Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Petrol Cars with Air Con - Do They Exist???

• 05-08-2014 7:25pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 8,411 ✭✭✭

Hi

Thinking about changing out the car. Ideally would like another Fiesta, about 2-3 years old max, but there's very little choice unless I import one from the UK. And there's none that I can see with air con!! And in order to do so, it'll be about 2.3k in VRT if we bring in a 2012 model :mad:

Any ideas where I can look? Tried Carzone, but nothing doing.

TIA :)

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Donedeal?

I just looked for alfa romeos and found a few petrols with aircon

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,522 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,364 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,411 ✭✭✭ABajaninCork

Thanks for those! I knew the Titanium had air con, but didn't think the Style did. I'd prefer not to buy from Done Deal if I can possibly help it...

I'll have a look at those Bazz posted up.

Thanks again! Doubtless, I'll be like Arnie - back!!

You're not buying the car from donedeal...
    Donedeal is a representation of the market, I hope you don't think that using carzone somehow gives you a better quality car

No, of course not! I do my research as throughly as I can, get HPI checks and get the AA inspection done wherever I've bought the car.

Thanks for the suggestions guys. Keep 'em coming.

How much can you spend on this car?

Just getting a feel for prices at the moment, as I didn't know what they went for. I reckon about 10-12k tops...

I'd have a serious look at these, had a spin in one 2 years ago and was very impressed

http://www.carzone.ie/search/KIA/Rio/1..2-ex-/37913888404393020/advert?channel=CARS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 ANMHI

my Astra GTC has air con

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

What the feck does be going through people's mind. Oh I'll buy a new car, and give it the most basic spec as possible, removing as much of the creature comforts as possible to make that new plate just a little bit cheaper. It's madness to think that a new car in this day and age can come without aircon.
    My 18 year old gtv has aircon :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

What the feck does be going through people's mind.

My 60 something year old mother had to argue with a salesman in Jan 2013 to get a quote for a Toyota with aircon. He told us we were mad and that nobody wanted it. As for wanting a petrol, sure everyone else wants diesel. It was the strangest experience of my life. A genuine cash buyer who could afford anything he had in the yard and a genuine hassle free sale (3 cars in a row before it and most likely a repeat sale) and he wanted to sell the base model. The killer came in his final line, your husband (name was used but I'll with hold that) would buy it if he was still alive :eek:

Now the killer line at the end was shocking but he wasn't the only salesperson who advised the basic model in the yard or to order even though she wanted something superior.

ba_barabus wrote: »
    My 60 something year old mother had to argue with a salesman in Jan 2013 to get a quote for a Toyota with aircon. He told us we were mad and that nobody wanted it. As for wanting a petrol, sure everyone else wants diesel. It was the strangest experience of my life. A genuine cash buyer who could afford anything he had in the yard and a genuine hassle free sale (3 cars in a row before it and most likely a repeat sale) and he wanted to sell the base model. The killer came in his final line, your husband (name was used but I'll with hold that) would buy it if he was still alive :eek:

Now the killer line at the end was shocking but he wasn't the only salesperson who advised the basic model in the yard or to order even though she wanted something superior.

If its the one I'm thinking of down your neck of the woods, this same dealer has a "motorists prayer" printed on the back of the tax disc holder too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,053 ✭✭✭Casati

colm_mcm wrote: »
    If its the one I'm thinking of down your neck of the woods, this same dealer has a "motorists prayer" printed on the back of the tax disc holder too

Looking at the number of basic Toyota on the road my guess is that most dealers give similar advise to most customers. Looking at the prices Toyota traditionally charge to buy a higher spec model I can see the logic - i.e. if they talk the buyer into spending 4k extra to buy say a SOL Corolla, but only offer a grand more for it come trade in, they risk losing that customer to another brand next time round

Casati wrote: »
    Looking at the number of basic Toyota on the road my guess is that most dealers give similar advise to most customers. Looking at the prices Toyota traditionally charge to buy a higher spec model I can see the logic - i.e. if they talk the buyer into spending 4k extra to buy say a SOL Corolla, but only offer a grand more for it come trade in, they risk losing that customer to another brand next time round

