Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Trivial things that annoy you Part 43

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

Yeah, we prefer to keep the fear of a pregnancy scare to ourselves, until we know whether or not there's a pregnancy. It'a a unique kind of panic. Thankfully I don't have to worry about pregnancy anymore. I think my husband is relieved that I hit menopause at 41, he was due to have a vasectomy this year. :D

When its down to a choice, makes much more sense for a man to be snipped, I had it done years ago ( at 29) a bit uncomfortable for a couple of days, a few painkillers, oh yeah and an icepack for below, and a wheelbarrow, and sorted. All done in an hour.:eek: Much bigger deal for a woman

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

Why are so many posters taking offence at Oldnotwise's post.:confused: He/she is understandably annoyed that a pet shop is centering it's birthday celebrations around children and not pets. Parents wouldn't be too thrilled to see an event that they would view as something that should be child focused, turned into a pet event.

Anyone with pets would expect a pet shop event to be focused on pets, not kids. We have cats and no kids, wouldn't change that for the world, and I see our cats as being far more important than anyone's kids. :D

lol I can just imagine loads of parents turn up to Smyths or somewhere for a birthday celebration and the place is thronged with pets - all sitting around licking their arses and penises of course, and unconditional child haters taking pot shots at the kids ;)

Why are so many posters taking offence at Oldnotwise's post.:confused:

If you don't want a hostile response, don't post in a hostile manner.
    ffs does everything have to be about kids these days? Even the fúcking petshop cant be about pets, it has to be about kids. The one place you think you could take your dog to for an open day/birthday bash/thanks to our customers kinda get together is a petshop but no. Fúcking face painting and sweets for the brats.

In my experience these things are usually marketed as family days, and that means catering for kids. I doubt that all pets will be ignored or sent to the gas chambers on the day.

Smidge wrote: »
    There are always events being held that are not children focused.
    My issue was the tone and language with ONW post and the vitriol poured on children by her.

Oh now :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

OldNotWIse wrote: »
    lol I can just imagine loads of parents turn up to Smyths or somewhere for a birthday celebration and the place is thronged with pets - all sitting around licking their arses and penises of course, and unconditional child haters taking pot shots at the kids ;)

Other than seeing eye dogs are not permitted in the vast majority of shops.
    Not sure why you would want to bring your dog to Smyths though. Other than to make some sort of statement.

If Smyths mentioned that pets are catered for and welcome, then I don't see why they wouldn't. Tolerance, goes a long way in all directions.

Anyway it's way OT at this point and we're all antagonising each other so I'll leave it there.

Oh now :)

Is there a point there?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

bluewolf wrote: »
    I downloaded Picasa i think. It went nuts trying to rummage through all my photos on my hdd and wanting to upload them to g+. I could stop the upload bit but not the "going through all your photos and do you want to tag everyone" nonsense. Awful stuff, uninstalled it pronto

The horrible thing about this is that some people will just click "Next, next, next...", without reading the T&C, and then cry foul when what they thought were their "private" collections get yanked out of the cloud and spread across the web.

Facebook are a worse culprit for lax security that the user has minimal control over -

"We've helpfully reset all your security settings so you can share more"...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Not sure why you would want to bring your dog to Smyths though. Other than to make some sort of statement.

To get her a teddy? Or a tennis ball?

Well if all the kids are in the petshop maybe we might have more fun in Smyths ;)

To get her a teddy? Or a tennis ball?

Actually my dog loves bigger balls :D

She cant pick them up in her mouth so she ends up pushing them around and chasing them. it's too cute. If you have dogs, try it. Loads of fun :)

We are not so much with the teddies - we tend to eviscerate them. Poor teddies :) Wont someone please think of the teddies.

Is there a point there?

Yes.

Czarcasm wrote: »
    The horrible thing about this is that some people will just click "Next, next, next...", without reading the T&C, and then cry foul when what they thought were their "private" collections get yanked out of the cloud and spread across the web.

Facebook are a worse culprit for lax security that the user has minimal control over -

"We've helpfully reset all your security settings so you can share more"...

Is that why you get ads popping up on other webpages for things you searched for in the past?

Well if all the kids are in the petshop maybe we might have more fun in Smyths ;)

And on that note, I'll leave it with you so as it's become nonsensical.

Actually my dog loves bigger balls :D

She cant pick them up in her mouth so she ends up pushing them around and chasing them. it's too cute. If you have dogs, try it. Loads of fun :)

We are not so much with the teddies - we tend to eviscerate them. Poor teddies :) Wont someone please think of the teddies.

