Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BLOODY GIANT SPIDER ON ME

• 09-07-2014 9:14pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭

Oh my god I can't breath I looked down and this massive spider was crawling his way up and sitting on my shoulder UGH I hate SPIDERS SO MUCH.. The little bastards! Anyone else feel the same?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Found one of those really spindly lanky spiders walking across my bare boobs in bed a few weeks ago:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

Fire is your only hope. It probably laid eggs on you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭redarmy

Bet ya had worse on ya :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,528 ✭✭✭jubella

Is it on me? I feel like it's on me. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,292 ✭✭✭naughtysmurf

Found one of those really spindly lanky spiders walking across my bare boobs in bed a few weeks ago:eek:

Pic? :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

He was talking a mountain walk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,248 ✭✭✭shamrock55

They were probably like mt everest to the poor spider;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

I don't mind big spiders at all. It's the ones that can crawl inside my nose or ear while I sleep that freak me out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,528 ✭✭✭jubella

I don't mind big spiders at all. It's the ones that can crawl inside my nose or ear while I sleep that freak me out.

Aaaaand now I won't be sleeping tonight. Thank you.:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭Mariasofia

Count yourself lucky....you swallow at least 5 in your lifetime.....apparently!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

jubella wrote: »
    Aaaaand now I won't be sleeping tonight. Thank you.:mad:

Ah be grand. All they do is creep in and do spider stuff. Put a lil music on, make spider love and have spider babies inside your head.

Be grand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,532 ✭✭✭Lou.m

We have no reason to worry in Ireland ....it is places like Australia that really need to worry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

Funny. In my head spiders were all about the legs. I suppose I shouldn't judge a book by its cover.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Duff

I was greeted with one the size of Phil Heath in the bath earlier, but he chose his arena poorly and met his fate via the shower head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Duff

Lou.m wrote: »
    We have no reason to worry in Ireland ....it is places like Australia that really need to worry.

There's a few false widows over here now due to the warmer climates in recent years. There was a few in my shed last year. Got the Lynx can and lighter treatment, though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

Much as I hate spiders, I hate flies more, so they get a pass. Go gettem, web-boy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 967 ✭✭✭highly1111

Duff wrote: »
    I was greeted with one the size of Phil Heath in the bath earlier, but he chose his arena poorly and met his fate via the shower head.

Always make sure you squirt some soap / shower gel down. The water doesn't kill them - they just wrap themselves into a ball and then come back again later. You need soap to kill them!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Mariasofia wrote: »
    Count yourself lucky....you swallow at least 5 in your lifetime.....apparently!!

I thought it was 7. And thats whilst you sleep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭The other fella

I am beyond terrified of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭Flutterby80

My skin is crawling :( why oh why did I start reading this at bedtime :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,549 ✭✭✭Titzon Toast

Duff wrote: »
    There's a few false widows over here now due to the warmer climates in recent years. There was a few in my shed last year. Got the Lynx can and lighter treatment, though.
    True that. I've spotted loads of them whilst out working.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Same happened me last week, was sitting on the couch eating coco pops, felt this yoke crawl on me. Dear lord it was so big it was practically skipping. I left my cocopops down I got such a fright and my puppy ate them.

Such an interesting story, I know. Anyone want to hear it again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Off to facebook with you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭Shane-KornSpace

Pics or it didn't happen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

I've been bitten by various spiders a few times, think the little buggers were playing! I think I've seen a few false widows in the bathtub alright.... I like spiders :)

The real pricks at night are moths. Stupid irritating little sh*ts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

He was talking a mountain walk.

'Grand jaunt up The Paps this morning. Photos on the web for those who are interested.'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

Mariasofia wrote: »
    Don't worry, that's just an urban myth ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,909 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Lou.m wrote: »

Indeed, my cousin lives in The Northern Territory, he said the thing the folks there fear most is the spiders and judging by the pics he sent of them I can see why.

I notice alot of the ones with the really long legs making webs around the house over the last few weeks.

I usually don't bother them but one fella decided to make his web between the bath and toilet, he will be moved outside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

Spiders are fine, try cockroaches...

Like this fella: LINK ! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,750 ✭✭✭john the one

Just nuke the site from orbit. Should fix the problem

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Mind them less and less as time goes on, harmless little buggers in Ireland for the most part.

One was crawling on my hand having the craic yesterday, fair play to him.

Go on.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Go on.....

