Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sindo - Niamh Horan's Article on Women's Rugby

• 10-08-2014 9:57pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

As I bent over with a blonde's hand slipping around the top of my thigh, I pondered how there are worse ways to burn 
calories on a sleepy Thursday evening.

Now usually I'd make someone buy me dinner before getting into this position.

But here I was, getting my first taste of the world of women's rugby.
    - See more at: http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/niamh-horan-on-women-in-rugby-i-never-play-a-game-without-my-tan-30495836.html

It gets worse! How, in light of the Irish Ladies' Team wonderful achievement against the All Backs- was this awful, sexist claptrap. I deplore the Sindo more each Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭pauliebdub

It's pure muck and patronising rubbish , but typical of the vacuous ****e that she and the Sindo come out with.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Niamh Horan.

Enough said.

The shíte she produces week after week gives good reporters a bad name.

What an awful piece of drivel.

If a man wrote that there would be hell to pay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭conorh91

I think this comment on the Indo website sums it up best
    Another Niamh Horan article about Niamh Horan.

She's happy to be the Indo's clown and a figure of ridicule. Presumably it helps pay for her prison of negative equity. Meanwhile he Indo are happy for the backlash publicity.

Best thing to do is ignore it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

serves you right for reading an article about rugby

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

No time for the indo or its owner!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,088 ✭✭✭Nib

She'd still get it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭Shakespeare's Sister

Feisty and strong independent women who don't need a man! #girlpower #heartcarrieandthegalz #livetoshop #luvmyrampantrabbit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

I don't buy it. Read that tripe online.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

"I never play a game without my tan"

Indeed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

Mind numbing stuff and I only read a paragraph.

Do people actually go to college and train to write this drivel?

wazky wrote: »

They'd be schooled in feature-writing all right but not like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,620 ✭✭✭Heroditas

So who is the worse journalist? Niamh Horan or another certain journalist whose initials are A O'R?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

Magaggie wrote: »
    They'd be schooled in feature-writing all right but not like this.

In fairness I know sweet fa about being a journalist, but I reckon I could knock out something better than this.

Heroditas wrote: »
    So who is the worse journalist? Niamh Horan or another certain journalist whose initials are A O'R?
    C.Hunt is another one (Carol).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,347 ✭✭✭Rackstar

She has her head so far stuck up her hole she doesn't know whether to speak or fart

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Barely There

efb wrote: »
    I deplore the Sindo more each Sunday.

And yet you obviously keep reading it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,994 ✭✭✭sullivlo

As a player I find the article offensive. I'd love to line up against her. Mainly because I'm a not a fit toned person because i swill beer.

Ignorance at best.

Balls.ie summed it up best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,762 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Someone should send her to do an article on a kinky bdsm club.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

And yet you obviously keep reading it.

link on twitter

Poor B is in negative equity though, this is who the Indo has its "Middle Ireland" coping classes articles about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

I imagine she went too collage (sic)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Remmy

Was this written solely to rustle jimmes? What the women's team accomplished was plenty fcukin impressive without this bull

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Feisty and strong independent women who don't need a man! #girlpower #heartcarrieandthegalz #livetoshop #luvmyrampantrabbit

And yet she'd normally "make someone" buy her dinner. I'm guessing that "someone" isn't another "strong independent woman". :rolleyes:

But as others have said, it's the Sindo... Move along people, nothing to see here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 fitzy211

watch out for tomorrows coverage of the weekend GAA with the headline 'i never play a game without my hairgel' oh wait.....
    in a week where the irish ladies team rugby teams successes have reached a broader irish audience than ever before, that was the best headline the indo managed to come up with. i didnt bother reading any more after the headline,
    also the pic of what i think is called a lineout (i wouldnt know exactly what its called, im just a woman :D ) is clearly posed and that is annoying me far more than it should :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

efb wrote: »
    As I bent over with a blonde's hand slipping around the top of my thigh, I pondered how there are worse ways to burn 
calories on a sleepy Thursday evening.

Now usually I'd make someone buy me dinner before getting into this position.

But here I was, getting my first taste of the world of women's rugby.
    - See more at: http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/niamh-horan-on-women-in-rugby-i-never-play-a-game-without-my-tan-30495836.html

It gets worse! How, in light of the Irish Ladies' Team wonderful achievement against the All Backs- was this awful, sexist claptrap. I deplore the Sindo more each Sunday.

I found the problem
    Niamh Horan's Article

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Yes, but there's no way you could, in fairness, train that brilliant level of talentlessness - it has to be there at the start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

"I never play a game without my tan"

Well what would she do, scrape it off with a wallpaper remover?

Fair play to Katy Harrington, Horan's colleague at the Sindo for this responding piece.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭Lucas Castroman

Not really, any imbecile can call themselves a journalist. The only qualification
    required is an inability to feel shame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Sex sells copies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

The club weren't happy about the retarded article either
    https://www.facebook.com/railwayunionrfc
    We were requested by the IRFU to facilitate a journalist from the Sunday Independent who wanted to do a training session and a feature on women's rugby in light of Ireland's world cup heroics. We are disappointed that what could have been a hugely positive article promoting women's rugby in Ireland at time of such achievement internationally has been reduced to stereotyping. The article in no way reflects our sport, its values and the values of our club and our members. Our club's primary goal is always the promotion of rugby, regardless of gender, and we support all teams in the club equally.

