Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sore Losers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

The old "broken controller" is another one. It's amazing the bad runs of luck sore losers get with broken controllers :D

• Registered Users Posts: 5,076 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Davy Fitzgerald. Good manager, plays a lovely style of hurling but all the conspiracy nonsense after they lost didnt reflect well on him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

That's a sore winner

There was one kid back in primary who used to always force the football match or whatever to have him win at the end of lunch "next goal wins" "...no, not that goal, the next goal!" who was insufferable but everyone seemed to think he was great cos the school was full of ***** and sure ***** love *****, I guess.
    Anyways, when he got up to sixth class, effectively becoming king of the schoolyard, he used to spend half of every lunch having a ****ing trophy presentation to himself.

As an aside, he was still going on about how he's going to play for Liverpool when he was in sixth year :(

I'm sorry, but in the interest of his future humility and well-roundedness, I would have battered him quite badly the second time he did that. I believe that is what is missing from some peoples lives, a lack of sufficient kickings as a kid.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭SouthTippBass

We used to play Mario Kart all the time years ago, and a friend of ours was always batter at it than us. He was never smug or arrogant about it though. One evening, whatever happened, we managed to best him. Not just best him, but hammer him. He came last in a 4-player race. We were all singing and cheering like this was the best day ever, and yer man with a big grumpy head on him reaches over and turns off the Gamecube! "This is f*ckin bullsh*t"

Que a chorus of ooooooohhhh and more laughing! Freakin hilarious, I still laugh about it today. Ah, I guess you had to be there :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Arthur Beesley

You're brother isn't a sore loser. He's a psychopath.

Your, not you're

Did you just correct yourself?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,633 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

I get really irate when I don't get the last word in an internet debate.

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭darkdubh

Tell me about some sore losers you know and incidents involving them!

I can't really think of any of my own right now asides from my brother, goes absolute nuts when he loses; I've seen him drop kick an Xbox around a room (he broke two of them!), break discs in half with his teeth, chew and swallow game covers, cut jerseys to shreds ...gets scarily involved into his football games and matches, proper mental stuff. I always forget he does it until I'm home some day his team loses, you'd never expect from him at any other time.

...sore winners would be good too! :D

I've never understood why people get so worked up over football like that.This thing of following teams and talking about the bloody team like theyre on the board of management or something, "we're in with a chance this season" etc.Some younger lads at work talk about nothing else.Boring facts and figures about transfer fees etc.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,267 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

That's a sore winner

There was one kid back in primary who used to always force the football match or whatever to have him win at the end of lunch "next goal wins" "...no, not that goal, the next goal!" who was insufferable but everyone seemed to think he was great cos the school was full of ***** and sure ***** love *****, I guess.
    Anyways, when he got up to sixth class, effectively becoming king of the schoolyard, he used to spend half of every lunch having a ****ing trophy presentation to himself.

As an aside, he was still going on about how he's going to play for Liverpool when he was in sixth year :(

Tell me this was Robbie Keane

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Barely There

I have a 5 year old whom I like to play chess with.
    I'll usually engage in a good bit of trash-talk in the lead up to and during the game - especially if he forgets what way the knight moves or something.

Then when I inevitably win I'll make up a victory dance and a song about how great I am at chess.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,089 ✭✭✭✭P. Breathnach

I am a good loser.

I put it down to lots of practice.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

Play League of Legends, and be prepared to see how abysmal the "community" of it is. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭takamichinoku

Robsweezie wrote: »
    used to play wwe on the playstation with a friend of mine. Every time I came close to winning and had him in a pin attempt that was headed for a 3 count he would threaten to quit the game
    I gather half the people on Xbox live do this the whole time on just about any game.

Speaking of WWE, I beat my older brother on one of them once where he climbed up the cell, fell off, then tried climbing up again, and immediately fell off again so I just pinned him and got the 3 about a minute into the game.
    Beat the **** out of me after that, so he did.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

Any online game especially league of legends and "professional" call of duty players. In fact, they are dicks no matter of they are winning or losing.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,579 ✭✭✭Mal-Adjusted

Way back in primary school, a friend and I would play with the classrooms chess set. whenever i'd get close to winning, he'd just grab any piece of his and jump it around the board like crazy and walk away, claiming he'd won. The thing is, we were both crap at it, he'd legitimately win as often as i would.
    "professional" call of duty players.

Please tell me that's not really a thing! :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 36,240 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

'Show me a good loser and I'll show you a loser'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

I am a gracefull loser on the outside but inside I am ****ing seething...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,332 ✭✭✭Hoop66

OldGoat wrote: »
    I get really irate when I don't get the last word in an internet debate.

No you don't.

• Registered Users Posts: 516 ✭✭✭Jogathon

I used to go out with a guy who was a bit like that. It was the most unattractive thing ever. Still makes my skin crawl when I think about his reactions to losing.