Indeed, I used to sell them, and at that time you took whatever cars you were given. They insisted on bringing in crap colours and base specs and petrols - apparently based on what models has traditionally sold before (which is laughable as dealers just sold what they could get)

Getting something like a 1.3 or a 3dr or aircon in a Yaris would have been factory order for example.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Indeed, I used to sell them, and at that time you took whatever cars you were given. They insisted on bringing in crap colours and base specs and petrols - apparently based on what models has traditionally sold before (which is laughable as dealers just sold what they could get)

Getting something like a 1.3 or a 3dr or aircon in a Yaris would have been factory order for example.

why would toyota ireland want to do business this way? to control the demand by limiting availability in a "they'l like what we tell them to like" kind of way?

No idea. To be fair to them they have done very well in Ireland compared to say the UK. Not as well these days obviously but still.

No but I know where you are talking about. She was previously ignored there and passed over twice by the salesman so he could deal with a male customer. She has never gone back.

You're right about anything better being a factory order. It seems to be they are 'encouraged' to sell what they receive from the distributor. It helps keep down costs and lead times from what I understand.

I don't think that they carry as much stock nowadays but being able to get a car in a matter of days really helped sell the cars.

I was asking a guy who works in Burnston about the cars they send to Ireland. He wouldn't believe me that they supply them without aircon and with steel wheels. An hour later he contacted me after checking the build sheets wondering why we wanted 3rd world cars :D

What the feck does be going through people's mind. Oh I'll buy a new car, and give it the most basic spec as possible, removing as much of the creature comforts as possible to make that new plate just a little bit cheaper. It's madness to think that a new car in this day and age can come without aircon.

And so did my 2001 Peugeot 206 GLX that I imported into here!!! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

I don't think I have ever been in a car made in the last 20 years without air con.

If you were offered a car for sale without aircon in London where I'm from, people would think you're on crack!!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 846 ✭✭✭stephenmarr

My 05 530i has
    Air con & a sunroof
    Must be rare :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

I don't think I have ever been in a car made in the last 20 years without air con.

In Ireland? I could probably count on one hand the number of cars that I have been in that have A/C...

Lads, it's all very good and well saying a 10 or 20 year old sports car or mid size exec saloon had air conditioning. Don't forget that the original owner paid a lot more for those cars back in the day than the price of an entry level ecobox these days. It's like comparing apples to oranges.

Remember that the likes of the Audi A3 only got air conditioning as standard back in 2009, a car that cost considerably more than the Golf it was based on, the A4 only got rear electric windows as standard here in 2008. FFS Ford still have remote central locking as an optional extra on the Fiesta. The likes of the Octavia doesn't have air con as standard either so it's not just a Toyota thing.

djimi wrote: »
    In Ireland? I could probably count on one hand the number of cars that I have been in that have A/C...

What? Can't believe what I a hearing. Maybe every car I have ever owned or driven was an import.

What next most people have no electric windows.

My 05 530i has
    Air con & a sunroof
    Must be rare :-)

Not sure about that, 2 of my old FTOs, Shogun, S type and my current Civic and 323 have sunroof and aircon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Not sure about that, 2 of my old FTOs, Shogun, S type and my current Civic and 323 have sunroof and aircon.

same as that my S60 has sunroof,aircon and leather. The holy trinity.

What? Can't believe what I a hearing. Maybe every car I have ever owned or driven was an import.

What next most people have no electric windows.

What I have owned and what I have been in are two very different things... Cars I own have A/C because I wouldnt be without it. It seems the majority in this country do not think the same...

Maybe its different in newer cars (I havent been in any 13x or 14x cars in fairness). Certainly the more exec level of car will have A/C. But for most "normal" cars, its not really something I see in too many.

I would crack up without A/C, would love a sunroof again, but could quite happily live my entire life never having to sit on leather car seats again :P

djimi wrote: »
    What I have owned and what I have been in are two very different things... Cars I own have A/C because I wouldnt be without it. It seems the majority in this country do not think the same...

Maybe its different in newer cars (I havent been in any 13x or 14x cars in fairness). Certainly the more exec level of car will have A/C. But for most "normal" cars, its not really something I see in too many.

