Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is Ireland world's most "meh" country?

• 12-08-2014 4:03pm
    Registered Users Posts: 23,562 ✭✭✭✭

Meh?

weather - average
    scenery - average
    Dublin - average
    women (also men to avoid offence) - average
    soccer team - average
    built environment - average
    wages - average
    taxes - average
    men - average
    things to do - average
    things to see - average
    the people - average
    murder rate - average
    traffic accidents - average
    internet speed/access - average
    roads - average
    public transport - average
    education system - average
    police - average
    corruption - average
    ...on and on

Ireland is so average. And we can only call it average if we include all third world countries.:mad:

Is there anything about Ireland that anyone can say is better than elsewhere? Above average?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

Meh?

weather - average
    scenery - average
    Dublin - average
    soccer team - average
    wages - average
    taxes - average
    men - average
    things to do - average
    things to see - average
    the people - average
    murder rate - average
    roads - average
    police - average
    corruption - average
    ...on and on

Ireland is so average. And we can only call it average if we include all third world countries.:mad:

Is there anything about Ireland that anyone can say is better than elsewhere? Above average?

Speak for yourself! :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,406 ✭✭✭Phonehead

Scenary Average??????? are you having a laugh? The secenary is amazing and all within a few hours drive! the problem is that Irish people don't bother seeing their own country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭Hotfail.com

Irish scenery is far above average.

We've the best tea in the world.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭wretcheddomain

AH Threads? Meh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

OP, I think you left out AT out of MEH?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea

Isn't the soccer team sh! te?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭Tarzana

That's good of you.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,654 ✭✭✭elefant

How is Ireland average in things like murder rates, education, wages, corruption etc etc etc if you are including third-world countries? I would say that most likely every single country in Africa is behind us in all of those areas.

Another pointless hyperbolic thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,148 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Well this thread is below average. Therefore, by creating it, you have made Ireland a lot worse. I hope you're proud.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭Hotfail.com

We're better at criticising ourselves than any other country in the world?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

Isn't this the opposite of being hyperbolic?!

• Registered Users Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

Feck off somewhere else then. The place will be a lot brighter when all the moaners piss off to another country and moan about that one instead.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,654 ✭✭✭elefant

catallus wrote: »
    Isn't this the opposite of being hyperbolic?!

Well one thing AH is definitely not average at is exaggerating how shíte Ireland is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

We have Offaly.

As far as I know, no other country can claim that.

Our corruption is well above average. It's the fact that we're so corrupt but have a small enough population that a higher proportion of the population benefit from it compared to other places so it doesn't seem too corrupt.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭Squatman

Meh?

weather - average
    scenery - average
    Dublin - average
    soccer team - average
    wages - average
    taxes - average
    men - average
    things to do - average
    things to see - average
    the people - average
    murder rate - average
    roads - average
    police - average
    corruption - average
    ...on and on
    reland is so average. And we can only call it average if we include all third world countries.:mad:

average compared to where? you are certaintly not taking best case and worst case into account here.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭comongethappy

Its the moderation that makes Ireland one of the best.

• Registered Users Posts: 277 ✭✭Jebus Diced

independent.ie/entertainment/movies/movie-news/francis-ford-coppola-chooses-ireland-as-his-most-underrated-destination-and-says-irish-icecream-is-the-best-in-the-world-30498525.html

I still cant post links :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

Ireland is unreal, go off down to austrailia with the rest of them.

I never understood the hate people have for Ireland and their own city.

Just reeks of close mindedness and going along with the crowd.

Peoples perceptions of Limerick are a prime example of this.

• Registered Users Posts: 588 ✭✭✭Deranged96

weather - mild
    scenery - breath-taking
    Dublin - for a capital city, is quite the jewl
    women (also men to avoid offence) - stunners, the lot of us.
    soccer team - average
    wages - grand
    taxes - nearly grand
    men - riodes
    things to do - up to yourself, obvs
    things to see - up to yourself, plenty of choice
    the people - FUN. ever been to Germany?
    murder rate - average? are you stupid?
    traffic accidents - again we are above average on road safety
    internet speed/access - average (admittedly)
    roads - Just fine.
    public transport - You can get a bus in connemara, that's top class
    education system - if we're average what's the UK's or America's?
    police - amazing, they aren't armed or up themselves and they do a great job
    corruption - average? again, are you stupid?

• Registered Users Posts: 22,646 ✭✭✭✭Sauve

Feck ya OP - I'm only gorgeous.

'Average' he says...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭Snake

Ireland is unreal, go off down to austrailia with the rest of them.

I never understood the hate people have for Ireland and their own city.

Just reeks of close mindedness and going along with the crowd.

Peoples perceptions of Limerick are a prime example of this.

Limerick gave itself a bad name you can't blame the rest of Ireland for that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭I am pie

Meh?

weather - average
    scenery - average
    Dublin - average
    soccer team - average
    wages - average
    taxes - average
    men - average
    things to do - average
    things to see - average
    the people - average
    murder rate - average
    roads - average
    police - average
    corruption - average
    ...on and on

This looks like a scientifically compiled list based on thorough research.

I am giving it 10 out of 10, would use again. Recommended for academic purposes.

Wages, average! Yes, I imagine Ireland is slap bang into between southern Sudan and Switzerland !

• Registered Users Posts: 303 ✭✭Greenduck

Meh?

weather - average
    scenery - average
    Dublin - average
    soccer team - average
    wages - average
    taxes - average
    men - average
    things to do - average
    things to see - average
    the people - average
    murder rate - average
    roads - average
    police - average
    corruption - average
    ...on and on

The absolute soundness of people in general. I have yet to visit a country in the world were the people are friendlier ,funnier or more down to earth. Considering most of the other things about our country are average I'd say that we excel in the soundness stakes.

• Registered Users Posts: 415 ✭✭chosen1

Our corruption is well above average. It's the fact that we're so corrupt but have a small enough population that a higher proportion of the population benefit from it compared to other places so it doesn't seem too corrupt.

According to official rankings we are in fact the 21st least corrupt country out of 177, making us well below average in terms of corruption.

But don't let your opinion get in the way of facts.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,406 ✭✭✭Phonehead

Irelands natural beauty is unrivalled. For a small country you can have golden sandy beaches, wild hills and mountains, rugged coastline, ancient structures, beautiful river valleys, amazing little islands dotted around our coastline etc etc etc all within a few hours drive from anywhere. I'm 4 years in Toronto and it takes 7 or 8 hours just to get to a Forest.... that's it, one huge (yes beautiful) but tht's it - trees, bears and wolves oh and insects

• Registered Users Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭chrysagon

corruption... above average

politicians.....below average

USC charge....way above average

dublin football team... above average (unfortunatley)

Meath football team.........way below average

water charge....... above average

Enda kenny next Taoiseach...below average

This topic... heading below average

• Registered Users Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭BobbyPropane

Culture - Excellent

• Registered Users Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

• Registered Users Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭ZiabR

I find it hard to agree with all that OP. At best I agree with 3/4 items. The comment on scenery is crazy. On a nice day here you would find it hard to find a country more beautiful. Where are you from? You need to take a trip to Cork/Kerry/Donegal before you make a comment like that.