Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Father catches child abuser in the act.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

That is restrained. I'd have beat him to death if I caught some guy abusing my kid. Well done to that lad.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

The ICCL gang haven't woke up yet. Then we will hear them bleating about "due process and fair trial"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭desertcircus

Santa Cruz wrote: »
    The ICCL gang haven't woke up yet. Then we will hear them bleating about "due process and fair trial"

Do you often get angry about things people haven't actually said and probably never will?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 637 ✭✭✭Rabbo

While I would probably take great pleasure in beating the **** out of him if it was me, the torture fantasists on these threads are nearly as bad as the civil liberties crowd

• Closed Accounts Posts: 136 ✭✭bobrawn20

I can't imagine being as restrained as him..fair play to the guy.
    Hope the victim recovers from the ordeal and as for the scumbag paedophile..well who really cares. Throw him in a pit somewhere to rot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭The Aussie

They are somewhat preoccupied taking a onesided view in a conflict they know very little about, well only what they choose to know...

You should be safe, so work away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

Quite restrained - He'd never been seen again if it was me...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭131spanner

Good to see a bit of street justice now and again!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 494 ✭✭Chance The Rapper

Did none of you see the photo? Didn't seem like he restrained himself much.

He didn't kill him did he? That's incredible restraint if you ask me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭Maphisto

Fair play to the father - I can't think of anyone that would do any differently. I'd probably include burglars and car thieves in the mix too - I think emotions kick in - big time - the abuser no doubt at all, the other two I mentioned would kind of depend on circumstances a bit more.

But there's a huge difference between this and people acting as vigilantes. Going on scant information and exacting their own justice. I remember that case in England where local vigilantes surrounded a Paediatrician's house because they were just feckin stupid.

Also, just seen the photo. He's not even that badly beaten. Fairly sheltered if you think that's not being restrained.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,544 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

Surprised the PC brigade isn't all over this already. I'd like to think the police here would take the same approach, but strongly suspect here the dad would end up going to jail for years and the rapist a few months .
    FWIW I think the dad was totally justified in his actions, sometimes a short stint behind bars isn't enough of a deterrent and punishment in my opinion.

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,467 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

Its great that the police just say that the father has nothing to answer for, no pretending that what he done was wrong which is likely what would happen here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,191 ✭✭✭✭Shanotheslayer

Fair play to the Dad for punching around that scumbag

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭Ed Winchester

salmocab wrote: »
    Its great that the police just say that the father has nothing to answer for, no pretending that what he done was wrong which is likely what would happen here.

Spot on. He doesn't have a case to answer at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

This has been polluting my news feed on fb since yesterday, accompanied by a pic of a bloke with swollen cheeks, bust lips etc.

Couldn't help thinking the whole story was a load of bull tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Supercell wrote: »
    Surprised the PC brigade isn't all over this already. I'd like to think the police here would take the same approach, but strongly suspect here the dad would end up going to jail for years and the rapist a few months .
    FWIW I think the dad was totally justified in his actions, sometimes a short stint behind bars isn't enough of a deterrent and punishment in my opinion.

To be fair he caught him committing a crime. Technically he had to restrain him and that means beating him.

It'd be slightly different if the guy was nowhere near the kid. I mean a scenario when someone heard it had happened and then tracked down the abuser.

And it'd be different again if the guy was no relation but just beating up someone he thought was an abuser.

In this case i think the guy was warranted and actually restrained himself considering a lot of people would have done a lot worse if they'd walked in finding someone doing stuff like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭Baron Kurtz

Quite restrained - He'd never been seen again if it was me...

Yeah, sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

WOULD BEAT TO DEATH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

bobrawn20 wrote: »
    Also, just seen the photo. He's not even that badly beaten. Fairly sheltered if you think that's not being restrained.

His jaw is definitely broken. Still, a very measured reaction from the father.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

Scumbag gets what he deserves and father is not charged with anything so some might think it's a win/win but the poor boy will never forget this :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,800 ✭✭✭Lingua Franca

I'm one of the PC brigade looney leftie bleeding heart liberals that some of you are so obsessed with and I haven't the slightest problem with this at all.

Dad showed remarkable restraint. I'm glad he's not being prosecuted for it. I hope that wee fella can get over it, sounds like he was being abused for a few years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,745 ✭✭✭Macavity.

It's easy to say you'd have killed the man on the internet but really, unless you have killed before, there is no way for sure you know how you'd react.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,745 ✭✭✭Macavity.

KKkitty wrote: »
    Scumbag gets what he deserves and father is not charged with anything so some might think it's a win/win but the poor boy will never forget this :(

Exactly, it always baffles me how these threads always include people who are much more concerned with the punishment of the perpetrator rather than the welfare of the victim. So much so it becomes the focus of the thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

Macavity. wrote: »
    Exactly, it always baffles me how these threads always include people who are much more concerned with the punishment of the perpetrator rather than the welfare of the victim. So much so it because the focus of the thread.

No amount of counselling will truly make this go away from the victim's point of view. I really hope hell be ok.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭Wishiwasa Littlebitaller

If I found some guy abusing my kid, I would do whatever it was that would get this post well thanked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,140 ✭✭✭323

It's easy to say you'd have killed the man on the internet but really, unless you have killed before, there is no way for sure you know how you'd react.

I'm fairly sure any dad with a daughter knows exactly how they would react.

Fair play to the police there, "Dad was acting like a dad. I don't see anything we should charge the dad with,"

“Follow the trend lines, not the headlines,”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,491 ✭✭✭looking_around

323 wrote: »
    I'm fairly sure any dad with a daughter knows exactly how they would react.