Balls.ie has a response too
    http://balls.ie/rugby/article-exactly-irish-womens-rugby-without/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,762 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

ThisRegard wrote: »
    The club weren't happy about the retarded article either
    https://www.facebook.com/railwayunionrfc

Balls.ie has a response too
    http://balls.ie/rugby/article-exactly-irish-womens-rugby-without/

Any responce to the criticism from Ms. Horan or the Indo, I wonder?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,158 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Is this the same person that purchased the over priced apartment, while her neighbours got it for much less and started to moan about it?

Or has the Indo they a very "special" team of reporters?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

And me thinking women played sports like athletes, that article rumbled my conceptions and truly opened my eyes....

Sports Presenter: So Aisling, ye had a difficult first half but managed to pull together and claw back some vital points. Was there much of a change to your team's tactics when......."

Aisling:

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

*translation* "independent" woman who can't find an actual man, but has to find solace with wishy washy "men" who circle around her, but don't rev her engine, as she watches her clock tick away.

"Articles" like this are rabble rousing clickbait and well the editors know it. There are a fair few of these "writers' they wheel out for this reason. Many news outlets do this, but the Irish scene seems to have a much higher proportion of them outside of obvious tabloids. Scarily a lot of these Irish clickbait peddlers actually don't realise it and think they're serious journalists which should be enough to put you in stitches laughing.
    In fairness I know sweet fa about being a journalist, but I reckon I could knock out something better than this.
    You probably could W. With a bit of basic training in the general rules.
    Rackstar wrote: »
    She has her head so far stuck up her hole she doesn't know whether to speak or fart
    It's official, I love you.
    Not really, any imbecile can call themselves a journalist. The only qualification
    required is an inability to feel shame.
    Connections are a big help, if not the biggest in the incestuous world that Irish "journalism" can be.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Lapin wrote: »
    Fair play to Katy Harrington, Horan's colleague at the Sindo for this responding piece.
    That's a nice reply. But this line annoyed me:
    Gearoid McCarthy, made the point that the piece was “looking for a rise” and he may be correct, but I didn’t think newspapers or journalists wrote things purely for provocation
    Is she having a laugh? The daily mail journalism (the most popular newspaper website in the world) is built on this. The likes of Dunphy, Hook and Myres have built their careers on this, and the Indo has plenty of articles that are clearly doing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

The Independent has gone to ****e.

Clickbait articles and sensationalist headlines now make it more of a tabloid than a news source.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Niamh Horan is the personification of the Celtic Tiger generation.

She's like a poor man's Katie Hopkins (UK MOUTHPIECE)

Lapin wrote: »
    Niamh Horan.

If a man wrote that there would be hell to pay.

Nice of Jonathon Healy on Newstalk Junchtime to quote me directly a few minutes ago during his feature on the piece. :)

Any responce to the criticism from Ms. Horan or the Indo, I wonder?

She said she'll respond in her column in next weeks Sindo. A classic duck & cover tactic and ploy to maintain her readership figures.

In relation to Katy Harrington's response
    Cienciano wrote: »
    That's a nice reply. But this line annoyed me:

"Gearoid McCarthy, made the point that the piece was “looking for a rise” and he may be correct, but I didn’t think newspapers or journalists wrote things purely for provocation".

Is she having a laugh? The daily mail journalism (the most popular newspaper website in the world) is built on this. The likes of Dunphy, Hook and Myres have built their careers on this, and the Indo has plenty of articles that are clearly doing it.

I agree, but one journalist isn't going to accuse another of being deliberately provocative especially when they are drawing a salary from the same publication. I reckon that line was thrown in as a sort of disclaimer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 181 ✭✭berrygood

Well that was a depressing read!

Completely disrespectful to the women's rugby team and what they accomplished. FFS, she was given a chance to write an articulate, meaty piece on women's rugby and she churns out this pj party fluff.

And that threesome comment.... Ya, cos women can't gather in a group without indulging in a bit if lesbian sex, don't ya know!!

I would say journalism is tough in Ireland print media is declining, so she has enough sense to make herself stand out with her stuff, she know more expect some one to buy her dinner before taking her to bed it an act!, i.e let every other journalist do the women in sport earnest feminist bit and she dose the sex, a bit of titillation and anti feminist bit it as old as the hills.

mariaalice wrote: »
    I would say journalism is tough in Ireland print media is declining, so she has enough sense to make herself stand out with her stuff, she know more expect some one to buy her dinner before taking her to bed it an act!, i.e let every other journalist do the women in sport earnest feminist bit and she dose the sex anti feminist bit it as old as the hills.

It's backfiring a bit...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

she is the archetypal Bimbo and she's writing for the Indo

It's backfiring a bit...

Its hard to get the balance right unless you are a very good at what you do.

mariaalice wrote: »
    Its hard to get the balance right unless you are a very good at what you do.

She's not coming across as being very good at what she does. She's coming across (refering to more than this article) as sloppy, unable to gauge public opinion, egotistical and somewhat dimwitted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

The only shocking thing about this is that people still expect better from the (S)Indo.

The paper's been a rag for well over a decade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭Vincent Vega

I'm sure after this article nobody (including many who'd never even heard of the woman before this went viral) will bother to read her next one. And the one after that. And so on.

Just like how nobody watches Fox news reports or reads Daily Mail articles.

The important thing in media, as far as the outlets are concerned are readership and viewers. It's not really important whether we agree or not.
    If it provokes an emotional response that gets you or I publicising their crap, they've won.

Clickbait.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,246 ✭✭✭iwantmydinner

I genuinely think Horan's job title is "clickbait correspondent"