2015 NFL Draft

I'm curious to see if the success of last years receivers makes a team more comfortable taking a guy in the first or if the depth of last years receivers will make the position go the way of the running back this year and say they can get them in the 2-4th rounds

what time does the first round kick off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Thank feck the draft is this week. For me the wait never felt as long as this year. Once the draft is underway, I will be able convince myself that the new season is around the corner.

dont do that to yourself you'll wish away your summer and its a long fecking summer

what time does the first round kick off

8:00pm stateside and 1:00am for us in the Emerald Isle.

dont do that to yourself you'll wish away your summer and its a long fecking summer

Ya I know. To eat up the time, I tend to stay clear of all the pre-draft stuff and then catch up on any guys we draft & the other key draft moves by other teams. That way it kills a bit of the waiting time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,725 ✭✭✭kennyb3

Morrison J wrote: »
    Brandon Kiley
    @BKSportsTalk
    SCOOP: Shane Ray cited for possession of marijuana this morning in Cooper County, MO. http://www.mshp.dps.mo.gov/HP71/ArrestDetailsAction?TW01REPORTNUMBER=I243822F

Should bring his draft stock down to a more reasonable level.

I know we've had this discussion and agreed to disagree but I did find this interesting

Adam Schefter
    @AdamSchefter

Former Colts GM and ESPN analyst Bill Polian on Shane Ray: "When I see him, I see Robert Mathis."

Brandon Kiley ‏@BKSportsTalk
    "Shane Ray would be the guy (that I stand up on the table for)... He's got everything you want in a pass rusher" -Bill Polian on SVP #Mizzou

I wonder if he'll really make it out of the first tbh.

i guess it depends on the team and the interview he's had with those teams if a team at the end of the first believes that they have the locker room to help him realise how stupid it is they may take him. teams like the pats have taken chances on guys them selves and the hawks in particular would possibly snap him up.

from and eagles perspective i would imagine he's off the board now even if he drops to 20 chip has been really careful about the character of the guys he's picked unfortunately i dont see him taking a flyer on a guy even if he drops

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,475 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

From Reddit on the Shane Ray charge:
    I swear, some of these players are just trying to fall to SB contention teams...
    Holy ****. Shane Ray's actually a genius

Although, the counter argument:
    He likely just cost himself millions of dollars because he couldn't stop smoking weed for a couple months. If he was going to go top 10 (which seemed somewhat likely) and now goes in the bottom of the first he'll have cost himself no less than $5mil (if he had been picked around #10) and up to $10mil (if he had been picked around #5)
    permalinksaveparentreportgive goldreply

One time I bough a pizza when my account balance was low, and the pizza ended up costing me 60$ in overdraft fees. That was an expensive pizza.
    I know just how Ray must feel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,967 ✭✭✭Morrison J

kennyb3 wrote: »
    I know we've had this discussion and agreed to disagree but I did find this interesting

Adam Schefter
    @AdamSchefter

Former Colts GM and ESPN analyst Bill Polian on Shane Ray: "When I see him, I see Robert Mathis."

Brandon Kiley ‏@BKSportsTalk
    "Shane Ray would be the guy (that I stand up on the table for)... He's got everything you want in a pass rusher" -Bill Polian on SVP #Mizzou

I wonder if he'll really make it out of the first tbh.
    Former Buccaneers General Manager Mark Dominik on Shane Ray-- Mike and Mike

“This changes Shane Ray dramatically because it’s, to me, such a poor decision this close to the draft. It’s the decision making. What is this guy going to do on Friday or Saturday night before a big game? Is he going to make another poor choice like this? The timing is so bad, and the foot issue, tells me that this guy isn’t just dropping out of the first round, he’s dropping to the third or fourth round now,” Dominik said on Mike & Mike. “I know he’s dropping out of the first round. I don’t see any way he’s going in the first round.”

It only takes one GM to like him enough at the end of the day for him to be a first rounder but at this stage with the injury, drugs and subjective tape I'd be pretty surprised if someone took a shot on him.

jesus that would be an insane drop to go from maby a top 5 pick to 3rd round or later within a few days of the draft has that ever happened before

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 431 ✭✭Innish_Rebel

jesus that would be an insane drop to go from maby a top 5 pick to 3rd round or later within a few days of the draft has that ever happened before

I can't see it - some one will surely bite if he drops to bottom 1st early 2nd...

