Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Saw people underage drinking

• 12-07-2014 7:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 ✭✭pqdvdplayer

I saw a bunch of 15,16 year olds drinking cans of beer the last night. I was absolutely disgusted. Has society really gotten to the point where people begin drinking at this age. They will all be alcoholics by the time they are 20.

Or maybe they'll get it out of their system now and move on

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

At least we did it in ditches or on abandoned building sites.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 709 ✭✭✭Ranchu

I saw a bunch of 15,16 year olds drinking cans of beer the last night. I was absolutely disgusted. Has society really gotten to the point where people begin drinking at this age. They will all be alcoholics by the time they are 20.

Good joke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Lucifer MorningStar

Little pups should be stoned to death

• Closed Accounts Posts: 494 ✭✭Chance The Rapper

It must be lovely to be so sheltered

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,934 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

Jaysus. It was that age over a decade ago. Try knocking five years off that age now..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 ✭✭pqdvdplayer

bluewolf wrote: »
    Or maybe they'll get it out of their system now and move on
    No it has been proven that drinking before the designated age of 18 can cause alcoholism

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,665 ✭✭✭Dave0301

In all fairness tho, few naggins and it'll be grand

No it has been proven that drinking before the designated age of 18 can cause alcoholism

Eh now hang on, drinking at any age has that potential. Trust me..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,438 ✭✭✭✭endacl

And drinking over the age of 18 doesn't...?

endacl wrote: »
    And drinking over the age of 18 doesn't...?
    It doesn't. They are more responsible than stupid little pr**ks who think they're unreal for poisoning themselves. Are you trying to condone this sort of behaviour? Wow

As a Christian, I think that the legal age should be raised to 21 like in the US. This country is loosing its moral (religous) credibility fast.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Think you will find it's 18 to purchase alcohol not to consume it. Drinking at any age could cause you to become dependant usually people with addictive personalities.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

It doesn't. They are more responsible than stupid little pr**ks who think they're unreal for poisoning themselves. Are you trying to condone this sort of behaviour? Wow

So there is huge difference in the mental capacity of a 17 and 18 year old?

2/10 OP, no mention of Brooks or the dole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,818 ✭✭✭dmc17

Not sure that's how it works to be honest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,917 ✭✭✭Wossack

As a Christian, I think that the legal age should be raised to 21 like in the US. This country is loosing its moral (religous) credibility fast.

as a dog owner, I disagree

Ok, OP. What did the drunk kids do on your lawn..

Think you will find it's 18 to purchase alcohol not to consume it. Drinking at any age could cause you to become dependant usually people with addictive personalities.

Its the moral essence of the matter that worrys me the most. When I was young we respected the privileges that came with "being an adult" so to say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭Spunge

Speaking as a mute .....

Wossack wrote: »

as a dog owner, I disagree

Are you mocking my religous faith?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭gugleguy

What would Val Falvey TD or Father Ted do? OP make your own Down with this sort of thing poster and walk around with it where these teens are drinking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,846 ✭✭✭✭Skerries

who are they loosing them on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭A Greedy Algorithm

15-16 is the standard age to start drinking and probably the best age as well - getting drunk on a nagan and a few cans and with zero responsibilities.

You hardly think everyone waits until they are 18 do you?

wazky wrote: »
    So there is huge difference in the mental capacity of a 17 and 18 year old?

2/10 OP, no mention of Brooks or the dole.

The MORALITY of drinking at the illegal age is what outrages me. At least I have the decency to respect our country's laws and be a moral and religous citizen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,998 ✭✭✭Paulzx

Did you just land on earth?

Should have done more research before you travelled all the way from another galaxy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

The MORALITY of drinking at the illegal age is what outrages me. At least I have the decency to respect our country's laws and be a moral and religous citizen.

Go you!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭lukesmom

I was drinking at 13 and now at 34 I haven't drank in nearly 2 years so no it doesn't cause alcoholism.

Lol.

15-16 is the standard age to start drinking. You hardly thing people wait until they are 18 do you?

This is awful. How dare they undermine the religous and law abiding citizens that preceded them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,917 ✭✭✭Wossack

Are you mocking my religous faith?

are you insulting my dog ownership?

You claimed a 17 year old will become an alcoholic and 18 year old who drinks will have no or much less chance.

Explain your reasoning please.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

I've noticed being too strict about alcohol at that age just makes it worse when they get to 18 and go to college. Of course I mean when they arent getting completely pissed, an odd drink here or there is fine though.

As a pastor, I think it should be lowered and made compulsory. Its lost that long ago.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

Yeah, people drinking at 18 or maybe a little bit younger has surely lost us our moral credibility.

It wasn't the whole "priests ****ing children" thing at all.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

Little pups should be stoned to death

Maybe they got stoned aswell :P

eviltwin wrote: »
    Go you!!!

You're probably one of the people that refuses the pay taxes and tv licences. I hear this alot "Its the government maan... they're like... totally messing with us".Well guess what, you should respect your fatherlands law and respect your local parish.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,422 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ten of Swords

At least I have the decency to respect our country's laws

So you reported them?

jonny24ie wrote: »
    Maybe they got stoned aswell :P

Cannabis is not a joke. It causes a decrease in IQ and has been proven to lead to harder drugs. If our goverment legalises it I will be outraged

So you reported them?

Yes I did call An Garda Siochána.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Its the moral essence of the matter that worrys me the most. When I was young we respected the privileges that came with "being an adult" so to say.

Morals change and an arbitrary age on drinking does not make it any more or less moral.

Yes I did call An Garda Siochána.

I'm sure they were delighted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,947 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

You're gonna have to try harder OP.

Yeah, people drinking at 18 or maybe a little bit younger has surely lost us our moral credibility.

It wasn't the whole "priests ****ing children" thing at all.

So you fall for the anti catholic propaganda that is on the news. I feel, as a christian, that it is our duty to support or fellow priests at all times. After all, the sins that they cause are minor compared to the excellent work they do in the community.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,998 ✭✭✭Paulzx

. If our goverment legalises it I will be outraged

Do you listen to Joe Duffy by any chance?

Cannabis is not a joke. It causes a decrease in IQ and has been proven to lead to harder drugs. If our goverment legalises it I will be outraged

Jesus created cannabis and alcohol, so maybe you should take it up with him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 829 ✭✭✭smellmepower

They probably were,free cans!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭Maphisto

Only if the crime was near a SuperMacs :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 326 ✭✭Knob Longman

Christianity is the proven solution to all our ills.:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

So you fall for the anti catholic propaganda that is on the news. I feel, as a christian, that it is our duty to support or fellow priests at all times. After all, the sins that they cause are minor compared to the excellent work they do in the community.

Raping a child is minor? Wow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

The liars. They told me Mary Whitehouse was dead.

Paulzx wrote: »
    Do you listen to Joe Duffy by any chance?

It is Joe Duffy, listen closely and you can hear the heavy breathing.