Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is McIlroy really a nice guy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Aphex wrote: »
    Have no interest in him whatsoever. He does pull off a killer American accent in interviews though.

It's not a patch on Graeme McDowell, who turned into a yank overnight after his US Open win.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,532 ✭✭✭Lou.m

He is a pro golfer ..not a nurse or anything so I would say he is an average guy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

RTE are bloody obsessed with him, when he goes for a shite, there is someone reporting on it! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

You're talking out of your hoop about a subject you have no clue about.
    The rest of your post was very good, but you hit it out of the park with that. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

He's only representing Ireland in a cold calculated decision to appeal to the American market.
    Will he capture the imagination of the nation come the next olympics? -- certainly not.
    To say Golf is comparable to Ireland producing a world class sprinter, soccer player, tennis player etc. is laughable.
    Sure he's reached the top of his game in his chosen discipline... but who cares, it's GOLF. I'd compare his success to Ken Doherty winning the world snooker championship. Granted he was a world champion but were you dancing in the streets? Why not - because it does not conjure any particular national pride.
    The word "sport" implies a degree of athleticism which cannot be justified when overweight old men can partake.
    He's a business man who pursues his own self interest. He's making tons of money out of a trivial skill/talent but he belongs in the same category as darts/snooker/poker/archery/clay-pigeon shooting/shooting rings/hungry hippos. Genuine sport is a step above these games - let's please save the national jubilation until we produce another Roy Keane, Sonia O'Sullivan.

The reasons why he represents Ireland and how people would celebrate are open for debate but as far as your idea of sport goes your post is as wide of the mark as no doubt you would be if you tried any of the sports you mentioned...gold, darts, clay pigeon shooting etc.

Your definition of sport is very narrow and you only seem to acknowledge the attributes of power and strength. To suggest a golfers skill is trivial is pathetic. You clearly have no appreciation for technique, balance, touch, judgement, stamina and concentration. Developing this skills takes effort and
    sacrifice and years of practice. Just because they mightn't have big muscles, have to run fast and grapple at close quarters with their rivals doesn't make them any less a sport.

As PhlegmyMoses said...you're talking out of your hoop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭newport2

It's not a patch on Graeme McDowell, who turned into a yank overnight after his US Open win.

McDowell sounds like an american trying to put on an irish accent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,756 ✭✭✭comongethappy

newport2 wrote: »
    McDowell sounds like an american trying to put on an irish accent

Spend so many years living in another country, picking up an accent is only normal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,138 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

[HTML][/HTML]
    YFlyer wrote: »
    Including Seve?
    Supposedly he was one of the biggest arseholes in world sport
    thelad95 wrote: »
    A lot of them try to give off a 'nice guy' aura to win fans over but who knows what they're really like. Tiger Woods was the 'nice guy' for years and now look at him.
    Exactly. Don't upset anyone, might lose a couple of fans, and fans are money. Its almost like a team of lawyers are telling them what to say through an earpiece.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭farmerjj

What a stupid thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 826 ✭✭✭geeksauce

He's only representing Ireland in a cold calculated decision to appeal to the American market.
    Will he capture the imagination of the nation come the next olympics? -- certainly not.
    To say Golf is comparable to Ireland producing a world class sprinter, soccer player, tennis player etc. is laughable.
    Sure he's reached the top of his game in his chosen discipline... but who cares, it's GOLF. I'd compare his success to Ken Doherty winning the world snooker championship. Granted he was a world champion but were you dancing in the streets? Why not - because it does not conjure any particular national pride.
    The word "sport" implies a degree of athleticism which cannot be justified when overweight old men can partake.
    He's a business man who pursues his own self interest. He's making tons of money out of a trivial skill/talent but he belongs in the same category as darts/snooker/poker/archery/clay-pigeon shooting/shooting rings/hungry hippos. Genuine sport is a step above these games - let's please save the national jubilation until we produce another Roy Keane, Sonia O'Sullivan.

Trivial skill? I assume you are world number one then and an absolute millionaire as a result of your ability to perfect this trivial skill.

Probably couldn't hit the ball the length of yourself I'd say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,780 ✭✭✭Frank Lee Midere

Why are you talking about Garth Brooks? Try reading your posts back to yourself .

Garth Brooks is the new "burn the bond holders".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,780 ✭✭✭Frank Lee Midere

WHY ARE WE ASKING QUESTIONS ABOUT A GOLFER WHEN GARTH BROOKS HAS YET TO BURN THE BONDHOLDERS!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,614 ✭✭✭muddypaws

Cienciano wrote: »
    [HTML][/HTML]
    Supposedly he was one of the biggest arseholes in world sport

We met him just after he'd finished a round in a tournament in England, he'd had a terrible round, was really unhappy with himself, but still stopped and signed my Mum's programme, which made her day, possibly her year. My brother also got a tee off him at the Irish Open waaaay back in the 70s in Portmarnock. So my experience of him wouldn't be that at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,931 ✭✭✭lertsnim

Patww79 wrote: »

They nearly were for Sonia O Sullivan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,686 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

porsche959 wrote: »
    He does not identify as an Irish nationalist

Nor do a lot of the rest of us Irish people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,345 ✭✭✭MayoSalmon

Nor do a lot of the rest of us Irish people.

Well shame on ye so

We live in the Republic of Ireland and should be all republicans, if we believe in the ideals of our republic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,821 ✭✭✭floggg

weedhead wrote: »
    Understand what your saying, id put the sport before the character but im only looking for a bit of discussion on it plus you gotta look at the type of role model he is portraying.

I think honestly you gotta be a w*nker to make it competitively in any field and unfortunately nice guys finish last!

Role model?

**** off.

Let's let parents worry about being a role model for their own kids instead of expecting often semi literate over paid men and women chasing little balls around do their job for them.

Well he's Northern Irish...thats quite obvious no?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

I'd say he's a grand fella up to the point that you don't mess with his golf. Mess with his golf and it's a one way ticket to Palookaville

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,852 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

He's making tons of money out of a trivial skill/talent
    There isn't any sport that isn't based on trivial skill/talent.

Hasn't Mrs Doyle taught you anything?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,686 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

MayoSalmon wrote: »
    We live in the Republic of Ireland and should be all republicans

Eh, no on both counts.

"...it is the birthright of all the people of Northern Ireland to identify themselves and be accepted as Irish or British, or both, as they may so choose, and accordingly [the two governments] confirm that their right to hold both British and Irish citizenship is accepted by both Governments and would not be affected by any future change in the status of Northern Ireland.

So no not exactly!

Eh, no on both counts.

Jaysis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 924 ✭✭✭lambayire

How would you classify all of the Northern Irish golfers, boxers and cricketers who have represented Ireland throughout the years?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 924 ✭✭✭lambayire

I'll agree with you on that one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭Reoil

He's the British no 1 that will representing Ireland in the Olympics. (But don't tell them that ;) ).

He. Is. Not. British. He is the UK No.1.
    Britain = Scotland, England and Wales.