Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Good news everyone! The Boards.ie Subscription service is live. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Trivial things that annoy you Part 43

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,594 ✭✭✭DoozerT6

The usage of the word 'eatery' to describe a café or restaurant is starting to bug the crap out of me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Remmy

When watching something online usually an interview with a hip hop artist and the interviewer says, "talk on the x situation". It's very annoying grammar

DoozerT6 wrote: »
    The usage of the word 'eatery' to describe a café or restaurant is starting to bug the crap out of me.

When finished eating in their poncey eatery , I would ask to use the ****tery instead of the bathroom :)))

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,080 ✭✭✭McChubbin

I made a latte macchiato about 5 minutes ago-we have a fancy pod coffee machine- and just as I went to drink it, my mother noticed something floating in the foam. Using a spoon, she fished it out- it was a huge dead fly! :eek:
    Coffee went down the drain and my breakfast nearly made a reappearance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 350 ✭✭Pie Man

When Boards post of the day is the weather.

The Evans website is currently experiencing technical difficulties. It's been going on all weekend. Dagnabit, I want to load up my wishlist and see what they have in the way of boots! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭Cpt Sh!t Craic

When I'm on my way to work questioning whether I should have flipped my bedroom light switch on and off 43 times or 45 times, in order to prevent the brutal murder of my entire family.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

When a child is lacking perception and asks me if I have any grandkids. I've been in bad form all evening. I'm 26. How old do I even look. I must look like my primary school teacher. I always thought she was about a hundred and she's about 60 now. Oh Lord

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Oops69

Out for a walk in the park, place is plagued with people shouting , screaming , whistling , reprimanding , calling dog names , not on leads , they just seem to go hyper when they're out with their dogs , ruining the peace for everyone else, relax ffs , the dogs grand , leave him alone , let him escape from you , you annoying control freaks .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Olly Murs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Pie Man wrote: »
    When Boards post of the day is the weather.

It's always the fcuking weather or a funny pic

My arm is spasming again. I've a hunch it's due to a trapped nerve but I need to go for an x-ray and an ultrasound first.
    All well and good but my doctor messed up the reference letter. Got one off her last week, drove all the way up to Beaumount's radiology department and the ****ing pillock behind the desk wouldn't accept it simply because it had a typo or two.
    FFS, I'M IN CONSTANT PAIN! GIVE ME THE ****ING X-RAY!! :mad: :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

McChubbin wrote: »
    My arm is spasming again. I've a hunch it's due to a trapped nerve but I need to go for an x-ray and an ultrasound first.
    All well and good but my doctor messed up the reference letter. Got one off her last week, drove all the way up to Beaumount's radiology department and the ****ing pillock behind the desk wouldn't accept it simply because it had a typo or two.
    FFS, I'M IN CONSTANT PAIN! GIVE ME THE ****ING X-RAY!! :mad: :mad:

Speaking of typo's, I am pretty sure it is Beaumont........sorry:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Petrol pump attendants ( disabled and need it doing for me) who tell you the pump won;t reach, refuse to use the nearer one and have you turning pirouettes on a busy forecourt..

Places in Ireland where there are no petrol stations for miles and miles and I AM RUNNING ON EMPTY and will I ever reach a town again... ..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

You know when you pull into a petrol station, park at the pump, get out of the car and see a sign that says, "You may be asked to pre-pay at this pump after 6pm". You know that moment where you are trying to figure out which is less embarrassing, waiting for the pump to click on and then seeing the attendant make gestures at you from the shop because you need to pre-pay, or running in to pre-pay only to be told, "is ok! I turned on for you!" - that decision in that moment is TA :(

And also, the silly aul wan who pulled into the garage yesterday in front of me and stopped at the first pump, even though the one directly in front of her was free! Move up b.itch...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,871 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

I remember some woman decided to park slap bang in the middle between two pumps in a 4-pump garage to get 99s for her children. She kept looking out cos the annoyed people waiting to get petrol were beeping for the car to move but she was oblivious to what she had done.