Talent wise some commentators have him top 5... God he's costing himself some amount of money for a bit of weed... I still find it hard to get my head around how many pro (or wanna be pro) athletes that put all this effort in to make it and then are prepared to take a substance... FFS most inter county GAA players these days don't even drink!!!

I can't see it - some one will surely bite if he drops to bottom 1st early 2nd...

Talent wise some commentators have him top 5... God he's costing himself some amount of money for a bit of weed... I still find it hard to get my head around how many pro (or wanna be pro) athletes that put all this effort in to make it and then are prepared to take a substance... FFS most inter county GAA players these days don't even drink!!!

i would say weed does not really affect your athletic performance bar possibly motivation for some but i would hardly say thats an issue if a guy is being touted as a 1st round pick.

its more the idiocy of letting this happening so close to the draft there are few if any things i could not give up for a few months for millions of dollars.

does anyone know when the test was actually taken?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Ray won't get past the Ravens at #26.

I know the Ravens have a huge need at CB and a strong need at WR, but Baltimore always go BPA. Harbaugh spoke specifically about him in a news conference about 3 weeks ago, I wouldn't be at all surprised if he's the BPA on their board at that stage if he falls:
    Head Coach John Harbaugh was on the treadmill early Wednesday morning when General Manager Ozzie Newsome walked into the gym.

The two, who are both knee-deep in college tape, struck up a conversation about Missouri pass rusher Shane Ray.

“We both like him,” Harbaugh readily admitted.

The SEC’s reigning Defensive Player of the Year logged 65 tackles last year, including a staggering 22.5 for loss and 14.5 sacks. He also forced three fumbles.

“What jumps out first of all is his motor, right? This guy has an unbelievable motor,” Harbaugh said. “He’s going to get plenty of NFL sacks just because he’s going to keep coming relentlessly.”

“He’s a leverage rusher with subtle speed to work the edges,” Harbaugh said. “He can work the edge of an offensive tackle like few other guys. So, he’s an interesting guy.”

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

“As network partners of the NFL, we encourage and appreciate your coverage of the Draft in Chicago this year and ask for your cooperation with this approach,” an email from NFL senior V.P. of broadcasting Howard Katz to the men who run NBC Sports, CBS Sports, and FOX Sports. “Please have your reporters and other personnel refrain from revealing picks on social media or other platforms before they are announced in the Draft broadcasts.”

The league has asked the networks not to tip the picks. However they didn't address this to NFL Network who are an offender too!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭JaMarcusHustle

mikemac1 wrote: »
    The league has asked the networks not to tip the picks. However they didn't address this to NFL Network who are an offender too!

Doesn't really matter. NFL Network said they wouldn't last year yet Mayock still couldn't help himself. I really dislike him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭tripperman

Last year was the first time I watched the draft and been honest he ruined it for me, would rather have Goodell say it first and mayock just say I think its player x from duke and then ether be correct or wrong and just say I didn't see that coming

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

tripperman wrote: »
    Last year was the first time I watched the draft and been honest he ruined it for me, would rather have Goodell say it first and mayock just say I think its player x from duke and then ether be correct or wrong and just say I didn't see that coming

That's what I can't understand, nobody us under the impression that he's just that brilliant and gets a flash of inspiration, he's either deluding himself or is deliberately ruining the show he's on. Nobody thinks less of him if he gets a guess wrong, but everyone thinks less of him and the show this way. Annoying isn't the word.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,475 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

Doesn't really matter. NFL Network said they wouldn't last year yet Mayock still couldn't help himself. I really dislike him.

Didn't really find Mayock did it last year, tbh. It seemed genuine, rather than him being told of the picks and then "guessing", as far as I remember.

Year before was the major issue, I think.

