Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Scumbag soccer players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

darkdubh wrote: »
    This piece of filth just sums up the kind of overpaid oafs in the premiership.Half of them should be in jail.

http://www.theguardian.com/football/2014/aug/07/ravel-morrison-threatened-throw-acid-ex-girlfriends-face

Really? Half?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 717 ✭✭✭rubberdiddies

Innocent until proven guilty, right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,070 ✭✭✭Tipsy McSwagger

What a stupid thread this is but AH has been steadily turning into stupidsville for the last few stupid months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭danrua01

Circa 600 players in the Premier League. One is up for assault. By your calculations, half of 600 is 1?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

What a stupid thread this is but AH has been steadily turning into stupidsville for the last few stupid months.

Agreed, before 2011 it was like a rocket scientist convention.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

So's your face!!!!!

Kidding :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭darkdubh

danrua01 wrote: »
    Circa 600 players in the Premier League. One is up for assault. By your calculations, half of 600 is 1?

The other 599 are all angels,ok case closed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,814 ✭✭✭FortuneChip

There's been a lot of allegations against Ravel Morrison.
    If even half of them are true, he's an absolute scumbag and should be locked up.

I don't think half of the Premier League should be locked up with him.

Maybe stick him in a cell overnight with Joey Barton?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭Dave0301

The other 599 are all angels,ok case closed.

Can you provide evidence that the other half of the players are criminal "scumbags"?

What's that?.......No, no you can't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

As the only league in the world in which football players play, the English premier league must therefore be always used an benchmark for such maters.

anncoates wrote: »
    As the only league in the world in which football players play, the English premier league must therefore be always used an benchmark for such maters.

Not a benchmark, but it's a logical sample area given Ravel Morrison plays in that league.

That explains the general scale of the title then.

anncoates wrote: »
    That explains the general scale of the title then.

The title is pretty generic, the very first line of the post is a little more specific. "Overpaid oafs in the premiership"

The title is pretty generic"

No way?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Hope he got sent of

To jail

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭darkdubh

Dave0301 wrote: »
    Can you provide evidence that the other half of the players are criminal "scumbags"?

What's that?.......No, no you can't.

Do you think you're in an episode of LA Law or something?Your typical pro soccer player is a thicko who is incapable of getting a real job.They are paid obscene amounts of money because numerous other thickos want to watch them kicking a ball around.These overpaid thickos spend their hard earned cash on hideous looking mansions and spend their free time spitroasting groupies in hotel rooms.

This piece of filth just sums up the kind of overpaid oafs in the premiership.Half of them should be in jail.

http://www.theguardian.com/football/2014/aug/07/ravel-morrison-threatened-throw-acid-ex-girlfriends-face

Does it matter what his job was ? He is a low piece of filth and hopefully he will get the appropriate punishment by the courts.

realies wrote: »
    Hope he got sent of

To jail

He should be left back....

...on the bench

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,347 ✭✭✭No Pants

I'd forgotten that West Ham were in the Premiership.

because numerous other thickos want to watch them kicking a ball around..

Good man.

Although I think the generally accepted bitter student bon mot is usually 11 men chasing a ball around.

Do you think you're in an episode of LA Law or something?Your typical pro soccer player is a thicko who is incapable of getting a real job.They are paid obscene amounts of money because numerous other thickos want to watch them kicking a ball around.These overpaid thickos spend their hard earned cash on hideous looking mansions and spend their free time spitroasting groupies in hotel rooms.

Huge generalising there, there are hundreds of pro soccer players who play and work cause they love what they do, is it there fault they get obscene wages ? As for the groupie part lol lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

The LOI 'we need some attention' brigade never miss an opportunity. :D

I have a "real" job, but if I was offered £30,000 a week for a job that involves training and playing football, I would certainly take it. Plus retire in around 10 years, sorted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

Did playing soccer make him a scumbag or did it come naturally? My guess is hes just a scumbag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Irishcrx

Morrison is and has been a well known scumbag for a long time , that's why they shipped him out of Manchester to get him away from his 'gangland' mates, didn't work apparently because he's an absolute scumbag himself...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,416 ✭✭✭✭Fitz*

Of course no mention to the like of Steven Gerrard who regularly gives a weeks wages (pretty high amount) to the Hillsborough Family Support Group among other charities through his foundation. Or no mention to the likes of the lesser known players like Steven Naismith who regularly gives match tickets to local job centres so that people who are actively looking for work & cannot afford to go to the game, can go.

Yeah, half them should be locked up. Especially the ones who are on higher wages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Turtyturd wrote: »
    The LOI 'we need some attention' brigade never miss an opportunity. :D

There hasn't been any mention of league of Ireland prior your post.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭Ralf and Florian

Irishcrx wrote: »
    Morrison is and has been a well known scumbag for a long time , that's why they shipped him out of Manchester to get him away from his 'gangland' mates, didn't work apparently because he's an absolute scumbag himself...

These boyos?

http://i.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2014/08/07/1407436670022_wps_1_Ravel_Morrison_Instagram_.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Professional sportspeople, like everyone else, come in all shapes and sizes.

I know a couple of lads that would gladly pay to play never mind get paid, but if someone wants to pay them ten grand a week why won't they take it. I know lads with university degrees, lads that are womanising partying sleazebags, lads that are family men, and lads that are out and out gangsters.

