due to public health and safety and from talking to one of the lads they had great success with it last yr.

ace86 wrote: »
    was at it this yr only disappointment was the ordinary general public so to speak couldn't fire at clays compared to last yr the gardai wouldn't authorise due to public health and safety and from talking to one of the lads they had great success with it last yr.

I was there on Saturday from 11 to half 4ish. I watched a bit of the clay shooting but naturally spent most of my team walking around the stalls and watching the show with the 4 lads on horses (whatever you call it) :)

I bought a few things which I thought were reasonable enough, camo pants and jacket for €50, magpie cage for €80 (4 compartment/trapper) and got me some of those wild boar and venison burgers :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭blackwater doc

Ah Jesus I missed on a stall selling the laksen buck jackets off for €100 there €200 plus anyone get a contact no off him some English guy had dem I got a moleskin pants for €30 and nice dog mats for €10 each and three pigeon flappers 120 not bad thought €35 going in the gate pricey as wife and kids were with me

I thought it was a pretty good fair, glad I went. Decent crowds, good mix of stuff if a little light on the fishing side of things. Bought some clothing, and a nice little fly rod. I also shot the cock and hen clay trap a couple of times which was a bit of craic, disappointed I didn't win a shogun though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 672 ✭✭✭ace86

Ah Jesus I missed on a stall selling the laksen buck jackets off for €100 there €200 plus anyone get a contact no off him some English guy had dem I got a moleskin pants for €30 and nice dog mats for €10 each and three pigeon flappers 120 not bad thought €35 going in the gate pricey as wife and kids were with me

I thought €35 wasnt bad for a family that was 2 adults and 4 children myself and my mate paid €30 for the 2 of us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭garyc007

My friend sed he heard there was one stand doing hunter neoprene for 35 quid.anyone see these? Now it cud b bulls**t cos he likes to talk it :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 388 ✭✭Stonehall9

garyc007 wrote: »
    My friend sed he heard there was one stand doing hunter neoprene for 35 quid.anyone see these? Now it cud b bulls**t cos he likes to talk it :-)

There was a stand selling "hunter" wellies but they were all the way to birr via China!!! Copies they were, a lad sellin genuine wellies across the way told me that they were perfect copies except the quality of the rubber was unknown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭blackwater doc

Last year there was a right row going on with hunter wellies at a stall the chap said they didn't last pissing time and demanded his money back I was surprised with the amount of hunter that was for sale didn't c any aigle