Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off Topic Thread V2.0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,856 ✭✭✭MiskyBoyy

EoinHef wrote:
    Can anyone recomend a program to check HDD health? Its a samsung laptop drive

Crystal disk info

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭dunworth1

EoinHef wrote:
    Can anyone recomend a program to check HDD health? Its a samsung laptop drive

Seatools

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,617 ✭✭✭Revoker88

Cheers ill try both

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Spinrite.

SMART is really kinda dumb, you need to stress the drive to know if its really failing (corrected counts ticking up = doomed disk).

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 7,445 Mod ✭✭✭✭pleasant Co.

ED E wrote: »
    Spinrite.

SMART is really kinda dumb, you need to stress the drive to know if its really failing (corrected counts ticking up = doomed disk).

I've had one of them in my ****ty netbook for about 3 yrs, running pretty much 24/7. Technology is amazing sometimes :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,429 ✭✭✭.G.

superg wrote: »
    I've a corsair k70 that keeps repeating key presses, particularly the T key. I press it once, at least 3 T's appear. Anything I can do?

Got a new keyboard so if any of you fine people want my old one as a fixer upper you can have it, just drop me a PM.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,198 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Got a new keyboard so if any of you fine people want my old one as a fixer upper you can have it, just drop me a PM.

Where are you based? I wouldn't mind trying out a mechanical keyboard even one that's fecked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,429 ✭✭✭.G.

Where are you based? I wouldn't mind trying out a mechanical keyboard even one that's fecked.

I'm in Lucan mate but another fella already asked me for it.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,198 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

I'm in Lucan mate but another fella already asked me for it.

Ah, fair enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,766 ✭✭✭farna_boy

Just started putting together my new pc and found (at least) one bent pin on the CPU socket of the motherboard.

Had set aside this weekend to put it together so fairly pissed off. Any way, I'll send it back to Amazon on Monday.

Anyone have any idea how long it will take them to send me a new one?

farna_boy wrote: »
    Just started putting together my new pc and found (at least) one bent pin on the CPU socket of the motherboard.

Had set aside this weekend to put it together so fairly pissed off. Any way, I'll send it back to Amazon on Monday.

Anyone have any idea how long it will take them to send me a new one?

RMAs go to louth normally IIRC, once its arrived there another one should be queued for dispatch. A few days.

That is assuming its not a marketplace seller.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,222 ✭✭✭Calvin

Anyone that's replaced the standard Eir router before, is it as simple as plug and play? I'm thinking of replacing the standard one with a TP-Link 5Ghz router that supports 20 wireless devices, hoping that it'll solve the connection issues I've been having.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭Mickalus

Anyone that's replaced the standard Eir router before, is it as simple as plug and play? I'm thinking of replacing the standard one with a TP-Link 5Ghz router that supports 20 wireless devices, hoping that it'll solve the connection issues I've been having.

Which router? You on normal DSL or Fibre?
    Have you asked Eir to check your line for faults?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,532 ✭✭✭Icyseanfitz

god i hate eircom, shower of cnuts

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Pretty much all routers that come from providers are garbage for WiFi, we have the UPC modem and it's appallingly bad, the range is shocking and it's constantly interrupted for a second or two every few minutes.

Mickalus wrote: »
    Which router? You on normal DSL or Fibre?
    Have you asked Eir to check your line for faults?

I'm pretty sure I'm on fibre. Have contacted Eir numerous times about it and they run me through the usual troubleshooting ****e. One time they sent out an engineer who couldn't find anything wrong. I was thinking of going for either of the two linked below:

http://www.pcworld.ie/Mobile/Product/netgear-nighthawk-r7000-wireless-cable-and-fibre-router/317134/402.0.1

http://www.pcworld.ie/Mobile/Product/asus-dslac68u-wireless-modem-router/324335/402.0.0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 878 ✭✭✭Luck100

I'm pretty sure I'm on fibre. Have contacted Eir numerous times about it and they run me through the usual troubleshooting ****e. One time they sent out an engineer who couldn't find anything wrong. I was thinking of going for either of the two linked below:

http://www.pcworld.ie/Mobile/Product/netgear-nighthawk-r7000-wireless-cable-and-fibre-router/317134/402.0.1

http://www.pcworld.ie/Mobile/Product/asus-dslac68u-wireless-modem-router/324335/402.0.0

I have the Netgear nighthawk one. Seems to work well. Got it from Amazon UK on a warehouse deal for about 100 sterling.

