Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Video of Shocking scenes as woman gets punched in the face on Dublin Bus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,742 ✭✭✭kingtiger

bumper234 wrote: »
    And people just watched this happen! :eek:]

From the posted link

"It is understood that a second man, who intervened in the incident, received minor injuries."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,885 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

They do this with impunity. Even if caught he will walk in to court and more than likely walk out with another conviction on the rap sheet. He will still be walking the streets.

The justice system in Ireland is broken. No punishment means free for all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

kingtiger wrote: »
    From the posted link

"It is understood that a second man, who intervened in the incident, received minor injuries."

And the other 17 though. iI know someone did help (thankfully) But sickens me when scrotes like this get away. Hopefully the CCTV got clear pictures of him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

How many of the 18 were on the upper deck? How many saw it? How many would be able intervene and according to the report one person did and hats off to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

A garda representative told the Herald that they are investigating the incident but noted that they did not attend the scene immediately.
    Old Kilmainham Village

Course they didnt, clearly it was too far away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

This sort of thing happens in every city so isn't a big deal right? Or something like that.

Nice to know if I'm ever being attacked the gardai will take their time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

It's all very well saying "where were the other passengers", but there are multiple reports of people intervening in situations like the above only to have both parties turn on the person who tried to intervene.
    I'm not saying that would have happened here but still. I'd like to think I would intervene but I hope to never be put in that position.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭Dan Chipowski

What a brave chap this scumbag must be.

The gardai are the single worst and ill equipped police force in the Europe Union in my opinion. What surprises me is the people that seem to expect more.

I expect what the gardai are - useless. I expect the soft touch from the justice system. I expect no prison places for little toe rags like this.

On what basis has anyone got any respect for any aspect of justice in this country because I certainly don't. I'm still trying to figure it out.

How come someone was filming from outside the bus? Doesn't look like anyone else is on top deck. How long did this assault go on for?

Poor woman, appears from the vid that she couldn't get to the stairs to escape.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭Potatoeman

razorblunt wrote: »
    It's all very well saying "where were the other passengers", but there are multiple reports of people intervening in situations like the above only to have both parties turn on the person who tried to intervene.
    I'm not saying that would have happened here but still. I'd like to think I would intervene but I hope to never be put in that position.

What was she talking to him about from half down the bus?

How come someone was filming from outside the bus? Doesn't look like anyone else is on top deck. How long did this assault go on for?

Poor woman, appears from the vid that she couldn't get to the stairs to escape.

No he pens her in and starts pummeling her, Am sure the guards will know who he is but as was said already, even if he has a long string of previous he will more than likely get a slap on the wrist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭gugleguy

And the other 17 though. iI know someone did help (thankfully) But sickens me when scrotes like this get away. Hopefully the CCTV got clear pictures of him.
    Yes, this is Dublin Bus passengers true flying colours. Two years ago, there was a violent incident onboard the 39. This was not filmed or anything but the other passengers did nothing. Speaking for myself - I'm no have - a - go hero for that matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,408 ✭✭✭whomitconcerns

God isn't he brave...... Surely someone will or can identify this scum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

I get the Nitelink on a weekly basis, and none of the hundreds of lads I've seen getting the sh!t kicked out of them by scumbags over the years has ever got a newspaper article.

Take from that whatever you will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,375 ✭✭✭padser

It's not really clear whether they knew each other or whether it was a random assault.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,111 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

This was on broadsheet this morning, comments are saying it was two Mexicans that got attacked for being foreigners

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,154 ✭✭✭Dolbert

Here's the Broadsheet article, apparently he was a total stranger.
    I get the Nitelink on a weekly basis, and none of the hundreds of lads I've seen getting the sh!t kicked out of them by scumbags over the years has ever got a newspaper article.

You're right, this violent assault on a woman simply screams misandry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,180 ✭✭✭hfallada

I stick up for myself. But I'm not goi. to risk my life for some random person on the bus. I wouldcall the gardai. response to a 112 call is less than 2 mins in Dublin city. Most guys will only hit a girl, but have no problem hitting a guy until he is seriously injured or stab him.

There is a time and place to be a hero

• Closed Accounts Posts: 328 ✭✭snaphook

I'm sure he was from a broken family and has a substance abuse history because of it.
    The poor soul.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 94 ✭✭15Pete

When will people realise that the only way to deal with perpetrators like this is to lock them up and forget about them. He should NEVER be allowed out, even for just a single incident like this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,347 ✭✭✭No Pants

Bus driver could have done something. I'm sure he has a big, ****-off spanner that he could use...for maintenance. :)

As for others stepping in, if as mentioned before, the offender/victim doesn't turn on him or her, it could still end up in an assault charge. Which would be an inconvenience, even if it didn't go anywhere.

Would still like to think that I wouldn't stand by and watch. I'm not a regular bus user, so it's unlikely that I'd see something like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭TimeToShine

If the fella intervening had done the scumbag any damage you can bet your ass he'd be taken to the cleaners. When the system is so broken that it circumvents common sense there's no incentive for people to break these things up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

I'll take from it that you have no particular interest in discussing the incident in the opening post, but would rather wedge in another "what about les menz?" effort.

