If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Liveline thread 3/7/2014 to date

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,657 ✭✭✭CountyHurler

The Department of Education are launching a new advertising campaign discouraging home schooling, using this song...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,829 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

PauloMN wrote: »
    "the great unpleasantness"

I had a shed like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,229 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

ThisRegard wrote: »
    East Cork ?

perfect !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,546 ✭✭✭Mike Guide 69

I hope someone from the UCD admissions dept is listening in to this now!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

A quarter is less than 3 quarters missus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,336 ✭✭✭Hamilcar

That 25% probably also believe in Creationism

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,888 ✭✭✭✭Rock Lesnar

This woman is talking so quick, she seems out of breath

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Maybe the parents were kicked around the playground and are now passing their fears onto their childer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭Tiger Mcilroy

Oh flip doe juffys point about university in ireland blown out of the water.....quickly moves the conversation to something else.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,886 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

Bunch of fcuking know-it-alls on the phone today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,872 ✭✭✭Sittingpretty

These people are seriously irritating, not to mention rude.

Do they teach their children how to talk over others I wonder. They're very good at that.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,297 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

That's cause a lot of public schools in America are jungles, with metal detectors!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,887 ✭✭✭signostic

She does not believe in Primary or secondary schools but seems to be all for universities...:confused: a lack of consistency there I think.....

Take a bleedin breath.

This woman is hysterical..

Does he have a job for them at home as well.. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

mother of god

how will the child learn to stand on its on two feet:confused:

These people are seriously irritating, not to mention rude.

Do they teach their children how to talk over others I wonder. They're very good at that.

I'm starting to see the merits of primary school kids being told to put their fingers on their lips and be quiet. It's quite the life lesson for when you're on Joe Duffy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,888 ✭✭✭✭Rock Lesnar

PauloMN wrote: »
    Bunch of fcuking know-it-alls on the phone today.

Makes a change from the regular callers so ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

This woman is hysterical..

She sounds like someone who shouldn't be in charge of children at all.:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,229 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

this one is some looney, all of them are fecking looneys. feck em and leave them home school their soon to be equally looney children

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,829 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

Maybe the parents were kicked around the playground and are now passing their fears onto their childer

That's exactly what I thought, too. It was a jungle for him, in retrospect.
    Fair enough, but he fails to realise it wasn't / isn't a jungle most of the time for most people.
    Sure, I can recall one or two eejits in playgrounds, but it didn't colour my opinions of playgrounds in general. It was an early illustration of the principle ... there are assholes everywhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭AK333

Is it my ears or do most of these people calling not have irish accents

Here's Mary with her rebuttal on why they're a bunch of heathen law breakers up there.

No young people there. Well that's hardly the Dubs fault is it.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,297 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

I'm glad they are our checking and wanting kids to register, its ok for these types that are educating their kids but what about the ones that aren't. FFS it can't be that hard to fill in a form if they are all so clever, smart and educated!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

Donegal.......where they are entitled to everything but will pay for nothing!

Well that's what ye get for destroying football..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,887 ✭✭✭signostic

All the home schooled should be sent to Donegal...a barren place according to this wan...

A teacher ? Surely someone will give him a job in their home.