I also set the Virgin hub to bridged mode (no routing) and added one of these Ubiquiti routers:
    https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00EWYPA6Y/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o03_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1
    After putting in the Ubiquiti router my wired PCs simply never drop or stall on anything, ever. Even with p2p apps hammering the line, I can still stream videos or game online.

Pretty much all routers that come from providers are garbage for WiFi, we have the UPC modem and it's appallingly bad, the range is shocking and it's constantly interrupted for a second or two every few minutes.

Eir have the second best now which is actually quite ok (F2000). COMPAL from virgin is arguably the best but is issued to a minority.

Start a thread on the broadband subforum and we'll sort you out.

A new router won't help sync issues. Ods are probably 1 in 3 that that is what it is.

The netgear has been verified to work with vectoring here, the DSL68U has not and may reduce your speeds by 30%. See current known good here.

PS: Posting mobile links to a forum kills puppies

ED E wrote: »
    Eir have the second best now which is actually quite ok (F2000). COMPAL from virgin is arguably the best but is issued to a minority.

Start a thread on the broadband subforum and we'll sort you out.

A new router won't help sync issues. Ods are probably 1 in 3 that that is what it is.

The netgear has been verified to work with vectoring here, the DSL68U has not and may reduce your speeds by 30%. See current known good here.

PS: Posting mobile links to a forum kills puppies

Apologies for the mobile links :P just made a post there in the broadband forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭TheSegal

Ordered an ASUS GTX 1060 Dual 6GB card from Amazon after seeing it was available for £230, delighted with the price! However, after I bought it I noticed the dispatch date isn't until the 22nd of October.... :(

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 41,700 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Guys, would £1,000 (Stg) be enough to get a decent gaming PC. I get a bonus from my new job assuming I don't get sacked and am seriously tempted to get a rig. I don't know if my new digs will have furniture but I'll know soon.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭TheSegal

Guys, would £1,000 (Stg) be enough to get a decent gaming PC. I get a bonus from my new job assuming I don't get sacked and am seriously tempted to get a rig. I don't know if my new digs will have furniture but I'll know soon.

It should be able to get you quite a decent gaming machine. Start a thread with the standard template of what you already have and what you need and a lot of the more knowledgeable posters here should be able to help you

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 41,700 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

TheSegal wrote: »
    It should be able to get you quite a decent gaming machine. Start a thread with the standard template of what you already have and what you need and a lot of the more knowledgeable posters here should be able to help you

Cheers! I've lurked here long enough to know the drill. Didn't seem worth a new thread just to ask that. Need to see how the new gaff stacks up first though.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,779 ✭✭✭✭jayo26

Cheers! I've lurked here long enough to know the drill. Didn't seem worth a new thread just to ask that. Need to see how the new gaff stacks up first though.

10 quid on two cushions in primark and 990 pound left for your rig you be grand.

jayo26 wrote: »
    10 quid on two cushions in primark and 990 pound left for your rig you be grand.

I'm a tad confused here.

A cushion for an are to sit on and a cushion for your keyboard, mouse + monitor on the ground :p

Quick question lads, I've an i7 6700k @ 4.4 + an overclocked gtx 1080, I'm thinking of putting another 1080 in at some point, will my xfx 750watt PSU be enough or should I get something bigger?

A cushion for an are to sit on and a cushion for your keyboard, mouse + monitor on the ground :p

Ahhh... Would that not be fiercely uncomfortable?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,779 ✭✭✭✭jayo26

Ahhh... Would that not be fiercely uncomfortable?

Sorry mate I was just joking I basically ment spend what ya can in your rig and worry about furniture later ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

Quick question lads, I've an i7 6700k @ 4.4 + an overclocked gtx 1080, I'm thinking of putting another 1080 in at some point, will my xfx 750watt PSU be enough or should I get something bigger?

I don't think that would work to be honest(if you want both to work at highest speed), would work on a X99 board with mid to top end CPU.

Your i7 6700K only has 16 PCIe lanes while you would need 32 to get the most out of both 1080. You can waste your money on a second 1080 but each 1080 will only work at x8.