I would think it was perfectly natural for people to decide whether they would intervene or not, and they chose not to. It's not the bystander effect or anything else like that, it's just a case of people preferring to mind their own business and not put their own lives in danger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

I think we need to start introducing a licence to be able to board public transport. A guy like this is not fit to be around humans let along be on a bus full of them. He should be barred from all public transport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 132 ✭✭CatLou

One of the comments on that broadsheet article:
    I know the victims involved. They did not know the guy. I imagine the “sick of you” comment was a racist one, as the woman involved is Mexican and her friend (not in the photo, probably because he was on the ground after getting kicked repeatedly).

The woman also recorded this assault with her camera and have given it to the authorities. How much time will be spent investigating this is the real question…

So supposedly the guy had already assaulted another man by the time that video starts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

No he pens her in and starts pummeling her, Am sure the guards will know who he is but as was said already, even if he has a long string of previous he will more than likely get a slap on the wrist.

Looking at the pics, if he was coming from the back of the Bus then the Stairs were behind the woman, so nothing stopping her just running down them which suggests to me that she knew him or was talking to him for some reason. Still no reason to assault her mind.

21/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,010 ✭✭✭Soups123

The gardai are the single worst and ill equipped police force in the Europe Union in my opinion. What surprises me is the people that seem to expect more.

I expect what the gardai are - useless. I expect the soft touch from the justice system. I expect no prison places for little toe rags like this.

On what basis has anyone got any respect for any aspect of justice in this country because I certainly don't. I'm still trying to figure it out.

So a scumbag hits a lady on a bus and the Gardai are to blame?

What do you want them escorting people around or spending the day sitting in buses, taxis, streets & homes were violence can occur

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

If the fella intervening had done the scumbag any damage you can bet your ass he'd be taken to the cleaners. When the system is so broken that it circumvents common sense there's no incentive for people to break these things up.

I think that's almost certainly not true. I think if the guy who stepped in had broken the attackers jaw not a thing would have happened to him. I think no criminal charges would have been pursued against him by the DDP and any civil suit would be ruled in favour of the defendant so fast your head would spin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

What a b*astard full of cowardice. Any "man" hitting a woman is a filthy scumbag.

Don't know why the indo blanked out his face, it's a clear assault. Simples.

We need those 2 Brazilian weightlifters (or whatever) form the ah herree leave ih out video to be on the bus to sort your "man" out and teach him some manners.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭discus

strobe wrote: »
    I think that's almost certainly not true. I think if the guy who stepped in had broken the attackers jaw not a thing would have happened to him. I think no criminal charges would have been pursued against him by the DDP and any civil suit would be ruled in favour of the defendant so fast your head would spin.

I know a man who was successfully claimed against for landing a single punch on a man who was attacking his daughter. And anecdotally I've heard of similar stories.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭dharma200

This is what the person who was assaulted has said...
    They don’t know each other. The video is, indeed, very short. Two people got assaulted by him (my friend, who’s on the video, and me). The garda was called twice and they didn’t show up, even though their station is 5 minutes away from where this happened. This is as much info as I dare share. The rest is with the hospital, where we spent the night, and with the Garda.
    Eric Haffabee, if you’re reading the comments, I’d very much appreciate if you could send me the video, maybe via email, so it can be added to the file that has been opened with the Garda, please. Also, we will need witnesses.
    Thank you. I really appreciate it.

What a scum bag, and as for the stupid posts in this thread, scum bag also. Some attitude.

discus wrote: »
    I know a man who was successfully claimed against for landing a single punch on a man who was attacking his daughter. And anecdotally I've heard of similar stories.

I knew a dog once that used to meow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭upandcumming

S0crates wrote: »
    When will people realise that the only way to deal with perpetrators like this is to lock them up and forget about them. He should NEVER be allowed out, even for just a single incident like this.

Jesus Christ... you are quite funny.

Hatrickpatrick raises a fair point no? Regular beatings to other men and no article in the paper?

Anyway, has anyone even questioned the context? I don't condone violence in any way, but why was the videographer filming the side of a bus on a Wednesday night? Not the most exciting thing to film but then they happened to catch an assault on a woman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

They do this with impunity. Even if caught he will walk in to court and more than likely walk out with another conviction on the rap sheet. He will still be walking the streets.

Well at least the Tv license evaders are safely in jail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

I used to get the 40 (and the 78a before that) every day, still do sometimes.

This is not the worst thing I've seen on that bus.

Hatrickpatrick raises a fair point no? Regular beatings to other men and no article in the paper?

Anyway, has anyone even questioned the context? I don't condone violence in any way, but why was the videographer filming the side of a bus on a Wednesday night? Not the most exciting thing to film but then they happened to catch an assault on a woman.

The victims companion was assaulted prior to the video. I presume the person taking the video saw this and then took their phone out and began filming.

