Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Monaghan Vs. Donegal, Ulster SFC, Sun 20/07/2014 4.00 p.m.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭dundalkfc10

Referees again ruining the game. Why dont they just use the rules

A punch/attempted punch is a RED CARD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,319 ✭✭✭Al_Coholic

tanko wrote: »
    Monahgan players diving when tackled looking for frees is embarrassing.

both teams players have been diving in fairness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,115 ✭✭✭Boom__Boom

seems the only card Deegan brought today is yellow

Deegan having a mare - obviously he's not helped by the teams carry-on but gotten a lot wrong.

Referees again ruining the game. Why dont they just use the rules

A punch/attempted punch is a RED CARD

I'd love to know what the yellow card was for. Surely it has to be a red or nothing at all?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,178 ✭✭✭STB

As many cards as there is scores....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭Hibbeler

This game is fairly low scoring but at least it's tight so far.

From an entertainment point of view that's going to be better than the annihilation from earlier

Is it any wonder Hurling is the game they love on Sky instead of Football.

Apart from Dublin and Kerry Cork, all other teams are basically Rugby teams with 2 or 3 good footballers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Boom__Boom wrote: »
    seems the only card Deegan brought today is yellow

Deegan having a mare - obviously he's not helped by the teams carry-on but gotten a lot wrong.

Seems to think he's only meant to be reffing one side too

Hibbeler wrote: »
    This game is fairly low scoring but at least it's tight so far.

From an entertainment point of view that's going to be better than the annihilation from earlier

Jaysus. Your a devil for punishment.

Each teams tactics. Whoever falls asleep first loses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,264 ✭✭✭✭Fireball07

It's intriguing enough, but very stop-start towards the end of the half.

Some very questionable decisions... on first look, it looked like Durcan went right through Kelly after the ball was gone, should be a penalty.

And then he's letting some tackles go, but then giving frees for almost the same thing.

And only 3 minutes of injury time? What a joke that is, the game was stopped for way more. The sooner timekeeping leaves the referee's hands, the better.

Monaghan's tactics are a bit mad... one man inside, Kieran Hughes has no chance against 5. Very little off-the-ball running... playing for frees, and are getting them. Few silly fouls by Donegal... even that one at the end looked soft, but McGee did push McManus which is pointless when he's surrounded.

But Monaghan are still in the game at the moment, because Donegal are so defensive, they're finding it hard to score themselves. Donegal might open up a bit in the 2nd half, and if Monaghan can stay with them, they should get more chances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Slattsy wrote: »
    Donegal lads diving all over the place.
    Noticed this when we played them in Croker. Always at it.

Yeah, at least we've no Suarez impersonators. (Any yes, he's in my sig ;))

Shame it's so poor, but it suits Donegal down to the ground, and set up for the usual third quarter blitz with a goal or two.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,771 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

A terrible game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,029 ✭✭✭deisedude

I turned over to the golf. Thats how bad this game is

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,825 ✭✭✭Timmyctc

Jaysus. The panel there claiming Durcan set out to clean the Monaghan forward and its a straight red. He cleaned his own man! Could well have been a pen tbf. Fairly underwhelming affair so far though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

Pure sh1te.

Donegal are at least trying to play some football but Monaghans tactics are idiotic.Playing a one man full forward line for almost the entire first half was downright stupid. Conor McManus has barely got a kick of the ball and you'd feel sorry for Kieran Hughes having to battle against 5 defenders on his own for most of the first half

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭shiibata

deisedude wrote: »
    I turned over to the golf. Thats how bad this game is

Same as I done at HT of Dublin game....

Does seem to be mad tactics by O'Rourke, they seem in fear of Donegal, total opposite to last year. Time will tell I suppose.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

As long as Monaghan don't get a goal as us I think we'll take it.

Mc Fadden having a torrid time.

Timmyctc wrote: »

Yeah, but McNiallas has been very good. Him and O'Connor have done great this season and together with McHugh from last year we've added to the panel.

Minors winning will help in the next year or two as well. If they are good enough, they're old enough, is very much the McGuinness mantra.

The long range kicks just aren't going over for Monaghan, unlike last year when they could do nothing wrong.

Feck. That came from Mc Fadden's awful handling too.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,470 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Donegal looked in control, that makes things interesting.

Game on at last. The indiscipline could cost us here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,762 ✭✭✭bmcc10

Hard stuff to watch

The gaa could release this as a dvd and advertise on the insomnia forums.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭shiibata

Timmyctc wrote: »

He lucky still to be on the field, has being awful...he lost 3 balls he should have won early on and was surprised to see him taking O'Conner off....he hadn't done that much wrong..

STB wrote: »
    The gaa could release this as a dvd and advertise on the insomnia forums.

The FAI could use it to try keep kids away from the GAA too

Or they could just offer out Dundalk Season tickets. Second half has been quite good.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,470 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Ah Jaysus, I though the goal for Monaghan would at least make this game more interesting :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

I never thought I'd say this about a field game of any sort but the golf is actually more exciting than this!!!