Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread - Mod Notes in OP,22/7

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭Crimson King

an easier start than last year certainly helps but we need two more big quality players.

Agree with this 100%. Whilst I am very happy with the two additions so far (cannot wait to see what a midfielder like Herrera can do for the team in terms of link up play) I think one other class CM and a top notch CB is needed. I am confident LVG will improve our wingers.

Also interested to see the outgoings over the next week and a bit. United's wage structure is absurd considering the players on board. The squad is huge, even with £200K+ been freed up with Rio and Vidic gone plus Buttner offloaded. Interesting times ahead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

NeVeR wrote: »
    Lads the Stock City game in December is set for Tuesday 7:45 kick off... Will that stick ? .. or is there a chance it will be moved ?

Wouldn't there always be a small risk with any December / January games that they might be postponed due to severe weather?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,043 ✭✭✭✭beakerjoe

beno619 wrote: »
    Herrera is arguably more suited to the PL than those two players.

Very hard to know that, he hasnt played in the League yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,902 ✭✭✭MagicIRL

Herrera schooled United in the Europa league. That's good enough for me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 246 ✭✭steoin

When can we expect Van Gaal's first press conference as the gaffer?

Is this where he is going to announce the signings of Vidal, Hummells and Di Maria?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,961 ✭✭✭markcahill1985

steoin wrote: »

Tomorrow apparantly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭merlinsmerryman

steoin wrote: »

Is this where he is going to announce the signings of Vidal, Hummells and Di Maria?

Press conference tomorrow from all reports then fly to America Friday. As for the signings, who knows? :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,757 ✭✭✭Corvo

I wouldn't view the signings of Debuchy and Khedira as a sign Arsenal are moving away from us significantly, hell no.

I'd still take our squad, with the actual experience of winning things, over their crowd of bottles that manage to crash out spectacularly come March. They have improved no doubt, but so have we and will continue to do so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,192 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,986 ✭✭✭Spazdarn

MagicIRL wrote: »
    Herrera schooled United in the Europa league. That's good enough for me!

Fellaini schooled us in the league

Fact is you cant see how any player will do at any club until he plays. Judge him then. I have high hopes but hes not a sure thing to perform.

Sure look at Torres. Was awesome at Liverpool, banging in the goals. Moves to Chelsea and cant buy a goal.

How you think Herrera is better suited to the Prem League already is just wishful fantasy football.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭merlinsmerryman

Jaysus :eek::eek:

Here's the full list of United's official partners

AON - Principal Sponsor
    DHL - Official Logistics Partner
    bwin - Official Gaming and Betting Partner
    Casillero Del Diablo - Official Wine Partner
    Epson - Official Office Equipment Partner
    STC - Official Integrated Telecommunications Partner for Saudi Arabia
    Kansai Paint - Official Paint Partner
    Nike - Official Kit Supplier
    Chevrolet - Official Automotive Partner
    Singha - Official Beer
    Aeroflot - Official Carrier
    Bulova - Official Timekeeping Partner
    Toshiba Medical Systems - Official Medical Systems Partner
    Aperol Spritz - Official Global Spirits Partner
    Yanmar - Official Global Parner
    The Hong Kong Jockey Club - Official Partner
    TM - Official Integrated Telecommunications Partner in Malaysia
    Globacom - Official Integrated Telecommunications Partner for Nigeria, Ghana and Republic of Benin
    Viva Kuwait - Official Integrated Telecommunications Partner in Kuwait
    A.P. Honda - Official Motorcycle Partner in Thailand
    Kagome - Official Partner for Japan
    True Visions - Official MUTV Broadcaster for Thailand
    Apollo Tyres - Official Tyre Partner in UK and India
    Viva - Official Telecommunications Partner in Bahrain
    Zong - Official Telecommunications Partner in Pakistan
    Bakcell - Official Telecommunications and Broadcast Partner for Azerbaijan
    Gloops - Official Social Gaming Partner in Japan
    True Move H - Official Mobile Partner for Thailand
    Nissin - Official Global Food Partner

AON - Principal Sponsor
    DHL - Official Logistics Partner
    bwin - Official Gaming and Betting Partner
    Casillero Del Diablo - Official Wine Partner
    Epson - Official Office Equipment Partner
    STC - Official Integrated Telecommunications Partner for Saudi Arabia
    Kansai Paint - Official Paint Partner
    Nike - Official Kit Supplier
    Chevrolet - Official Automotive Partner
    Singha - Official Beer
    Aeroflot - Official Carrier
    Bulova - Official Timekeeping Partner
    Toshiba Medical Systems - Official Medical Systems Partner
    Aperol Spritz - Official Global Spirits Partner
    Yanmar - Official Global Parner
    The Hong Kong Jockey Club - Official Partner
    TM - Official Integrated Telecommunications Partner in Malaysia
    Globacom - Official Integrated Telecommunications Partner for Nigeria, Ghana and Republic of Benin
    A.P. Honda - Official Motorcycle Partner in Thailand
    Kagome - Official Partner for Japan
    True Visions - Official MUTV Broadcaster for Thailand
    Apollo Tyres - Official Tyre Partner in UK and India
    Viva - Official Telecommunications Partner in Bahrain
    Zong - Official Telecommunications Partner in Pakistan
    Bakcell - Official Telecommunications and Broadcast Partner for Azerbaijan
    Gloops - Official Social Gaming Partner in Japan
    True Move H - Official Mobile Partner for Thailand
    Nissin - Official Global Food Partner

To be honest, Id reckon that is just about right. That amount of sponsors shouldnt be unusual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,211 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

beno619 wrote: »
    Herrera is arguably more suited to the PL than those two players.

What a nothing statement.

Nobody knows if Herrera is suited to the league or not, there have been better player than him that have come here and failed. He could be a rip-roaring success or he could be another Felliani, only time will tell.

My point was that United should be hoping for the best but planning for the worst. Going into the new season with only Herrera signed is just an injury or loss of form away from us playing City or Chelsea with a midfield of Carrick and Cleverley.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

All I saw was:

£££ - £££££££££ £££££££
    £££ - ££££££££ £££££££££ £££££££
    ££££ - ££££££££ ££££££ £££ £££££££ £££££££
    £££££££££ £££ ££££££ - ££££££££ ££££ £££££££
    £££££ - ££££££££ ££££££ £££££££££ £££££££
    £££ - ££££££££ ££££££££££ ££££££££££££££££££ £££££££ £££ £££££ ££££££
    ££££££ £££££ - ££££££££ £££££ £££££££
    ££££ - ££££££££ £££ ££££££££
    £££££££££ - ££££££££ ££££££££££ £££££££
    ££££££ - ££££££££ ££££
    ££££££££ - ££££££££ £££££££
    ££££££ - ££££££££ £££££££££££ £££££££
    £££££££ £££££££ £££££££ - ££££££££ £££££££ £££££££ £££££££
    ££££££ ££££££ - ££££££££ ££££££ £££££££ £££££££
    ££££££ - ££££££££ ££££££ ££££££
    £££ ££££ ££££ ££££££ ££££ - ££££££££ £££££££
    ££ - ££££££££ ££££££££££ ££££££££££££££££££ £££££££ ££ ££££££££
    ££££££££ - ££££££££ ££££££££££ ££££££££££££££££££ £££££££ £££ £££££££, £££££ £££ ££££££££ ££ £££££
    ££££ ££££££ - ££££££££ ££££££££££ ££££££££££££££££££ £££££££ ££ ££££££
    £.£. £££££ - ££££££££ ££££££££££ £££££££ ££ ££££££££
    ££££££ - ££££££££ £££££££ £££ £££££
    ££££ £££££££ - ££££££££ ££££ £££££££££££ £££ ££££££££
    ££££££ £££££ - ££££££££ ££££ £££££££ ££ ££ £££ £££££
    ££££ - ££££££££ ££££££££££££££££££ £££££££ ££ £££££££
    ££££ ££££££ - ££££££££ ££££££££££ ££££££££££££££££££ £££££££ ££ ££££££
    ££££ - ££££££££ ££££££££££££££££££ £££££££ ££ ££££££££
    £££££££ - ££££££££ ££££££££££££££££££ £££ £££££££££ £££££££ £££ ££££££££££
    ££££££ - ££££££££ ££££££ ££££££ £££££££ ££ £££££
    ££££ ££££ £ - ££££££££ ££££££ £££££££ £££ ££££££££
    ££££££ - ££££££££ ££££££ ££££ £££££££

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,002 ✭✭✭beno619

beakerjoe wrote: »
    Very hard to know that, he hasnt played in the League yet

His combative high energy game is more suited to the premier league than the afformentioned players.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 882 ✭✭✭cdb

Zico wrote: »
    Like Juan Mata.:o

But Mata was a complete steal - even at £37 million

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,002 ✭✭✭beno619

What a nothing statement.

Nobody knows if Herrera is suited to the league or not, there have been better player than him that have come here and failed. He could be a rip-roaring success or he could be another Felliani, only time will tell.

My point was that United should be hoping for the best but planning for the worst. Going into the new season with only Herrera signed is just an injury or loss of form away from us playing City or Chelsea with a midfield of Carrick and Cleverley.

Calm down .

I was just saying on paper his game is more suited to the premier league than players that could be described as lightweight #10's.

He could flop but its no different than saying on paper Vidal would be better suited to the PL than someone like Pirlo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,060 ✭✭✭✭adox

cdb wrote: »

Ya reckon?

I like Mata but I really wish that £37 million had been spent elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,577 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

Corvo wrote: »
    I wouldn't view the signings of Debuchy and Khedira as a sign Arsenal are moving away from us significantly, hell no.

I'd still take our squad, with the actual experience of winning things, over their crowd of bottles that manage to crash out spectacularly come March. They have improved no doubt, but so have we and will continue to do so.

You seem to forgot that world class fella Sanchez who allows that world class Ozil play in his natural position next season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

errm what?

a player who wanted to join us, in a position we already had 3, if not 4 players, who was out of favour and not playing - 1 goal all season, should not have cost £37million.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭Zico

That remains to be seen.

It was a sh1t load of money to spend on a player Chelsea were actively trying to sell, especially as we were the only buyer.

I'm certain he was a panic buy but I have high hopes that Van Gaal will be better able to utilise him than Moyes would have. He could be our Sneijder.:)

adox wrote: »
    Ya reckon?

I like Mata but I really wish that £37 million had been spent elsewhere.

weve now spent £123m on players in the last 10 months and people would argue that we still need to sign 3 or more top quality players before we can compete at the top level in europe.

our transfer policy/approach in recent years has been as frustrating and baffling as it gets -dont want to bid proper money for players like fabregas, but then have no problems paying it for the likes of Fellaini, spending £30m on a full back, £20m on Phil Jones, £16m on Young, £15m on Zaha.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,320 ✭✭✭v3ttel

beakerjoe wrote: »
    Fact is you cant see how any player will do at any club until he plays. Judge him then. I have high hopes but hes not a sure thing to perform.

Sure look at Torres. Was awesome at Liverpool, banging in the goals. Moves to Chelsea and cant buy a goal.

How you think Herrera is better suited to the Prem League already is just wishful fantasy football.

To be fair, he'd been poor enough for Liverpool in the first half of the season they sold him, except against Chelsea where he played very well and scored a brace.

The early signs were there, but it would have been very difficult to predict he would never regain his old form though, or anything remotely close to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

Thought £37m was about right for Mata. Think people forgot what a ridiculously good season he had for Chelsea pre Mourinho.

v3ttel wrote: »
    To be fair, he'd been poor enough for Liverpool in the first half of the season they sold him, except against Chelsea where he played very well and scored a brace.

exactly, its a very common misconception that Torres left Liverpool in top class form - he didnt.

he'd been struggling long long before he left them and the form he took to Chelsea just carried on from it. £50m for him was crazy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,111 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

Yeah Mata was an instant improvement on any player we had for that position so money well spent. Similar to signing Van Persie.

RasTa wrote: »
    Yeah Mata was an instant improvement on any player we had for that position so money well spent. Similar to signing Van Persie.

no doubting that, but had we not paid the desperation tax that weve had lately, we perhaps have spend 5-10million less on him, Fellaini and Shaw which may have allowed us to have had another £20m -£30 to spend on another player....money for players will run out sometime so id rather we get good value in our transfers allowing us to sign more players that are needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭Zico

Blatter wrote: »
    Thought £37m was about right for Mata. Think people forgot what a ridiculously good season he had for Chelsea pre Mourinho.

It doesn't matter if he was World Player of the Year for the previous two seasons, a player is only worth what someone is prepared to pay for them.

We offloaded Beckham and RVN to Madrid for less than they were worth in similar circumstances. The manager decides they're not needed anymore so the club takes what they can get.

We overpaid for Mata by about 10-15m because Woodward, is inexperienced in the transfer market and his priority was to buy a big name urgently.