Fair play to the police there, "Dad was acting like a dad. I don't see anything we should charge the dad with,"

Nobody can say how they'd actually react until in that situation, and hopefully, nobody here will ever have to be in such a situation.

But surely losing control and beating the guy in front of child, is not in the best interests of the child.
    It's possible to restrain someone without braking bones and turning into a maniac yourself.

And no I'm not defending the child molester. But 2 wrongs don't make a right. I haven't read the link but unless the molester attacked back and the it became more of self-defence. I don't think the father was very restrained.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

salmocab wrote: »
    I think that's being unfair on our cops. I'd bet the farm that if it was the same scenario here the Guards would be just as sympathetic.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,051 ✭✭✭jantheman91

Nobody can say how they'd actually react until in that situation, and hopefully, nobody here will ever have to be in such a situation.

But surely losing control and beating the guy in front of child, is not in the best interests of the child.
    It's possible to restrain someone without braking bones and turning into a maniac yourself.

And no I'm not defending the child molester. But 2 wrongs don't make a right. I haven't read the link but unless the molester attacked back and the it became more of self-defence. I don't think the father was very restrained.

This ideology really fcuking irks the life out of me.

Sitting back and watching scumbags do whatever they like and getting away with it as a result of a failed justice system doesn't either.

If they can't learn a lesson, they'll be taught it.

Fair play to the Dad.

This ideology really fcuking irks the life out of me.

Sitting back and watching scumbags do whatever they like and getting away with it as a result of a failed justice system doesn't either.

Fair play to the Dad.

Did I say sit back and do nothing? Don't recall saying that. :rolleyes:
    If they can't learn a lesson, they'll be taught it.

Can't be taught, if they can't learn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭RGDATA!

Supercell wrote: »
    Surprised the PC brigade isn't all over this already.

:confused: What is it you were expecting the "PC brigade" to say about this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

_Kaiser_ wrote: »

I can't watch youtube clips, so say your point or don't bother posting at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭Hotfail.com

Exactly, it always baffles me how these threads always include people who are much more concerned with the punishment of the perpetrator rather than the welfare of the victim. So much so it because the focus of the thread.

These sort of crime-related threads always turn into a big macho circle-jerk. "I'd have killed him" "He deserves a slow death" etc. etc. What the father did was perfectly reasonable imo, but it's the people who seem to be advocating torture that worry me (in fairness this thread has had little of that so far).

This is the prime example: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=90742599 Apparently that man had his arm ripped off and bled to death slowly, cue a massive celebration of his death on AH: "I hope he died screaming" etc., disgusting. He deserved to be punished but him bleeding to death isn't something that would exactly bring joy to my heart. Also note the lack of sympathy shown for the victim of the crime.

Personally don't think the thank-whoring helps, you know when you open a thread like this that if you say something about torture/murder/beating to death/castration you'll get a fair few thanks.

I'm guessing people aren't going to like this post.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Sulla Felix

Tbh I'd rather see him locked up. If me giving the abuser a hiding puts in jeopardy the chance of him getting a worse punishment then I'd hold off on it. If he manages to get away with it, or if I felt the jail term wasn't long enough, I could always track him down and give him a hiding then. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

Yeah, sure.

Indeed.

Wibbs wrote: »
    I think that's being unfair on our cops. I'd bet the farm that if it was the same scenario here the Guards would be just as sympathetic.
    Guy in Louth got done for running over a burglar a few years ago unfortunately.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2012/0215/312377-mccaugheym/

Doesn't look like it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭jonon9

Spot on. He doesn't have a case to answer at all.

Far play to the father I somehow think if that happened in this country the father would be arrested for beating the pedo

As far as the Gardai are concerned I meant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 595 ✭✭✭ElvisChrist6

Someone doing something like this to your child goes beyond that though, I doubt there's anyone who could hold themselves back and not just want blood, no matter what you're capable of normally. I honestly believe that most people would at least do what the father in question did.

As far as the Gardai are concerned I meant.

To be honest I think the Gardaí were perfectly reasonable to arrest him in that case, he chased the burglar in his car to a different estate, drove into him and broke his leg. Don't really think the guard had any other option in that case.

You're going a bit off-topic from the point I was arguing with Wibbs. If he would like to say he meant sympathetic rather than following the rules that's up to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭caustic 1

Wonder was the offender known to him or just a random stranger who entered into his house.
    I honestly think if it were me they wouldn't be taking mugshots of him it would be on the slab.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 809 ✭✭✭Ditch

"He is nice and knocked out on the floor for you,"

Best f**king line I've ever read on the internet! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭BlaasForRafa

caustic 1 wrote: »
    Wonder was the offender known to him or just a random stranger who entered into his house.
    I honestly think if it were me they wouldn't be taking mugshots of him it would be on the slab.

Going by the report it definitely wasn't an opportunist crime anyway ""You have an 18-year-old who has clearly picked his target, groomed his target and had sex with the victim multiple times."

I'm glad the police there saw some sense and didn't prosecute the father, I can't say that I'm confident that the Guards would have the same reaction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭chrysagon

id have incorporated him in the patio contruction going on at my house, definetly rsulting in him been a hardened criminal..under a ton of concrete!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

caustic 1 wrote: »

Apparantly he was related to the family and had been abusing the boy for three years.

I think most parents, faced with walking in and finding a grown man with his pants down around his ankles performing a sex act on their 11 year old child, would do the same. Not because they're hard men or women, but because parental instinct would just automatically kick in.

Delighted the father didn't get charged in this case.