Wonder how such people ever got licenses. Maybe they were part of that spate of drivers who were automatically given full licenses when they had a provisional for a certain amount of time :rolleyes:

OldNotWIse wrote: »
    And also, the silly aul wan who pulled into the garage yesterday in front of me and stopped at the first pump, even though the one directly in front of her was free! Move up b.itch...

You speak to me like that young man and I will block in you for HOURS;)!

You know when you pull into a petrol station, park at the pump, get out of the car and see a sign that says, "You may be asked to pre-pay at this pump after 6pm". You know that moment where you are trying to figure out which is less embarrassing, waiting for the pump to click on and then seeing the attendant make gestures at you from the shop because you need to pre-pay, or running in to pre-pay only to be told, "is ok! I turned on for you!" - that decision in that moment is TA :(

This yesterday was my first ever prepaid place.. I acted the old dote!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

Graces7 wrote: »

People who overtake only to pull back in, right in front of you and go slower than the speed you've been doing. You are all ****tards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,202 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

gramar wrote: »
    People who overtake only to pull back in, right in front of you and go slower than the speed you've been doing. You are all ****tards.

Aye. That and people who spend a half-hour wheezing past me in a 1.5l diesel shítbox going about 2 km/h faster than I am. Get an actual engine and stop pedalling, or else get the furk off the motorway! :pac:

I have a zero-tolerance policy towards pre-pay forecourts.

I only encountered prepay once, I went in all confused wtf I was supposed to do, he told me it's ok I turned it on, went out and filled up. was grand
    Prefer to avoid the confusion though all right...

bluewolf wrote: »
    I only encountered prepay once, I went in all confused wtf I was supposed to do, he told me it's ok I turned it on, went out and filled up. was grand
    Prefer to avoid the confusion though all right...

I encountered it once in the area where I live. I pulled up at about 09:15, already late for a meeting, running on barman's farts and looking for about €100 worth of petrol. I went about it in the usual manner, and the youngfella starts shouting out the hatch about pre-pay, coming in to do some arsing about with a credit-card, then going back out to fill up, and coming back in again. "Bloody nonsense, switch on that pump quare lively!!" says I. "Do I look like one of these sham-can pilots that's been doing the drive-offs??" Nothing doing, so I sent for the manager, fúcked him out of it, and wheelspun out of there. The place is closed since. In this area, people simply do not put up with being treated like knackers over a couple of stupid youngfellas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

jimgoose wrote: »
    Aye. That and people who spend a half-hour wheezing past me in a 1.5l diesel shítbox going about 2 km/h faster than I am. Get an actual engine and stop pedalling, or else get the furk off the motorway! :pac:

I used to have a Citroen C4, Diesel 1.6. Sweetest thing on four wheels, I miss her every day.:p

jimgoose wrote: »
    I encountered it once in the area where I live. I pulled up at about 09:15, already late for a meeting, running on barman's farts and looking for about €100 worth of petrol. I went about it in the usual manner, and the youngfella starts shouting out the hatch about pre-pay, coming in to do some arsing about with a credit-card, then going back out to fill up, and coming back in again. "Bloody nonsense, switch on that pump quare lively!!" says I. "Do I look like one of these sham-can pilots that's been doing the drive-offs??" Nothing doing, so I sent for the manager, fúcked him out of it, and wheelspun out of there. The place is closed since. In this area, people simply do not put up with being treated like knackers over a couple of stupid youngfellas.

What happens if you want to fill up and you think it'll be 50 so you prepay 50 but then it was 40

You speak to me like that young man one and I will block in you for HOURS;)!

It's alright, thanksfully she was driving what can only be described as a coke can on wheels so I managed to crawl past and use the pump in front. Hate to think of the obstructions she'd cause if they gave her anything bigger ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,723 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson