Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Disgusting Co-Workers

• 27-06-2014 12:22am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 414 ✭✭

So every so often I hear a "click......click" noise coming from the other side of my cubicle wall. It's a co-worker clipping his finger nails. The noise, to put it lightly, is irksome. We're friendly with each other but we're not friends and he's been at the company for considerably longer than I have so up to this point I've kept quiet. Anyway, today he was clipping away during our lunch hour while I was catching up on some work and eating some food. You can see what's coming next. One clip and a nail comes over the cubicle wall and lands in my bowl of chicken noodle soup. Of course, I got a good look at it floating on the surface before it sank to the bottom. I was speechless. The b***erd didn't even notice :mad:

While we're on the subject, there's also a girl in my office who frequently walks around the office bare foot. The boss has never said anything and we actually had a meet a greet with a client one time who pointed it out to us.

I......JUST.......DON'T........UNDERSTAND

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

If this is the worst thing in your life, then things are not to bad ;)

As long as they aint pooping or masturbating in front of you, not much would bother me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

That click click noise could be your co worker masturbating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭comewatmay

Take a **** in his corn flakes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭obplayer

jiminho wrote: »
    So every so often I hear a "click......click" noise coming from the other side of my cubicle wall. It's a co-worker clipping his finger nails. The noise, to put it lightly, is irksome. We're friendly with each other but we're not friends and he's been at the company for considerably longer than I have so up to this point I've kept quiet. Anyway, today he was clipping away during our lunch hour while I was catching up on some work and eating some food. You can see what's coming next. One clip and a nail comes over the cubicle wall and lands in my bowl of chicken noodle soup. Of course, I got a good look at it floating on the surface before it sank to the bottom. I was speechless. The b***erd didn't even notice :mad:

While we're on the subject, there's also a girl in my office who frequently walks around the office bare foot. The boss has never said anything and we actually had a meet a greet with a client one time who pointed it out to us.

Don't you have a canteen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

Did you finish the noodles?

It could be him loading the rounds....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 913 ✭✭✭MacBizzle

Your boss has a foot fetish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

Of course he did, who throws out noodles these days? He just fished out the nail probably, or maybe left it there and ate around it

Links234 wrote: »
    Of course he did, who throws out noodles these days? He just fished out the nail probably, or maybe left it there and ate around it

Around it? I used to know a girl who ate her own toenail clippings.

Is a nail clipping more dense than chicken noodle soup?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 414 ✭✭jiminho

:rolleyes: maybe, but I'll never tell

obplayer wrote: »
    Around it? I used to know a girl who ate her own toenail clippings.

I do it too.

No shame.

MacBizzle wrote: »
    I do it too.

No shame.

Do you do it at work?

I do it at funerals.

Is a nail clipping more dense than chicken noodle soup?

I wouldnt think so yet it sank to the bottom of the OPs soup, is he making up this story?

I do it at funerals.

Who's toenails?

Now we could be getting into Jimmy Saville territory.

Who's toenails?

Now we could be getting into Jimmy Saviile territory.

I only eat the fingernails of the dead.

Do you think I'm sick or something?

I only eat the fingernails of the dead.

Do you think I'm sick or something?

Well with that I think it should be back to the original point of the thread, if I can remember it. Who was the most annoying co-worker you have ever dealt with?. My one was a manager who used to hold entire conversations with himself. Very distracting.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,548 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

I wouldnt think so yet it sank to the bottom of the OPs soup, is he making up this story?

This was my initial thought too.

After much searching, it appears the average density of a human nail is 4.5 gm/cm^3. As the density of water is 1gm/cm^3, it appears the nail should indeed sink.

However, is the OP eating the watery chicken noodle soup or the thick stuff? Can you please clarify OP so we can confirm the validity of your story? If you could measure the density of your soup, that'd be great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Mickey H

I do it at funerals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 414 ✭✭jiminho

This was my initial thought too.

After much searching, it appears the average density of a human nail is 4.5 gm/cm^3. As the density of water is 1gm/cm^3, it appears the nail should indeed sink.

However, is the OP eating the watery chicken noodle soup or the thick stuff? Can you please clarify OP so we can confirm the validity of your story? If you could measure the density of your soup, that'd be great.

After a quick mass over volume calculation I have determined that the density of the soup was 1.5gm/cm^3. So not quite watery but.........jaysus people make you work too hard to start threads. Good day

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,548 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

After a quick mass over volume calculation I have determined that the density of the soup was 1.5gm/cm^3. So not quite watery but.........jaysus people make you work too hard to start threads. Good day

I may have been joking a little bit...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭SouthTippBass

Well did you say it to him, that he ruined your lunch? Or did you just fume quietly?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Arthur Beesley

Is the girl hot?

Does your office have any health and safety rules about eating at your desk or eating hot food at your desk?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

Yeah used to work with someone who perused porn daily. Was generally followed with a hand down the pants, and a large "shuffle" - fixing himself.
    Report it.
    They didn't get fired; they got a severe letting off.

Guess where I used to work. I'll give you a clue: "job for life".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭V Eight

OMG......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭waraf

Zulu wrote: »
    Yeah used to work with someone who perused porn daily. Was generally followed with a hand down the pants, and a large "shuffle" - fixing himself.
    Report it.
    They didn't get fired; they got a severe letting off.

Guess where I used to work. I'll give you a clue: "job for life".

Wow. That must have left a bad smell in the office.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,799 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

waraf wrote: »

Not as bad as the Op's chicken noodle soup

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,799 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

Not as bad as the Op's chicken noodle soup

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,043 ✭✭✭Wabbit Ears

OP, Why would you think for second that eating hot chicken noodle soup in an office environment is considered OK? Trust me, what you were doing usually tops peoples "disgusting co-workers" lists!!

Tell yer man to stop doing his nails in the office, simples!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 328 ✭✭snaphook

I recently moved desks next to a co-worker who eats lunch at his desk.
    Fork and knife scraping the plate kind of deal.

But it's the lip smacking and food slurping that will make me throttle him shortly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,814 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Boss cracking his knuckles and putting his feet on his desk, hate that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

In a place I used to work a guy was fired for watching porn in his office, which was on the ground floor, where clients often passed by, and was made of glass.

I've also encountered people wiping their snots onto the walls in the toilet. WTF like? there's a roll of paper right there that you could use and then flush, but no, some grown adults have to wipe it on the wall for the rest of us to dry retch over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

I'm picturing a cute Isla Fisher-esque redhead with big boobs and a short skirt. Nice one you have going their OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

OP, Why would you think for second that eating hot chicken noodle soup in an office environment is considered OK? Trust me, what you were doing usually tops peoples "disgusting co-workers" lists!!

Yup, eating at the desk and stinking up the office is pretty high up there.
    Especially anything with fish, onions or salami....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

well he kept it in the pants (hence no criminal prosecution) but no one would go near desk. It support shuddered when he called them. It was an open joke. I still can't get over he wasn't fired.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

For some reason I've got this sudden urge to go to Langkawi, the Malaysian restaurant in upper Baggot Street in Dublin, and order me an Asam Laksa... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,430 ✭✭✭positron

Clipping noises I understand, but can someone explain to me what is wrong with walking around barefoot?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 226 ✭✭preston johnny

Leave a tube of no more nails on his desk, or just insert it up his hole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

positron wrote: »
    Clipping noises I understand, but can someone explain to me what is wrong with walking around barefoot?

Apparently there's a fair amount of people around that just don't like how feet look, that or they're Podophobic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

BeerWolf wrote: »
    Apparently there's a fair amount of people around that just don't like how feet look, that or they're Podophobic.

Also lots of foot fetishists around, maybe they should all swap offices :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭BMJD

Boss cracking his knuckles and putting his feet on his desk, hate that.

LOL I do that all the time

P.S. you're fired

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

No. He's abstained.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057238302

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭Warper

People eating food at their desk is annoying, go away and eat in a canteen. The sound/stink of people eating all sorts of stuff is awful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,785 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

Zulu wrote: »
    well he kept it in the pants (hence no criminal prosecution) but no one would go near desk. It support shuddered when he called them. It was an open joke. I still can't get over he wasn't fired.

Disgraceful. He is probably a PO now (I guess from your earlier post that he was a civil servant!) with his own office for wánking in...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭Fluxfan

BeerWolf wrote: »

Feet are smelly and horrible. Now if we were to bring in an office slipper policy I think everyone would be happier. And comfier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 Tsar Chasim

The office I'm in is generally referred to as 'the wild west' of the company. Its disgusting to work in.... one guy is an alco bachelor who washes about once a month. Sometimes the smell gets so bad that the BO, feet and his septic sores mix into one major pong and it leaves a trail around the building as he walks. I have a strong stomach, but I've nearly heaved once or twice.

Whenever a complaint is lodged, we all get hauled into a small office and told to wash as if its a collective issue. The offender usually raises his arm and sniffs each pit while the rest of the team try our best not to vom. This is just one of the disgusting things in this kip!

Another is girl with BO and hairy pits. And a guy that blows snot rockets onto the wall at the urinals no matter who's beside him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭ivytwine

ppcperson wrote: »
    Feet are smelly and horrible. Now if we were to bring in an office slipper policy I think everyone would be happier. And comfier.

We used to wear slippers in my old job. *reminisces*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Noticed that, did ye...? Ye durty fecker ye....I'd say you want to fire the load on her toes, don't ye....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

Well I'm only going to go on my last job as there has always been one filthy fecker in every job I've had. The woman I'm referring to used to rummage around her nostrils while talking to me. Not a bother on her chatting away to me and having a good auld root. She didn't even recognise my flinches.