Not much to tell really. I coaxed it on to the floor, trapped it in a pint glass and put him out the window to continue on with his spidy work of killing insects. We keep a pint glass upstairs for putting spiders out:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 920 ✭✭✭Dramatik

GrayFox208 wrote: »
    Oh my god I can't breath I looked down and this massive spider...

Relax, it's only a spider. Just pop him in your mouth and be done with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,103 ✭✭✭Tiddlypeeps

I'm deathly afraid of spiders. A couple of weeks ago I was about to leave for work when I felt a tickle on my shoulder blade. There is a mirror by the front door so I turned around already panicking to see this giant spider, like 4/5 inches in diameter. One of those horrible house spiders with the thick legs that you usually only see around August/September. I freaked out, he was just out of reach for me to brush off too. So I was screeching in the hallway for a good 5 minutes dancing around trying to brush my back off the banisters on the stairs before I eventually spotted him on the ground. I'd say I looked ridiculous, was absolutely terrifying tho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,709 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Paddy Cow wrote: »
    Don't worry, that's just an urban myth ;)

Exactly. It's 5 per night.

Not afraid of spiders, but if I see one, it has to die. More of a territorial thing than anything else.

BeerWolf wrote: »
    Spiders are fine, try cockroaches...

Like this fella: LINK ! :pac:
    I'll see your cockroaches and raise you flying cockroaches *shudder*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭Nemeses

Why are we talking about spiders :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I bet there are no flies on you though.

I'm another that hates flies more than spiders. I especially hate them tiny flies that fly with their body vertical and just hover in front of your face trying to annoy you. There's nothing you can do about them because they're so light when you swipe at them the air pressure automatically moves them out of the way. then they just come back flying in your face like they're challenging you. I'd like to have some sort of jumping nose spider that could come out and kill the fly as needed.

They never seem to be able to catch the Bluebottles, horrible yokes and hard to kill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,709 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Last saturday morning, my sleep-in was interrupted by a the tickle from a spider running up my chest. I woke up in fright, realised it was running across to the pillow for cover so quickly grabbed it. Went to the bathroom, wrapped it in toilet paper and threw it down the bowl. Then I took a piss on it, cleaned up and went back to bed.

Any 8-legged fecker that invades my personal space should expect death. And a posthumous golden shower.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭AlanS181824

I'm petrified of spiders, bloody thought of the feckers... Grrr :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,951 ✭✭✭B0jangles

My latest deathly spider-related fear is that I'll be washing my face and then I'll grab a towel to dry off only to find that there was a spider hiding in it that I've just squashed onto my face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭DoesNotCompute

Pics or thread is worth nothing

B0jangles wrote: »
    My latest deathly spider-related fear is that I'll be washing my face and then I'll grab a towel to dry off only to find that there was a spider hiding in it that I've just squashed onto my face.
    Better your face than your hair. I have long curly hair which is a spiders dream. One night my hair was down and when I looked in the mirror I could see a massive spider on the top of my head. Instantly I shook my hair out but I couldn't see the spider on the floor, so que hysterics from me and I made someone come up and wash my hair while I leaned over the bath, too afraid to touch my own hair in case the spider came to get me :rolleyes:

They were p!ssing themselves laughing the whole time while I thought I might have to shave my head. I'm ashamed to say I'm not sure if I'd react any differently if it happened again :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭Nemeses

Paddy Cow wrote: »
    Better your face than your hair. I have long curly hair which is a spiders dream. One night my hair was down and when I looked in the mirror I could see a massive spider on the top of my head. Instantly I shook my hair out but I couldn't see the spider on the floor, so que hysterics from me and I made someone come up and wash my hair while I leaned over the bath, too afraid to touch my own hair in case the spider came to get me :rolleyes:

They were p!ssing themselves laughing the whole time while I thought I might have to shave my head. I'm ashamed to say I'm not sure if I'd react any differently if it happened again :o

Set it on fire.

You'll be fine - Trust me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭The Pheasant2

Despise flies with every fibre of my being so I don't mind spiders whatsoever - they provide a valuable service

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Arthur Beesley

GrayFox208 wrote: »
    Oh my god I can't breath I looked down and this massive spider was crawling his way up and sitting on my shoulder UGH I hate SPIDERS SO MUCH.. The little bastards! Anyone else feel the same?

For some unknown reason I had assumed you were female. Until I saw your thread about getting your girlfriend pregnant and getting engaged to her. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,096 ✭✭✭Reiketsu

This thread makes me want to cry, I hate spiders. About a month back my 7 year old daughter lifted one without me noticing and then put it in a Kinder Surprise egg and got me to open it, wee shyte! :(