What are you implying? Some kind of set up or conspiracy type dealy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭Snake

Dirty bastard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Probably they witnessed the first attack on her friend and started taping then, it looks like the attacker is bending down at the start of the video which might suggest either her mate or the guy who went to help them was on the ground.

There are a few differences between this and what HP mentioned . First this was caught on tape which makes it more shocking than a second hand account. Second, its not a nitelink, its a normal bus service which any member of the public might find themselves using from time to time. Nite links aren't always going to be full of scum but you know the crowd that is on it is going to be coming home with drink on them and for that reason a lot of people avoid them. I've seen enough incidents on them not to ever set foot on one again. On a normal bus route though with people coming home from work or the shops etc I would be very shocked to see anyone being attacked like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 260 ✭✭SVJKarate

dharma200 wrote: »
    The garda was called twice and they didn’t show up, even though their station is 5 minutes away from where this happened.

I'm guessing, as others have said, that assaults on buses are relatively common in Dublin and the Gardaí are neither resourced nor motivated to attend to all such calls, especially when;
    • Many of the assaults are fairly minor in nature
    • The availability & reliability of witnesses is often poor
    • The track record of the courts taking any kind of meaningful action is very poor
    • There are fewer and fewer Gardaí available to deal with this anti-social behavior

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭nc19

As bad as it may sound her getting punched in the face is not as bad as me getting a needle in the arm or a knife in the eyeball....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

discus wrote: »

Rubbish.

You are entitled to use reasonable and proportionate force in defence of yourself or another - if that was all there was to it the judge would have thrown it out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

dosen't seem to be many people on the upstairs and you be surprised how many people freeze in these situations
    yes people should help but you need to know what you are doing

as for fellas on the nightlink getting slapped around its probably the lack ofg a video that stops them becomming news

Honest question to all

Would you have stepped in if you were there and witnessed this? I know that i would have 100% not hesitated and i think that's why i find it hard to fathom how the guy got away with it. Maybe there wasn't anyone else upstairs (can't see) but in a hypothetical situation where you are upstairs on that bus what would you do?

Honest question to all

Would you have stepped in if you were there and witnessed this? I know that i would have 100% not hesitated and i think that's why i find it hard to fathom how the guy got away with it. Maybe there wasn't anyone else upstairs (can't see) but in a hypothetical situation where you are upstairs on that bus what would you do?

A syringe in the neck could be the reward for your courage. Is it worth it?

No.

It's not worth it because even if he is caught it will be a slap on the wrist. These scumbags are not punished. We have people walking the streets with over 150 convictions ffs.

If we were in a properly run country like the UK or Germany where perpetrators are punished i'd have no hesitation. But not here.

And I think the reason people don't intervene is partly because they are afraid but also because they know this guy won't be dealt with as he should be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,532 ✭✭✭Lou.m

Prisons are over flowing. I think the fact that we can't afford to punish them is part of the issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,741 ✭✭✭Piliger

One of the dumbest posts this decade. You don't even grasp the difference between the Garda and the justice system.

Piliger wrote: »
    One of the dumbest posts this decade. You don't even grasp the difference between the Garda and the justice system.

Such a well constructed, well articulated and informative point you put across there. If you had bothered to read I did differentiate between the two. Tell us more about our glorious police force before you go on.

We don't have a proper police force nor justice system. Anybody who thinks we do is living in cuckoo land. Both need MAJOR reform.

I agree about the point above about funding and more prison places. We clearly need a new large prison outside Dublin - unfortunate Thornton Hall was all but scrapped.

I wonder are people actually looking at what is there and whether they think the prisons we have are in fact playgrounds for criminals. Which they are. Paying for an extension to a system that allows these gurriers have all sorts of goodies in their cells and open prisons and all the rest. I assume that will just continue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,532 ✭✭✭Lou.m

A syringe in the neck could be the reward for your courage. Is it worth it?

No.

It's not worth it because even if he is caught it will be a slap on the wrist. These scumbags are not punished. We have people walking the streets with over 150 convictions ffs.

If we were in a properly run country like the UK or Germany where perpetrators are punished i'd have no hesitation. But not here.

When I was 4 my mother was pregnant heavily with my brother. We were visiting my grandmother in my dad's old neighbour hood Oliver bond. (It's rough). We were alone and this guy held a syringe and snatched her purse. Of the scummiest ..a heavily pregnant woman with a toddler in tow.

It turned out the guy was actually someone my Dad went to school with. My Dad worked his butt off put himself through college when I was young and could never imagine doing something like that. By the time I was 10 he had created a totally different lifestyle from nothing. And the other guy he went to school with turned to that. Robbing a pregnant woman who is accompanied by a toddler. When we went to see my grandmother through the yrs we would sometimes see him sitting on the stairs or something (High rise flats). The guys family would make EVERY excuse for him. I would say the apple did not fall far from the tree there.

In a way their own lives are their punishment. If you behave like an animal you live like one. There were lots of people around when it happened but people don't know how to react until one person shows them.

I would have called it to the bus drivers attention. I would have called the police I would have shouted at them and screamed my head off I hope. But I would be no match for a male physically. (I'm female).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

No way would I be getting involved.