I knew in some cars it was the basic spec, I just didn't realise most people neglected to add it. Must motorway driving horrible in summer with all the wind noise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

525i
    5 x Alfa 156's

All aircon, sunroof, and with the exception of the 525 and 2 of the 156's , momo leather setas. They are out there....

Although, my 156 doesn't have a sunroof and I've decided to leave the aircon out, for my own reasons. Not that the car is spartan spec (elec windows all round, velour interior, black dials etc) I just want to create something unique for myself (all 156's 2.0 upwards had air con as standard, sunroof was optional on the 2.0 and 2.4, thus it was never an option to have neither!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,973 ✭✭✭Sh1tbag OToole

Tis all about removing weight to shave off precious milliseconds from the 0-60 time.

People think they don't need it here but I find it fierce good for soaking up the moisture out of the air on a humid day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,902 ✭✭✭RayCon

^ Yip same here ... my 2001 Accord has Air Con & a Sunroof

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,141 ✭✭✭Yakuza

Bought a Highline 1.6 Golf in 2002. Having come from a '91 JDM Celica, I wanted aircon in the new car as I'd become used to it. It cost me north of €2k for a/c and the winter pack (heated seats and headlight washers). Ouch!

Been looking online for the past few days. Pickings are very slim....:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Why not go older to try and find some with A/C? Or look at different cars altogether instead of just a Fiesta.

New shape Kia Rio has air con:

media?xwm=y&id=8a99437f-e0d5-41ab-a7ef-9a2e8f8fc084&width=400&height=300
    http://www.driving.ie/used-cars/KIA/Rio/EX-4DR/42813935192902220/

Mazda 2 is worth looking at too, it's basically a Fiesta underneath anyway:

media?xwm=y&id=5ef0f971-7ab3-4ba9-91b1-5f53db9dd2fa&width=400&height=300
    http://www.driving.ie/used-cars/Mazda/Mazda2/1.3-(84PS)SPORT/66014075803841950/

Why not go older to try and find some with A/C? Or look at different cars altogether instead of just a Fiesta.

I could, but it's not what I want. Another Fiesta which doesn't yet need an NCT with aircon is what we're looking for. Might need to go home for one. Polo, Peugeot 208 or Astra might also fit the bill, but the Fiesta would be first choice.

Not interested in Kia's, Suzuki or Hyundai I'm afraid, but thanks

EDIT - Just checked out the Mazda 2 Bazz put up. Looks a nice car!

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 7,730 Mod ✭✭✭✭delly

My '02 Punto had A/C and a sunroof, so it isn't just the mid range cars that have it :pac:
    Not interested in Kia's, Suzuki or Hyundai I'm afraid, but thanks!

As a matter of interest can I ask why? I know some purchasers like to stick to a specific sales process and brand, without really having a fully rounded view of all cars within the segment. I'm not saying this is the same for yourself and you may have very good reasons for excluding the above, but just curious.

Drove plenty of Suzukis in Barbados where they're popular. Just don't like them! Hyundai and Kia's I've driven as well. Don't like the finish or the interiors on them - To me, they feel a bit cheap and nasty. But - that's my opinion!

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 7,730 Mod ✭✭✭✭delly

Drove plenty of Suzukis in Barbados where they're popular. Just don't like them! Hyundai and Kia's I've driven as well. Don't like the finish or the interiors on them - To me, they feel a bit cheap and nasty. But - that's my opinion!

That's fair enough if it is from direct experience. I moved from an '06 Focus to a 141 Ceed this year and have been very impressed, their 'soft touch' interior and the like have dramatically improved in a very short number of years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

My 7 year old Volvo has aircon that would melt or freeze your face depending on your mood :p

The Clio would be my pick of the bunch, 0.9TCe is supposed to be a good engine, along with the proven 1.5DCi.

We were given a Clio as courtesy car last year when ours went in for repair. HATED it. I realise it was probably a lower spec car, but felt very clunky and underpowered to me. The interior felt roomy and well-laid out, boot space is very small....

I took a test drive in the 1.2L Clio. It is shockingly underpowered and I completely agree with what you said above. However........I jumped into a 1.5dci straight away and it was a totally different car. Sadly they're too expensive.

That was probably the 1.2 I'd say, reliable but a bit short of power these days, it's ancient.