Edit: Having read through the start of last year's draft discussion thread, think I was wrong :pac:

Thread is here for anyone interested, actually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭Leslie91

Mayock was a complete bollix last year... appearing like some sort of feckin oracle right before the announcement. The worst on social media last yr was Jason LaCanfora. Heard him on the Darren Smith show this week and Darren asked him will he be doing the same again and telling the world on twitter 5 mins before Goodell does. And he said he didn't think he would. I'm going to stay off Twitter because of this, but if Mayock is up to his old tricks I might have to kick the screen in.

if i remember correctly he suddenly changed his mind and decided the jags where going to pick blake bortles a min or so before the pick that was when people started catching on because it was absolute bull****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭tripperman

if i remember correctly he suddenly changed his mind and decided the jags where going to pick blake bortles a min or so before the pick that was when people started catching on because it was absolute bull****

I think that's when I realised he wasnt guessing but been told

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 41,958 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

I suppose it's a bit annoying that somebody says who is picked before it's announced on stage but it doesn't really bother me. I just want to know as quickly as possible who has been drafted so whether it's Mike Mayock or Goodell that tells me is unimportant.

Mayock has always done a good job and I like hearing his views on draft prospects every year. I don't think he is much better than any other draftnik but he does explain what he sees in each kid which is why I like to hear what he has to say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭Alfred Borden

Mayock has Mariota, Gordon and White as his #1 QB, RB and WR. Is it just me that thinks he is trying to be different? Winston, Gurley and Cooper are far better than each of those.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Yep. When the Jaguars were on the clock he was doing analysis on both Mack and Watkins as he said it would be either of them. Then as Goddell was going up to the podium he was asked for his final thoughts and out of nowhere said "Mack or Watkins, but it could be Bortles" :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭Alfred Borden

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭nasty_crash

Watching the draft i dont go on social media for about 2-3 mins before each pick - then when the pick is done have a look! Mayock i didnt think was too bad last year - he kinda said about jags liking bortles in the weeks leading up to the draft!

In fairness to mayock - yeah he is annoying and everything your all saying is right - but he has had cooper and gordon his number 1s since he made the list - and to think that gurley has been out for a year and thats why he isnt number 1 - and if white actually continues his progress and gets into a good system with a good qb his ceiling could be very very high - a la Mr Beckham Jnr - so its not a surprise to see him number 1. Although i dont think that anyone really thinks Bucs aint gonna take Winston with the first pick but there is a lot of scouts, reporters etc who would prefer Mariota - Jeff rinebold said it best - mariota will take care of the ball better, very few interceptions, no issues with character, good size, speed, awareness - winston will go number 1 - even though he has all those issues against him - slow 40 time - off field issues - inception machine last year etc but he will still go number 1!

Cant wait for thursday night....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

eagle eye wrote: »
    I suppose it's a bit annoying that somebody says who is picked before it's announced on stage but it doesn't really bother me. I just want to know as quickly as possible who has been drafted so whether it's Mike Mayock or Goodell that tells me is unimportant.

Mayock has always done a good job and I like hearing his views on draft prospects every year. I don't think he is much better than any other draftnik but he does explain what he sees in each kid which is why I like to hear what he has to say.

Honestly it really doesn't bother me either finding out on Twitter or elsewhere before Goodell announces it, you find out in less than a minute away, nothing to lose sleep over.

The only thing that bothers me is when one of the experts who already know from their sources who's getting picked, acting all coy on TV going "Hmm if i was to guess who's getting picked here, it would be Manziel" and then sitting smugly on TV after their "prediction" is correct.

Schefter did this multiple times last year, even after being told not to. It is pathetic how badly these guys needs the attention of getting the scoop. They're like the internet commentators you see getting off on posting a "First!" comment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

What will be the rule for this thread when the draft is on? Can we post picks before they are announced? Should we open a poll to decide?

I'm for posting picks before they are announced because I don't think it makes much of a difference.

In last year's thread, i don't think we were allowed to post which was fine but people gave out to me at one stage for posting something like this "Looks like the Vikings are trying to trade back into the first". The rules of the thread were not clearly defined so anytime i posted a rumour it was sometimes not received well. I think the rumours and the ongoing back room dealings all add to the excitement of the draft.

Or maybe we should just have two threads, one with no spoilers and one thread that's a free for all? Or will splitting the posters up run the fun?

dont see the point in people putting them up before there announced its about 30 seconds to a min difference generally and personally i find theres a far better buzz hearing it from the commish so if theres not a non spoiler thread i won't be going near boards but i guess open a spoiler one away if you feel there will be a demand for it i dont know how many people will actually use it though