Your dog and I have that in common!!! :D

My dogs are all about squeaky things (the 4 year old) and shoes (the puppy).
    If it makes noise he loves it. I got him a doggie whoopie cushion in the pet section in tesco :D it's his favourite thing in the world.
    When the stray dog had the puppies I got them all little squeaky toys to play with and then I'd see Ben sneaking into the puppies house and taking the toys out for himself.

The puppy loves high heels, he doesn't even chew them he just lies there minding it.

Your dog and I have that in common!!! :D

My dogs are all about squeaky things (the 4 year old) and shoes (the puppy).
    If it makes noise he loves it. I got him a doggie whoopie cushion in the pet section in tesco :D it's his favourite thing in the world.
    When the stray dog had the puppies I got them all little squeaky toys to play with and then I'd see Ben sneaking into the puppies house and taking the toys out for himself.

The puppy loves high heels, he doesn't even chew them he just lies there minding it.

Aw too cute :)

...though he ought to be ashamed of himself for stealing from children ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

Feck off over to the happy thread :pac:

smash wrote: »
    Feck off over to the happy thread :pac:

Sorry sir!

Ahem....

When people open windows on buses that are directly over their heads so that it's the ones sitting a few rows back who get the blast. Bus morons.

Also someone just informed me, "its nice out there now a bitovercastbutwarmanddryandnottoo bad" - fuuuuck off :( I care not for the weather and I care less for your mindless commentary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

Is that why you get ads popping up on other webpages for things you searched for in the past?

That's more to do with tracking cookies -

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/HTTP_cookie

Facebook just use your uploaded content and posts to target adverts at you on Facebook, because they're considerate like that :pac:

Aw too cute :)

...though he ought to be ashamed of himself for stealing from children ;)

I know!! What kind of selfish monster would get in the way of children having fun!! :D

Although apart from that, he was a good step dad. He was like a beanbag for his adopted children!
    http://tinypic.com/r/sq4k28/8

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Candie wrote: »
    If you don't want a hostile response, don't post in a hostile manner.

In my experience these things are usually marketed as family days, and that means catering for kids. I doubt that all pets will be ignored or sent to the gas chambers on the day.

You're nothing if not predictable Candie. I know whenever I see your name on any thread, doesn't seem to matter what that thread is, that you will choose to take an opposing view, seemingly just to be argumentative. I'm glad I'm not that bored.:p

I wonder why you feel the need to have a go at me with such tedious regularity PS. I won't rise to nastiness, and I'm not going to engage in reciprocal pettiness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭Gongoozler

Lads this is woefully boring.

My rant, my ****ing memory. Sick of it. I clicked on this thread to read some stuff and write a post, but with all the time it took to read through to the last page, I've forgotten what I was going to write.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭gugleguy

Fat Christy needs to adjudicate this. Where is this paragon of virtue when you need her?

Mod

Drop it, please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,894 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Exactly. We need some fanny jokes, stat!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,745 ✭✭✭Macavity.

I find it sort of annoying when people quote the movie Fight Club religiously. I suppose I just find it ironic considering the main meanings of the book were self acceptance and non conformity yet you'll see people quote it word for word so frequently without even thinking of this. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,205 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Do you know what's getting right up my left nostril these days? Poverty Porn. Ooh, we're clever, we are. We sit in nine days a week in our overcoats, eating nothing but hundredweight bags of tofu from Liddlyaldy and commuting to work on a Space-Hopper. We cancelled the telephones and TV and entertain ourselves with ghost stories.

Do not encourage the Race to the Bottom, people. Rather than encourage the asshole Gummint by happily handing over your hard-earned and then feeling all smug about learning to live on fcuk-all, I swear to fcuk one of these days I'm going to buy a 1959 Cadillac Eldorado and a Stetson the size of a football field, and I'm going to drive that bastard at seven miles per gallon while I munch on baby venison burgers with extra whale-oil, up to Leinster House to hand-deliver my property tax in cash in an envelope lined with cowshít and a big, fat "Fcuk You!!" written on it in crayon! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,205 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

gugleguy wrote: »
    Fat Christy needs to adjudicate this. Where is this paragon of virtue when you need her?

Hell yeah. Unleash the Loofah of Justice! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭MsBubbles

Apostrophe misuse drives me mad. Paninis not Panini's. It's Cds not Cd's.