They are all different.

Who knew?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭Dave0301

You're an angry little guy aren't you!

Here, have a lollipop, and don't you worry about those stupid mean footballers.

As an aside, the reason I take umbrage with your post, is the blatant tarring of a profession based on one player. A person from any profession can commit a criminal activity, does that make over half of those other professionals the exact same?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

You're the Ravel Morrison of Boards op.

In fairness his parents did their best to deter him from a gangster life by giving him such a gay name.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

The average Soccerball scummer is an angel compared to professional team sportsmen in the USA - most of whom seem to be on doped up rape or assualt charges at any given moment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

Acid users should have their danglies submerged in aforementioned acid ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,569 ✭✭✭Hoop66

OK, so if all professional footballers aren't scumbags, can we at least agree that they're gay?

ALL. OF. THEM.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭allibastor

You know what they say, Soccer is a gentlemans game played by thugs, Rugby is a thugs game played by gentlemen.

This is what happens when little ****s like him get a load of money and fame so young and are made feel that normal rules don't apply to him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

The worst type is the 'hardman' who cowardly picks and chooses their victims, Ben Thatcher, Julian Dicks, Michael Ball, Neil Ruddock, Michael Brown to name a few, these a***holes never went near the likes of Keano or Duncan Ferguson.

There have been players like Ravel Morrison who wake up and get sense in their mid to late 20's with the spectre of retirement at a young age and only one or two contracts left, Joey Barton for example.

I can feel a Soccer Forum nag coming...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

Hoop66 wrote: »
    OK, so if all professional footballers aren't scumbags, can we at least agree that they're gay?

ALL. OF. THEM.

When football bans the use of faking out injury, as the majority of them do, and they stop being a bunch of pansies... then maybe I'd watch football. It's so god damn off putting watching "professionals" acting it out... 'tactic' or not, I find it fecking pathetic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,643 ✭✭✭RollieFingers

I've seen some ridiculous threads on AH in my time, but this must surely take the biscuit! One example given of an admittedly odious football player thus becomes an attack on all of the "scumbag" footballers :rolleyes:

http://thesource.com/2014/08/07/greg-oden-arrested-for-punching-his-ex-girlfriend/ What about all the "scumbag" NFL players?

http://www.westerndailypress.co.uk/Gloucester-England-rugby-player-Koree-Britton/story-20948620-detail/story.html Or the "Peeping Tom" rugby players?

http://www.bbc.com/news/world-asia-india-22549897 Or the corrupt cricketers?

http://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/ex-tyrone-gaa-footballer-cathal-mccarron-3341472 Or the GAA player who sucked on camera for cash?

It's pretty easy to give one example and then get on your high horse describing everyone as scumbags! Get over yourself!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

To be fair to Ravel his Bolero is good though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,089 ✭✭✭✭P. Breathnach

Has he been convicted of anything yet? Or are we seeing yet another manifestation of AH in lynch mob mode?

I have little interest in football, and never heard of Ravel Morrison until I read this thread. If the charges are proved, I would be pleased if he were severely dealt with, because the behaviour described in the report is reprehensible. But, lads, give the jury a chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,841 ✭✭✭lertsnim

There are scumbags in every profession. You do seem to have a dislike for the sport though as this stupid biased thread has shown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,213 ✭✭✭PrettyBoy

Handy work if you can get it, you just sound like a jealous muppet with a chip on your shoulder.

The reason they're overpaid is because people like the one who started this thread pay money to go to their games, buy their merchandise, and give them attention by reading stories about them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

Has he been convicted of anything yet? Or are we seeing yet another manifestation of AH in lynch mob mode?

I have little interest in football, and never heard of Ravel Morrison until I read this thread. If the charges are proved, I would be pleased if he were severely dealt with, because the behaviour described in the report is reprehensible. But, lads, give the jury a chance.

In fairness, this isn't an AH lynch mob thread. This is a thread where one person who doesn't like soccer is using accusations against a person who plays soccer, as a reason to insult all soccer players and people who watch the sport. And in turn, everyone seems to just take the piss out of the OP and point out the flawed logic.

Oh, and there was also a cracking Ravel joke in there too.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,257 ✭✭✭Peist2007

incapable of getting a real job
    They are paid obscene amounts of money

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭takamichinoku

Surprised Ravel Morrison isn't in prison yet, tbh. Definitely the weirdest prospect I've ever heard of in football, everyone was all like "this 16 year old is absolutely amazing and could be the next paul scholes or some **** but the fact is he's a total scumbag and likely won't even make the first team as a result"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,643 ✭✭✭RollieFingers

Surprised Ravel Morrison isn't in prison yet, tbh. Definitely the weirdest prospect I've ever heard of in football, everyone was all like "this 16 year old is absolutely amazing and could be the next paul scholes or some **** but the fact is he's a total scumbag and likely won't even make the first team as a result"

He has the raw talent to be in the Sterling,Shaw and Barkley group of elite youth prospects in England, pity he'd rather be a gangsta!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

I hate footballers! Over payed pansies. They're the reason my Sky bill is so high.

*shakes fist at telly. Goes back to sleep*