Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Liveline thread 3/7/2014 to date

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

Are the Scots really all that impressed with how ROI has managed after independence?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,215 ✭✭✭bottlebrush

Hamilcar wrote: »
    Best thing that came out of Scotland was Hot Shot Hamish McBalfour

I'd go for Hamish McAdder myself....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Roger_007 wrote: »
    Are the Scots really all that impressed with how ROI has managed after independence?
    Yes. But then they shut up about it in 2008

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,111 ✭✭✭lucylu

you should only be able to get a vote it yea can say & understand this phrase

"If you can say it's a braw, bricht, moonlicht nicht the nicht, then you're a'richt, ye ken"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,829 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

lucylu wrote: »

"If you can say it's a braw, bricht, moonlicht nicht the nicht, then you're a'richt, ye ken"

Brigadoon meets Darby McGill.

I never learned Klingon?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,657 ✭✭✭CountyHurler

Does ANYBODY in Ireland really give a sh1t about this ?

Impressed the sh!it outa me twenty years ago, that's all I can say.

The poor Scots having to listen to this for the past year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,764 ✭✭✭sudzs

Topology?? Did Joe mean topography? :rolleyes:

Ah, so now we have it; Joe goes travelling with pocketfuls of Punts.

What was Joe doing in Enniskillen at the weekend? And why do they take punts twelve years on?

I've spent my NI sterling in England with no problems, Where does Joe get his ideas from?? :rolleyes:

sudzs wrote: »
    I've spent my NI sterling in England with no problems, Where does Joe get his ideas from?? :rolleyes:

I'd be very careful about anyone giving me Northern Bank notes in my change.:eek:

My Grandparents used to send us Scottish sterling in the post for birthdays. The Scottish sterling had to be sent to the Central bank before we could get it changed into to the Irish Punt .. it used to take a week to be able to convert it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

If only they had a Charlie Haughey, they'd be so much better off now......

Will Liz and Phil have to move out of her holiday home?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,449 ✭✭✭artful_codger

I can't wait for all these pro-independence / Shinner Lefty arse^holes to have their wet dream shattered when the majority of Scots reject splitting up the Union.

My Grandparents used to send us Scottish sterling in the post for birthdays. The Scottish sterling had to be sent to the Central bank before we could get it changed into to the Irish Punt .. it used to take a week to be able to convert it.

It happened to me in a pub in London once. I gave the barmaid a Scottish tenner. She treated it like Monopoly money.

Aye; Scottish egalitarianism is grand. You might be poor and starving, but you're as entitled to die from it every bit as much as the rich sod next door.

Will Liz and Phil have to move out of her holiday home?

No, but there will be an NPPR type tax to be paid?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

I know I say this a lot but is this the worst Lahv Lahn* ever?

* Funny Fridays do not count.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,336 ✭✭✭Hamilcar

Glad the Galway man gave us the definitive legal EU position of the Scots after independence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,020 ✭✭✭Jakey Rolling

Does ANYBODY in Ireland really give a sh1t about this ?

They might if an independent Scotland drops it's corporation tax rates and the multinationals move from Ireland over there...

100412.2526@compuserve.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,336 ✭✭✭Hamilcar

Cud be... but you can be sure there's a worse one coming ;)

It's the worst Lahv Lahn ever since the last worst Lahv Lahn ever.

Willy nilly! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,657 ✭✭✭CountyHurler

I hope he wasnt operating the wireless communications for the army..

They might if an independent Scotland drops it's corporation tax rates and the multinationals move from Ireland over there...

Fair play to them if they do.