Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Monaghan Vs. Donegal, Ulster SFC, Sun 20/07/2014 4.00 p.m.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,762 ✭✭✭bmcc10

The FAI could use it to try keep kids away from the GAA too

Or show how disciplined and well drilled amateur sportsmen are without the theatrics.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭Dan Chipowski

A non-event and then this muck. God Bless the hurling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

One of the greatest tactical games of our era

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭dundalkfc10

Timmyctc wrote: »
    Or they could just offer out Dundalk Season tickets. Second half has been quite good.

We already do, All primary school kids in Dundalk get a free season ticket :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭dundalkfc10

bmcc10 wrote: »
    Or show how disciplined and well drilled amateur sportsmen are without the theatrics.

Both teams have been diving for frees here all game!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,178 ✭✭✭STB

2 minutes extra time. Humane at the very least.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

And people wonder why they hate Ulster football and blanket defence tactics

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,825 ✭✭✭Timmyctc

STB wrote: »
    2 minutes extra time. Humane at the very least.

Someone call the police. This man is being held in a room watching sport against his will!

Tactical genius today
    Hon the lads. Can't wait for another trip to Croker :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,264 ✭✭✭✭Fireball07

Great goal by McGuinness, thought that would bring them into it, but more clueless attacking from Monaghan.

McBrearty came on and scored 3 excellent points... Donegal were very defensive but when they did attack, found scores a lot easier to come by.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,325 ✭✭✭smileyj1987

This game really has been typical ulster football . Low scoring and very defensive . I'm not a fan of this type of football but if it works for a team then it's the way they should play .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,762 ✭✭✭bmcc10

This game really has been typical ulster football . Low scoring and very defensive . I'm not a fan of this type of football but if it works for a team then it's the way they should play .

It's hard to criticise Donegal as it certainly works for them, They let off the shackles a wee bit last year after losing key members to there system and got a hammering, Would be fairly interested to see what Dublin did if they come up against it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,400 ✭✭✭tanko

nice_guy80 wrote: »
    And people wonder why they hate Ulster football and blanket defence tactics

I thought I saw Roscommon playing a blanket defence yesterday, I must have imagined it:rolleyes:. Congratulations Donegal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 650 ✭✭✭csallmighty

The end justifies the means. Four Ulster finals in a row with three Anglo-Celt titles. Great stuff :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Well 3 out of 4 Ulster Championships isn't bad going. The 92 team only won 2 out of 5 finals, albeit losing to the great Down team of the 90's and a good Derry team.

Lots to be still worked on but things are definitely building, and we didn't even need Murphy or McFadden today. Good to see the young lads play a big part.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

Odhran McNiallis was top class today and looks like he is going to be a great player. Donegal have a much stronger panel than they had 2 years and it should be a great game between them and Dublin in the semi final (assuming they both win their quarter finals)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,325 ✭✭✭smileyj1987

bmcc10 wrote: »
    It's hard to criticise Donegal as it certainly works for them, They let off the shackles a wee bit last year after losing key members to there system and got a hammering, Would be fairly interested to see what Dublin did if they come up against it.

If it works you don't change it , Donegal have a system and a way of playing so they should stick to it . I personally think it's a bad style to play but it's a results game and Donegal are winning games and have been around in the business end of the championship .
    If you ask me this will be the biggest test for a Dublin team . If you let Dublin play football in a traditional sense 15 vs 15 then they will romp home against 26 or so counties .
    With Donegal they won't get that level of space . It should make it very good viewing .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

The worst province in Ireland.
    Average teams beating average teams playing horrible football. Awful stuff.

Unfortunately for the purists, it looks like a Dublin/Donegal semi final. Sure arent Donegal just great craic in Croker. I think i'll need a bottle of gin before that!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

Slattsy wrote: »

Unfortunately for the purists, it looks like a Dublin/Donegal final. Sure arent Donegal just great craic in Croker. I think i'll need a bottle of gin before that!!

Dublin are due to meet Donegal in the semi.Its a repeat of the provincial match ups from 2011.

I meant semi, sorry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 222 ✭✭major deegan

So who do they play next?

I meant semi, sorry.

Yeah you did.

It's defensive football and it often works. Mourinho does it regularly and he's a genius apparently!

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

So who do they play next?

Meath or Armagh if I'm correct. Don't mind which, I'd love to get Armagh and get revenge for the 00's Ulster Final losses.

Only to Chelsea fans!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,178 ✭✭✭STB

K-9 wrote: »
    Yeah you did.

It's defensive football and it often works. Mourinho does it regularly and he's a genius apparently!

Its also sh|te to watch. And donegal are no chelsea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 482 ✭✭jimmy the car

Just wonder will the quarter be a double header in Croker with Dublin? If so tickets will be scarce I'd reckon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭intellectual dosser

Unfortunately for the purists, it looks like a Dublin/Donegal semi final. Sure arent Donegal just great craic in Croker. I think i'll need a bottle of gin before that!!

This one made me grin.

"The worst province in Ireland" - under what illusions?

I take it you're from Dublin, a county that has won 9 out of the last 10 Leinster Championships, and won this year without leaving 2nd gear, ending in an absolute romp of the supposed 2nd best team in the province.

But go ahead, Ulster is the worst.

Connaght is infinitely worse than Ulster; its Mayo playing a bunch of headless chickens. And For the Worst Province, Donegal and Tyrone weren't doing too shabby the last 3 years against all these other top class unbeatable provinces.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,567 ✭✭✭Red Pepper

Horrible game to watch yesterday, I couldn't actually sit down for any length of time watching it - I love football but that "stuff" really puts me off the game. I just remember Monaghan kicking the ball into a single full forward surrounded by 7+ Donegal defenders...jaysus.

That said, Donegal looked fit and hungry and Dublin/Kerry/Mayo will struggle to break down that defence and physicality. Donegal could well win an All Ireland. I just need to tell the U-12s that I train not to watch it! ;)

Red Pepper wrote: »
    Horrible game to watch yesterday, I couldn't actually sit down for any length of time watching it - I love football but that "stuff" really puts me off the game. I just remember Monaghan kicking the ball into a single full forward surrounded by 7+ Donegal defenders...jaysus.

That said, Donegal looked fit and hungry and Dublin/Kerry/Mayo will struggle to break down that defence and physicality. Donegal could well win an All Ireland. I just need to tell the U-12s that I train not to watch it! ;)

To be fair yesterday it opened up in the second half. I can't say its hugely common the past few years but Donegal were the only team trying to play football. They had the fitness to get back in number when they lost the ball, Monaghan didn't which is why they played with 1 full forward :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 coolcom5

From a monaghan supporter. What a terrible exhibition of football. We had one forward against 6 backs at times. And still tried to find him with high balls ! Donegal are no better than monaghan. Same awful system. Difference was a couple of their guys performed who normally wouldn't. They wont perform again. Monaghan actually could have won it despite themselves. Sorry for both sets of supporters. Shocking.