Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ladies Rugby World Cup: will you be watching?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,967 ✭✭✭✭The Lost Sheep

Black Ferns, not the All Blacks...
    So what. Still a win over a senior NZ side an All Blacks side. Hopefully we can see wins against NZ at mens u20, senior mens etc soon enough

• Registered Users Posts: 81,223 ✭✭✭✭biko

No I don't watch any rugby. Hope they do well and all though.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,080 ✭✭✭EoghanIRL

Is it on comedy central?

Want to hear a joke ?

Women's sports.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,056 ✭✭✭_Redzer_

It's pretty sad that they've come so far, had a massive match and won against the all blacks, yet it looks like they're playing in my shītty local GAA pitch. Whereas the lads get massive stadiums and crowds in the 100 thousand and major international coverage.

The disparity is gigantic. I don't really get why it's so big, though I can understand why it might not be as popular.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,745 ✭✭✭Macavity.

Haven't watched any of it and probably won't as am busy, but good luck to them.

• Registered Users Posts: 746 ✭✭✭calfmuscle

Yup I was down the pub with a group to watch the match. Brilliant match and delighted they won. They work their arses off, training and working full time to get where they are! So proud!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,437 ✭✭✭tritium

_Redzer_ wrote: »
    It's pretty sad that they've come so far, had a massive match and won against the all blacks, yet it looks like they're playing in my shītty local GAA pitch. Whereas the lads get massive stadiums and crowds in the 100 thousand and major international coverage.

The disparity is gigantic. I don't really get why it's so big, though I can understand why it might not be as popular.

Same could be said for many minority sports in both genders. its actually frustrating how good Ireland is at some sports yet get very little coverage or support.

Well done to the team on an terrific result. In spite of the begrudgers you've done your country proud. Not many sides at any level of rugby union can boast a 100% record against New Zealand!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,229 ✭✭✭LeinsterDub

EoghanIRL wrote: »
    Want to hear a joke ?

Women's sports.

2277682-1666837-thats_the_joke_super.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 12,089 ✭✭✭✭P. Breathnach

Dissing women's achievements in sport is typically the behaviour of males who have no success with either women or sport.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

You wouldn't want to see these women naked

I'm not sure whether this is sexist or anti-sexist, but I'm sure someone is wrong! :pac:

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

So far the Ireland matches have been on at a bad time for me. So I have only really kept up with results.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Arthur Beesley

Pass.

• Registered Users Posts: 36,240 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Dissing women's achievements in sport is typically the behaviour of males who have no success with either women or sport.

Spot on.

Tremendous achievement from a very committed bunch of sportspeople.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭Sundy

Yep because my friends are playing for Australia. Unfortunately the standard of rugby can be average at times.

Can't take away from the effort the girls have put in to get there though. I doubt any of these girls get paid, so consider they have to take loads of time off work, much of it unpaid.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

_Redzer_ wrote: »

It all comes down to the commercialisation of it. Most people expect major sports brands to have men performing. A lot of UK football clubs have Women's teams and they tend to play in stadiums too big for the support they get.

S'pose for women's sports (as in the sports typically seen as male dominated) needs to find a way to captivate the target audience. I recall of a Lengerie League being promoted somewhere before. Not sure if it took off, although when product is meant to be sport, it really shouldn't need to be sexualised in such a way.

Also, a lot of the issue with it, is that these sports teams are generally amateur or semi-pro. Don't think I've seen a fully professional league setup for women.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

Fair play to them, but no I won't be watching. Not because it's women (hey! I was watching bits of the recent Galway minor ladies success, and the U-19 national soccer success) but because it's rugby and I don't particularly enjoy it.

Dissing a sport because of the gender of those playing is moronic. And I'm not a fan of the instant sex jokes that usually accompany it.

As an aside I saw on the news, that the NZ women even do the hakka. Jesus Christ.

• Registered Users Posts: 35 chamaid

Some achievement. What time is the next match at?

• Registered Users Posts: 746 ✭✭✭calfmuscle

chamaid wrote: »
    Some achievement. What time is the next match at?

12 on Saturday :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 152 ✭✭LiveIsLife

eviltwin wrote: »
    Can people not just congratulate them on a job well done even if they are "just" women? Its a great achievement, well done.

What exactly are you on about? Everybody has congratulated them on a job well done, nobody has they're 'just' women. I honestly don't understand this mentality of trying to find negatives when there are none.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

LiveIsLife wrote: »
    What exactly are you on about? Everybody has congratulated them on a job well done, nobody has they're 'just' women. I honestly don't understand this mentality of trying to find negatives when there are none.

Your new round here aren't you?

• Registered Users Posts: 24,487 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

You wouldn't want to see these women naked

why no?t, super fit, built women are hot!!
    well, maybe not the front row though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭Spring Onion

Great victory over NZ. I watched it all and they were fantastic. They showed great composure throughout.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,741 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

I am not a fan of rugby whether it is male or female so will not be watching, but well done to them on their achievements so far.